Dancing…

…with my sisters, till we dropped, is one of the fondest memories from my teenage years.

It was like a ritual. Every other weekend or so, we would play random songs on youtube and try to follow the moves of the dancers. This was one the few things that we did together…just the three of us.

Mom would be around…she would sit nearby so she can watch us and make sure we didn’t see some video we weren’t supposed to make sure nothing got out of control. Dad would be in his own world, most of the times…but he would stop by the room at least once to warn us about the possibility of the house collapsing if we continued.

But none of that mattered…because this was our time together and we continued to bring down the house until we got tired.

It used to be a lot of fun…I miss all that now.

Especially today, when I was listening to songs on my way home and felt like dancing jumping around. And since I skipped gym session in the evening, I thought I could make up for it this way. So as soon as I came home, I played a song…

But I couldn’t get my feet to move…because it wasn’t the same.

I missed the two souls that taught me the moves. I missed those sweet voices that hummed the songs along while dancing. I missed those hands that always held mine. I missed the other two pairs of happy feet. I missed my sisters…I missed their company.

And I realized that without them, it will never be fun.

So I pinged my sister and told her what happened…the sweetheart that she is, she assured me all the fun when we meet next.

I’m excited already !

So tell me, what is one of your most cherished memories that involves your sibling(s)? I would love to know…

  1. #1 by G on October 29, 2009 - 11:26 pm

    You can really get me started with that question.
    1) Laughing… pointlessly most of the times
    2) Riding a bike together, which meant sister rides bike and I sit behind.
    3) Cooking
    4) Simply lazing around…
    The list could go on.. There are so many things which are never gonna happen again. We can do all of those things now but the joy and mood wont be the same.
    😦

    i never got to sit behind on a bicycle, i always was the one riding them ard.. 🙂

    yupe…true..won’t be the same anymore…it’s time to make a different set of memories now :D..

    Like

  2. #2 by Mahmud faisal on October 29, 2009 - 11:55 pm

    Am I first??
    😀 😀 😀

    no sir :D.

    Like

  3. #3 by Mahmud faisal on October 30, 2009 - 12:25 am

    Many many feelings are there… which makes remember my elder sister.. everyday… many times….

    My sister was my friend… my everything… whom I must miss..
    She got married, has a little child of 3 months…. I feel how sweet memories I bare in my heart…. regarding many many things…
    😯 I can’t mention few! 😦

    Okay.. give me time… would write later on 🙂

    yup…everyone has an endless list of what they miss about their siblings.. 🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by Psych Babbler on October 30, 2009 - 12:32 am

    Aww that’s nice! Very nostalgic… 🙂 So when do you meet them? And are they older than you or younger?

    My fondest memories with my little sis are when we laugh hysterically — for the silliest and stupidest jokes that only the two of us seem to get and no one else does. 😀 We had some of those moments when I visited this year…laughing hysterically over a game of scrabble when we came up with some random weird words….

    Miss that laughter…

    mostly next month for thanksgiving, if not, then christmas…i’m the eldest 😛 in the family.

    aahhh, that laughing hysterically…we used to do it too.. 😀 drove my father crazy… lol

    Like

  5. #5 by aniruddha pathak on October 30, 2009 - 12:59 am

    aww 🙂 hopefully you guys will rock when you meet…What i remember of my time with my sister is her making the most awesome pasta for me..and waiting eagerly for me to tell her how it was…it was the best i have ever had :D.
    P.S: there has to be a better way to follow comments 😦

    yupe, i hope so too.. thanks!

    pasta – WOW…so did you always make sure you told her it was the best? 😀

    better way to follow comments as in???

    Like

  6. #6 by Nu on October 30, 2009 - 1:20 am

    Aww…what a senti post 🙂 Dancing reminds me that I love dancing anytime and for n-number of hours..I can dance continuously 🙂 And that’s what I do reduce to this unwanted flab 😉 Cause gyming is boring but dancing does wonders to me 🙂

    Hope you have a great time with your sisters the next time you are at home 🙂

    do you dance regularly then? like everyday? 😀

    yupe, i hope so too..thanks, Nu 😀

    Like

  7. #7 by chroniclesofdee on October 30, 2009 - 1:52 am

    With my sister the most awesome memories is street food eating and singing loudly in the car…

    We have in probability tried every form of street food in Bangalore.. Chats, chicken rolls, gobi machurians, cone ice creams, gauvas, coconut water, corn etc.. Even now, when we find something new, its like a news bulletin and we have to inform the other one 😀

    My sister has an awesome voice and mine resembles a donkey in pain.. But my sister always said that ur voice will get texture as u keep singing.. So, she made me sing with her everytime we were in the car.. It never made Appa happy.. Till today, Appa does not have a music system in his car 😀

    oh that’s nice…we don’t have any ‘eating out’ memories because we were never allowed to :P..

    but singing while driving – that’s so nice of your sis to encourage you that way 😀 …

    we drove each other crazy :D…and if we stopped singing, dad would start with his really old old songs, so we made sure to keep singing so we didn’t give dad a chance 😉

    Like

  8. #8 by Nova on October 30, 2009 - 2:14 am

    I love these little moments… 🙂 They bring a smile on my face everytime I think of it… 🙂

    :-)…yup precious moments 😀

    Like

  9. #9 by vishvak saen on October 30, 2009 - 3:53 am

    too many actually.when i was in third stndrd,me and my bro wanted a new bigger tv. the tv we had was in this big stand a bit high for us.so we brought the whole stand down.all the glass and show piece stuff broke.a huge mushroom of dist rose.the tv dint even flinch.it stayed with us for 6 more years.free

    ohh my that’s one adventurous incident :D….

