Giving up already?

During summer this year, I hiked over to the summit of a mountain…probably one of the hardest hikes I’ve ever been on. Only 15 or 20 minutes into the hike, I already started feeling tired because of all the steep climbing. After that there sure were numerous ‘uffs‘, ‘are we there yet‘, ‘i wanna rest for a while‘ whines all along the way. And there definitely were instances where I was ready to give up and head back because it was tough, for my standards…and I didn’t think I could handle it.

But I kept going…because the view I saw as we were driving to the lake mesmerized me. And so, I sure wanted to experience the view of the lake and its surroundings from the mountain top. So there I was stopping every now and then to rest, to get some water and what not, but still kept going…even if that meant fighting that voice at the back of mind that constantly kept urging me to get back.

And the outcome? Satisfaction. Gratification. Pride.

Standing on the cliff looking at the wonder that is nature was unbelievable. The moment we reached the top and noticed what it had to offer, in terms of views of the valley below, I forgot all about the tiring experience that I had just gone through. It was all more than worth it. And I was proud of myself that I didn’t back out of this adventure.

Life isn’t any different than that hiking incident now, is it? I am constantly faced with all those hard decisions to make, unexpected twists to face, numerous not-so-easy steps to take and that negative voice to fight…many a times I come to a point where I get too tired to fight the fights and just wanna retire.

And it is at times like those that I try to give myself a kick and remember that there is always hope. That I am capable of facing anything as long as I don’t give up hope…as long as I don’t let that mean voice in my head persuade me into backing out…as long as I believe that the result is worth fighting for.

Because I know that it is the only way I can be sure to feel content at the end of it all.

  1. #1 by G on November 8, 2009 - 2:36 am

    Aah! ‘Satisfaction’ is the word. A friend (who hates to trek) asked me why I loved to trek so much.What it gave me. I couldn’t find the right word then. Now I know.

    🙂
    Oh yes Titaxy, at the end of it, it would be nice to know that I am satisfied with how I have lived my life. 🙂 Hope I am.

    🙂 it is so satisfying, no…the whole experience?

    Like

  2. #2 by Psych Babbler on November 8, 2009 - 2:45 am

    That’s a great analogy! You are so right in that if things are worth fighting for, no matter how hard the journey, we must put in the effort! And only then will we be content…

    yupe..totally agree 😀

    Like

  3. #3 by BlueMist on November 8, 2009 - 2:57 am

    Absolutely. and there is no other to way live life IMO.

    yup 🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by Mahmud faisal on November 8, 2009 - 4:07 am

    Very praiseworthy 😀
    inspiring and great thoughts titaxy…. 🙂
    glad to hear those words out of you 😉

    hmm thank you 🙂

    Like

  5. #5 by Elegant Chic on November 8, 2009 - 4:18 am

    It does not matter how slowly you go so long as you do not stop as there’s a certain satisfaction in a little bit of pain. 🙂

    Keep going girl and never give up! 😀

    yupe exactly :-)…thanks!

    Like

  6. #6 by Matt Parker on November 8, 2009 - 4:18 am

    Life is a roller coaster.
    Those who never try, never fail.
    Follow your bliss!

    yeah… 🙂 thank you! and welcome!

    Like

  7. #7 by Suji! on November 8, 2009 - 4:46 am

    Wow… sounds like you had a fantastic time climbing the heights… Any pics?

    pics are not with me :D..

    Like

  8. #8 by Rashmi on November 8, 2009 - 6:10 am

    Rightly said we shd not regret at age of 50 that we missed this thing in life… 🙂

    Cheers !!

    yupe…thanks!

    Like

  9. #9 by divz on November 8, 2009 - 6:36 am

    lovely! this post has inspired me to workout 🙂
    for the the outcome – Satisfaction. Gratification. Pride.

    :D…go start now 😀

    Like

  10. #10 by Swaram on November 8, 2009 - 7:16 am

    Brilliant post! Analogy 🙂 Thatz exactly what gets us gng on treks rt 🙂 The nice company and the breathtaking views which we wud otherwise miss 😀

    No pics 😦

    yupe…true.

    no pics with me as of now, Swar 😦

    Like

  11. #11 by Saya on November 8, 2009 - 7:35 am

    This is so similar to what i felt when i went on one marathon trek of 14 km..
    well written.. loved this post

    thank you, Saya.

