The touch of love…

Curling up in my bed and weeping till the pain resigns is all I do whenever my back hurts like hell.

During all those years I lived with my parents, every single time I got back ache, my mother would immediately sense that something was wrong, come running to my room, sit next to me and massage my lower back until I fell asleep. No words were ever spoken…but somehow her heart hurt when I wept, my pain eased with her one touch and her ache vanished when my tears dried.

How all that happened has been a mystery to me, till date. The touch of love, she calls it…when someone cares for you enough, that love helps in the healing process, she says.

Now that I’m living on my own, every time my back gives me hard time, I can’t help but hope that my mother was around to lend her soothing hands to heal my pain. She still senses that I’m not ok, calls me and makes sure I’m not crying my heart out. But it’s not the same…I miss that touch, I miss the fact that she isn’t sitting next to me, I miss falling asleep knowing that when I wake up the pain will be no more, I miss her.

It happened yesterday. I started the day with terrible back pain…I was lying in bed silently weeping and sincerely hoping for some miracle to happen.

And that’s when you walked in.

You came, you sat next to me and you rubbed that ointment on my lower back. You waited patiently for me to stop crying. You didn’t mind that I didn’t say a word. You didn’t care that there were other important things waiting for you to complete. You didn’t bother about your breakfast or lunch. All you wanted to do was ease my pain. And you did…just like Amma always did !

And for the first time in years, yesterday, I didn’t have to miss her as much. Because, in your presence I felt a lot of warmth and care.

A mother’s miracle touch, it sure was not…but a touch of love, it was nonetheless.

  1. #1 by revsjoiedevivre on September 14, 2009 - 6:34 pm

    🙂 May you be blessed with many such people who love you SO much. ‘Coz you definitely deserve them. Take good care.

    🙂 thank you, dear !

    Like

  2. #2 by G on September 14, 2009 - 11:35 pm

    Being away from home is indeed difficult esp in times of pain. Nice to know that you have found similar comfort in someone. So no ‘lonely’ feelings anymore I guess 🙂
    And hey, take care of the back. The Boy has lower back pain too. His exercises are keeping him good these days *touchwood* but I know how bad it is!
    😦

    yupe, it’s not easy…esp without mom ard at certain times…sure she’s just a call away, but that’s not enough… :D…anyway…
    thanks…

    Like

  3. #3 by Pixie on September 14, 2009 - 11:48 pm

    Hugs T!!

    Back pian hurts… hurts like hell. I go thru it too…
    And yes, mom’s touch, a touch of love always eases the pain and calms one down.
    Major Hugs!

    I hope you are feeling better now.

    awww, thanks for the hugs, pix….yeah, i’m all better now…:-)

    Like

  4. #4 by Meira on September 15, 2009 - 12:14 am

    Good. Love does heal . Now you get well soon too.

    i’m all well :D…thanks

    Like

  5. #5 by sraikh on September 15, 2009 - 12:33 am

    I had horrible back pain after my car accident 2 years ago and I can feel your agony when all you want to do is lie down and cry.

    HUGS and I hope you get more rubs.

    oh it’s awful, isn’t it? anyway, i’m much better now, sraikh…thanks :-)….

    Like

  6. #6 by shraddha on September 15, 2009 - 2:14 am

    i am first..waahooo.

    oops, no… 😀 …i just hadn’t approved any of the comments 😀

    Like

  7. #7 by shraddha on September 15, 2009 - 2:16 am

    i used to have back ache too in 2003…i tried some ‘relax the back’ stuff..it has never returned…

    try it..if available in your area

    ok sure…will give it a try if it’s available here…thanks 🙂

    Like

  8. #8 by Swaram on September 15, 2009 - 2:23 am

    The touch of love .. sure does magic!

    Wonderfully written T 🙂

    BTW, hw r u feeling nw?

    much better now, Swaram…thanks 🙂

    Like

  9. #9 by BlueMist on September 15, 2009 - 3:51 am

    You are such a sweet and nice daughter. 🙂

    what? no….i never told you how cranky i used to act when all my mom did was be nice to me :D…and how i never thanked her once for being so wonderful :P…i’m not nice…not at all 😦

    Like

    • #10 by BlueMist on September 15, 2009 - 5:42 pm

      I think we all act in that way. but realizing and being thankful while you can is equally important. Next time you call her ; please let her know that. She will feel nice. Will ya pls ?
      and good to know that you are bouncing back. Keep it up that way.

      hmm… :D…i’m not too good with words that way :D…i will feel weird telling her, but will try :P…

      Like

  10. #11 by Dido on September 15, 2009 - 10:22 am

    Absolutely true… they r just magicians.. their touch is magic.. and i dont know how they come to know how we feel or wot we r going thru..! Seriously i’m amazed at how my mom comes to know everything..even things tht make me upset even if i try n hide from her..!

