From Mother to Child

Shattered was my heart
When my hopes fell apart
All I wanted was a fresh start,
To find a love that would never part.

Dry were my days, you came flowing like a stream.
With an energy that made everything around me gleam.
In you I see my future, my dream.
And, without you, life has no theme.

I will shower you with love every day, every night.
A love that is deeper than seas, brighter than sunlight.
And I will standby you through all plight.
For your joy is what can make my day bright.

The bond that we share is the key
to unlock our souls and set it free.
So, come, grow old along with me,
The best of our lives is yet to be.

———————

This is my entry for Carry on Tuesday Prompt #36Grow old with me! The best is yet to be.

  1. #1 by revsjoiedevivre on January 19, 2010 - 3:44 pm

    🙂 Nice!

    thank you, m’am 🙂

    Like

    • #2 by Matt Parker on January 19, 2010 - 3:47 pm

      Again!!! 😛

      😀

      Like

      • #3 by revsjoiedevivre on January 19, 2010 - 4:05 pm

        This is just my day Matt 😉

        😀 😀

        Like

      • #4 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 4:49 pm

        Good going Revs. Keep it up. 😀

        Try hard Matt. 😉

        Matt blames his twitter page for not refreshing on time 😛

        Like

      • #5 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 4:52 pm

        I love the variety he brings in his excuses. 😛

        😆 where are you Matt?

        Like

      • #6 by Matt Parker on January 19, 2010 - 5:10 pm

        lol , I did not give any excuses ! I was merely saying .
        After all the twitter page was right in front of my eyes !
        Deception is Intolerable,damn you @jack !

        Don’t you love it,BM 😛

        ♪ I am heeyaa ♪

        hmm ok 😀

        Like

  2. #7 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 3:54 pm

    Is it a sign ? 😉

    😆 my lips are zipped 😆

    Like

    • #8 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 4:00 pm

      Be warned; it might go on the ” I got married.” track; when I might expect twist in the end; even when it happens in reality. ROFL

      rofl… 😀 i’m pretty sure nobody is going to believe me when i really get married or have a kid :D…all of you are gonna think it’s just one of those twisted stories 😛

      Like

      • #9 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 4:45 pm

        Serves your purpose ha ? 😛 Naughty girl. 😀

        😛 😛

        Like

      • #10 by Nu on January 19, 2010 - 10:19 pm

        Look here…somebody is now talking about marriage and not only that but kids as well !!

        i can talk all i want…but nothing is gonna happen 😛

        the secret kid has come out many posts ago…so not so much to hide about it anymore..thus post after post revealing details 😛

        Like

    • #11 by revsjoiedevivre on January 19, 2010 - 4:07 pm

      Hey yo BM! How art thou? Long time no see {waves} Sorry I couldnt make Pongal for you. But when you come here to Ireland, im definitely making some 🙂

      so now the food discussion is going public from the private email space, eh? 😀

      Like

      • #12 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 4:43 pm

        {waves back }
        No issues babes. 😀

        🙂

        Like

  3. #13 by Matt Parker on January 19, 2010 - 3:54 pm

    This is wonderful 😀 😀
    As with the case of Misty’s poem,this too is good for a proposal 😛

    Child?Again ! 😀

    Btw where do you work? Google ? I mean how in ‘heaven’ can you manage your twitter,your blog,visiting other blogs while working ? Does your boss know ? 😛
    Should I tell him ? 😛

    thanks, matt…

    😆 yes, the secret child 😀

    i read blogs / comment when i’m done with work..twitter, just for fun i don’t login much. 🙂 the WP updates are automated….and writing blogs i do mostly after work, but this one i worked on last night, so just had to publish it. :)…phew, why am i explaining myself so much 😀

    Like

    • #14 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 4:01 pm

      Proposal again? Spill the beans Matt. Who is the fish in the net now ? 😛

      😆 yes Matt..tell us…

      BM, why does your gravatar keep changing from the old one to new one every so often?

      Like

      • #15 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 4:03 pm

        You need to clear history I guess. For me it worked after that. 😀

        hmmm..still happens :D…oh well.

        Like

      • #16 by Matt Parker on January 19, 2010 - 4:10 pm

        I don’t eat fish and I don’t fish ! 😀 :mrgreen:

        then why do you wanna propose to a fish? 😀 (see even i can make bad jokes :P)

        Like

      • #17 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 4:44 pm

        Good joke T 😛
        Somebody explain me how can one use a mother-child poem to propose. 😀 😀

        i’m sure he will edit it a little bit to make it fit.. 😆 won’t you Matt?

