Flock of pigeons…

…or doves, maybe. I’m not sure.

Whenever I see a flock of birds, I feel like I should try doing the thing that they show in movies…you know, run towards them and make them fly away…yes, that. I’ve always wanted to do that but I’m just too timid and too conscious about people around that I’ve never actually gotten the chance to fulfill this desire.

Until today…

So…I wake up a little later than usual this morning, which in turn delays my routine. And when I leave for work, there is no rush, not too many people in the train, the station isn’t crowded and it’s nice that way. It might have been because of my tardy schedule, or might have been the fact that it was Friday. Whatever, doesn’t really matter.

I walk out of the station and notice that there are not many humans around. All I see is this flock of birds enjoying the unusual serenity amid the chaos of this city. And there’s this smile on my face and pride in my eyes for having found this rare opportunity in my favor.

My smile widens. My eyes brighten.

I slowly stroll towards the birds with the wind gently caressing my face and gradually shifting the curls of my hair. A grand moment to take a mental picture of, I tell myself. Because if this were a movie, this is exactly what my opening shot would’ve been.

As I approach my sweet innocent victims of the day, I increase my pace and am all set to give them the fright of their lives.

I’m close.

I’m closer.

I’m even closer.

And a few seconds later, I’m standing in the middle…surrounded by birds.

Yes, that’s right. They didn’t move. Not a bit. They decided I wasn’t scary enough. And there I was in the center of the bird crowd wondering whether they were making fun of me amongst themselves.

These birds here, I tell you, don’t fear anything. They go by doing their own thing in their own way not bothering about how they are breaking hearts of people like me. Too much confidence, they’ve got.

Broken desire. Fading smile. Hopeless eyes. Heavy heart. I walked towards work with all that.

Thank goodness there weren’t many people around. Now, do you know why I say I’m too conscious?

———————

Have a great weekend, folks!

  1. #1 by Matt on December 18, 2009 - 3:07 pm

    First!!

    yes sir..

    but you know, this is becoming too easy now :D…we shud make a point to read the post and comment, that way there’s some challenge…just saying first has become a normal thing now 😛

    Like

    • #2 by Matt on December 18, 2009 - 3:24 pm

      See…see…. A chap who rushes to be the first one to read and comment on a lovely post by a lovely author has to face this….. 😦

      I commented after 10 seconds after you posted ! Appreciate ! 😛

      If I wait to read and comment ,I can see BM or Nu’s “First!!..off to read ” response before mine… 😀 😀

      For this matter,I respect and admire,Psych Babbler who still manages to be the first after reading and writing a lengthy comment! 😀

      aww…when did i say i don’t appreciate it? i do…i’m so moved by the thought that you wud rush so soon to comment on my blog..and there are others competing with you :-)…sorry if i gave the wrong impression 🙂

      i’m just trying to take the challenge up a notch :D…instead of saying “first”, reading the post and then commenting would be more challenging, no? not that i mind either way :-)..

      so yes, you were first…yay! congratulations 😀

      Like

      • #3 by Parker on December 18, 2009 - 3:34 pm

        Aww…I was just pulling your leg! 😛 😀

        challenge ?Life is already full of that crap 😛 ..Do I need more? 😀

        But you make a point….since I’m the next person to comment after commenting “first”, I’m officially first no? !!

        Sooo..Yayy me…. Thankyou! 😀 😀

        that is so true…life is full of challenges…so why not one more 😛 won’t make a big difference 😆

        and yes, you were the one to comment after sayng “first” so you are first… 😀

        Like

      • #4 by Matthieu on December 18, 2009 - 4:06 pm

        Haha! 😀 😀 Have a wonderful weekend!

        you too dear 🙂

        Like

      • #5 by BlueMist on December 18, 2009 - 5:15 pm

        I see some “J” factor here. Humpf. Indeed 5 year old. Take it no more competition for first. Be happy Boi. 😀

        lol..

