Favorite Fragrances

Waking up to the wonderful smell of sandalwood was the usual when I was young. Amma would start her day way earlier than us…and by the time she came to wake us up, she would smell like a goddess who showered in sandalwood. It’s a wonderful feeling to start your day to something so soothing and relaxing, I tell you. Any nightmare from the previous night is forgotten right away; any anxiety about the day ahead is calmed at once…it did all that and more.  And I always had a great start to the day with the perfect state of mind.

The evenings were just as good…but now it was time for jasmine. Amma loved that flower…she still does, I’m sure. She always picked some up on her way back home. Part of what she bought would adorn her and grandma’s hair, while the rest would be offered to God. Suffice to say, the house would be dominated by the fragrance of this flower. Its subtle scent never failed to ease our moods even during the hardest of days. A perfect way to settle to a good night’s sleep, this was.

So, after years of opening my senses to that gentle scent of sandalwood and ending my day to the calming effects of jasmine, these became two of my most favorite fragrances.

And, yesterday when I was going through some stuff which I had put away, I came across some sandalwood, rose and jasmine incense. So tonight, I plan to go home, burn some of those and indulge myself with the fragrances that I love the most!

Tell me, what are your favorites and why?

Have a great weekend all.

———————

Psych, this is post is part of the Memorable Memories tag you passed along. I will walk down the memory lane and put up a post or two on the same lines some other day :-).

  1. #1 by BlueMist on December 11, 2009 - 4:48 pm

    Am I first ?

    yes yes, yay!

    Like

    • #2 by Matt on December 12, 2009 - 12:44 am

      Happy Misty ? I’ve held my promise 😛

      😆

      Like

  2. #4 by BlueMist on December 11, 2009 - 4:54 pm

    I love them both. and there are some more flowers in the class of Jasmine. Not sure of English names though. We call them “Jai and Jui” in marathi. There was the creeper back home then. A classmate of mine used to wear the lei of jui buds. They bloom in the evening. The last leactures will full of fragrance of these blooms.
    Fragrances matter me as much as music. I can go a blabber trip. 😀

    😀 nice!!! off i go now to my dwelling to enjoy the rest of the evening with the incense i bought almost an year ago and discovered yesterday 😛

    Like

  3. #5 by comfortablynam on December 11, 2009 - 5:48 pm

    Mine has to be flower called ‘Raat ke raani’..or rather that is the only name I know it by.. Growing up there was a creeper on a house a couple of houses from ours..and I remember all of us friends sitting outside that house and playing and collecting all bugs that fell down..Aunty would not let us pluck any.. 😦
    But she would let us pluck a few (equal to our age) on our B’days..how we use to preserve a few bugs.. 🙂

    nice…she wud let you collect as many as your age, eh? that was sweet of her 🙂

    Like

  4. #6 by Pixie on December 11, 2009 - 8:01 pm

    I love ’em both too!
    Jasmine more than sandalwood! 😀

    other than that – the smell of spices from the kitchen, or the agarbathi tat’s lit in front of God…

    agarbathi – me too…i love it!

    Like

  5. #7 by viswajithkn on December 11, 2009 - 8:25 pm

    I do not remember much about fragrances but what I do remember is that I used to wake up to “Vishnu Sahasranamam” and “Bhaja Govindam” being played. After coming here the first month or so was weird for me waking up without listening to them.

    yupe…i remember too :D…it used to be suprabatam in the mornings and the sahasranama in the evenings … :-)…and i bet you i can still chant along and it will be right to some extent…even if it played today 😛

    Like

    • #8 by viswajithkn on December 11, 2009 - 10:16 pm

      Oh. I did not know if the spices or the smell of mom cooking food are to be classified as fragrances. But seeing someone above already doing it, I can also add about the smell/fragrance emanating out of the kitchen. I remember only a part of sahasranamam as such and if one asks me to chant it without the original being played I think I might struggle. Bhaja govindam slisha better situation. 😛

      i need the original to play too, i can’t do it by myself…i think i remember a bit of baja govindam, but i’m not sure…

      and yea, aroma of spices when mom cooks – who doesn’t like that 😀

      Like

      • #9 by viswajithkn on December 11, 2009 - 10:25 pm

        yeah…got the word…aroma…i was struggling for words there…:D think its time for me to listen to both sometime this weekend. hopefully mornings…:P