    Like

  12. #12 by Nazish Rahman on November 8, 2009 - 8:23 am

    Well written…one has to believe in himself and without pain there is no gain:)!!
    A person who believes in himself…no matter what happens and how difficult the situation is will give his best shot till the end.

    hmmm…. 🙂

    Like

  13. #13 by viswajithkn on November 8, 2009 - 2:13 pm

    which hike was this? I understand what you are talking about. I went for a 5 mile hike at Lassen Volcanic park in September…half way thru i was panting like nything but once i completed the hike and another 3 mile hike the next day the feeling was pure bliss…

    ohhh that’s awesome…sounds like a lot of fun..

    this one was near Lake Willoughby in Vermont.

    Like

    • #14 by viswajithkn on November 8, 2009 - 5:13 pm

      was going thru u r photoblog…the pic with the leaf and dew drops on it was astounding…so was the very first pic…as I kept browsing thru though the quality of pics was just abt ok…:P still some of the pics are just too good

      thank you :-)…

      Like

  14. #15 by SG on November 8, 2009 - 2:18 pm

    Nice blog. The sentence “I am capable of facing anything as long as I don’t give up hope” is one in a million.

    Thanks, SG 🙂

    Like

  15. #16 by Smitha on November 8, 2009 - 4:21 pm

    What a beautiful analogy! And so true as well!

    I would have loved to see the pics though 🙂

    aaahh, pics.. :D..i didn’t take any, and KG hasn’t uploaded whatever he clicked :P…will try post it someday :D..

    Like

  16. #17 by Chatterbox on November 8, 2009 - 10:38 pm

    Excellent post!
    We need to go through the hardships of life to earn the contentment we all aim for.

    I liked the way you quoted your feelings on reaching the top;”And the outcome?Satisfaction,Gratitude,Pride”

    I agree with Smitha, I’d love to see some photos for sure.

    Cheers!!

    Thanks, CB…and oh the pics, I don’t have them as of now…maybe I will post them someday…will let you know when i do 😀

    Like

  17. #18 by Pixie on November 8, 2009 - 11:16 pm

    oh yes… I agree!
    The analogy is super!
    Life is also like that! So many decisions, indecisions… so many difficulties… But, when we over come them all, the feeling of pride and happiness and the glow – it’s worth all the trouble!

    Super Post T!

    thank you sooooooo much, pix 🙂

    Like

  18. #19 by Nova on November 8, 2009 - 11:41 pm

    Hehehehe!! I can sooooooooooo relate to it! M not too much of a hiker! But whenever I do something even very easy, I am so proud of myself 🙂 🙂 🙂

    yupe….it feels great..like we accomplished something big, no? 😀

    Like

  19. #20 by G on November 9, 2009 - 1:06 am

    just discovered first again! :):)

    yay!

    Like

  20. #21 by noname on November 9, 2009 - 1:57 am

    Nice post! Pain is nothing but weakness leaving the body. With every attempt to go past our limitations; we grow ourselves, free ourselves from the boundaries and discover new horizons. The only way to keep stagnancy away from life is to constantly challenge oneself without the fear of failure. Good post! Thanks for sharing.

    what nice words! please leave a bloglink or something when you visit next…i would love to read! and if you don’t already blog, then you should…you have a charming way with words.

    thank you, for the comment 🙂

    Like

  21. #22 by sakhi on November 9, 2009 - 1:58 am

    🙂 nicey!

    😀

    Like

  22. #23 by krags on November 9, 2009 - 4:19 am

    what if there were a dozen ice cream shops along the way 😛 ?
    That is what happens with me – I choose ice cream parlors to the trek , as in , the easier options to the better options !
    Do blame my laziness or my week determination but blaming alone has never solved a problem yet …

    But when we run through smethng inspiring , it rubs off ! At least until we find the next icecream parlor that is 😀 … So , go pat urself on the back once . It did rub off on me !

    U sure are becomming a better writer with each passing day ! Intellectual Posts !
    Good going girl !

    ohh thaks for those sweet words :D…i’m on cloud nine :P…

    Like

    • #24 by Krags on November 9, 2009 - 2:48 pm

      First the mountain ; now the clouds ! What next ?
      Don’t go too far away , for we need u out here 😛

      rofl…next stop was seventh heaven, but i’m back on the ground now…:D..maybe some other day for the heaven visit 😛

      Like

      • #25 by Krags on November 9, 2009 - 3:19 pm

        And u do all ur travelling , sitting on ur bed 😀 ! Seems like the days of cars and flights are over ! Did u get that super power , by any chance 😛 ? Or was ur self-kick a bit too strong 😛 ( “… I try to give myself a kick…” ) ?

        rofl…but no..see that’s the beauty of fantasies…i can be anything i want or anywhere i want :P…

        Like

Leave a Reply

