What is your life’s purpose?

If today were your last day on earth, can you, with confidence, tell me that you have lived your life to the fullest?

I know I can’t.

My grandfather once told me that at some point during our journey called life we recognize our true potential and then it is totally up to us as to whether or not we use it to give a meaning to our time in this world. And that not many do.

As far as I am concerned, I don’t know what I want to do or where I am headed. Don’t get me wrong, I am extremely content with my current life. Still, every now and then, a voice pops up in my head and asks me if this is all there is to life. And I tell myself that it can’t be.

On the one hand, I’ve done everything so far in life to get to where I am right now. I can proudly say that I am now at a point which I had always dreamed of. And that feels great. I have a caring family, I love my job, I am financially, mentally, physically stable, my parents, my sisters and everyone that matters are happy, and all that.

But…

On the other hand, I am not sure if all this will be enough in the long run. It doesn’t make much sense to think that, if I live to be 60 all that would matter to me then would still be the same – a nice home, family, job, etc. Something doesn’t quite seem right there. Because I know I want more than just all that.

I am not working towards becoming a millionaire someday…sure I would like to have it if it comes along the way, but money is not what I am after. I don’t dream of getting married and having kids to pass on my genes…sure I would like to have a family someday, but that is not all I want. I am no scientist material…sure I would love to invent something, but who am I kidding, I know I don’t belong the super genius crowd.

Clearly, I understand what I am not aiming for…but that doesn’t give me an answer to what I want.

All I know is that I want to do something that goes beyond satisfying my / my family’s / my friends’ needs. Something that would make a difference…bring about change in someones life. But of course, I still don’t know what that something is or when I will figure it all out. I can only hope that I remember I want to do something and I do it when I get to that point.

Please do share…have you recognized that potential of yours yet? Do you know what you want to get out of life? If you do, how did you figure it out?

  1. #1 by Mumbai Diva on November 5, 2009 - 12:40 am

    No. I haven’t figured it out. And like you said, a voice pops up once in a while and leaves me very dissatisfied.

    I think this is an awesome post.

    hmm…do let me know when you figure it out 😉

    thank you, Mumbai Diva.

    Like

  2. #2 by stinkypaw on November 5, 2009 - 1:19 am

    We all feel this way at some point, but it’s what we do that counts. We, as humans, only want to leave something behind, or do something because of our ego. A teacher of mine once said “We’re here to keep busy until we die and to prepare our death” I remember thinking he was crazy, but more and more I see his point and realise that the only real thing I can do is be a good person, not lie and basically keep busy until the day I die…

    hmmm makes sense…being a good person is all that matters, i agree…and to keep busy until i die – doing what?…i want to figure something out that will take me out this usual routine and make me help others in some way..oh well, hopefully someday i will figure it out :D..

    thanks for the comment, stinkypaw…

    Like

  3. #3 by Swaram on November 5, 2009 - 1:36 am

    Personal life – I am definitely happy and more! As u say, yes I have a job which I love to do and pays me well for it, a loving family and everything else to say I am happy in life!

    One thing I want to do some day – I want to have a small scale establishment where women are provided jobs – may be just making pickles, papads whatever – something they really do well but are confined to their homes just because they r busy or they don’t have enough degrees or just that they r not allowed. I want to get them all to work and do what they love to do. I think it will take some time but thatz one thing I definitely want to do 🙂

    see this is what i’m talking about…you already know what you want to do…and i don’t…hopefully i will figure it out too :D…good for you, Swar…thanks for sharing…hope you follow what you want to do and be successful in doing it…good luck.

