Appreciating beauty…

…is what I daringly did today.

Time and again, I come across people – mere strangers – who put a smile on my face…make me happy…lift up my spirits, without even realizing how they might be making a difference in my life. Doesn’t matter what it is they do – it might be a musician playing a melody at the train station or a toddler passing by waving to everyone he sees or a guy waiting, with flowers, for his girlfriend at the park or a beautiful girl – all these little things bring about moments of contentment. But, given that I am me, I’ve never had the courage walk up to them to thank them for whatever it is that they did to make my day better.

Until this evening…

As I was waiting for my train, I noticed this girl who came and stood nearby. She was gorgeous. Her beauty was mesmerizing. I don’t know how to describe it all in words…she had symmetric features, silky smooth hair, a child-like innocence and all that. Everything about her was just perfect to my eyes. And her charm brought me joy. For that, I wanted to thank her.

And I did.

At first, I was afraid of sounding creepy…walking up to a strange girl telling her she is beautiful and all…I’ve never gathered myself to talk to a stranger before, let alone doing anything like this. But then I assured myself that it would be ok…that I was only going to compliment her and that is not unpleasant in any way. So with my heart pounding harder than ever before, I walked up to her and said…

“Hi, I don’t mean this in any weird way, but I must tell you…you look beautiful. When I looked at you, there was just something so positive and charming that it made me happy. So thank you!”

She smiled at me and said thanks. After which, she got back to reading her book and I got to mine.

A few mins later, she walked up to me and said,

“Thank you. It is so nice to hear something so nice after a long tiring Monday at work. You made my day!”

And now, I smiled. 🙂 Because that made my day. 😀

So yeah, this is a big achievement for me…if I may say so myself.

Tell me, do you let strangers know when you admire something about them or something they did?

  1. #1 by British Thoughts on December 8, 2009 - 12:39 am

    Haha..you got guts.. 😀 😀 And sure,that was nice…

    I would never ever do that….

    Well if I admired something they did..I make sure I thank them and point out it was a nice thing to do..

    but telling a stranger how beautiful she is…..naa…In this crazy society..I would be looking at a court appointment for a misdemeanor charge or something cuz you never know how they would take the simple gesture 😛

    haha no guts and all..you’ve no idea how scared i was… :D…

    Like

  2. #2 by Chatterbox on December 8, 2009 - 12:46 am

    That was a brave yet a wonderful move titaxy 😀 Bravo!!
    I haven’t done anything so brave till date. I tried to strain my memory and my brain cells to a real good extent on reading your article, but I haven’t come up with anything so far.

    Well done girl, it takes a heart and lot of goodness in it to do something as wonderful as you did today. Keep it up girl 🙂

    Cheers to you 😀

    thanks, CB…

    Like

  3. #3 by sakhi on December 8, 2009 - 12:49 am

    This was so sweet of you! 🙂 🙂

    Once i was stuck in traffic and there was nothing to do sitting in the car but to wait for the jam to scatter. So i thought why not make the best of the wait. I started humming and applying nail polish in the car. An old lady in the adjacent car saw this and she told me that i made her day… it seems, it was heartening to see someone not honking, not frowning in such a situation. On top of that i was not only humming, was applying nail polish!

    That day she made MY day. I had this stupid smile on my face for God knows how long. 🙂 🙂

    wow that’s nice :D…

    Like

  4. #4 by viswajithkn on December 8, 2009 - 1:14 am

    I have not tried something like this. But if I do see someone (woman) as beautiful as you have described here I would just give it a shot. 😛 you see am shy by nature…:P

    lol ok…good luck :D..

    Like

    • #5 by vishwa on December 8, 2009 - 1:33 pm

      if only i had guts to do something of that sort…

      you will…when yo come across the right one :-)…that’s what happened with me..all these yrs i wudn’t have dared to do anything like that, but yest, she was the one 😀 i cudn’t keep myself from doing it 🙂

      Like

      • #6 by vishwa on December 8, 2009 - 1:46 pm

        hmm..makes sense…so hows u r week panning out?

        so far so good :D…nothing to whine about :D…and i hope it stays this way the rest of the week 😛

        Like

      • #7 by divz on December 8, 2009 - 1:56 pm

        you go for it viswa!
        you don’t even have to wait for the right one 🙂
        just try on random ones to get over your ‘shyness’
        then blog about it 😀 😀
        we’ll get nice ‘masala’ to read 😀

        lol…true…i wud love to read about these adventures 😛

        Like

      • #8 by vishwa on December 8, 2009 - 2:11 pm

        naa…I would rather be shy and not do anything about it…y be a bakra for some random experiment? 😛 Masala and me? u got the wrong person I suppose. Your notes about your boss is much more masalaedhar than all my posts put together…:P

        :D…

        Like

  5. #9 by shraddha on December 8, 2009 - 1:27 am

    yes i do..always..

    goood :D..

