‘How bad can it be?’

How do you feel when you move to a new place or start a new phase of life…Scary at first, right? You go on a roller-coaster ride of emotions – how you so want to go back to the known territory, yet somehow deep inside you know you want to experiment with what the new world has to offer.

That’s exactly how she felt when she was introduced to it. The thought that something might go wrong in someway constantly bothered her…so she kept away as much as she could. She made sure there was always someone around whenever she was handling it. And not once did she try to do anything she wasn’t taught how to…she maintained the distance.

But it all changed withtime…Familiarity crept in, slowly but steadily. And now she has come to master it :-).

This is a pic of my mother using my sister’s Mac.

Amma with Mac

And this was the conversation between sis and Amma that evening –

Sis: Amma, that’s a mac. It’s different from the usual Windows systems you are used to. So lemme show you how to…

Amma: Oh dear, how hard can it be? All I want to do it open a browser and check my email. You don’t think I can handle that? I’ll be fine, don’t you worry.

Sis: Huh????!???!! Ok!

Today when Amma received my Uncle’s email informing her that he has bought a new PC, this was part of her her reply to him –

Dear Brother,

Go to gmail, create an account for yourself…that way you can use it with Google Talk and we can voice chat (will tell you how to once you have the account). Get it? Otherwise let me know and I will explain in detail or maybe just create an account for you. OK?

Your Sis.

For someone who was afraid to use the computer without supervision…for someone who thought she would never get what this whole WWW is about…for someone who refused to go by the computer for days because it crashed when she was using it – getting to this point is a great achievement in itself, I think :-).

She makes sure she, at the least, knows what ‘hot trend’ on the WWW today is…a month or so ago, from who knows where, she learned all about twitter and discussed it with me :-). She isn’t afraid of experimenting anymore…if something goes wrong, she is sure to ask / understand what she did to cause it and how not to do it again. And she is confident enough to handle anything that comes her way… 🙂

I’m so proud of you, Amma. You are way too ‘cool’ ;-).

  1. #1 by Pearls on October 5, 2009 - 3:32 pm

    🙂 that is nice..
    You should be proud and it is so much easier to stay in touch too after mothers become internet savvy

    😀 hmm 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by Nu on October 5, 2009 - 3:34 pm

    Thats really an effort and victory ! Compliments to aunti on my behalf 🙂 Hope my mum also gets a hang of it…so at least to read my blog posts 😛 …I’ll show her this post and tell how mummies are learning THE www 🙂

    Thank you :-)…
    i’m sure your mom will get it too…just have to wait… 😀

    Like

  3. #3 by Nu on October 5, 2009 - 3:38 pm

    Hey the header is cool…cooler actually 🙂 Wish I could go and sit right there right now !

    🙂 it was a v nice place…went there a month or two ago…
    anyway, what are you doing up still?…not bedtime yet?

    Like

    • #4 by Solilo on October 5, 2009 - 6:27 pm

      I agree with Nu. What a fabulous header. I just feel like writing something around that header…weaving a story.

      Thank you so much :-)…maybe you shud try writing something 😀

      Like

  4. #5 by Psych Babbler on October 5, 2009 - 6:14 pm

    Good on your mum! It must be so hard for them initially, eh? I mean, I find it hard to keep up with technological trends and I’ve been around a computer at school and the internet since I was 15. My mum is now quite savvy as well…she reads my blog (sigh), is on facebook (double sigh) and has connected with her extended family and seems quite well versed. All in a span of a couple of months (she got started after I visited in July)

    Let’s hope when we are older we can pick up the technology of the time with the same ease!

    yeah initially she resisted a lot, felt like it was rocket science…and now she does it all with so much ease :-)…

    and your mom on fb and all, eh?…awesome!

    Like

    • #6 by Nu on October 6, 2009 - 2:26 am

      Wow, your mom on FB ? sahi hai !!! Really creditable 🙂

      Psych’s Mom, right? I know…how cool is that? 😀 .. 🙂

      Like

  5. #7 by Solilo on October 5, 2009 - 6:26 pm

    That is so sweet. Reminded me of when my mom SMSed using yahoo messenger years back and I didn’t even know that yahoo introduced a feature like that. 🙂

    lol…Amma gives me updates every now and then about new features on yahoo, skype, gchat and such…

    Like

  6. #8 by Ranju on October 5, 2009 - 6:51 pm

    well, I was wondering why there were no new posts from you !! looks like my reader is not updating… hav to take a look into that…

    your mom, yeah, she is super-cool (for using the mac) [:)]
    life becomes so much easier once parents get the hang of email/chatting !!

    and I was wondering why you never show up anymore :-)…missed your presence…is it your reader or is there some prob with my feed? maybe i shud check too…anyway, welcome back 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  7. #9 by tearsndreams on October 5, 2009 - 7:32 pm

    🙂
    You should may be suggest blogging to her.
    Does she read yours?

