The city I call home

I have always heard people talk about the love for their city, in many cases their hometown, but I never experienced that attachment myself. Growing up, I lived in three different cities and I always enjoyed the pluses that it had to offer and whined about the minuses. But never once did I fall head over heels in love with a city. And so I couldn’t really relate to it when someone passionately discussed their heaven on earth to me.

That was until I moved here few years ago. This city made me realize what it meant to be crazy about a place.

Sure, it is just another place with its own positives and negatives. It’s definitely not perfect…it comes with its own drawbacks…yet, this is the city I call home.

Because this is where I learned responsibility and experienced independence. Before moving here, I had always lived with my parents, so I had them to fallback on whenever I needed something. But here, I have to manage everything on my own…can’t really rely on anyone else but me.

Because this is where I really matured. I went from being a kid to a grownup. I make my own decisions, evaluate the good from the bad, without any constant guidance. I’ve become more open-minded, less judgmental, more patient and less dependent.

Because this is where I have made a home for myself.

And so, this city will always be special and closest to my heart.

Now you tell me, which place is your home? And why?

  1. #1 by Psych Babbler on December 19, 2009 - 11:23 pm

    Aww that’s nice! I can’t choose between Sydney and Bombay. As much as I hate Bombay, I love it as well. I spent 11 years of my life there and grew to love a lot about the city. And Sydney, well…Sydney is where I am setting roots for myself without my family (like you) and I love it for it’s beaches, the greenery, the people (esp in the suburbs), the weather…it’s not perfect either, but it’s home. I think Sydney is home a lot more now that Bombay and it’s something I experienced when I returned to Bombay this year…I wanted to come back home — to Sydney! 🙂

    nice! Sydney is some place I wanna visit :D…

    I definitely like all the other places I’ve lived it, but this one is the most special for sure. I love it here for the weather (all four seasons), the beaches, the people, the spirit and everything else it has to offer… :D.

    Like

    • #2 by Psych Babbler on December 19, 2009 - 11:38 pm

      I do hope you visit Sydney sometime…there’s always a place here for you to stay! 🙂 Boston sounds great as well…when we hear of USA, we generally hear about LA or NY…but Boston sounds more ‘homely’ if that makes sense…

      When I went to Bombay this year, during my last week, I said to one of my friends how I couldn’t wait to get back home (meaning, Sydney) and she was shocked that I think of Sydney as home. It’s hard to explain to some people that it doesn’t necessarily have to be the place you grew up…

      aww thanks, Psych…i will visit..definitely 😀

      i used to have this craze for Aus…cricket team and the place…i used to want to live there, but didn’t really do anything about it for some reason :D…someday, maybe 😀

      and yes, Boston…i totally get what you are saying about Boston…such a small and sweet city 😀 definitely more ‘homely’ than nyc or LA

      every time i go away from here…work reason, vacation, what not…i can’t wait to get back…i miss the place and the energy that it brings with it so much :D…

      Like

      • #3 by Psych Babbler on December 19, 2009 - 11:48 pm

        That’s funny that you say you wanted to live here because of your craze for the cricket team and the place…that’s exactly what attracted me to the place…cricket first and then the place…and I wanted to come here since I was about 13 or 14…I’m just so grateful I could. 🙂

        🙂 god for you 😀

        sigh…it’s been ages since i watched cricket…almost 7 years or maybe even more …i shud get back to it soon 🙂

        Like

  2. #4 by Psych Babbler on December 19, 2009 - 11:24 pm

    Was I first??

    yupe..yay!

