Thank you, stranger!

It was a beautiful Saturday – relaxing start to the day, perfect weather, fun evening plans – I couldn’t ask for more!  After waking up late morning and having a nice breakfast, I set out on a drive to the beautiful mountains in New Hampshire to enjoy an evening of skiing at Pats Peak. Saying I couldn’t contain the delight (and the fear, of course!) would be an understatement because I’ve been looking forward to trying skiing. And the evening didn’t disappoint me; it was the ideal way to spend time.

The evening/night lights across the mountain range, pristine snow flakes falling down from the sky onto the already white layered mountains, the moon and the stars fighting clouds and fog to shine upon the beautiful world beneath, and everything else made the already perfect evening more wonderful, if at all that’s possible. And so, my happiness had no bounds. As much as I was afraid to ski down the slopes at first, I overcame it (thanks to the one who was patiently teaching me the basic maneuvers, couldn’t have done it otherwise!), and did a much better job than the first time I went skiing.

So after hours and hours of fun – falling down, crashing into other novices, breaking bones (ok, this might be an exaggeration), working all the muscles in the body and draining every bit of energy – I sat down to relax when I realized that my wallet was missing from my jacket pocket. The zipper was open and the wallet was gone. And there was no way to find out where I might have dropped it. Bummer. I sat there in shock for a while before I took decided to walk around looking for it. But, as I already mentioned, I was totally exhausted and even one step forward wearing those ski boots required so much of work. So I stood there…wondering what to do, trying to recall everything that was in the wallet…with tears flowing down my eyes. Yes, I’m weak like that…even the littlest things can trigger water works :P. But hey, this was no small issue I had in my hands – I had some very important documents in my wallet (insurance cards, credit/debit cards, IDs, etc.), some of which would cost me a lot of time and hundreds of dollars to replace. So you can understand my agony, right?

Anyway, it was almost time to leave, so there wasn’t much hope of finding it that night. P walked around for a long time tracing my steps to see if was still around somewhere, but that hard work didn’t yield anything either. And I cried more. As there was a time crunch (the place was closing any minute now), the only option we were left with was to leave for the night and come back in the morning to search more. As a final try, P went to the lost and found office at Pats Peak to check if they had it but unfortunately no one had turned it in, so he came back after letting them know that we were missing my wallet and giving them a brief description and contact info in case someone finds it.

And that was my Saturday – happiness and grief all on the same day. After getting back home past midnight, with no hope of seeing my wallet again, I started researching on processes and procedures to replace all the lost content before dozing off for the night to see nightmares aplenty.

And what Sunday had in store for me made me one happy soul. I woke up to a call from Pats Peak’s management office (Thank you!!!) letting me know that someone turned in my wallet. No better way to wake up from a disturbed night’s sleep, I tell you. I was sooooooooooo relieved, to say the least. And thanks to you, whoever found it and took the time to hand it over to the right people.

———————

Dear stranger,

You made my day yesterday with one kind act of yours and for that I must thank you. We don’t know each other, but that didn’t prevent you from helping me; so it sure shouldn’t stop me from you how grateful I am. Yes, I understand that you might never read this, and even if you did you might not realize that I am talking about you…still I have to write it down for my own sake, for various reasons.

First, I want to thank you…for being so thoughtful, for taking the time to pick up a fallen possession of someone else, for putting in the efforts to returning it to the lost and found office. A simple thank you won’t suffice for all that tension you’ve saved me from. But for now, that’s all I have…those two words…Thank you!

Also, I want to make a note of how the world is full of nice people like you so I can come back to it if and when life manages to pull me to the other side. One selfless deed of yours is enough to reassure me of my belief that, in general, people are helpful and trustworthy.

And your kind act only motivates me to do something similar whenever I can…to help others in the smallest ways possible, to “pay it forward”, to be considerate, to do something without expecting anything in return, etc.

Thank you! You’ve been of a great help, you have no idea :).

Gratefully,
Titaxy.

  1. #1 by comfortablynam on March 1, 2010 - 5:55 pm

    That is so nice..I see that a lot around here..small deed that saves others a whole lot of hassle and am always glad to have seen something like that..makes me want to help out when others are in need.

    And Skiing.. :) ..how was it..??.. Pictures please..would love to see the mountains..Night skiing is amazing is it not.. :)

    It sure is inspiring if not anything else, these small acts of kindness.

    Skiing was soooooo much fun, Comfy :) . Didn’t click many pictures :( Maybe one or two but I don’t think they came out well. If I like any, then will post it for WW, let’s see :). And yes, night skiing was awesome!! Loved it so much better compared to doing it during the day. :)

  2. #2 by Revs on March 1, 2010 - 5:55 pm

    So there’s still hope in this world! :) Good to know T.

    There is. Always. :)

  3. #3 by Sonia on March 1, 2010 - 6:01 pm

    Glad to hear you got your wallet back! We need more of these good samaritans in this world…Love happy endings!

    :D yeah I’m v glad too :)

  4. #4 by chotusworld on March 1, 2010 - 8:21 pm

    Ohh that lil act of kindness- meant so much.. Its really these kinds of ppl that reinforce that goodness still exsits. Must have put ur much troubled mind to rest..