    Like

  6. #10 by Rajlakshmi on December 8, 2009 - 1:33 am

    That was really a wonderful gesture, sometimes even i notice the beauty around me and some strange faces do leave an imprint but never i had the courage to go and compliment them. You must be really brave.

    i’m not brave and all….it was a one time thing, i think :D..now i look back and i can’t believe i did it :P…

    but do try sometime…it feels good 🙂

    Like

  7. #11 by Bindhu!! on December 8, 2009 - 2:34 am

    Wow… Smile is contagious isn’t it?

    I do it to kids I meet while I travel. I have chocolates with me and I give it to them. 🙂 The amount of joy i get… is priceless

    it sure is…and yea, i see so many kids who make me smile, but i’ve never once thanked them..maybe some day i will 😀

    Like

  8. #12 by G on December 8, 2009 - 2:51 am

    Not all the time, but Iv gone up and told a complete stranger woman that her child is beautiful or a guy that his tee shirt is cool and where he got it from. 😀
    People love it.
    🙂

    yes they do…but i’m usually too scared to do anything like this…this time was different, dunno what got into me 😛

    Like

  9. #13 by BlueMist on December 8, 2009 - 3:28 am

    Ahem ahem 🙂

    😀 😀

    Like

  10. #14 by Nu on December 8, 2009 - 4:28 am

    Honestly speaking NO. I haven’t ever done this in my life though I have felt this way a lot of time..strangers making me smile…they are so many around us…and they do it all the time,right?

    But now that you have expressed your experience it’s making me feel that the next time I feel I should thank someone or appreciate someone’s beauty,dress,accessories or the person doing some nice humble act..I should go up to him / her and tell it 🙂 Tnx 🙂

    yea do it…it will feel good 😀

    Like

  11. #15 by Dido on December 8, 2009 - 4:29 am

    yea… i do…. but only lil kidsss…i just cant sayinggg “cuteee….she /he is soo sweeet” loll

    until yest evening i was too scared to even tell that to kids 😆

    Like

  12. #16 by Psych Babbler on December 8, 2009 - 5:12 am

    Wow Titaxy! Great work! It’s amazing to hear how you gathered courage to do so. Me — there is no way I could do that — too socially anxious! The only thing I do though is if little babies or toddlers smile and wave at me (I still wonder why they do, to be honest) I do wave back or smile back at them….

    But you know what…you are an inspiration…I’m going to try and take a leaf out of your book. Will let you know if I do tell a stranger that they have made my day…

    i’m like you too…i dunno what got into me yesterday :D…

    and yes, do try..it makes their day and the moment you know how happy you’ve made them feel, you will feel so good too 🙂

    Like

  13. #17 by divz on December 8, 2009 - 7:49 am

    Gosh speak about guts! I’d never be able to do that… I mean I do give compliments generously to a waitress, or a girl at some shop or my hair dresser, even if I don’t know them. But to randomly approach someone and say it is quite difficult. I have been on the receiving end a few times though 😀

    😀 it was hard…but then it felt v good later 🙂

    Like

    • #18 by divz on December 8, 2009 - 1:59 pm

      i play safe – compliment oldies or kiddos
      somehow their temperment doesn’t scare me away
      and yes, it does feel good 🙂

      i shud try kids or elderly people next time :D…

      Like

  14. #19 by Mahmud faisal on December 8, 2009 - 8:22 am

    actually 😀 you made my day!

    I ‘ve got a cool feeling and nice impression by reading this post 🙂 thanks Titaxy!
    I mean it!!

    now am gonna tell you my opinion.. I am so shy in nature that it is simply impossible to me to tell any stranger (girl) that she is admirable…. 😦 😦

    it is even tougher to look to such girl for me…. (sigh) if I could!

    aww, you are welcome!

    🙂 i know, it was hard for me too…but do try, who knows maybe you will surprise yourself (like i did) and do it some day.

    Like

  15. #20 by Reema on December 8, 2009 - 9:16 am

    Ohh I have thought of doing something similar on several occasions but never had the courage. 🙂 good for u!

    thank you!

    Like

  16. #21 by shoba on December 8, 2009 - 11:32 am

    Thats nice 🙂 .Not everyone will do it.

    😀 thanks !