    Like

    • #4 by Swaram on November 6, 2009 - 5:12 am

      Thatz all I know as of nw T 😛 Nt sure if there’s something else to come 😉
      Thanks for the wishes 🙂

      well that’s definitely a good start, swar…best wishes 🙂

      Like

  4. #5 by soin on November 5, 2009 - 1:51 am

    if u say u have life to fullest people are spectical..if say u dint people say u dont know how to enjoy life.. the point is why should i want something out my life.i just live.survive.if you have figured it all out life would be boring.just let it be.so what will you do recognising the potential in you??except for a moment of liberation it is too trivial.i just want to live..free

    because, at least personally, when there is nothing that i’m working towards, then it all seems blurry…don’t you think it’s good to have a aim for life? i dunno, personally, i can’t just go on thinking just live, nothing else…i don’t want it all figured out..i just want to know where i’m headed…but maybe what you say is right…i dunno…i’m confused 😛

    Like

  5. #6 by noname on November 5, 2009 - 2:24 am

    Try hundreds of different things without any preconception. Something may click and you may get a moment of “Aha! This is what I would love to do for the rest of my life!”. And after a while if you get bored again, start a brand new search. Do this till you die.

    yupe…exactly what i was thinking i should do :D…awesome idea..thanks 😀

    Like

  6. #7 by G on November 5, 2009 - 2:28 am

    I too believe that each one has his/her calling in life. If one finds it he is lucky. Life goes on anyway. 🙂
    But I wonder if one goes searching for his/her calling, will he/she find it?
    Is there a way to find out what that ‘something’ you are referring to is?

    welcome back, G…you had vanished for a while from here :D..

    yeah life goes on, true…but hopefully i will figure things out along the way…i’m not searching for it, but i’m just curious as to when i’ll find it 😉 and no, i don’t think there is any specific way…each of us have our own way to attain happiness and satisfaction, i guess we just need to follow that..thanks, G.

    Like

  7. #8 by Psych Babbler on November 5, 2009 - 3:49 am

    I think I kinda do and don’t at the same time. Like you I’m grateful for all I have. I love my job no matter how challenging it is. I don’t dream about getting married and having kids either…if it happens, it’s a bonus. But one thing I would like to do someday is adopt a child — a girl child at that. And I have been thinking about voulnteering as well. My work gives me the satisfaction that I am making a difference for some people but then I think that I’m being paid for it so it’s not worth much. Would certainly like to volunteer…whether it’s for animal services or children services or even something like Canteen

    see that’s the difference, PB…you already work with people, help them get thru difficulties and such…and that must be satisfying, i suppose…i don’t do that…but i want to do something like that…where i can make a difference…volunteering is something i’ve been looking into for the past week….haven’t found anything to fit my schedule, but i’m definitely going to take that up…thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  8. #9 by Psych Babbler on November 5, 2009 - 3:49 am

    Oh and in answer to if today was the last day, I think I would be 95% happy with all I’ve done. 🙂

    hmm :D…i dunno if i can say 95% for myself, but oh well..someday i’ll get there too 😛

    Like

  9. #10 by Mahmud faisal on November 5, 2009 - 3:50 am

    I think I am not that prepared to share now 😦
    for last one or two days, I had been in a depression…. and I was searching some meaning of life… to which purpose I would use my efforts to the fullest…..

    but alas! your these thoughtful words have struck me more…. hope will share my feeling later, sure. not now…

    good post, Titaxy…..

    ohhh…it is ok, you can share later…hope you feel better soon, Mahmud…take care!

    Like

  10. #11 by Chatterbox on November 5, 2009 - 3:57 am

    A very thought provoking post!

    Though I haven’t fully figured out what would I love to call as ‘having achieved all my dreams’ or ‘unearthed all my potentials’ yet. But your wonderful post has definitely left me thinking.

    You aren’t the only one to be confused and seeking help and answers, I too have joined you from now on.

    I’ll definitely share my bit if I figure it out soon.

    Keep up the fantastic work.

    Cheers!!

    ohhh nice…i have company…thank you!!!!

    Like

  11. #12 by Aparna on November 5, 2009 - 4:02 am

    My purpose is to swim the ocean called music

    that’s a good one :-)…good luck, dear.

