Green patch

I had a not-so-good day. (What’s new there, you are thinking, right? I know I’ve been whining a lot lately, I’m sorry…hopefully it will all change soon). Anyway, back to the point…so I couldn’t really concentrate / enjoy the day because something was bothering me a lot.

So, when I came home this evening I wasn’t expecting it be any different. Boy, was I wrong.

As soon as I entered my room, I realized I was gonna feel better, if not the best. You know why? Because there were lives there that needed my attention. They were waiting for me to take care of them, to provide for them. And as soon as I saw them, I couldn’t help but smile.

Look at them, aren’t they precious?

I’ve always wanted to have plants. But never bought any for myself given my irresponsible background. A month ago, K gifted me with the bamboo plant and I loved its presence in my room. I enjoyed having something green around. And I took care of it just fine. So a couple of weeks ago, I decided to expand that green patch. I bought two Hippeatrum plants (white and red)…it doesn’t require much work other than watering them regularly and keeping them somewhere where they can get sunlight. And I was sure I could do that much.

And I did.

Two flowers of the white plant has already bloomed (one yest and one today). It makes me so happy every time I see it.

Needless to say, these things add a distinct character and creates a peaceful ambiance. Calmness and harmony takes over the senses every time I enter my room. And it feels good. It livens my mood, diverts my mind and spreads so much positive energy.

What more than that on a day like this!

  1. #1 by Psych Babbler on December 21, 2009 - 10:24 pm

    Nice! I tend to kill most plants I have…the longest something lasted was a chilli plant I bought last December…but 2 moves during the year killed it.

    i don’t know how long these will last with me…but i hope they don’t die soon :-(…

    Like

  2. #2 by Psych Babbler on December 21, 2009 - 10:24 pm

    And you got rid of the writer’s block!!! 😀

    yes i did. yay! :D…and you were first 🙂

    Like

    • #3 by Psych Babbler on December 21, 2009 - 10:29 pm

      Yay! I was first!! Before Matty! 😀 And to think….’I just logged on…

      😀

      Like

    • #4 by Matt on December 21, 2009 - 10:33 pm

      yah!The moment you log in, T posts! A coincidence? A conspiracy to overthrow my first position!:P

      Psych and I didn’t talk off the blog or twitter…so it can only be called coincidence 🙂

      Like

      • #5 by Psych Babbler on December 21, 2009 - 10:36 pm

        It’s called Telepathy! 😉

        lol 😀

        Like

      • #6 by Matt on December 21, 2009 - 10:39 pm

        lol I was gonna tell that!!

        Maybe I’m watching too much conspiracy shows 😛

        Have a great day!

        lol…you have a nice day too! go get some sleep, mr.

        Like

      • #7 by Psych Babbler on December 21, 2009 - 10:47 pm

        I’m watching too much X-Files…hence the telepathy 😉 Y’know…weird phenomenon and stuff…

        😆 😀

        Like

      • #8 by BlueMist on December 22, 2009 - 8:13 am

        and I love this. There should be variety 😀 😀

        😀

        Like

      • #9 by Nu on December 22, 2009 - 12:58 pm

        I call it determination !! Mattie…someone at least overtook you !

        😆

        Like

      • #10 by Mattieeeee on December 22, 2009 - 2:39 pm

        Quoting President Bush “I will not honour this with a response” 😛

        rofl….

        Like

  3. #11 by Matt on December 21, 2009 - 10:29 pm

    Cheating ! Cheating! 😛

    how so?

    Like

    • #12 by Matt on December 21, 2009 - 10:29 pm

      you waited for PB to drive home!not fair …

      no matt…not at all…it just took me that long to write it and do the pics.. 🙂

      Like

      • #13 by Psych Babbler on December 21, 2009 - 10:35 pm

        Matt…I drove home, I cooked lunch and only then logged on. But I came straight to the blog. I thought you would have commented! 😛

        I won fair and square 😀

        :D…poor Matt…better luck next time ok?

        Like

      • #14 by Matt on December 21, 2009 - 10:36 pm

        just kidding! Twitter didn’t show the update …

        it did…no? …i have that automated, so i dunno why if it didnt

        Like

      • #15 by Matt on December 21, 2009 - 10:42 pm

        @PB I guessed so… given that no mention of being first in your comments ….. 😀 😀

        @T yeah it did,but my homepage didn’t refresh!