    Like

  17. #22 by BlueMist on December 8, 2009 - 1:20 pm

    ROFL @ Quote. Somehow the tone is such; the pepper spray seems like the outcome 😀

    yes, many times than not..that’s what happens with this Howard character :D…

    Like

    • #23 by BlueMist on December 8, 2009 - 2:14 pm

      😀
      About the guts thing ; I don’t know if I have or not. But love to be at receiving end. 😛
      I think for me a lot of times it has to start with a smile or smthing for a conversation to move ahead. and I find lot of strangers smiling me and wishing me in this place. That’s something really nice about people here.

      yup me too…love to see the smiley faces…esp in the mornings..it’s so refreshing 🙂

      Like

  18. #24 by comfortablynam on December 8, 2009 - 1:56 pm

    In this country where everyone say Hi..or good day..to everyone, when two Indians come across each other they look down and pass by. This makes me sad..why can’t we greet each other like we do other people?
    So I made a resolution to always say Hi to any Indian I pass by as well. I get a lot of startled looks, sometimes a Hello in return, but once as I smiled and said Namaste to this Aunty in a saree, she called me ‘Beta, thank you for the simple acknowledgement’.
    She made my day.. And I hope I made her feel a little less lonely in a place away from home.

    Have never thanked anyone on making me smile though..I don’t think I have the courage for that..

    i hear ya…i can’t understand this whole deal with the Indians looking at each other and not even exchanging smiles…i smile though…i try to smile at anyone i make eye contact with…it feels nice :D…

    and nice incident you’ve shared here…made me smile 🙂 ..thanks

    Like

    • #25 by Psych Babbler on December 8, 2009 - 5:04 pm

      Hmm…that’s funny…I find that Indians here don’t look down…they stare at you like you are an alien from outer space! (Might have to do with the clothes I wear — very ‘unIndian’) 😛 On the other hand, the Australians, will smile at you if you make eye contact and the elderly in particular will even talk to you and ask how you’re going! 🙂

      oh i actually meant look away…they try to avoid eye contact..mostly…and if they do make it, then they don’t even smile and i don’t like that :-(…

      others do, only some indians don’t…oh well..

      Like

    • #26 by divz on December 9, 2009 - 9:37 am

      I so agree with comfy… Indians don’t smile at each other. If it’s a guy, he’d stare, if a girl, just look past and walk away. The elderly just look down or look away and secretly study you once you turn somewhere else 😀

      I don’t get it at all!

      But then again, I did smile at one uncle who used to take the same bus as me, he became too friendly. There’s no correct thing to do I guess 😐

      yes yes ..some of them stare and i get too uncomfortable with that 😀 anyway..

      he beacme too friendly, eh? LOL…what happened then? 😀

      Like

      • #27 by divz on December 9, 2009 - 12:29 pm

        he even gifted me small photo of baby Krishna… couldn’t refuse :/
        then I started sitting next to somebody on the bus rather than a window seat, to avoid having him sit next to me and I think he got the hint 😀

        😆 😆 aww that was sweet of him 😛

        Like

  19. #28 by Pixie on December 8, 2009 - 11:36 pm

    That did take courage! 🙂 🙂

    Strangers – in real life have to think…
    But, thru my blog, yes. many times! When a new reader comes by, when an old reader/friend gives a compliment, it always makes my day! 🙂

    hmm…i do it often thru blog too…but it doesn’t happen that often in real life 😀

    Like

  20. #29 by Smitha on December 9, 2009 - 4:08 am

    That was so sweet and so daring.. I would never have the courage to do that – but yes, am sure it would make so many people feel better if we did that.

    I remember reading about something similar long back. About how a man would catch the eye of unhappy looking people and smile at them. Apparently, he could see the effect it had – they looked a little happier after that.

    a smile does go a long way…at least with me…i love it when people exchange smiles 🙂

    thank you, Smitha

    Like

  21. #30 by Prashanti on December 9, 2009 - 1:07 pm

    That was real brave and nice of you, I must say !!! There is a cashier at our walmart who looks like meg ryan. She is in her 40’s or 50’s but looks great. I told her one day while checking out that she looks extremely beautiful and she was soo pleased to hear it 🙂

    ohh that’s nice :-)….

    Like

  22. #31 by revsjoiedevivre on December 9, 2009 - 5:45 pm

    Theres this girl I know. A VERY pretty girl. And I tell her that shes pretty, every chance I get. But she just wouldn’t agree with me. Sounds familiar eh? 😉

    yupe…very familiar :D…but you must understand that photos don’t do a good job, dear..at least not when it comes to her 😉 so i can kinda see why she disagrees 😛 😆 😆

    Like

    • #32 by BlueMist on December 9, 2009 - 6:07 pm

      😆 😆

      and i’m not sure what that means 😛 😛

      Like

  23. #33 by Nancy on December 10, 2009 - 6:03 am

    I used to do that all the time when I was in college…but now I’m more reserved.
    And u know nowdays when I see terribly good-looking guy the urge to tell is like so baad but the better-half is a regular party pooper ;-/

    i wud never even get the courage to get the urge to wanna tell a good-looking guy 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

