There’s something very sweet about…

…the bond between baby girls and their fathers.

I visited a few families over the weekend and of all the couples that had kids, all the kids were girls. And what I saw each of the father and daughter pair share was something so different, so special.

The comfort that the little one felt by securing her tiny hands around her father’s neck. The pride with which the father talked about the little one’s antics. The love that came pouring through as the little one walked/ran towards her father with her wobbly feet to give him a bear hug. The way the father admired even the smallest thing the little one did. All that was just such a delight to watch.

For a minute there, I wondered if I had a similar thing going on with my father when I was young. But of course, I did. As a matter of fact, I think we still share the same oh-that-is-so-beautiful kind of father-daughter bond. That would explain why he still sees me as a baby, why he treats me like I need him holding my hands through every step I take, why he worries constantly about me getting hurt, why he spends sleepless nights at times when I don’t listen to him…I can see where he’s coming from.

We have our fair share of disagreements, but I know that I can’t function well without the assurance that he is right there to catch me every time I fall. We have our unending arguments every so often, but I know that I can’t go long without hearing his voice regularly…be it just a hi-hello talk, or his recent favorite you-are-getting-too-old-you-need-to-get-married-soon lectures. Even though we don’t see eye to eye on a few subjects, he is the one I look up to; he is my pillar of support.

And for that, I am thankful.

To know that he talks proudly about me to others; to hear him say that the sound of my laughter brightened his otherwise dull day; to see him grin wide every time I hug him and kiss him; to take all that love he showers on me; to be his daughter – makes me one happy soul.

, ,

  1. #1 by Dido on November 10, 2010 - 1:01 am

    ME and my dad have majorrr argumentss…..fightsss etccc but i knw he loves me more than bro :P:P

    :D

  2. #2 by JustAnotherBlogger on November 10, 2010 - 1:17 am

    LOVE this post. Agree with every single point :)

    :)

  3. #3 by priyaiyer on November 10, 2010 - 1:23 am

    lovely post, again. touched me.
    can so absolutely relate to every word of it. :)

    :D

  4. #4 by chroniclesofdee on November 10, 2010 - 1:32 am

    Aww, how adorable!

    I love father-daughter stories, its because I am such a Mamma’s girl and my dad is quite possibly the most emotionally-distant person ever :P

    I am very much like you, Dee…I am Amma’s girl, no doubt. And my dad is very emotionally distant too…just that we have our moments at times and those are too precious :)

  5. #5 by Swaram on November 10, 2010 - 1:40 am

    Awww I always say the bond b/w dads and their daughters is something inexplicable and yet something all of us daughters can relate to. Loved loved loved this post T :)

    :) thanks

  6. #6 by Falaxy on November 10, 2010 - 2:20 am

    i miss my dad so much more after reading this, than i already did! Can’t wait to see my parents again! : )

    :D Welcome, Falaxy!

  7. #7 by Pepper on November 10, 2010 - 3:04 am

    You made me miss my dad! Way too much..

    :D

  8. #8 by ambulisamma on November 10, 2010 - 3:59 am

    They have a special bond,dont they?

    they sure do :)

  9. #9 by DI on November 10, 2010 - 4:21 am

    :) I know, this is so true. Even in the way fathers hold the babies, it is like they are the mosr precious, breakable little things in the world.
    And touchwood. For being a happy soul. :)

    :D

  10. #10 by deviantwave on November 10, 2010 - 5:18 am

    awwwwww… Daddy’s are always the best …. No matter how much I crib that he is always too strict towards me .. I know I am his pampered one and the one with whom he loves to have pillow fights n long drives to discuss love life n losees too :D

    :) touch wood.

  11. #11 by Reema on November 10, 2010 - 6:27 am

    lovely post..I too share a special bond with my dad :)

    :)

  12. #12 by Bikram on November 10, 2010 - 7:31 am

    Wow I am sure your dad is proud …

    Why do father always love the daughters more , I have to figure this out, I always felt left out , and the one answer i got was NO , NO :)

    i guess dads will always love the daughters more then the sons not fair is it he he he

    Good one Titaxy

    Bikram’s

    :)

  13. #13 by Bikram on November 10, 2010 - 7:32 am

    and hey hey hey am I firstttt tooo :) he heheh

    nope not even close :D

    • #14 by Bikram on November 12, 2010 - 6:18 am

      yepp now i find it

      :D

  14. #15 by Tanishka on November 10, 2010 - 8:04 am

    Beautiful post… :) True, every daughter is special to her father… Just remembered a line which i read somewhere….
    “Every girl may not be queen to her husband, But she is always a princess to her father”

    ahh that’s a nice quote :D

  15. #16 by anisnest on November 10, 2010 - 9:15 am

    such sweet and happy posts from you these days .. **touch wood**.. I can write a book on how a mom feels when the daddy/girl duo shines bright.. mostly M says “pappa I can see smoke coming from somebody’s ears.. let’s stop it here today otherwise that person might surprise us for dinner”

    and now from being a daughter I could so relate to your post and here is a beautiful saying that I came across recently

    “you may not be a queen to your husband but you are always a princess to your father” :)))

    I liked it so much that I am sharing this with every other person I meet…

    :D nice quote :D someone else shared it too :)

  16. #17 by Scribbler on November 10, 2010 - 9:37 am

    no doubt about the bond T !! It’s special !!

