“A friend in need is a friend indeed”

A friend asked me for a favor couple of weeks ago and I readily agreed that I would do it. But, conveniently enough, I forgot all about it until I saw a reminder email from him today morning.

Yes, that’s the kind of friend I am – forgetful, careless and hopeless, overall.

How is it, then, that I have some awesome friends who are just the opposite? Like SS.

I called SS today afternoon to ask him for a favor. Even before I finished the “will you do me a favor?” question, he told me that he would be more than happy to do anything. No second thoughts. No million how/what/why/when questions. But just a simple, yet a definite assurance that he would take care of the needful.

Also, he mentioned that anytime I needed anything, he would be glad to offer a helping hand. He did not utter this in an I-know-you-so-this-is-a-formality kind of way, but he expressed this in the most genuine way possible. And that put a smile on my face.

Why am I rambling all about this now? I don’t know, really; I don’t know why I started writing this post or where this is going…

It just surprises me, at times, that I’m surrounded by people who are so good, so selfless. I can’t get myself to believe that I have come across and have become friends with such beautiful souls. I might not be as a good a friend to them as they are to me, but I try. So yeah…for all the nicest people that I’ve come across, I’m thankful and more! I’ve so much to learn from each and every one of you !!!

  1. #1 by Meira on August 27, 2009 - 12:17 am

    well yes. Some people are angels! I wish there were more of them around 🙂

    😀 i know..

    Like

  2. #2 by Pixie on August 27, 2009 - 1:50 am

    Awww… what a beautiful post! 🙂
    I’m quite sure your friends would say the same thing about you!

    😀 maybe I shud ask them 😛 haha

    Like

  3. #3 by Swaram on August 27, 2009 - 2:21 am

    Aww .. friends for sure are God’s choicest blessings!

    🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by Nazish Rahman on August 27, 2009 - 3:37 am

    Your not alone who forgets and so these reminders are really helpful for ppl like us..lol!!
    Its laws of attraction…u attract what u are, you are good so thats why u attract good people….:)!!

    😀 yeah reminders really help :-P…and yay! i fall under the ‘good people’ category 😀 thanks

    Like

  5. #5 by Gentle Whispers on August 27, 2009 - 4:31 am

    You know I’m a lot like you. I’m very forgetful, but it’s not because I don’t want to do the favour. But more because I just space out on it.

    But I’d still like to think that I’m a good friend to have. Because friendship is more than just doing each other favours you know.

    And I’m sure your friends don’t mind your forgetting cause there must be some other wonderful qualities that you have that make you a friend to keep.

    yeah I guess…i must be nice in some way :-P..
    I agree that friendship is not just about doing favors and stuff…but it’s the things like these that makes me take a minute and think how thankful I must be to have them around…other times I guess I just take them for granted…

    Like

  6. #6 by Psych Babbler on August 27, 2009 - 4:55 am

    I’m sure you are being too harsh on yourself. I bet you are a good friend too just like your other friends…every one of us is forgetful now and then.

    Hmm…maybe 😀

    Like

  7. #7 by BlueMist on August 27, 2009 - 6:12 am

    blessed you are. 🙂

    :D… :D..

    Like

  8. #8 by noname on August 27, 2009 - 10:54 am

    Well put. Same story with me as well.

    nice to see someone like me 😛

    Like

  9. #9 by Nu on August 27, 2009 - 11:20 am

    So your post is to thank these wonderful souls and take a learning 🙂

    Sometimes don’t-know-why posts also help us just precipitate our thoughts ! So chill 🙂

    Hugs

    😀 you are too nice 😀

    Like

    • #10 by Nu on August 27, 2009 - 2:34 pm

      you bet I am.. so you came across another wonderful soul 😉

      And those who recognize wonderful souls are so sweet in turn !! Thats you sweetie 🙂

      thanks 😛 😀 😀 😀

      Like

  10. #11 by BG on August 27, 2009 - 12:16 pm

    friends are the best thing that can happen to anyone….

    m happy for you….. for having such nice ppl arnd u…. who are there when u need them… 🙂

    Welcome back, BG..where have you been?
    I know…it’s nice to have good people around 🙂

    Like

  11. #12 by Smitha on August 27, 2009 - 1:20 pm

    I am sure you are under-estimating yourself! You must be an awesome friend – to have friends like this 🙂

    I am a good friend, but I dunno, others are much better 😀

    Like

  12. #13 by Nids on August 27, 2009 - 2:59 pm

    First of all welcome to wordpress sweetie. Hey the baby woke up..will come back to comment

    Thank you…welcome back to my blog :D…
    Name change…well, just like that. Got bored with that, so :-)…

    Like

  13. #14 by divz on September 4, 2009 - 8:06 am

    lovely post
    blessed you are 🙂

    🙂 Thank yo and welcome 🙂

    Like

  1. Look what I found… « Memories & Mirages

Leave a Reply

