The secret to pleasing my heart…

…even when everything seems to be falling apart…lies within me and me only, I have realized.

Tough times hit home every now and then…in someway or the other. And it is reflected on whatever I do, without a doubt.

At times like those, I used to don my crappiest possible mood for as long as I wanted to and made sure I gave myself one reason after another to justify that it was ok to be grumpy and not do anything about it. Sometimes, I took it a step forward to list out how it might be because of others that I’m losing it all.

Not anymore.

Somewhere along the way, I’ve come to a realization that no one else can in any way affect my mood…good or bad, it’s all ME.

And so, I’m making an effort to change the way I look at / respond to issues.

Nowadays, when the mood goes downhill, I make it a point to try and hold myself together. I promise to self that I wouldn’t let little things distract me and that I would, in someway, find a compromise and cheer my spirits up, instead of waiting for some miracle to make it all ok. After all, there is always hope that things will get better, right?

Anyway, so last week when the emotions were running high, I went out and bought some beautiful flowers…

IMG_3738

and some candles…

IMG_3725

So now, every time I enter my room, no matter what my current state of mind, it is sure to get a makeover, for the better…because of the fragrance that the beautiful flowers give and the aura that the candles create. And just like that, in small things like these I have learned to find a getaway from any emotional merry-go-round.

The heart has now discovered a way to sing happy tunes even when there is chaos around. If that is not growing up, then what is? 🙂

———————

On a different note, the About page is updated.

  1. #1 by Mahmud Faisal on October 21, 2009 - 8:39 pm

    😦
    Am I first?

    yes you are! 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by Mahmud Faisal on October 21, 2009 - 9:32 pm

    Wow! 😀
    what an idea of making mind cheerful 🙂

    sweet! 😉

    🙂 Thanks.

    Like

  3. #3 by Nu on October 21, 2009 - 10:28 pm

    Oh shit ! I thought at least today I’ll be the first 😦

    second is good too… 😀

    Like

  4. #4 by Nu on October 21, 2009 - 10:51 pm

    Traalaaaa…. My heart also sings happy tunes after reading your highly motivated and emotional and happy post 🙂 Have fun and stick to it 🙂

    emotional? was it really? :P…

    Like

  5. #5 by Ashwini on October 22, 2009 - 12:26 am

    Titaxy,
    Very pleasant read! Hey, can I have your email address if its not too much to ask for? Please send it to me.

    thanks and yeah..will email you..

    Like

  6. #6 by Chatterbox on October 22, 2009 - 12:57 am

    Wow! what a coincidence.
    I too refresh my dull mood and senses in the proximity of fragrant flowers. Those Lilies look awesome Titaxy.

    Candles are a great idea to lighten up your life. Try the fragrant ones, they’ll add lot of soothing effect to your mind even in night time. My favorite are the Vanilla candles.

    Keep smiling 🙂

    yupe, flowers are my newly discovered love :D…and candles too…
    cheers!

    Like

  7. #7 by Swaram on October 22, 2009 - 1:29 am

    Lovely post T 🙂 I cn feel the fragrance here 🙂 And makes me wanna buy candles nw …. been a long time since I got some … ya 48 hrs 😛

    Lovely flowers and the candles arrangement – simply superb 😀

    lol…48hrs, eh? :D…that is long ;-)…Thanks, Swaram 🙂

    Like

  8. #8 by noname on October 22, 2009 - 1:34 am

    Superb post! I read somewhere about the 90-10 principal. According to that, it is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it. It is nice to see people like yourself who realize it and more importantly spread the idea through your writing. Thanks for the wonderful post. I will try (harder) to follow them 🙂 Take care.

    yup…I’ve heard about that 90-10 principal before…and now trying to see if I can actually follow it… Thanks!

    Like

  9. #9 by G on October 22, 2009 - 1:39 am

    The last line did sound like it was coming from a grown up 🙂

    Try putting some candles in your bathroom and soak in the tub for an hour or so. That is so mood-uplifting I tell you!

    I just luvvvvvv the candle stand btw…. where from?

    lol..only the last line, eh? 😀

    yeah I’ve to try doing that sometime…will blog about it when I try it 😉

    candle stand – from a local shop here called Christmas Tree Shops, i think…got it 2 yrs ago..want one? i’ll ship it 😉

    Like

  10. #10 by Dido on October 22, 2009 - 1:44 am

    wow… those flowers n candles look amazing… hope u mood is okayy now… Cheer up sweetie… things will get better 🙂

    thanks, Dido….yeah i’m all fine now… 😀

    Like

  11. #11 by Dee on October 22, 2009 - 4:14 am

    I loved the flowers soo much..