    Like

  3. #6 by viswajithkn on December 19, 2009 - 11:30 pm

    I believe personally that there cannot be a logical reason to identifying the city closest to your heart…:D Logic resides up north in the head… 😀 So as far as my hometown goes, even I have had to move to every nook and corner of India when I was a kid and moved back to chennai only when I was like 13 or 14. Even then I would always prefer a Chennai to a NYC coz of weather alone… 😀 I would say Chennai is closest to me coz thats where I grew up and became ambitious…

    🙂 madras (yes I prefer to call it that :D) is a city where i spent a good part of my life too and i definitely like the place a lot…

    but boston is the one i love 😀

    Like

    • #7 by viswajithkn on December 19, 2009 - 11:48 pm

      by the time I kind of grew up and moved to Madras people started calling it Chennai…guess thats what you call as habituation… 😀

      yeah…i’m used to madras and i like it that way 😀

      Like

      • #8 by viswajithkn on December 20, 2009 - 12:48 am

        i notice that you have a do not copy, copyrights symbol to the right. just in case someone copies from your blog, what would you do? 😛

        lol, don’t know really :D…there’s nothing copyable here 😛 so i guess i don’t have to worry abt it…it’s just precautionary 😛

        Like

      • #9 by viswajithkn on December 20, 2009 - 1:08 am

        precautionary for….

        dunno 😛

        Like

      • #10 by viswajithkn on December 20, 2009 - 1:13 am

        wogay… 😛

        is there a specific reason why you ask? 😀

        Like

      • #11 by viswajithkn on December 20, 2009 - 1:23 am

        naa…just vetti curiosity…did not know what to do while the eggplant was getting cooked.. 😛 most of your posts tend to be your personal opinions about stuff…so no point even thinking of copying stuff from your blog.. 😀

        ok :-)…

        Like

  4. #12 by Nu on December 19, 2009 - 11:37 pm

    buuuuuuuuuaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah 😦 when will I come 1st ?

    😆 try harder , Nu 😆

    Like

    • #13 by Psych Babbler on December 19, 2009 - 11:53 pm

      Hehe Nu…better luck next time! 🙂

      that’s what we say every time…she hasn’t had the luck yet 😛

      Like

      • #14 by Nu on December 20, 2009 - 12:27 am

        and you guys have the last laugh every time 😦

        😆 ok i will try not to :D..

        dont worry Nu, you will make it someday 🙂

        Like

  5. #15 by Indian Homemaker on December 20, 2009 - 12:07 am

    My kids complain that they have no place that they can call their home because, like you, we too have moved a lot. But if I had to choose it would be three cities – Bombay, Delhi and Pune. I feel at home in all three, have lived there the longest and love them all 🙂 I have been meaning to write a post comparing Pune and Delhi – the good and the bad about both 🙂
    I feel my favourite is Bombay… my kids were born there and basically I just love the cosmopolitan culture there.

    🙂 …you’ve lived in Bombay, Pune and Delhi, eh? that’s awesome!!!

    i’ve felt like home everywhere i’ve lived too, but never had a craze for any of those cities :D…until i moved here :D…

    and oh i wud love to read your post about Pune and Delhi…thanks for the comment.

    Like

  6. #16 by comfortablynam on December 20, 2009 - 1:44 am

    We moved a lot..and I mean a lot growing up..Dad was in a transferable job..so a count of fingers shows I have stayed in 10 cities till date.
    If you ask me my fav..it would be a tossup between Bombay and where I stay currently.
    Bombay because that was the first place I got a taste of being grown up (I did feel all grown up at 16 lol), the freedom of being anonymous in a big town, the security of being a women and still being able to go my own way without being harassed.
    My current place because I setup my house here. Before that it was either my parents place or my hostel room. Like you I grew into my own here. Plus it’s beyond words beautiful 🙂
    Home is my current place..no question about that.

    10 different places? wow, that’s a lot :D…it must have been nice in a way :-)…

    Like

  7. #17 by chotusworld on December 20, 2009 - 3:07 am

    never moved except for a brief stint between 01 and 02, and to the present.. hence Bangalore will always be home sweet home

    🙂

    Like

  8. #18 by SiD on December 20, 2009 - 3:13 am

    m coming 2 ur city… 😀

    good going…

    nice!! hope you have fun 🙂

    Like

  9. #19 by chatterbox on December 20, 2009 - 8:30 am

    Beautiful post 😀
    I simply loved your reasons for loving the city you live in 🙂
    I always enjoy the quotes you have in the sidebar. Are they a wordpress feature?

