“How bad could it be?”…

…is what I thought while starting a short hike into the jungle all by myself. Everything from a mosquito to a butterfly scares me, true. But I assumed I could handle them all this time around. And I was right. None of those insects bothered me and when they did I was brave enough to shoo them away…

A few mins later, I spotted a snake crossing my path just a few feet ahead. A little one, sure, but a scary one nonetheless…I stopped for few seconds, gathered my breath and told myself that this was it. That this was the worst that could happen. That there could not be anything scarier waiting for me.

I start walking with a great sense of accomplishment. If I could handle that, I can handle it all, I assumed.

And that’s when it hit me that I couldn’t be more wrong. Few steps more and I spotted this. This crawling creature that looked like it belongs to the lizard family was more than enough to scare me to death.

Scary as hell...

Scary as hell...

After this, I didn’t dare look down even once before I met with MD, who hiked from the other end of the loop. The walk from the point I spotted thing to when I spotted MD was scary as hell. I felt like there were lizards crawling all over me. Of course, there was nothing, but that’s how paranoid I was.

The only things (??) that have the power to halt my heart beat are lizards / roaches. Not sure if I will ever get over this fear!!!

  1. #1 by shraddha on August 3, 2009 - 8:12 pm

    awww..you got scared of that!!!

    my girls would fight to pick it up…that would have been scary!!!..lol!!!

    just kidding….i am scared of any crawly thing myself!

    ohhh brave little ones they are, aren’t they? 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by Screenage Scribbler on August 3, 2009 - 10:26 pm

    Girl, you took my breath away ! I hate lizards too. I mean not hate,I’m scared of them.These are ugly and gives you such a pukish feeling even if you imagine seeing one ! Eeeeeeks… And what were you doing in the jungle all by yourself ?? Why ?

    i’m scared and i hate them too 😛 …i was on a hike…jungle is fun, that’s why. 🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Swaram on August 4, 2009 - 1:16 am

    Sounds so exciting! Scary or not, lizards kinda turn me away 😛

    Just saw here that Titaxy is u 😛 I never got it when u commented on the blog! 😉

    many people like me out there, eh? not big fans of lizards :-)…oh yeah, new blog host, new template, why not new name :-)…and oh, i might not have commented much (don’t remember) but i do read you regularly :-)…

    Like

  4. #4 by Nazish Rahman on August 4, 2009 - 4:29 am

    lol…do go for fear factor auditions, all your fear will b conquered 🙂

    are you kidding me…i’m not even brave enough to watch that show :-(. haha

    Like

  5. #5 by BlueMist on August 4, 2009 - 6:51 am

    ah somebody is brave 🙂
    For one second I thought you are taking part in “iss jungle se muze bachao” 😛
    I know ..i know I watch too much TV 😀

    brave? haha…brave enough to stand there and click a pic, you mean? ;-)…

    Like

    • #6 by BlueMist on August 6, 2009 - 2:17 pm

      Actually yes 😛
      I would have ran miles away and then googled some pic and added with due credit ….
      See who is brave … 😀

      🙂 yay i’m braver than someone 😉

      Like

  6. #7 by rayshma on August 4, 2009 - 9:39 am

    i SO know what you mean. roaches – i’m scared of the dead ones also!!!

    oh me too…can’t stand them…:-(…

    Like

  7. #8 by stinkypaw on August 4, 2009 - 4:44 pm

    Sorry to read this, I just think geickos are the cutest! But I’m totally with you on the roaches thing, these creatures are just gross!!

    Hmm..:-) roaches are gross, I agree 😛

    Like

  8. #9 by Meira on August 5, 2009 - 1:38 am

    what were you doing hiking in a forest ?

    having fun :-P…well,this was a hiking trail near a lake…not too scary or bad :-D…at least not for normal people who aren’t afraid of lizards…i think i just tend to exaggerate things 🙂

    Like

  9. #10 by aniruddha pathak on August 5, 2009 - 6:13 am

    Hey nice rare picture 😀 😛

    rare, really? i dunno about that 😉

    Like

  10. #11 by SG on August 5, 2009 - 12:27 pm

    Nice post. Getting scary of lizards is normal. But the fact is they are more scared of you than you are of them, and they cannot hurt you.

    By the way, can you tell us where you were hiking. Seems to be a nice place.

    Aaahh, that’s exactly what MD said when he saw how relieved I was after seeing him. But the thing is, my tiny little brain can’t comprehend that fact :-P. I can’t accept that the lizards are scared of me and they won’t do anything. :-(.

    Anyway, we were at Lake Bomoseen in Vermont last weekend. This was during a hike there…

    Like

  11. #12 by Killerwhale007 on August 5, 2009 - 3:03 pm

    Its a cool Red Eft finding its way towards the pond

    Thanks for researching on that and providing the info. :-).

    Like

  12. #13 by revsjoiedevivre on August 5, 2009 - 3:21 pm

    Tch tch tch. Baby!! 😛 You should have taken me along 🙂

    you scare me too 😛

    Like

  13. #14 by Ranjani on August 5, 2009 - 10:23 pm

    brave of you to venture out alone for a hike…

    As much as I love nature, If left alone I would be worst than Shikari Shambu…
    brrrrr…you know what are more disgusting than roaches?
    ….
    roaches that can fly !!!
    and just the thought of white roaches…oh god, I think I am going to faint…

    i’m scared 😦

    Like

  14. #15 by Childwoman on August 6, 2009 - 8:31 am

    Okay, they dont scare me as such, and I think they look really creepy..and this one’s in orange!! :O

    you brave gal :-)…yeah this one was orange…actually found a few of these during the hike..all orange-ish scary creatures 😦

    Like

  15. #16 by divz on September 4, 2009 - 7:31 pm

    I hate lizards. A few years back, I had squashed a lizard at the door hinge of my room by accident. I didn’t know about it until the next day when the maid pointed out. She had to scrap it out and it stunk. I didn’t use my room for months, not just coz it made me feel yucky, but also I believed its spirit will haunt me! 😦

    Your eastman colour lizard has totally freaked me out 😦

    lol…you are a lizard killer, eh? :p….did the spirit come to haunt you or not yet? 😉

    oh yeah, this one was freaky 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