    Skiing- sounds like a lot of fun :)

    he/she sure did put my mind to rest :) and yes, skiing is total fun :D

  5. #5 by Prashanti on March 1, 2010 - 10:55 pm

    I am soo glad you found your wallet. You must mentally bless the person and wish good things on him/her :)
    Can you believe I had my wallet stolen from my room coz my roommate had left the apartment door open and that too while I was in the rest room for 15 mins. I had no license then so all I had to replace was my student ID. But, the thief used 75 bucks from my account on some online shopping site. Of course, the bank covered that.

    someone walked into the apt and took the wallet? unbelievable. thank goodness you didn’t lose much…

  6. #6 by Swaram on March 2, 2010 - 1:00 am

    Aww thatz so nice :) N u r rt … we need to put such things down .. restores faith in life.
    Am so glad u found it bk T .. I lost my wallet once on the way to Puttaparti and it was a headache to get bk all those cards n stuff more than anything else ufff!
    God bless that stranger!

    Yupe such a relief that I got it back…it would have been too much work otherwise :)

  7. #7 by chroniclesofdee on March 2, 2010 - 1:18 am

    Well, there is always light at the end of the ski slope :D

    Its nice when people do things like this.. My sister always finds things of other people.. When I say things, I mean she finds stuff like Iphone, wallets, cell fones etc… People always call her a 100 times to thank her later on :)

    I might have kept the iphone ;)

    LOL yes yes there was light down the ski slope :lol:

    You sis finds all the treasures, eh? And she returns those too? Too nice, she is :D

  8. #9 by Pixie on March 2, 2010 - 1:55 am

    So nice to hear about this! :)
    good Samritans are hard to come by! :)

    You are very lucky and indeed blessed to have got your purse back! :)

    :)

  9. #10 by celestialrays on March 2, 2010 - 5:23 am

    Thank Goodness girl! You are right, it’s now time for you to pass the good will, selflessly, without even attaching your identity to it :) :)

    Create the ‘snowball effect’…

    yupe….will do it every chance i get :)

  10. #11 by TFT on March 2, 2010 - 7:40 am

    Wow!! Mighty sweet of you, Good Samaritan! And you Titaxy for thanking the person – a lot of people take such acts of kindness for granted. I have been in countless situations where a stranger came to my rescue – lost purses. cell phones, a midnight accident and once all alone in a train compartment stalked by a beggar! The world is safer because of people like these – and for that I am super thankful. :-)

    yupe, me too :) very thankful

  11. #12 by BlueMist on March 2, 2010 - 10:14 am

    World is better place because of such goodness. That was such a sweet gesture.
    Oh it would have made me cry ; if I had lost my wallet like this. :-)

    I cried, cried and cried even more :P now am smiling, so it’s all balanced :D :D

    • #13 by BlueMist on March 2, 2010 - 10:41 am

      That’s all matters. NOW it is. :D :D

      :D :D

      • #14 by BlueMist on March 2, 2010 - 10:42 am

        ROFL @ the quote. Reminded me of Comfy’s post. :P :D :D

        :lol:

  12. #15 by Dew on March 2, 2010 - 10:28 am

    so nice ya!! Thank God T you got them back…a couple of years even i faced a similar thing,..but here what happened due to having similar kinda wallet ….the oder person picked mine..and I returned back wid none…of course realising it later. Then almost i was into tears tryin to block all cards etc on phone…i recvd a call from this lady saying by mistake she picked it up..and all that!! I can so understand how it feels..but truly such things only builds our hope that thr are some good ppl around!! :)

    And so sweet of u for a thank you note for this gentle man/woman :)

    Oh that’s nice you got it back…too much work otherwise :)

    This was the least I could do to whoever returned it to me :)

  13. #16 by soulmate on March 2, 2010 - 12:20 pm

    Such wonderful acts by nice people make us want to thank the world that we are in..

    yupe :)

  14. #17 by Psych Babbler on March 3, 2010 - 4:31 am

    It’s really nice to know there are such people out there…as you said, restores your faith in mankind! :)

    yupe :)

  15. #18 by aniruddha pathak on March 3, 2010 - 4:41 am

    aww that you cried, i can understand how it feels..i lost two phones and an ipod last year :(
    its so nice to see that you acknowledge. this world is a better place to live just because kind people still exist :D

    “aww” that I cried? Really? :D

    yes, people like this make this world a much better place :)

  16. #19 by Makk on March 3, 2010 - 5:53 am

    congrats Gal!

    Keep smiling.

    Thanks!

  17. #20 by Nancy on March 7, 2010 - 6:08 am

    So glad u found ur wallet…….everyone of us understand the headache involved in replacing all the cards :-o.
    It happened to me once when I was in school. I was going on this trip to Kodaikanal and lost my wallet with all my savings. When I came back my father asked me if I lost something & then said some nice fella called his office[my fathers card was there] and told him abt it. Its been more than 20 yrs & dont think of very often but still remmeber the guys name….a Mr. Kanakaraj :-D

    Nice!!!

  18. #21 by Reema on March 20, 2010 - 12:38 pm

    I wonder if you would even have the slightest chance to get your wallet back if you were in India.
    Anyway glad that u got it back and Kudos to the stranger!

    :)

  19. #22 by Matt on August 20, 2012 - 5:57 pm

    Whoever found it, took one good look at your photograph in the ID, awe struck by your beauty and your charm , made it a point to return it to you at whatever cost. :D :D

    one can always dream :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

