A dream come true moment…

Waking up to the irksome tune of the alarm clock every morning was the routine. But seeing her next to him on the bed with a gun pointed to his head was not.

“What the hell do you think you are doing? Don’t you have work to do in the kitchen? I don’t like getting late and you know that. So stop with the idiocy and go get me my breakfast ready, will ya?”

…he screamed at her…not realizing the severity of the situation.

“The gun is loaded, honey. So don’t move…that will just make it harder than it has to be, for both of us. And yeah, please don’t shout at me like this. You know I don’t like it a bit. Let’s me do the talking, while you do the listening this time…for a change. Ok?”

…she said, in the most tenderly way possible…all the while keeping the gun intact between her hands with her right index finger on the trigger…ready to pull it when it was time.

“Oh quit it. Do you know how ridiculous this looks? What…”

“What part of “don’t shout at me” did you not understand? Stop yelling and listen…sure I did not have it in me to stand up against you when you started treating me like s@#t, when you cheated on me, or when you started abusing me physically and mentally. But that was then. I…I’m sorry…we have a daughter now and I can’t let her grow up amid all this nonsense of yours…”

“So what? You are planning to kill me? That is just so foolish. Have you thought of all the consequences? Put the gun down and let’s talk this out. Maybe we can work out a divorce, what do you say?”

“That is an idea, sure. But I’m gonna have to say NO. Because that way, I won’t get my closure. First of all, I know what will happen if I put this gun down now. Moreover, I don’t want to let you be to see someone else get hurt in the future.  So this is the only way out, as I see it. As for the consequences, you don’t need to worry so much about all that. After all, I’m doing this to defend myself in a way, am I not? The burns and the bruises all over my body will be of some use, thanks to you…I’m sure any court in the world would understand my stand when they see it all.”

“Please. Don’t do this. Let’s get rational h…”

Without any warning…without letting him utter his final words…she pulled the trigger. And it was all over, in a flash.

She sat there looking at the body drenched in red…as if she was waiting for a signal, waiting for someone to tell her it was all over and things are going to different from this point forward. She smiled, while her eyes got misty.

Weeping every morning for one reason or another was the routine. But happy tears rolling down her face was not.

——————–

“Cut”

…the director yelled.

“Good job, folks”

…he said.

She wiped the fake tears off her face. And smiled, merrily…because today she has completed shooting for her first ever movie.

Because this was her dream come true moment !

,

  1. #1 by Chatterbox on October 15, 2009 - 5:53 pm

    I simply loved it!
    While I was reading the story,I felt you’ve been inspired by some thriller movie or novel.But the way you ended it, made me like it all the more.

    Your story’s ending has given me a chance to feel good that I too think on the same lines as a gifted writer (you)….he.he.he

    I’d love to write good fiction someday for sure 🙂

    Cheers!!

    lol…i’m sure there are movies / novels with similar story line, but i dunno which one i was inspired by :-). thank you.

    and thank you so much for calling me a ‘gifted writer’…i will float on cloud nine for a while 😛 …as much as i love the compliment, i don’t think it’s true though :-(…i’ve been reading your posts for a couple of days now and i feel that is much better than what i write, so there…you are more a gifted writer than i am :-)…

    you do write nice 55 fiction stories, which i don’t think i ever can :D..

    thanks again.

    Like

  2. #2 by Psych Babbler on October 15, 2009 - 6:26 pm

    Am I first? Nice one…Interesting change in the end…really liked the entire story… 😀

    no PB, you are second :D…

    thank you soooooo much…your kind words mean a lot…inspires me 🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Nova on October 15, 2009 - 6:53 pm

    lovely style of story telling 🙂

    thank you v much 🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by G on October 15, 2009 - 10:56 pm

    Oh that way ‘dream come true’ eh. I thought she wanted to kill he husband in real life too and this was like a trailer or something.
    😀
    Nice one 🙂

    lol..that’s even better.. :D…why didn’t i think of that :P…

    Thank you!

    Like

  5. #5 by Nu on October 15, 2009 - 11:10 pm

    thankfully it ended like it.. I mean even if in reality the man was rude and hard to the female…shooting him and all that…boss it scared me… and hey just for a moment I thought it’s about you acting in a movie…is it so ? 😉

    🙂 I’m not that cruel a person ;-)..won’t kill my characters for real 😉

    and me? acting? are you kidding me?…even in my wildest dreams acting wouldn’t be one of the things i would wanna do…cause i know i won’t be any good in that field…anyway, you seem to have high hopes for me girl :D…

    Like

    • #6 by BlueMist on October 16, 2009 - 6:03 am

      Even I had that feeling dunno why. May be since two nice people are saying that you should think about acting. 😉

      haha..you people are being funny, yeah? :D…

      Like

  6. #7 by Mahmud on October 15, 2009 - 11:52 pm

    aaaaa….. I need a glass of water 😯
    I am feared of the explanations of such moment… I can’t like “guns and triggering”….. 😀

    But really dear, your style is good. It was such sweet writing that I could easily visualize the moments that was explained…. 🙂

    rock on bondhu (friend) 😀

    lol Mahmud…was it too cruel? :P..alrite, I will try to be nicer next time around, ok? 🙂

    Thank you sooo much for the compliments, friend 🙂 !