        Like

    • #6 by Nu on December 18, 2009 - 9:53 pm

      totally agree with you tixie !

      🙂

      Like

      • #7 by Matthieu on December 19, 2009 - 1:18 am

        @BM @Nu

        Quoting a wonderful blogger, “Grapes are always sour” ! 😛

        care to enlighten me? who is that wonderful blogger? 😀

        Like

      • #8 by Matthieu on December 19, 2009 - 1:42 am

        It is either Nu or BM ….. 😀 😀

        Well I can assure you it is not the “level headed female who is always seeking answers to multiple questions making rounds in her head” :P.She is wonderful too ..but she didn’t say this. 😀

        what? another puzzle? who is that level headed female now? i don’t get it :-(…why is it so hard for me to understand? 😀

        Like

      • #9 by Matthieu on December 19, 2009 - 3:55 am

        It is easy! 😀 😀

        If you are approving this comment now,why haven’t you slept yet?
        Still eating ice cream? 😛

        had a lot of ice cream…still not sleepy :D…took a nap in the evening, i guess that was a bad idea 😛

        Like

  2. #10 by Matt on December 18, 2009 - 3:16 pm

    Hahaha!! 😀 😀

    Halfway through the post,I could imagine the pigeons fluttering away….
    But then….

    Broken desire. Fading smile. Hopeless eyes. Heavy heart.

    They must have been struck in awe at the beauty of the young lady who dashed into their amidst! 😛

    This was too good… 😀 😀

    yeah i guess i can calm myself assuming that they were in “awe at my beauty”…you are too nice, Matt :D..

    Like

  3. #11 by viswajithkn on December 18, 2009 - 3:19 pm

    try pulling your hair apart or apply some make up and look like a devil and try standing amidst those birds… 😛 just kidding…failures are the stepping stones to success…try scaring off those birds again sometime next week if you see a flock!

    lol, believe me..i already look like a devil…i don’t need anything extra to make an effort to look like that ;-)…

    and yes yes, i will try…they will make more fun if i gave up…i will show them who the master is 😛

    Like

    • #12 by viswajithkn on December 18, 2009 - 3:29 pm

      or they might not have been making fun…they might have been wondering about the “AWESOME AND SWEET SOUL” standing amidst them! 😀

      yeah i wish 😀

      Like

      • #13 by viswajithkn on December 19, 2009 - 10:31 pm

        I just now realized that am scared of dogs. And usually if someone takes a dog for a walk or for a jog along with them along the path i walk by near my house, I have no option but to get down on the road out of respect for the dog and let it run by..:P feel as if the dogs laugh at me during those times…

        wow i have company…i run as far as i can when i spot a dog, even a puppy, coming near…i’m dead scared 🙂

        Like

      • #14 by viswajithkn on December 19, 2009 - 11:52 pm

        there was this funny situation last may when i was searching for a new place. I went to this house inspite of the person living there telling me that she had three dogs. I said I want to look at the house and that I will be ok with the dogs. But as soon as I entered the house the next day three huge dogs started barking at me and she tried her best to control all of them but guess those creatures realized that I was scared shitless. I just stood in the corner closest to the entrance to her house but the bloody creatures were not even letting me move to open the door. Thats when I realized that whatever happens am not going to overcome the fear of dogs. It became a serious pain getting out of that house…

        rofl… 😆

        i’m v cautious that way…i try to avoid any place where a dog is close by 😛 i know they won’t like me 😦

        Like

      • #15 by viswajithkn on December 20, 2009 - 2:32 am

        but then i havent tried something a le titaxy – running after a couple of stray dogs in India to remove my fear for dogs…

        hahaha….if you do try that…be sure to have someone take a video :P…it would be an instant hit on youtube 😛

        Like

      • #16 by viswajithkn on December 20, 2009 - 2:36 am

        that would be like setting foot in lions den and then praying to god enna kaapaathu kaaapaathunu

