The Comedy of Errors…

…is what kept me away from home last evening. Yupe, went to see this Shakespearean play at the Common yesterday. It was fun, this being my first theater experience in the US and all. The performance was amazing, weather was perfect, and all this for free.

What more can one ask for, you are thinking, right?

Well, just a little bit of ‘keep your mouth shut’ exercise when the play is going on, I must say.

There was this bunch of people sitting behind us chatting with one another non-stop…especially about how they don’t understand what’s going on and how it’s all just too confusing.

To the smarty-pant bunch,


If you don’t understand or don’t seem to like it, then leave. Yeah, it’s as simple as that. Don’t sit around saying ‘Kya Shakespeare, kya comedy. I don’t get it. Blah Blah.’ That just makes you sound like an ill-mannered idiot. Yes, that’s right. Besides, it makes it hard for the others sitting around you to concentrate on something they like and enjoy. So stop yapping and leave. Just leave. Good for you, good for us!


Thanks (NOT!).

Anyway…yeah, I had a great experience, overall.

———

Now to what I, apparently, did while watching the play (‘apparently’ because I do not recall doing it. 😦 ).

After the play, as I was getting up to leave, I realized that my legs were buried under grass. Ok fine, I might be exaggerating it a bit, but there really was soooo much grass on me, if not me being buried in it. And the only logical thing that seemed to me at that time was to blame SB for doing it. Because he was the one sitting next to me, so I immediately assumed he did it. I went on and on accusing the man every 2 seconds as and when I saw ants crawling on me.

Me blaming him for doing it and him claiming he didn’t do it went on until he explained how I could’ve done it to myself without realizing what I was doing.

HUH?’ I thought.

He said that I might have been too engrossed in the play, just as he was, and might not have consciously registered that I pulled out all the grass around me just to decorate my otherwise plain lap and legs.

As much as that clarification made sense to me, it just makes me sad. My tiny little brain can only remember pulling out 2 grasses. Yes, it remembers two, exactly two, no more. It can’t remember the two thousand that were merrily resting on me :-(.

Bah. I’m just hopeless!

  1. #1 by noname on August 6, 2009 - 5:45 pm

    lol. The grass story made my day !!

    yeah sure…:-)…i’m glad it made your day 🙂

    why didn’t you even give a name, btw?

    Like

  2. #2 by revsjoiedevivre on August 6, 2009 - 6:42 pm

    Oye it was just like this http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=6578080663486758150 I’ll modify it for you 😀 Naan oru pullu pudingina,rendaaiyiram pullu pudingina maadhri! *giggle* Dont come to beat me with your chappal now!

    hmmm…i watched the video before i even read the whole comment, and i didn’t get where you were going with it…but now i do :-)…good one, revs :-)…

    for all the non-tamil speakers here – the video is of Superstar (Rajnikanth) saying “If I say it once, it’s the same as me saying it 100 times” and “oru pullu pudingina,rendaaiyiram pullu pudingina maadhri!” = “If I pluck a grass out, it’s equivalent to me plucking 2000 out…” (might not be the exact translation, but close)…

    Like

  3. #3 by Screenage Scribbler on August 6, 2009 - 11:41 pm

    HAHAHAHA… I mean ya.. Hahahahha… Hehehehe.. what !!! LOL !!!

    And yes too bad of those sitting behind you ! I hate such people who don’t know how to enjoy and never let others do !

    But for you.. hahahaha… sorry but can’t control !!!

    Love,

    😦 so funny…my little brain amuses you all, eh? 😦

    Like

  4. #4 by Meira on August 7, 2009 - 12:38 am

    People don’t get Shakespeare’s comedy? Duh! Are they aliens?

    that’s fine..it’s their problem…but at least they shouldn’t ruin it for others…whatever!!!

    Like

  5. #5 by Swaram on August 7, 2009 - 1:43 am

    OMG! I say u r really cool .. nt hopeless 😉 What an idea to decorate the plain legs 😉 😉

    yeah right…:-). you are too kind..

    Like

  6. #6 by Nazish Rahman on August 7, 2009 - 2:46 am

    lol…u should have given those ppl who were chatting non stop a synopsis of what the play is all about :)!!
    well it must hav been a lovely exp….lolz wonder why would u pull the grasses while being being engrossed in the play, feel sad for the grasses!!!

    well, they left after rambling and whining for a while…anyway :-), yeah it was a v nice experience…feel sad for the grasses? 😦 well what abt me? 😦

    Like

  7. #7 by BlueMist on August 7, 2009 - 5:49 am

    ROFL ROFL…. too much fun !!
    Sorry …but I tried not to laugh so much …seriously I did !! 😉

    hey but what fun watching a movie/play without those back noises. I remember I was watching first day first show of “mohobatein” and there was some romantic scene between SRK and Aish and somebody in the back row screamed ” Abey chod de use ; wo teri behan hai !!” and whole theater was ROFL.
    yeah she playes SRK’s sister in another movie which released before mohobatein. 😀

    was it some amphi theater since you mentioned grass ?

    sure, laugh all you want…but this scares me more than it seems funny to me :-(…see SB said that it might have been my longtime unfulfilled wish to do something like that and it just crept out of my sub-conscious when i was engrossed in something else…well, that just scares me because i don’t even wanna think about what my other secret ‘unfulfilled longtime wishes’ are and when they are going to creep out 😉 anyways…..

    the stage for the play was set at a park here…so we (all audience) were seated on grass..

    Like

    • #8 by BlueMist on August 7, 2009 - 12:13 pm

      Your friend is righto. 😛
      T, can not hold the wait to see what next is coming out of your magic petara 😀

      yeah yeah whatever!!! :-)…can’t promise anything soon :-P…will definitely keep you posted as and when something happens, though 😀

      Like

      • #9 by BlueMist on August 7, 2009 - 12:17 pm

        btw the idea of setting park as stage sounds superb. Think of bhel vendors outside the park and having bhel and chaat while watching the play. Whoa ….sounds fun !! No ? 😛

        yupe, loads of fun, it was…bhel / chaat vendors sounds wonderful, but none here though 😦 only a pizza stall, i think…

        Like

  8. #10 by DewdropDream on August 7, 2009 - 9:16 am

    Oh I went to watch A Comedy of Errors too!!! How funny is that! Went to the Shakespeare’s Globe here and it was a lot of fun, one of the actors had to ad lib and he was so good too!!!

    Grass grows back fast, don’t feel too bad 🙂

    ohhhh really…nice! :-)…

    Like

  9. #11 by aniruddha pathak on August 10, 2009 - 6:06 am

    hehe awww no grass pulling in next play and then you can be sure who did it 😉

    haha..will see..:-)

    Like

  10. #12 by sakshi on August 17, 2009 - 4:10 pm

    Aww you were in Boston commons watching Shake sphere?? I loved it last year but couldn’t make it this year :(. I know ppl bug the hell out of me when they sit and ramble…Man Boston Commons is so pretty so go and enjoy a walk around rather than cracking ur wise jokes.

    Ahh it happens to me too…I mean the grass pulling, sand piling etc etc kind of things.

    Oh you missed it? It was awesome this year…but I can’t compare it to last, this was my first time :-).
    And really? you do it too? Without even realizing it?…So glad you mentioned it here…:-P makes me feel better that I’m not alone 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