    Coming to your question, well I too have lived at many places though I did spend a major part of my childhood in one city. Just like you so wonderfully expressed your love for the city that taught you independence and responsibility, I love all those cities where I lived after getting married. Am not exactly sure why is that, it definitely sounds strange to me as am writing it, but is very true.

    May be someday I’ll write a similar post as you, but probably a decade or two from now.

    Keep up the wonderful work 🙂

    Cheers!!

    thank you CB…i would love to read your post that someday when you write it :D…even if it is years from now 🙂

    and hey …for the quote of the day – i added a ‘text’ widget on the sidebar and i change the quote every now and then…thanks i’m glad you like the quotes 🙂

    Like

  10. #20 by BlueMist on December 20, 2009 - 8:52 am

    Ditto. People don’t get my love and connection with B’lore because it is not my home town. As much as I believe now ; where ever me and husband are together that is home; still Bangalore holds special status for me.

    🙂

    Like

  11. #21 by Mahmud faisal on December 20, 2009 - 9:45 am

    I checked and rechecked 😦 but couldn’t find the name of your city !

    I grew up, born in the same city, just studying in another one. but my city is my old one where I grew up. I feel a different love to that city don’t know why…

    nice post TT, you are writing some memory-based posts these days, that pushes me to think about my past days…. 🙂

    oh i had not mentioned it in the post, Mahmud…i live in Boston now 🙂

    good to know that your hometown has a special place in your heart 🙂

    thanks Mahmud

    Like

  12. #22 by Nazish on December 20, 2009 - 10:45 am

    Hey hii…how r u??
    This post of yours is really something that i can co relate with it. I too now realize how much i love my city. I never thought i love my city so much but after leaving my home city now i really miss it.

    I was not able to blog as i hav shifted to a new city so it took some time foe me to settle down.
    Will be active on blog very soon!!

    tc !!

    welcome back, Nazish….wish you the very best to fall in love with wherever you have shifted too…hope you explore the new place and enjoy it!!! 🙂

    Like

  13. #23 by Punekar on December 20, 2009 - 11:38 am

    Nice post. Liked your reasoning. For me, it is..well, Pune and Boston, VA.

    Boston, VA? 🙂 didn’t know there’s a boston in Virginia :-)…

    thank you, Punekar.

    Like

    • #24 by viswajithkn on December 20, 2009 - 12:55 pm

      he might have meant vancouver… 😛

      😀 maybe 😀

      Like

  14. #25 by Nancy on December 20, 2009 - 1:34 pm

    Bangalore was my favourite city and I hated Dubai in the beginning but now I’m ok with Dubai…..have learned to love it 🙂

    So which city r u referring to in ur post :-)???

    there’s many votes for Bangalore , i see 🙂

    i am in Boston, Nancy 🙂

    Like

  15. #26 by divz on December 20, 2009 - 1:51 pm

    hmmm

    i don’t know, honest!

    🙂 i didn’t know until I moved here either :D…so yeah, one day you will find out 🙂

    Like

  16. #27 by Pixie on December 20, 2009 - 10:52 pm

    My answer is – Mysore where I grew up and now Bangalore where I live.
    🙂

    These 2 cities are home to me now.

    🙂

    Like

  17. #28 by Nova on December 21, 2009 - 1:39 am

    It wud have to be Ahmedabad.. I feel connected to that place in more ways than one!

    :-)…nice!

    Like

  18. #29 by soulmate on March 1, 2010 - 6:44 am

    My initial days of childhood and the later were spent in two different cities.. Once I finished my education, I moved to another city and now I am in the fourth city of my life.. Of all the places I have stayed in, my heart goes back to Dehra Dun where I spent the later stages of my childhood and completed my education.. Thats my hometown as well… I cant get get that city… Even now, I am ready to leave everything and run back to it… Thats where my heart rests in peace…

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