    Like

  12. #13 by Elegant Chic on November 5, 2009 - 7:08 am

    Awww sweetie!!! This exactly what I’m going through too… Even I don’t know the purpose of my life and I surely want to make a difference too. But, have no idea how to , what to, when to do it…. Sigh!!!

    hmm..i have company..yay!…do share if you figure it all out 😀

    Like

  13. #15 by divz on November 5, 2009 - 8:36 am

    even an 80 year old wouldn’t say they lived their life to its fullest, because what we want out of it changes with age…

    how do you figure out what you want of life?
    I honestly don’t know…
    but if something were to happen to me, I would say I gave my life my best shot and yes, lived it to its fullest. I would not say my life’s incomplete coz I dint achieve my dreams – simply because I was busy dreaming it and doing other things that also mattered to me!

    about recognizing your true potential, it is best if you haven’t recognized it as yet ,I say! that way you get to keep trying new things to see where your heart fits and keep having fun!

    I don’t quite know what is the purpose of my life exactly, but it definitely is to do with doing something for orphans or abandoned children. I have always felt this way even as a kid. don’t remember what made me take it up though…

    long comment – i see you yawning 😉
    so tata!

    so true…i do wanna keep trying things and not just get stuck with some one thing :D…so yeah, it is a good thing that i don’t have it all figured out :D..

    doing something for under privileged children is one thing i’ve been wanting too…and i will do something someday…i’ve always told my mom that i want to adopt a kid, but then sometimes i have my own doubts as to whether or not i would be a good parent…but anyway, i still have time..and that is something i want to do…so maybe when the time is right, i will 🙂

    thanks for a nice comment, Divz…no i wasn’t yawning at all, your words made so much sense 🙂

    Like

    • #16 by divz on November 5, 2009 - 1:48 pm

      i told amma i wanted to adopt too, I even told AB. but I have my own doubts like you. hmmm will cross the river when I come to it…

      yupe…there is still time 😀

      Like

  14. #17 by Reema on November 5, 2009 - 9:10 am

    I just know I want to be happy in any case anytime…I just flowed along with situations, circumstances, events and time..and I m at a very happy place right now. Hope future is the same too!

    hmmm same for me…but somehow not totally satisfied..anyway, thanks for sharing, dear

    Like

  15. #18 by Prashanti on November 5, 2009 - 10:52 am

    Same as you. I have no clue either :(. There are some things I want but they are very petty to be called the potential of my life. Like having a big house with french windows and high ceilings cant exactly be called ones aim in life right. But then, everything that happens to me seems to follow a predefined path and so I go along with the flow and I am sure I will get wherever I was meant to get 🙂

    i want all those things too….but then that’s for my personal self….the something that i’m talking about here is about bringing a difference in someone else’s life….someone that i don’t know…how and what to do to get there is what i don’t have figured out..

    but i don’t know if i believe in a pre-defined path, Prashanti….i think things happen because of the choices we make and such…i don’t believe in destiny, unless someones says we make our own destiny..anyway, this is a totally different topic..

    thanks for sharing, P…good to know that there are others like me out there 🙂

    Like

  16. #19 by BlueMist on November 5, 2009 - 11:25 am

    Tell me when you figure it out. 😉

    will do m’am 😀

    Like

  17. #20 by BlueMist on November 5, 2009 - 11:53 am

    On other thoughts; I don’t even know If even want to figure it out when even the next moment is not promised. I don’t want to waste any moment and make best out of it. We make plans and one moment everything ends. I am sounding like pessimist. 😦 But I would be happy while living life in this moment by moment; somewhere if I figure that THING as well.

    no BM…maybe i didn’t write it well enough to clearly put down my thoughts here…i live life moment by moment too…i totally go by the fact that we don’t know what changes wil come along when…and i’m not searching for a purpose and letting this present moment pass by…what i’m trying to say is that there are so many people out there who are so selfless and who make a difference in other peoples lives everyday…i wanna do something like that…this routine of going to work, coming back home, talking to friends, family and worrying only about the people that matter feels too selfish…i wanna do something more…just don’t know what tat something is..

    anyway, i’ll stop rambling… :D…maybe when i’m more clear about my thoughts i will pen it down some other day…sorry if i confused you 😛