    Lovely post 🙂

    i know…they can read our minds no matter what we’re going thru…anyway…thanks 🙂

    Like

  11. #12 by divz on September 15, 2009 - 10:44 am

    awwww…..
    are you feeling better now?

    much much better :D…i’m fine now, thanks 🙂

    Like

  12. #13 by Prashanti on September 15, 2009 - 2:06 pm

    Awwwwww!! I miss my old room mate like that. She used to give the best back massages ever !!!! Now, everytime I feel stiff and tired, I think of her!

    Take care dear !

    🙂 find someone else to give you the massages now :D…
    thanks 🙂

    Like

  13. #14 by Grail on September 15, 2009 - 4:41 pm

    That was so sweet, and I know that is true, that touch when combined with love can make you feel so much better!

    🙂 yes it does… 🙂 Thanks, Grail…

    Like

  14. #15 by Solilo on September 15, 2009 - 4:52 pm

    Aww….missing home? It is tough. Back aches? Touch of love works with little bit of Bengay. 🙂

    yea…miss home whenever i’m sick or every time i feel lazy to do something :P…it’s all fine now :D…with the touch of love and a few advils 😀

    Like

  15. #16 by thethoughtfultrain on September 15, 2009 - 11:53 pm

    Thats so touching … Touch of love, beautiful. Glad you got some! 🙂

    Thank you! 🙂

    Like

  16. #17 by Dee on September 16, 2009 - 2:57 am

    Aww.. U poor thing..

    As much as I wish u culd have ur amma and “special someone” with u forever… I honestly wish, that the pain goes away!!

    it’s all gone now, Dee :D…at least for the time being 🙂

    Like

  17. #18 by Psych Babbler on September 16, 2009 - 8:07 am

    It’s interesting how much we miss our parents when we are sick…whether it’s back pain or the flu. Glad to hear you are feeling better now. Just out of curiosity…who is this person whose touch of love was so effective? 😉 🙂

    ohh yeah…i think of them more when i’m sick…other times, i take them for granted :-(…anyway.

    and to ans your other question…it was a friend who helped me out when the backpain showed up this time..

    Like

  18. #19 by Just call me 'A' on September 16, 2009 - 6:26 pm

    Tender, Love and Care….it always works 🙂

    hows the back now? i know the feeling. I have them too

    yupe…always does 🙂
    back is much better now… :D…

    Like

  19. #20 by stinkypaw on September 16, 2009 - 11:42 pm

    Love is good and it does heal no matter who gives it…

    🙂

    Like

  20. #21 by priyaiyer on September 17, 2009 - 10:38 am

    beautifully written..yes, the touch of love can work wonders indeed! glad you have someone who cares for you the way a mother does! am happy for u! 🙂

    thank you 🙂

    Like

  21. #22 by Ranju on September 17, 2009 - 11:00 am

    hope you are feeling better now !! the touch of a loved one is so comforting right ?
    well written…

    it sure is 🙂 thanks, i’m feeling a lot better now 😀

    Like

  22. #23 by Elegant Chic on September 17, 2009 - 12:25 pm

    Awwww…
    Well written! 🙂

    How u feeling now sweets?

    Was tht ur rommate?

    thanks..yeah feeling much better now.. :D. it was a friend of mine 🙂

    Like

  23. #24 by SG on September 19, 2009 - 8:46 pm

    Very touching. Motherly love and affection is always very special.

    Yes it is :-). Thanks !

    Like

  24. #25 by Indian Homemaker on September 21, 2009 - 11:24 am

    This brought tears to my eyes. Hope you are feeling better now? Yes mothers feel or at least wish they could feel when the child is in pain …

    I feel touch is powerful, a hug, a hand held warmly, and best of all one’s mother’s loving hug… lovely post.