    Yeah maybe I should. She might already know about it ;-)…but most of the times she just makes sure she knows what is what…but she doesn’t like getting involved…like with fb, orkut, twitter and such – she knows all these things, but doesn’t want to register…so dunno if that will change if blog world is introduced…will give it a try though 🙂

    And no, she doesn’t know I blog. No one in the family does…and only 3 or 4 friends do 🙂

    Like

  8. #10 by G on October 5, 2009 - 11:33 pm

    Hey! It feels great to receive emails or blog comments from mom na? I feel like a proud teacher whenever my mum dabbles with the internet. 🙂
    BTW, makes me wonder how we will be in gennext. Just like our parents faced the computer and the internet half excted, half anxious… I wonder what we are going to face..
    :-S

    hmmm yeah…only time will tell…we shall wait and see 😀

    Like

  9. #11 by pixie on October 5, 2009 - 11:57 pm

    Super header! 🙂

    I remember telling my mom over the phone the same things a couple of months back!! now, she handles it like a pro! 🙂 🙂

    Hugs to Aunty for being so cool! 🙂 🙂

    🙂 Thank you!

    moms are all cool 😀

    Like

  10. #12 by DIDO on October 6, 2009 - 2:44 am

    So sweet… my mom is still scared to touch the pc.. we keep insisting…try ma try.. but she is so scared.

    in the beginning, Amma resisted too…it took time, so i’m sure your mom will get it all after some time 🙂

    Like

  11. #13 by Indian Homemaker on October 6, 2009 - 3:02 am

    You must be so proud of your mom!!! I think the biggest reasons why parents learn to use the internet is to stay connected to their children, and then it becomes an addiction 🙂 Reminded of my mom first refusing to look at the computer and then calling to ask how to do this or that 🙂

    yupe, it sure is an addiction now :P…

    Like

  12. #14 by Swaram on October 6, 2009 - 3:13 am

    Aww so nice that she is so comfy with all of it now 🙂

    Nice mail to her bro 🙂

    yupe…she’s the master now 😀

    Like

  13. #15 by Meira on October 6, 2009 - 3:36 am

    She IS way too cool. And good for her too.

    yay, thank you! i will let her know 😀

    Like

  14. #16 by Rashmi on October 6, 2009 - 4:14 am

    hey header is nice…u mom is rocking…

    I m getting inspired to teach this to my mom too 🙂 ..its good to be in touch if she is online or have a blog of her….

    🙂 Thanks Rashmi…And yeah, try teaching your mom.

    Like

  15. #17 by BlueMist on October 6, 2009 - 6:17 am

    Honestly I dont know what is more nice. The header or the post. Both I guess. But the header; I am unable to take my eyes off. Fantabulous and splendid. I just want to hop over to that place NOW.

    🙂 Thank you. It was a v lovely place…Spent the evening sitting on that bench during sunset…it was amazing!

    Like

    • #18 by BlueMist on October 7, 2009 - 6:38 am

      Can you take me along next time please ? 😛
      I promise I will be all good girl. 😉

      sure thing… 🙂

      Like

  16. #19 by Mahmud on October 6, 2009 - 7:01 am

    moms are all cool…..
    Im proud of ur mom too
    🙂
    nice writing …. 😀

    Thank you!

    Like

  17. #21 by Nazish Rahman on October 6, 2009 - 7:50 am

    Thats lovely….its in a way a lesson to us that never give up and keep trying!!
    As we advance in life, we learn the limits of our abilities….but this should never stop us from being more keen to learn new things!!
    Salute to your mom…great going, even i’ve learned something from this…”its never too late”!! 🙂

    take care :))

    yupe very true…’it’s never too late’ :-)…thanks, Nazish!

    Like

  18. #22 by aanya on October 6, 2009 - 8:02 am

    Aww.. everyones talking about their mother’s today… U and Dido.. have posted sumthg on ur mothers..
    Now i’m going home and givingg a biggg hug to my mom too 😛

    Cutee post girl 🙂

    Welcome!!! 🙂 and thank you!

    Like

  19. #23 by DIDO on October 6, 2009 - 8:08 am

    hey.. i had commented here.. where did my comment go :(((
    disappeared…!

    newayss nice post titaxy…my mom is too scared to touch the comp..

    i’m approving them right now…it is on it’s way 🙂

    Like

  20. #24 by divz on October 6, 2009 - 8:32 am

    Super cool aunty I say!

    My amma is so scared even now, I tried hard, no use 😦
    One day she said she has a cold so she won’t touch the PC in a fear of passing the virus 😛
    Man the lessons I had to give her – she’s better now but she still is scared!

    ROFL…did she really say that? too precious!