        😆 😆

        Like

  4. #17 by comfortablynam on December 18, 2009 - 4:44 pm

    You tried this at the train station??..where trains pass by every few minutes and the birds sit through that.. 🙂 Don’t you need to be faster and noisier than the train to get their attention then??
    How about next time you really run towards them..arms wide open..rather than walk towards them..and hmm..maybe try this not on the train station 🙂

    no no…this was outside…it was in the wide open area :D….i did it as i walked out of the train station :D..

    and i did run, not much, but kind of….i didn’t slowly walk to them 😛 …but yes, i will keep trying until i succeed one day 🙂

    Like

  5. #18 by SiD on December 18, 2009 - 4:53 pm

    Now thats an awkward funny moment, dammm there should have been a cam to capture it.

    Still maybe you should have tried some rajnikant stunts and see if they attack you or just fly by…:P

    haha now that i tihnk abt it, maybe there were cams…who knows…it was outside a busy train stop :D…so there might be security cams…oh well 😀

    yea i will keep in mind to try stunts next time around :D…thanks for the suggestion

    Like

  6. #19 by Psych Babbler on December 18, 2009 - 4:54 pm

    Lol! That’s funny! Maybe these birds are now used to people walking between them that it’s no longer scary! 😀 You need to do something different. Like spraying water around or something… 😛 But hey, you are becoming more and more brave and facing some anxieties….I need to start doing that as well.

    yeah…they are too used to people walking by and not bothering to scare them…so when someone like me does something, they don’t care :D…I will try something different next time 😛

    and hey, i’m not facing fear and all….i made sure there was no one around :D…i wudn’t have done it if i knew people were watching 😀

    Like

    • #20 by Matt on December 18, 2009 - 5:04 pm

      Somewhere in a control room,cops were having a good laugh at the security footage! 😛

      sigh, i never thought about this possibility until he mentioned it 😀

      Like

      • #21 by Matt on December 18, 2009 - 5:11 pm

        Watchout! These things hit YouTube very fast! 😛

        😮 now that’s scary 😀

        Like

      • #22 by Psych Babbler on December 19, 2009 - 12:14 am

        Lol….lemme know if you find something on YouTube with Tixie walking through pigeons… 😉

        i’ll be popular overnight :D…in the stupidest way possible, but still 😛 …

        Like

  7. #23 by chatterbox on December 18, 2009 - 7:08 pm

    I can understand how you must have felt.
    In Melbourne on the train station and even around the beaches you come across flocks of Sea-Gulls.
    They’ll literally stare you in the eye, even dare to snatch your burger or fish n chips if you don’t fed them or run away yourself.

    But if you’d try something you tried, they won’t be a sport.

    Aww…I know how bad you must have felt.
    Don’t worry buddy, it’s just them NOT you 😀

    Hugs and hope you have a great weekend 😀

    yupe it’s them…not me 😛 …i will keep trying though…one day will scare them to death 😛 …thanks CB

    you have a great weekend too!

    Like

  8. #24 by Just call me 'A' on December 18, 2009 - 8:22 pm

    Ha ha ha this post is both funny and sweet. Pigeons have become highly accustomed to humans! 🙂 try again next time 😀

    yes yes will keep trying :D…thanks, A

    Like

  9. #25 by Nu on December 18, 2009 - 9:58 pm

    hehehe 🙂 so sweet the birds were !! Err..no no..am I supposed to scold them or something ?? hehehe…okay ..no more making fun !

    If you take it otherwise you will know that the birds weren’t scared of you and that’s a god…part may you are so calm and soothing that they want to be friends with you tixie 🙂 ya ?