    When we were kids, we had a flower guy come every 3 days once with “english flowers” as he called them in a luna..

    Amma would put them in the hall, rooms, dining table etc… Always made me very happy 🙂

    ‘english flowers’ lol…i don’t remember ever getting ‘english flowers’ as kids…but there was always the fragrance of jasmine all over the house because mom used to get them all the time…

    Like

  12. #12 by divz on October 22, 2009 - 4:16 am

    your pics cheered me up!

    i’m glad :-)…hope all is fine…hugs!

    Like

  13. #13 by Indian Homemaker on October 22, 2009 - 5:40 am

    That’s a positive attitude!! Lovely pictures too!!

    One more mood up-lifter is to write down anything good anybody ever says about you, and also what you feel is awesome about yourself. Read when you are sad.

    In college, a friend and I wrote 50 great things about each other and I still have that with me!!

    you know what, a post of that kind – abt someone saying something good abt me that made my day – was being drafted, but for some reason i deleted it because i cudn’t complete it :-(…anyway

    that is so sweet -what you and your friend did…lovely!!!

    and

    Like

  14. #14 by Psych Babbler on October 22, 2009 - 5:44 am

    Good on you! You are so right in that only we are in control of our own feelings (as I say every single day to my clients and to myself) and it’s great that you are taking action. My problem is not taking action even though I know what to do! You are an inspiration 😉 Will take a leaf out of your book. And by the way, those candles are beautiful!

    right?…i’ve wasted a lot of time thinking there is someone somewhere who can magically change my mood etc…but doesn’t make any sense…only if i let someone influence me, then they can…otherwise no one can do anything abt the way i feel…good or bad..

    taking action – i dunno how things are changing with me…maybe i’m growing up :D…and i’m sure you will / can do it too :-)…not too hard..

    and pls, i haven’t done anything to be an inspiration of any kind, PB…there is still a long way for me to go too :D…but thanks tons for the compliments 🙂

    Like

  15. #15 by Elegant Chic on October 22, 2009 - 6:14 am

    Loved the candles… 😀

    thank you, EC 🙂

    Like

  16. #16 by Elegant Chic on October 22, 2009 - 6:15 am

    I wish I could do these things to cheer up my mood, but nothing is possible now… sigh

    oh come on, why?…there must be something you can do to cheer yourself up…don’t say it’s not possible… cheers!!! and hugs!

    Like

  17. #17 by BlueMist on October 22, 2009 - 6:43 am

    Way to go. Every tiny thing that brings happiness is worth doing. Glad you discovered that. 🙂

    yupe, it so is…thanks!

    Like

  18. #18 by rayshma on October 22, 2009 - 10:23 am

    this is the good part of growing up…
    and those flowers sure are lovely! 🙂

    Thanks :-)…growing up feels good ;)…

    Like

  19. #19 by shraddha on October 22, 2009 - 11:03 am

    i completely agree with you!!
    i think in similar way too!!

    hugs and luv
    shraddha

    ohhh nice!!!…thanks.

    Like

  20. #20 by Nazish Rahman on October 22, 2009 - 2:58 pm

    Thats lovely…u seem to have got control of your emotions!! This shows how strong u have become with the passage of time and u have been good student of life!!
    May be those flowers are a medium to bring u back to the positive energy zone…so keep it where u can see it all the time :)!!
    This was really a nice post…i really needed to read a post like this…thanks!!!

    Yupe, it’s right where I can see it all the time :-)…Thanks, Nazish…

    Like

  21. #21 by Anu on October 23, 2009 - 3:22 am

    wow! such beautiful flowers and candles! Will definitely help to shoo away the crappiest of moods! Way to go, girl! 🙂

    thank you 😀

    Like

  22. #22 by Prashanti on October 23, 2009 - 11:43 am

    Pretty Pretty … I do this all the time too except, I go shopping for shoes or clothes or home accents and I am happy by the time the trip is over 🙂

    lol… :D…shopping never satisfies me..i’ve to use the things to be satisfied 😉

    Like

  23. #23 by Nancy on October 23, 2009 - 2:54 pm

    The flowers & lights are beautiful!!!! Both so automatically manage to lift our moods dont they 🙂

    yes, they do :-)..thanks!

    Like

  24. #24 by aniruddha pathak on November 2, 2009 - 5:24 am

    You are bang on target…its often how we react to situation that makes the mood..the candles are superb.. i am too dumb to comment on flowers 😉
    Titaxy there’s got to be a way to follow comments 😦

    oh did you try the rss feed or not? i don’t really know any way :-(…sorry..

    and thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