    Like

    • #8 by Mahmud on October 16, 2009 - 10:05 am

      Hei dear,
      I didn’t tell you that it was too cruel okay? I normally can’t tolerate high-action movies or those movies where stabbing and killing scene are present. Just it, my personal limitation 🙂

      But I appreciated your style which resemble your perfect angle of explanations… that made me to visualize moments 😀

      I would like a social-problem base story or romantic 😉

      Waiting for…… 😎

      by cruel, i meant too violent..sorry for using the wrong word :-)…but what you said is exactly what i meant..and yea, next time, if i write anything, I will try to write something romantic, ok? 🙂

      Like

      • #9 by Mahmud on October 16, 2009 - 11:21 pm

        Oww….. 😀
        My pleasure friend 🙂

        🙂

        Like

  7. #10 by divz on October 16, 2009 - 4:35 am

    I love stories 😀
    This one was super-dooper,
    now I want more 🙂

    :D…thanks, divz…more? lol…don’t expect anything ok? i don’t want to disappoint 😛

    Like

  8. #11 by Solilo on October 16, 2009 - 5:03 am

    That was a nice twist at the end. 😀 You always do this. I still remember the eyebrow threading story and chuckle.

    actually that’s right…for some reason i like to twist it at the end :D…there are couple more posts that i’ve written here that follows the pattern, never noticed it though 😀

    Thank you!

    Like

  9. #12 by BlueMist on October 16, 2009 - 5:59 am

    now let me try posting a typical comment I would get if it had been my fiction.

    “Ouch…you scared me ! ”

    ” Oops ; very dark; very threating ”

    ” Geez you spent a shiver thro my spine !! Gosh ! ”

    “Oh so dark; can we have a happy one next time ? ”

    ROFL

    rofl…sounds like most of my comments on your stories :-P…but hey, your posts are beyond awesome, i never have words to describe how well you write…so i settle for the regular ‘nice’ ‘rofl’ etc 😛

    Like

    • #13 by BlueMist on October 18, 2009 - 3:22 am

      Never mind I could not stop myself for grabbing a moment of enjoyment being on this side. Otherwise I seem to be on the other receiving end all the time. Just for fun. 🙂

      😀

      Like

  10. #14 by BlueMist on October 16, 2009 - 6:02 am

    Now let me comment. Awesome flow. After reading first half did not feel the acting part is coming. Lovely. I love such crude and strong females as main characters of story. Enjoyed it completely. Could visualize the scene. I can think of your script if I decide to make a movie. 😀

    me too love strong female characters…thanks, BM…compliments coming from an awesome fiction writer as yourself means a lot 🙂

    Like

    • #15 by BlueMist on October 18, 2009 - 3:23 am

      This is my chane ka ped moment. 😀

      rofl 😛

      Like

  11. #16 by Swaram on October 16, 2009 - 6:28 am

    Wow! That ws really well written girl 🙂
    And to give u the deserved compliments, me dint guess its gonna b a movie 😛

    :P…thanks 🙂

    Like

  12. #17 by Nids on October 16, 2009 - 10:47 am

    great story and I like the way you outlined it. I was trying to justify the girl’s action for killing her husband, but the end gave me some relief 🙂

    :-)…thanks Nids.

    Like

  13. #18 by Prashanti on October 16, 2009 - 10:53 am

    hah ! what an ending it was !!!!

    🙂

    Like

  14. #19 by Nazish Rahman on October 16, 2009 - 10:57 am

    Great work….i could simply imagine the entire scene!!! Very well described…any director who comes across this blog will simply be interested in your lovely work!!

    thank you, Nazish…

    Like

  15. #20 by shraddha on October 16, 2009 - 12:44 pm

    lovely story telling!!

    i very much enjoyed reading it!

    a novelist?do we have here?

    🙂 Thank you!…

    novelist? lol….not at all 😀

    Like

  16. #21 by Rajlakshmi on October 16, 2009 - 2:03 pm

    wow that was a superb twist…
    and wonderfully narrated…
    loved the storyline.

    Thank you so much. 🙂 And Welcome!!!

    Like

  17. #22 by sg on October 16, 2009 - 8:10 pm

    Unexpected climax. Loved it. Happy Diwali to you and your family.

    Thank you, SG. Wish you a very happy Diwali too. 🙂

    Like

  18. #23 by Pesto Sauce on October 17, 2009 - 3:35 am

    May be for a movie, but not bad in real life too

    lol :-)…

    Like

  19. #24 by Polprav on October 17, 2009 - 11:00 am

    Hello from Russia!
    Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?

    Sure do.

    Welcome!

    Like

  20. #25 by Pixie on October 17, 2009 - 12:44 pm

    Whew!

    I had my breath held and realised that only after I let it out after reading the ending! 😀

    Yea, this does of course mean its written superbly!
    What narration! Loved it! 🙂

    thank you, lovely Pix… 🙂

    Like

  21. #26 by Elegant Chic on October 18, 2009 - 9:32 am

    WOW!!!!!

    Titaxy dear, u r too good at fiction!!! Loved it!!!!

    Thanks, EC 🙂

    Like

  22. #27 by Dee on October 20, 2009 - 3:21 am

    WOW!!

    That was good.. I almost was expecting an epilogue at the end of the post!

    😀 thanks Dee

    Like

  23. #28 by Indian Homemaker on October 20, 2009 - 7:29 am

    Loved it – also loved the unexpected twist in the end! Brilliant 🙂

    Thanks, IHM.. 🙂

    Like

  24. #29 by Anonymous on October 21, 2009 - 9:08 am

    girl, you have some talent !!

    thank you!

    Like

  25. #30 by Ranju on October 21, 2009 - 9:09 am

    girl, you have some talent !! nice one !!

    thanks , Ranju…

    Like

  26. #31 by aniruddha pathak on November 2, 2009 - 5:32 am

    Damn titaxy now thats what you should have attempted with a 55er 😉

    hahaha…but i cudn’t get this done in 55 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