    Good girl..now smile 🙂 and see you have already taken that mental picture..the opening shot of your movie…so something has been achieved 🙂

    lol…you don’t have to scold them…you can just wish me luck for the next time :D..

    and yea, i guess i can tell myself that i’m not a scary person after all :D, good thing, yea? 🙂

    thanks, Nu

    Like

  10. #26 by wishesgalore on December 19, 2009 - 1:01 am

    aw.midway i was thinking so eventually you got to fulfill your desire but nahiii…. 😛
    better luck next time:)
    in our recent visit to a garden in Udaipur my friend wants to take a picture of pigeons flying away.. So as soon as we spotted the pigeons, I,dutifully moved towards them after a quick scan of the surrounding that not many people are around and ran towards them.They did fly away but how the photo came out by the great photographer “me moving towards the pigeons” and not the flying away of pigeons..ahh..

    rofl…share that awesome photo on your blog and put up the story :D…it will make many of your readers’ day 😉

    and thank you…i need all the luck i can gather before i run behind them next time around 😛

    Like

  11. #27 by Dido on December 19, 2009 - 1:56 am

    awww tht was cutee…. no probs if they dint get scraed.. next time.. scream n runnn.. mebbe they’l get scared 😛 ….i’m too scared of pigeonss… i’l neva do sumthg like this.. although i wud love to do sumthg like the movies as u said 😉

    scream and run eh? lol…that will definitely turn some heads around…i don’t want anyone noticing me 😛 …but yea, i will definitely try again someday 😀

    i used to be scared of pigeons too, i guess i’m over that now 😀

    Like

  12. #28 by G on December 19, 2009 - 2:14 am

    Hahaha! This is really funny! I am sure the pigeons had a good laugh too. 😀

    yea maybe they did…but one day i will get them for it 😛

    Like

  13. #29 by Mahmud on December 19, 2009 - 3:40 am

    Hahaha… funny 🙂
    T, you have been so fast in posting blog posts…. 😀
    cool… I go away from PC,come back and find your new post 😉

    nice post 😀

    lol…thanks, Mahmud

    Like

  14. #30 by divz on December 19, 2009 - 8:20 am

    pigeons here too don’t fear the Satan himself 😛

    I almost touched one of them while running behind them to scare them, and guess who got scared by the touching??? 😛 😀

    hahhaha

    Like

  15. #31 by Reema on December 19, 2009 - 10:04 am

    lol 🙂 U know in IITK peacocks are infamous for stealing and grabbing food from plates of students.

    ha nice…it’s been sooooo many years since i saw a peacock… 🙂

    Like

  16. #32 by Rajlakshmi on December 19, 2009 - 12:38 pm

    hehehehe now a days these creatures are no longer afraid of us…
    its with animals too 😛
    so the dream to fly away pigoens didnt come true 😛 may be next time you can try acting like a scarecrow 😛

    scarecrow? hahhahah…hope they will get scared then 😀

    Like

  17. #33 by DewdropDream on December 19, 2009 - 12:40 pm

    Bloody pigeons! London ones are infamous for stealing food from people, WHILE they are eating! And they can’t fly, they waddle about on their spindly legs looking utterly hideous and comical but somehow managing to annoy you even then. And of course, you can’t scare them!

    Wait till you get to the Gateway of India and try this there … the kabootars never get tired of flying away in terror.

    that’s scary…i shud remember not to eat in front of them when i visit london :D..

    gateway of india, eh? hmmm, i shud visit during my trip to india :D..thanks, DDD

    Like

  18. #34 by D on December 19, 2009 - 4:23 pm

    Oh, I hate when life doesn’t live up to its filmy representation! I mean what kind of pigeons wouldn’t fly when your run into them? Over-fed, fat pigeons :/

    i know, right…why isn’t life as easy as they show in movies? 😛

    over-fed, fat pigeons – rofl…

    Like

  19. #35 by Pixie on December 19, 2009 - 9:53 pm

    😆

    The birds are used to people and more importantly bollywood movies being shot amongst their midst! That’s why they didn’t blink and went about their business!!

    Happy Weekend T!

    yup..so true..sigh…next time i will try some evil trick on them 👿

    thanks pix…you have a great weekend too

    Like

Leave a Reply

