“Amma, I’m pregnant…”

…I tell my mother, showing her this pic.

And she says, “I doubt that you are pregnant. Are you really?”

“I don’t know, what does it look like?”, I say, showing her another similar pic.

“When did you get your last periods?” asks the shocked soul.

“I don’t know. It doesn’t matter now, does it?” I say, to add fuel to the fire.

“Ok fine. No point talking about all this now. Let’s go to a doc for a check-up and confirmation”, exclaims my anxious Amma.

And this was the cue for me to freak out…

“What the hell, no mother, I’m not pregnant. I was just joking.” I say, in an all panicky tone.

“Wait. What am I supposed to believe now? Let’s just go for a check-up to make sure, ok?”, says my concerned Mother.

“No Ammi, I was just posing for the pic, it’s just air between my tummy and my top. I’m not really pregnant. I was kidding.” I try to convince her. “I just wanted to see your reaction. I thought you knew me better; that you would know I was joking. Hmmm…”

“I knew, my dear. I knew you were joking and I just played along. You should have known better…” she says, with a wide grin on her face.

Oh well, the plan to shock my mother backfired. Now it’s Appa’s turn. But since I know for sure what his reaction would be, I won’t take that chance ;-)… The joke stops here :-).

  1. #1 by Carpe Diem on April 29, 2009 - 9:14 pm

    hahhah .. why dont you try the samething with dad and see his reaction 😀 😛 ..

    Like

  2. #2 by Revs on April 29, 2009 - 9:36 pm

    Hmpf! You slim slim girl!!!! 😦

    Like

    • #3 by Indian Homemaker on September 21, 2009 - 11:36 am

      This is my favorite comment here 🙂 Ha h ah a ROFL!!! Like my daughter came with us for a Beauty Pageant, she was 14 or so, and the only thing that interested her was,
      “Their knees look so clean!”

      lol…clean knees, huh?…

      Like

  3. #4 by lafemmereva on April 30, 2009 - 1:01 am

    try telling your dad you became a millionaire overnight!!! 😀

    Like

  4. #5 by Titaxy on April 29, 2009 - 9:19 pm

    Yeah, even I thought I should try. But as I said, I know for sure what his reaction would be. And that scares me :-P. So will stay away…Maybe will something milder on him before I break this news 😉

    Like

  5. #6 by Titaxy on April 29, 2009 - 10:24 pm

    What, really? Thanks for the compliment, I will take it although I know it’s not completely true 😛

    Like

  6. #7 by Prashanti :) on April 30, 2009 - 3:13 am

    hey, thnks for stopping by at my blog ..
    nice joke this one was on your mom 🙂 🙂 I am sure my mom would freak out if I did this 🙂

    Like

  7. #8 by Pixie on April 30, 2009 - 3:48 am

    LOL!!! 😀

    What a trick to play!!
    But, moms usually know… sadly, its diff to play such jokes on them! 😀

    Like

  8. #9 by Titaxy on April 30, 2009 - 2:37 am

    Yeah now that is something he would take as a silly joke and laugh it off… 😉 Maybe I should try ;-P

    Like

  9. #10 by SAG on April 30, 2009 - 7:09 am

    That was a good one 😀

    Like

  10. #11 by Titaxy on April 30, 2009 - 3:23 am

    Try it 😉

    Like

  11. #12 by Psych Babbler on April 30, 2009 - 10:10 am

    Lol I can’t believe what you did! Not surprised that your mum freaked out!!! 😛

    Like

  12. #13 by BG on April 30, 2009 - 11:34 am

    lol…nice one

    Like

  13. #14 by rashmi on April 30, 2009 - 12:39 pm

    its tough to make fool of mom…they know us so well 🙂

    But nice attempt from u 🙂

    Like

  14. #15 by Titaxy on April 30, 2009 - 11:54 am

    Pixie – Yeah I know. It’s v difficult to trick her. But I do try every once in a while…:-P…

    SAG – 😉 evil me, no?

    Psych Babbler – Well no, she says she didn’t freak out and that she was just playing along…HAHA…

    BG – 🙂 Thanks…

    Like

  15. #16 by Nids on April 30, 2009 - 4:53 pm

    Amen, for your last wish

    Like

  16. #17 by Titaxy on April 30, 2009 - 2:28 pm

    Yeah I know…I will keep trying till I succeed one day :-P…

    Like

  17. #18 by Titaxy on April 30, 2009 - 4:58 pm

    :-)…:-)

    Like

  18. #19 by rayshma on May 1, 2009 - 4:29 pm

    haahaha!!! like mother, like daughter, eh?

    i dare not even joke abt being pregnant!! or maybe i should – that may convince my mom that she needs to visit me!

    Like

  19. #20 by Titaxy on May 1, 2009 - 4:39 pm

    :-)…

    Like

  20. #21 by Sabs on May 5, 2009 - 12:36 am

    hehehe…that reminds me of what happened recently! i HAVE A FRIEND WHO IS ACTUALLY PREGNANT AND SITS RIGHT NEXT TO ME IN CLASS, UNTIL TWO WEEKS BACK….both our tummies looked the same, and I happily convinced myself that I’m not the only one with a big tummy (puttin on weight)…. hmmm…. she is in her fifth month now, can you beat that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  21. #22 by Titaxy on May 5, 2009 - 12:57 am

    HAHAHA…

    Like

  22. #23 by tearsndreams on May 5, 2009 - 4:55 pm

    I must be old.
    I totally identified with your Mom’s reaction 🙂
    I loved this. Funny mom daughter moments!

    Like

  23. #24 by Titaxy on May 5, 2009 - 4:59 pm

    :-), thanks…

    Like

  24. #25 by Nupur on May 22, 2009 - 2:09 pm

    good going girl ! I read it and re-read it… freakingly funny!!!!

    Like

  25. #26 by Titaxy on May 22, 2009 - 3:58 pm

    Thanks :-)…Glad you enjoyed it.

    Like

  26. #27 by SSQuo on June 3, 2009 - 6:45 pm

    🙂 funny girl.

    Like

  27. #28 by Titaxy on June 3, 2009 - 8:24 pm

    funny or cruel? 😉

    Like

  28. #29 by BlabberBlah on February 6, 2010 - 12:59 pm

    haha! your mum is really cool! most mothers would get scandalized! 😀

    😀 😀

    Like

  29. #30 by Swaram on March 8, 2010 - 8:27 am

    LOL .. I can’t even try it out nw 😛 Am sure the grandmom will get what she wants so much 😛

    😀 😀

    Like

  30. #31 by BlueMist on March 8, 2010 - 2:25 pm

    OMG !! I never played such pranks when I had time on my hand. now it is dangerous to play such pranks 😛

    😀 😀

    Like

  31. #32 by Trish on March 8, 2010 - 8:36 pm

    LOL!!! this was hillarious!!And your mom..soo cool!

    she is 😀

    Like

  1. “I kissed a friend”… « Memories & Mirages

Leave a Reply