        Look at the bright side,by giving away my first position ,I made PB happy!
        You are happy,aren’t you PB? 😛

        such a sweet boy…you are always out to make others happy, aren’t ya? ;-)…sacrificing first position and all… 🙂

        better luck next time, Matt :D…

        Like

      • #16 by Psych Babbler on December 21, 2009 - 10:58 pm

        Haha…thanks Matty for “sacrificing” your No. 1 position 😛

        😀

        Like

  4. #17 by chatterbox on December 21, 2009 - 10:29 pm

    Your Lily flowers look fabulous and real gorgeous.

    Loved your blooming Bamboo and the pots to add to their charm.

    Good to see you’ve got company now 😀

    Enjoy 🙂

    thanks, CB…i’m now waiting for the red ones to bloom. 🙂

    Like

  5. #18 by Matt on December 21, 2009 - 10:32 pm

    Aww…nice flowers…

    Flowers do give a good vibrance ….

    I have flowers made of plastic !! 😀 😀

    thanks Matt…i used to have those…but i love the effect of having real flowers around…so now a days only those make it home 🙂

    Like

  6. #19 by G on December 21, 2009 - 10:54 pm

    The green in bamboo shoot plant looks refreshing!! 🙂

    :-)…but few of those green leaves are starting to fade, dunno why 😦

    Like

  7. #20 by viswajithkn on December 21, 2009 - 10:56 pm

    hey what happened? hope nothing serious and everythings under control…good that you got into better mood as soon as you came home…:D in case you need ny help just let know!

    yea everything’s ok.. 🙂 thanks for asking…and offering to help.. 🙂

    yes yes, the mood took a 180deg turn as soon as i came home :-)…it’s nice to be home 😀

    Like

    • #21 by viswajithkn on December 21, 2009 - 11:12 pm

      no problemo…edho enaala mudinjadu offering to help thaan…onaala mudinjadu thanking.. 😛

      😆 😀

      Like

  8. #22 by SiD on December 21, 2009 - 11:21 pm

    ok…question…why did this post update after 24 hrs in reader???

    I always was freaked of flowers…cos I once nearly killed my mom’s garden as I forgot to give water…dammm…those things are beautiful I feel i should have one..but no…can’t risk someones’s life over my dangerous memory…

    no no…i had posted this only an hr and half ago…

    i’m also v careless…i’m hoping i will do ok this time…we shall wait and see :-)…

    flowers are beautiful!!!

    Like

  9. #23 by chroniclesofdee on December 21, 2009 - 11:56 pm

    Gosh, ur organizing sooo much and planning… And u still have time to do a post..

    Ur my new blogging guru 🙂

    lol….too much time i’ve got, i guess 🙂

    how are you dee?…feeling better, i hope…many hugs to you!

    Like

    • #24 by chroniclesofdee on December 22, 2009 - 4:42 am

      Am hanging on.. The days aren’t so dark anymore 🙂

      good…hugs!!!

      Like

  10. #25 by Krags on December 22, 2009 - 1:24 am

    +1

    Thats the whole point , isn’t it ?

    To have such things in our home , which makes us fall in love with them and make us forget other things – That ways , we can always leave other troubles , outside !

    I would love a pup ( or a dozen of those – doesn’t matter 😀 ) , just like thse plants … Pretty nice it would be , to open your door and find a few of them running towards u to play with u … How abt u ? cats or dogs ?

    Thinking about it , if we fill our place of trouble ( office / home / wherever ) with a few small things which might make us feel better , it might be easier to overcome troubles ! Guess that is what people achieve when they have mini- Geeta s / Ganesh , Krishna Idols or even a fav. wall paper aound their cubicles …

    me no pup or cat…not an animal person..i m scared of them….

    and yes, these little things make it all so better :D…and it feels like the trouble is worth going thru cause them we come to appreciate the little things that help 🙂

    Like

    • #26 by Krags on December 22, 2009 - 12:23 pm

      scared ? 😀 ….
      nyways , let me try helping u out here … One fine day when travelling , we had to stop @ a restaurant – and there , we saw a family with ther pup – The thing is , the pup was sooo small that it stood on all four , inside my palm ! And started licking my fingers 😀 … You could comb its hair using ur mobile display screen 😛 and carry a dozen of those inside a girl’s handbag 😛 😛 😛
      Now tell me , how scary would that be for you 😀 ?

      i’m scared of bugs, insects that can fit on my pinky’s tip….so this is still scary 😛

      Like

      • #27 by Krags on December 22, 2009 - 12:31 pm

        😐 , i give up 😛

        😆 😆

        Like

  11. #28 by Dido on December 22, 2009 - 2:50 am

    alls well sweetheart??? cheer up…. hugzzzz

    yes yes…i’m a whiny person, that’s all :P…hugs to you babes

    and happy birthday!