    Like

  21. #25 by Elegant Chic on October 6, 2009 - 3:30 pm

    My mom was scared before… but now she’s expert in chatting and checking mails (only)… 😀

    🙂 good for her 🙂

    Like

  22. #26 by Ranju on October 6, 2009 - 9:35 pm

    I think it was my reader… fixed the problem !!

    thank you !!
    I am glad to be back here too !!

    🙂 ok dear…

    Like

  23. #27 by Dee on October 7, 2009 - 4:28 am

    Sounds like my Amma.. Before the only thing she remebered was http://www.mail.yahoo.com along with her id and password..

    Now, she can find anything on google, especially recipes and u find a lot of Italian fare of our dining table!!

    Isn’t it uncanny how when I comment on ur blog, it always is, “Sounds like my mom” kind of statements??

    lol..yup, i’ve noticed that too :D…

    Like

  24. #28 by Nancy on October 7, 2009 - 7:14 am

    Awww ur mothers advice to her brother was so shweet:-D

    Our mothers are getting way too cool nowadays….initially when my mom used to chat with me I used to poke fun at her typing speed & say tht I cd make a chicken curry in the time she wd type one sentence. Now….I have to rush to keep up 😛

    oh yeah, how can i forget the typing speed thing…same with my mom, used to be slow..but now she’s a pro there too 😀

    Like

  25. #29 by Anu on October 8, 2009 - 5:25 am

    wow! sounds like your mom is super cool! On Facebook too?! too much! 😀
    Just to echo what so many have already said – that’s a lovely header! where did you click the pic?

    No,my mom is not on facebook…that’s PsychBabbler’s Mom.

    And yes, the header pic was taken by me 😛 …thank you!

    Like

  26. #30 by stinkypaw on October 8, 2009 - 7:31 pm

    Impressive! If only my mom would be so willing to accept change and forget our phone number when the pc crashes… 😉

    :D…it takes time…she will get there some day, i’m sure 😀

    Like

  27. #31 by Winnie the Poohi on October 8, 2009 - 8:59 pm

    That is so awesome! All my dad does with comp is play solitaire!

    lol… :D..not bad at all 🙂

    Like

  28. #32 by SG on October 8, 2009 - 9:23 pm

    Very nice post. Unga amma romba genius. Avangaluku porandha neengalum genius. (Your mother is very genius. Born to her, you are also genius.)

    lol…thank you… :D…but nothing too genius about this 😀

    Like

  29. #33 by Pins N Ashes on October 9, 2009 - 5:19 am

    That is so cool!! Just how my MIL learned how to use a digi cam last week with our help and her first shot not that bad either….
    way to go!!

    nice 🙂 way to go, yay!! 🙂

    Like

  30. #34 by vishvak saen on October 9, 2009 - 3:29 pm

    my amma is also weary of all these tech stuff.. but now due to neccesity she also got the thing about vconf..its nice when they do it..free

    nice!!! and Welcome!

    Like

  31. #35 by Mahmud on October 10, 2009 - 1:08 pm

    You are tagged in my latest post 😀

    http://expressionsunbound.wordpress.com/2009/10/10/great-men-great-ideas/

    ok sir…will take a look and do it sometime 🙂

    Like

  32. #37 by Suji! on October 11, 2009 - 12:44 am

    These days technology is not only making life easy but it is also getting easier to learn them ain’t it? 🙂

    First time here… 🙂

    yupe totally…Welcome!!!

    Like

  33. #38 by Nu on October 11, 2009 - 10:41 am

    hey left a comment on Psych’s “flat mate search” post and it indicates you on that 😛

    Ok 🙂

    Like

  34. #39 by rayshma on October 12, 2009 - 8:14 am

    it feels SO proud when they do that, no! 🙂
    my mom uses my mac here… and the other day, she was telling my brother how to voice chat… 😀

    precious!

    Like

  35. #40 by Sri on October 13, 2009 - 12:59 am

    Wow..a net/technology savvy mom! cool.

    Cool blog, ma’am. Thanks for dropping by. Will return for more.

    -Sri

    Yupe, it is cool :D…Thanks and Welcome!

    Like

  36. #41 by Prashanti on October 13, 2009 - 7:47 pm

    Yay !! for cool moms 🙂 and all moms too 🙂 I think I will post about this and link you 🙂

    yupe…YAY!…sure do, thanks…

    Like

  37. #42 by Smitha on October 14, 2009 - 4:29 am

    Aunty is definitely cool!!! It is wonderful, isn’t it , when our parents turn out all tech-savvy 🙂

    oh yea, it is :-)…thanks, Smitha

    Like

  38. #43 by aniruddha pathak on November 2, 2009 - 7:23 am

    Ahan good 🙂 same is the case with my mom. She’s stopped cooking and plays game on computers all the way to 4 am in morning 😀

    omg really?…that is precious :D…who cooks at home now? 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