        🙂 do let us know how it goes 🙂

        Like

      • #10 by viswajithkn on December 11, 2009 - 10:40 pm

        whats there to let everyone know on how it goes…play it on my laptop…and cook in the meantime…:D thats it!

        maybe i shud’ve added “if you don’t mind” :-)…

        i meant let us know if you end up remembering the lines to chant along or not..if you don’t mind, that is 😉

        Like

      • #11 by viswajithkn on December 11, 2009 - 10:48 pm

        if you dont mind I shall suggest something…change your name to “formaxy” = formality titaxy! nyways that was pathetic and am j.k!…sure. if i listen and end up chanting it i would let you know…:P

        😆 😆 not a bad suggestion 😆 😆

        Like

      • #12 by viswajithkn on December 11, 2009 - 11:06 pm

        :D. danke!

        🙂

        Like

  6. #13 by Swaram on December 11, 2009 - 9:41 pm

    I loveee sandalwood and jasmine. Another one is that of Rajnigandha; we call it Sugandaraja [king of fragrance]. It always reminds me of the pleasant smell @ a Sai Baba temple which we used to visit every thursday, so much so that, my first instinct on getting that smell would be to look for a Sai Baba temple nearby 🙂

    nice!!!

    Like

  7. #14 by Mahmud faisal on December 11, 2009 - 9:56 pm

    I like tuberose most.. white rose….
    when I smell them…. thousands of old memories comes before my eyes..

    nice post. thanks titaxy! 🙂

    oh yea, i love that one too…it’s awesome!

    thanks, Mahmud

    Like

  8. #15 by sands on December 11, 2009 - 10:43 pm

    jasmine, it has to be jasmine for me. We had jasmine bush in our backyard and I used to take flowers everyday for my teachers ….oh you rekindled so many childhood memories.

    :-)…jasmine is something everyone seems to like 🙂

    Like

  9. #16 by chroniclesofdee on December 11, 2009 - 10:55 pm

    The smell of lux soap.. my mother’s soap.. I bury my nose in her neck and inhale deeply, I used to as a child and still do as an adult 🙂

    aww 🙂

    Like

  10. #17 by Sir Matthew Parker GBE on December 12, 2009 - 12:41 am

    Incenses gives me migraines 😦

    Not much of a fragrance person..although love certain perfumes.. 😀 😀

    perfumes are too strong for me 😀

    Like

    • #18 by BlueMist on December 12, 2009 - 4:15 am

      Look at the name. Who is this ? 😯

      🙂

      Like

    • #20 by Chandrika Shubham on December 12, 2009 - 10:03 am

      I liked the fragrance of raat ki rani more. Fragance of jasmine is also good. 🙂
      Best wishes.

      nice…

      and Welcome!

      Like

  11. #21 by SiD on December 12, 2009 - 2:53 am

    Am allergic to perfumes.

    hmmm..

    Like

  12. #22 by Reema on December 12, 2009 - 7:09 am

    Raat ki rani is my favorite too. Also mogra!!

    🙂

    Like

  13. #23 by divz on December 12, 2009 - 7:37 am

    for me it would be, the aroma of mom’s rasam 🙂
    or dad’s old spice 🙂

    😀 nice

    Like

  14. #24 by SG on December 12, 2009 - 7:28 pm

    You brought me back old memories. Fragrance from jasmine flower is one of the most intoxicating.

    yes it is 🙂 …thanks SG

    Like

  15. #25 by Psych Babbler on December 12, 2009 - 7:33 pm

    I love the smell of sandalwood too. Jasmine not so much because I’m allergic and start sneezing (as I do with most strong smells like agarbattis or flowery smells). One lovely fragrance for me is the smell of filter coffee. Mum would brew it at night for the next day and I just loved how the kitchen had the wonderful aroma of coffee. Could explain my addiction to it now! 😛

    my mother grandmother, everyone used to have filter coffee early in the morning…it does have a special place, but i’m not really a big fan… 🙂

    Like

  16. #26 by anthrdayinparadise on March 20, 2010 - 5:29 am

    nice topic personal favorites – lavendar and spicy musk…well memory based favorites — many of the above…filter coffee and the shlokas reminds me of childhood..jasmine reminds me of my grandma….agarbattis remind me of the small temple i used to visit to bribe god before my results were announced:)…mom …sigh so many things remind me of her…pears soap…i always tear up when i see the ad of the baby girl who refuses to see anyone but her mom as her mom is her lucky charm…Pears ad!!! very nice post titaxy…

    me used to love pears soap too 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