    Like

  12. #29 by Nu on December 22, 2009 - 3:28 am

    true tixie 🙂 Me too loves to look at my “good luck” plant that I had mentioned dew days back in one of the posts…

    it gives you a kind of energy and positivity 🙂

    Stay good dear 🙂

    yup it does :-)…thanks Nu

    Like

  13. #30 by BlueMist on December 22, 2009 - 8:16 am

    lovely. Loved those pics. One basic question those lilies you planted them directly into those pots ? I love plants. but not much space . so right now I have only money plant.

    no no..there’s another small pot inside the one on the pic…that one looked too small, i was afraid it won’t be able to handle it all…so i put it inside a bigger one… :D..

    not too much space here either BM…room is now packed with only a lil space for myself :P…but it’s ok…something different for a while 😀

    Like

  14. #31 by rayshma on December 22, 2009 - 9:27 am

    hahaha… i don’t get plants. i kill them all, and then i actually feel bad abt it. so i’ve stopped! but these are going good… all the best with them!

    this is my first set…hopefully i wont kill them 😀

    Like

  15. #32 by Varsh on December 22, 2009 - 9:42 am

    I agree…having plants at home can be a responsibility..they need constant attention and care…but like you said…once they start having blooming and growing…they’re a delight to watch..

    yes they are… 🙂 waiting for the red one to bloom 😀

    Like

  16. #33 by justaroundme on December 22, 2009 - 10:57 am

    I am have also started testing my green thumb and in the process lost few plants and few still thriving,hey also (you might already know this one) don’t keep the plants close to the vent and drizzle the leaves with water as the heater might dry the air inside (especially in winter).

    ahhh thanks for the tip…i don’t drizzle the leaves…i just add water to the pot.. 🙂 thanks again, it helps!

    Like

  17. #34 by divz on December 22, 2009 - 11:13 am

    is the red pot supposed to have red flowers?
    white flowers are very pretty….how is their smell?

    yes yes, red is supposed to be red flowers…but it is taking forever to bloom..and im losing patience :D..

    there’s not a strong smell, per se divz…if you go too close and sniff it then there’s a subtle scent, but that’s it.

    Like

  18. #35 by Dew on December 22, 2009 - 11:55 am

    So true, even I enjoy nurturing plants!!! Recently I bought a long desried, Bougainvelia, Rajnigandha, marigold etc!!

    🙂

    nice!!! if i feel like i’m doing ok with these, then i might a couple different ones after few months 🙂

    welcome, Dew!

    Like

  19. #36 by comfortablynam on December 22, 2009 - 1:48 pm

    I am all thumbs when it comes to plants..none has ever survive. They look amazing T. 🙂
    Hope you are feeling better.

    these are my first ones…so i hope i take care of them properly :D..thanks, comfy…

    Like

  20. #37 by chotusworld on December 22, 2009 - 9:35 pm

    Hey T! hugs.. also sending some nice stress free thoughts ur way.. plants can be real stress busters, u r nurturing another life so its bound to bring the results and lot of positive vibes..
    here is wishing u feel better soon.. take care

    thanks dear…that’s v nice of you :-)…I’m feeling better than yesterday.. and yes, the plants helped a lot. also all you lovely people sending positive vibes my way. thanks!

    Like

  21. #38 by Prashanti on December 23, 2009 - 1:11 am

    The plants look lovely !!! I love love love the bamboo plant with its lush green shoots. I really love plants and I have so many indoor plants that som says one more and we can live on the road coz the house is a jungle 🙂

    lol….your home is a must see then :D….i wud love to see the place with so muchh green ard…post pics please

    Like

  22. #39 by Reema on December 23, 2009 - 3:57 am

    Gardening or even having green potted plants is so soothing!

    yupe it is 🙂

    Like

  1. How I spent the last day of 2009 « Memories & Mirages

Leave a Reply