    Like

  10. #10 by Nazish Rahman on October 30, 2009 - 4:41 am

    Some memories always bring a smile on your face n some take away!! It was nice to read as to how u enjoyed and now miss them. Its what u miss is element that makes u want for more.

    take care :))

    :-)…

    Like

  11. #11 by divz on October 30, 2009 - 5:39 am

    wow so sweet..
    I wish I had siblings..
    my most cherished memory is when I held my lil cousin brother by his feet and upside down, swirled around and flung him on the bed when he hurt me with his newly acquired karate stunts 😛

    HAHHAHA… does he still talk to you? :D..

    Like

    • #12 by divz on October 30, 2009 - 3:35 pm

      yesss 🙂
      but i guess at some level he is still scared of me 😛

      obviously ;-)…i wud be scared too if i were him…lol

      Like

  12. #13 by Prashanti on October 30, 2009 - 10:19 am

    I am an only child Booohoooooo 😦

    aww…how about cousins? :D…

    Like

  13. #14 by BlueMist on October 30, 2009 - 1:53 pm

    Awww. nice. My sis is quite older than me. But we bond like friends. She has done some shopping for me and i am dying to collect the stuff from her. I get all pampered and all. Fun times. 😀

    i sooo wish i had an elder sister…oh no wait, elder brother.. :D..

    Like

    • #15 by BlueMist on October 30, 2009 - 2:15 pm

      and I crave for younger sibling. 😀 Geez such a life. 😀

      ok i’ll be your younger sis…and you can be the elder one.. deal?

      but wait, you can’t be my elder brother…so deal’s off…

      such is life 😀

      Like

      • #16 by BlueMist on October 30, 2009 - 2:30 pm

        Sigh ! that’s how life normally treats me. Deal off even before on ! 😦

        My FIL calls me “Beta” does that count ? 😛

        that’s how life normally treats everyone :P…

        but i like your spirit :D…you know the way you are still hoping there’s a chance :D…so yes, the “Beta” calling counts a little…tell me if there’s more.. LOL

        Like

      • #17 by BlueMist on October 30, 2009 - 2:53 pm

        Ahem all taarif and all. I am blushing already. 😀

        haha 😀 😀

        Like

  14. #18 by Pawan on October 30, 2009 - 2:08 pm

    Very touching! And your narration is superb…I could totally visualize it. Keep going. You are gifted!

    Thank you, Pawan. 🙂

    Welcome 🙂

    Like

  15. #19 by Swaram on October 30, 2009 - 4:43 pm

    Aww thatz a lovely lovely post T! I am missing my sister already 😦
    I never never could sing alone if someone asked me to! It always used to be ‘The Sisters’ or no one! Fond memories 🙂

    Thanks, Swaram…sisters are the best, aren’t they? 😀

    Like

  16. #20 by tearsndreams on October 30, 2009 - 7:40 pm

    You have childhood memories of youtube??????????
    Wow!
    Why don’t you start calling me aunty and make our interactions age appropriate.

    no no no no…late teen yrs…did i not mention that? :D..

    Like

  17. #21 by Pixie on October 30, 2009 - 10:30 pm

    Sigh.. this made me miss my sister even more!

    but, yes the memories are wonderful!

    -shopping together
    -fighting!
    -playing house/barbie!!
    -me telling her stories, making up most of them and animating the charaters with different voices!
    -sitting around reading comics/books!

    thanks T! You brought back some really wonderful memories! 🙂

    nice!!!…i hate shopping…so even going out to the mall with my sisters doesn’t fall under the cherished memories category…

    and oh..you tell stories and all?…that is so sweet of you!

    thank you!

    Like

  18. #22 by Dido on October 31, 2009 - 12:54 am

    dancingggg…. 😛
    and yeah fighting with my bro…. we’ve had some stupidestttt(if thts a word 🙂 fights ever…. and my cousins n my bro used to pick me up and then bang me on the bed… as scream ///1////2////3/// ting ting… WWF winner is … lolll

    bang you on the bed? that’s fun to know…lol..poor you :D…how did you react?

    Like

  19. #23 by heavealie on November 1, 2009 - 12:50 am

    ohh excellent post you brought back the fond memories!!yeah riding bikes,then me dancing trying to do some stupid break dance moves and my elder sister laughing at me,we fighting like made,playing monopoly….. those were the dayssss!!she is getting married in a month so i will miss her a lot!!she is use to always cook some or the other thing for me whenever i was hungry she is use to make all those special dishes!!how we grow up so quickly in a flash of a second!!well written post!!keep writing!!

    elder sister, eh?…she pampers you a lot, doesn’t she? :D…and hey, congrats to her, on her wedding…even if she gets married, those memories will always stay…and the times you get to meet her will be so special hereafter…so cheer up :-)..

    thanks!

    Like

  20. #24 by Meira on November 2, 2009 - 5:38 am

    generally talking, bitching about the in laws (:P) , exchanging fashion and household tips, playing with her kids…sigh!

    nice :D…

    Like

  21. #25 by Priya on November 3, 2009 - 12:27 am

    Hey.. lovely post. ..can totally feel it…
    We are three sisters and have lotz of lovely moments to cherish. Despite the cook fights and bitter words of growing up years, we are the best of friends now… we look forward to our get togethers and those are our special occasions.

    we are three sisters too :D…it is nice!!!

    Like

  22. #26 by Elegant Chic on November 5, 2009 - 7:20 am

    Awwww 🙂

    Well u knw abt my God-sent gift na? This page won’t be enough to describe… 😀

    :D..

    Like

Leave a Reply