    I’m fine now. Thank you! and Welcome 🙂

    Like

  25. #26 by Mumbai Diva on September 21, 2009 - 11:38 am

    sigh! you are so right about mom’s touch. I could go get the best head massages in town, but nothing will come close to the head massage mom would give me after a rough day at the office.

    🙂 moms are the best 😀

    Like

  26. #27 by Pins N Ashes on September 22, 2009 - 1:07 am

    I hope there is no more pain in your back now… take care…

    Touch therapy of a loved one, especially our mothers, is always the best… they just know it whenever we are in pain however far we are….

    beautifully written
    …PNA..

    the pain is all gone, yeah :-)…Thank you and Welcome 🙂

    Like

  27. #28 by Nancy on September 23, 2009 - 2:45 am

    Oh yes have to agree..

    East or West
    Mommy is the best!!!!!!!!

    …tho the partner comes a close 2nd 😀

    Hope u r feeling better now!!!!!!!!

    i’m fine now, Nancy…thanks 🙂

    Like

  28. #29 by Nova on September 23, 2009 - 5:55 am

    I can so relate to it.. In fact, right now.. I miss my mom so much 😦

    awwww…

    Like

  29. #30 by Just call me 'A' on September 24, 2009 - 3:43 am

    Honey…how are you feeling now…hope the back is not paining anymore

    I’m perfectly alright now, A…Thanks for asking!

    Like

  30. #31 by Nids on September 24, 2009 - 3:19 pm

    Loved the title of the post…”touch of Love”… I am away from my home for almost 13 years and I still miss my mom & dad. I hope you are feeling much better now, try ice pack, it helps me all the time, and keep loving your Love..

    I’m fine now, Nids. Thanks… 🙂

    Like

  31. #32 by Nazish Rahman on September 25, 2009 - 4:30 am

    its always nice to have good ppl around…n i hope your back is better now!!! I too have a weak back that got hurt during my workout n had to leave my workout…so would advise ya to take care of it..i know when it pains…its like hell!!

    yup…will take care..thanks !

    Like

  32. #33 by Smitha on September 25, 2009 - 10:15 am

    You wrote it so beautifully! Yes, parents have a way of knowing when things are not alright.

    And when we are lucky enough to have the ‘touch of love’, I guess, pains just go away!

    Take care and hope you are better now.

    Thank you, Smitha..I’m fine now 🙂

    Like

  33. #34 by Mahmud on September 28, 2009 - 2:32 pm

    Love does heal…. 😀
    are you happy now?

    yupe…all fine now… 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  34. #35 by noname on September 28, 2009 - 4:09 pm

    new post…new post…new post please? pretty please?

    wow… :D…you made my day..thanks!

    but i don’t know what to write about…will def post as soon as i figure out what to rant about :-)…

    Like

  35. #36 by Psych Babbler on September 29, 2009 - 5:33 am

    Hey, hope everything’s okay! Not had a post from you in 2 weeks! That’s long…

    all’s fine dear…just don’t have anything to write about :-)…thanks for asking!

    Like

  36. #37 by BlueMist on September 29, 2009 - 7:26 am

    hello hello now it is my turn to say long time eh ? 🙂

    lol…

    Like

  37. #38 by sm on September 29, 2009 - 2:32 pm

    well written

    Thanks and welcome!

    Like

  38. #39 by Nu on September 30, 2009 - 9:12 am

    Landed up here too late to ask how is your back pain … 😦 Sorry !

    I’m sure you are out of it now !! Take care

    H U G S sweetie 🙂

    And hey wheres a new post ?? Waiting, waiting !

    It’s ok, Nu, no need to be sorry or anything…I’m perfectly fine now. 🙂
    new post, oh well…dunno…maybe soon, maybe not 😀

    Like

  39. #40 by rayshma on October 1, 2009 - 9:08 am

    hope u’re better now. and here’s hoping that there’s always that someone special.. who reminds you of hte importance of the touch of love… 🙂

    🙂 Thank you..i’m fine now 🙂

    Like

  40. #41 by DIDO on October 1, 2009 - 9:39 am

    Ur Tagged..!! Check my blog

    ok…will do 😀

    Like

  41. #42 by Winnie the Poohi on October 8, 2009 - 9:01 pm

    beautiful! Really Lucky you!

    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