    Like

    • #21 by BlueMist on November 5, 2009 - 12:58 pm

      ah I get you what you say. No confusion now.

      good :D…

      Like

  18. #22 by viswajithkn on November 5, 2009 - 12:09 pm

    Call me weird or wotever…But I like this current state of mine…no dreams no passion nothing…just work earn money come home and enjoy life…:D I landed on u r blog thru celestial rays.

    check mine out at

    viswajithandharry.wordpress.com

    no no…nothing weird about it…i was like that…the minute before i started writing this post, i probably was like that…so i can’t really complain…but then few times i go thru these thoughts and things change, at least for a while :P…

    welcome and thank you for the comment…will come visit you right away!

    Like

  19. #23 by Nazish Rahman on November 5, 2009 - 3:29 pm

    U know we will never come to know what that something is. Today even if u come to know what that is and the moment u achieve it…at that very moment a new something is given birth by the end of that something. Its simple as the marginal utility theory. The moment u derive full or maximum utility…the very next consumption leads to less satisfaction.

    Its this very “something” that u r searching that is the driving force behind u to not stop and still continue. Your something will come to rest only when your Earths Visa expires.

    Take Care….

    hmmm…kinda makes sense..:D thanks for sharing!

    Like

  20. #24 by Solilo on November 5, 2009 - 7:15 pm

    I don’t know how to answer this. All I can say is that I have my life clearly figured out and did exactly what I wanted to and continue to do so.

    that’s awesome, Sols…good for you!!!

    Like

  21. #25 by rayshma on November 5, 2009 - 10:09 pm

    i have my phases. some, when i know exactly what i want, where i am, where i’m headed… and then come phases of absolute ignorance. when i yearn to figure out things… ultimately, i manage.. i believe it’s these phases of not knowing that lead to the phases of certainty… vicious circle of life, i guess… for me, at least! 🙂

    soooo true…i go thru it too…yest when i was typing this post i was totally lost as to where i ‘m headed and stuff…and today, here i am thinking “what was i thinking last nite?” LOL…

    Like

  22. #26 by G on November 5, 2009 - 10:36 pm

    No no. me no vanished! me read, enjoy, smile and then forget to comment. mishhtake. sorry!

    no no..don’t be sorry and all sweetheart.. :D…as long as you read and enjoy, it’s ok 😀

    Like

  23. #27 by shraddha on November 6, 2009 - 12:16 am

    my life’s purpose is to be the best mother i can be…. to teach them as much as i can..and produce two most wholesome, and loved people….i sincerely feel that brings me closer to Lord Krishna

    aww that is sweet…best wishes, Shraddha…i’m sure they will both turn out to be awesome!

    Like

  24. #28 by Ravi on November 6, 2009 - 1:35 am

    Awesome post !!
    I don’t know since when, might be when I was 8 yrs old, I have this habit of talking to myself, and this habit has always guided me in my every single decision. I always wanted to seek the similar answer, so during one of the Art of Living course I asked the teacher, about purpose of life. He said you don’t fathom it , but you walk on it, you pursue it. Have you ever noticed when you are confused about choices, and you toss a coin, you always get the right answer. It doesn’t matter what is toss outcome.But you desperately want one choice to be right when coin is in air. If you make decisions according to your inner voice, you are on the path or the purpose. Don’t try to figure it out because its a puzzle which on the right time gets solved itself. Just make sure you are on right path. and How do you know that, when you feel happiness for no reason, when you are devoid of unnecessary conflicts in your mind, you are on path.

    hmmm that helps…thanks 😀

    Like

  25. #29 by Avada Kedavra on November 6, 2009 - 7:48 pm

    Awesome post!! really liked it.. Even I keep feeling like this sometimes, you know.. What is the purpose? why are we doing all this? Even I dont know the answer 🙂

    someday we will figure it out..hopefully 🙂 thank you!

    Like

  1. What On Earth Am I Here For? « Elegant Chic

Leave a Reply