    Though unlike mothers fathers don’t show or express their emotions but they’re emotional about their kids-specially daughters-in their own way which is beautiful :)

    YAY to all father-daughter pairs :)

    yay indeed :D

  17. #18 by Smitha on November 10, 2010 - 1:17 pm

    Aww! That is such a touching post! Yes, I think all of us daughters share that special, special bond with our fathers!

    :)

  18. #19 by comfortablynam on November 10, 2010 - 2:04 pm

    aww..a happy T makes a lot of us happy :)

    Yup when Paa talks about us there is this light in his eyes..which always makes me happy :)

    PS: I was writing something similar when I read your post :)

    can’t wait to read your post :) is it about Buzz-D or Comfy-Paa ? :D

    • #20 by Scribbler on November 10, 2010 - 10:51 pm

      bring it on comfy, waiting :)

      :D

    • #21 by comfortablynam on November 11, 2010 - 1:03 am

      No..not about either..but now you know :)

      :)

  19. #22 by Avymom on November 10, 2010 - 4:27 pm

    Aww, Daddy’s are the best. Moments are too special!

    :) Welcome!

  20. #23 by SG on November 10, 2010 - 5:02 pm

    Lovely post. Very touching. Please convey my regards to your Appa.

    thank you!

  21. #24 by Writerzblock on November 10, 2010 - 7:05 pm

    Awww!!! I didn’t quite share such a close relationship with my dad until the time I actually moved out to my marital home!! We appreciate each other so much more now!

    :D

  22. #25 by zephyr on November 10, 2010 - 7:26 pm

    Fathers of this generation are wonderful parents indeed. I always felt that the L&M would have made the most indulgent father much like your own but unfortunately we have only two boys. Still he is a great father. I don’t remember my father taking out time for us except when he grew older. Then he made up for all the years lost :)

    :)

  23. #26 by Pixie on November 10, 2010 - 10:04 pm

    Absolutely true! :D
    I agreed with everything you have said! :)
    Loved this post!! :)

    thanks!

  24. #27 by Nuttie Natters on November 10, 2010 - 11:21 pm

    True T…have seen my so called macho friends turn into “mouldable clay” in their daughter’s hands…

    It warms the heart to see this bond :) but me…i am a mommy’s baby!

    :D

  25. #28 by Kavya on November 11, 2010 - 12:09 am

    Such a lovely post T :) I agree with each and every point :)

    :)

  26. #29 by Priya on November 11, 2010 - 12:11 am

    Beautiful post T! Can so relate to it :)

    :)

  27. #30 by Krags R on November 11, 2010 - 2:45 am

    yeah probably – that is why my dad is still ready to trade me for a girl child – still wishing for a girl child in my place i guess :D
    on the other hand, my mom might be lucky to have both of us as boys :P
    the way they display their affection might vary but parents always look at us more as kids than grown ups … and when disagreements arise, they are mostly due to their fear for their children’s future than about themselves …. such a beautiful bond, parents are …
    n i already might ve started favoring girl children – not sure if i can manage a son like myself :D

    LOL. good to know that you are already thinking about children ;)

    • #31 by Krags R on November 11, 2010 - 12:11 pm

      yeah – but not about marriage, u see :P

      i never asked you about that :D

      • #32 by Krags R on November 11, 2010 - 12:45 pm

        oh yeah :( …. :P

        :D

  28. #33 by Saritha on November 11, 2010 - 4:53 am

    Beautiful post.I see the samething with my daughters and hubby.They are very different with him.When he is around they don’t play among themselves but they play with their dad.

    Once indyeah wrote about her dad,it was very touching……

    :)

  29. #34 by celestialrays on November 11, 2010 - 5:50 am

    :)

    :)

  30. #35 by AlwaysHappyKya on November 11, 2010 - 2:04 pm

    I am a little ‘hmmph!’ on you for totally ignoring the mom part. People take moms too granted no? I did that too until I became one myself ;)

    Anyhoo…the dad and daughter relationship is extra special.

    My heart melts when I see the two play together at my home too.

    Your bond with your father – may it be cherished and remain as sweet as always.
    God bless! :)

    no no, I did not ignore the Mom part; how can I when I worship the land my mother walks on? I am totally Amma’s girl and I adore her to death…but this post, just this one, wasn’t about her :D doesn’t mean I take her for granted at all…as a matter of fact, dad gets so jealous at times seeing how different I am with her and him :P

    thank you AHK…and I wish all the happiness and love to the dad-daughter duo at your end…

  31. #36 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 10:10 am

    Exactly the same with my daughter. 10 years from now, probably, hopefully.

    well, best wishes, Matt :) I really hope you and your daughter share a beautiful bond as well, be it 10 years from now or sooner ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