        Like

      • #18 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 4:47 pm

        Bingo. I keep forgetting those editing skills. 😆

        😆

        Like

      • #19 by Matt Parker on January 19, 2010 - 5:16 pm

        ROFL !
        Combine Misty’s and T’s poem and shooting it to a girl !
        Voila in the net (the fish) 😛

        Of course,I will ! Editing all the way 😀

        Forgetfulness ?Nearing your 80th birthday Misty ? :mrgreen:

        so much craziness here…i write about some secret child…you are running ard with a net to propose to some fish, that you don’t even like 😆

        Like

      • #20 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 5:20 pm

        Oh so lovely scene here. ROFL. 😆

        yeah ‘lovely’…that’s one way to look at it 😛

        Like

    • #21 by Matt Parker on January 19, 2010 - 4:06 pm

      okies….lol,just asked !

      I am not from the internal affairs dept for investigation ! 😛

      😆 i hope so 😀

      Like

  4. #22 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 5:24 pm

    LOL T is on a roll today. with all her “lovely” jokes !! and matt is doing “net” practice. 😆

    rofl :D…you guys are so much fun!

    Like

    • #23 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 5:30 pm

      Let’s hear opinion from Matt. He is normally good at that. 😛

      😆

      Like

  5. #24 by Matt Parker on January 19, 2010 - 5:37 pm

    Yes we are ! 😀 😀

    “net practice” .. lol !!

    Normally ? … Always !! 😀

    On an unrelated topic , I seem to use a whole lot of exclamation marks !! 😀

    yeah practice well…we don’t wanna see you fail 😛 good luck, matt!

    lol at use of !! 😀 i do it too, a bit more than usual these days. 😀

    Like

    • #25 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 5:45 pm

      Geez , me too !!
      here I did it again !! 😛

      and good luck Matt. 😀

      😀 😀 best wishes to Matt!! 😛

      Like

      • #26 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 5:48 pm

        What was the topic btw ? 😛

        i only remember parts – net, fish, lovely, crazy, !! , my bad jokes, you being 80yrs old 😆

        Like

      • #27 by BlueMist on January 19, 2010 - 5:53 pm

        ROFL.
        and silly me thinks it was about the prompt and mother-child poem that you wrote. 😛 😛

        yes yes, something about my sec child too 😀 😆

        Like

  6. #28 by Andy Sewina on January 19, 2010 - 6:17 pm

    Yeah, loved the rhymes here, have you ever thought of writing sonnet’s?

    Thank you and welcome!!!

    i’ve heard about sonnets but never tried writing…will research more and give it a shot maybe soon 😀 thanks again!

    Like

  7. #29 by comfortablynam on January 19, 2010 - 6:18 pm

    Oh..O..having read through the comments, I forgot what I came here to write..all I remember is net, fish, pongal..hhmmmpp…

    Oh..I go to read again…

    ..aahaa am back…Looking at the prompt I was expecting a love story..what I found was a different kind of love..A love of a mother for her child..totally unexpected..and beautifully written as always..

    😆 pretty crazy comments going ard here today :D…matt proposing to a fish and all, we cudn’t let it go without having a proper discussion 😛

    thank you, Comfy…

    Like

    • #30 by Nu on January 19, 2010 - 10:21 pm

      same pinch Comfy..me to actually forgot as to what comment I was to type in 😦

      😆

      Like

  8. #31 by celestialrays on January 19, 2010 - 6:29 pm

    err trying not to interrupt the discussion here, I will keep it short- very beautiful!

    😆 good luck with that divz….even people who were part of the discussion (Misty, me, Matt) don’t get it anymore :P..so save your time, run away from the craziness here :p

    thanks divz!

    Like

  9. #32 by Matt Parker on January 19, 2010 - 6:40 pm

    Aha the conversation is at a full swing ! 😀 😀

    lol ,deviated from ur poem uh ? 😛

    yeah deviated in deed….but if this little distraction means you practicing “net” and finding a “fish” then i’m all for it :D…go Matt 😛

    Like

    • #33 by Matt Parker on January 19, 2010 - 7:21 pm

      NoNo … I am vouching for spiritual contentment ! 😛

      😀 😀

      Like

      • #34 by BlueMist on January 20, 2010 - 6:32 am

        Haw….we are waiting for the edited version of “net” that you are gonna use to catch the “fish” 😀 😀

        *** runs before Matt decides to kill ****

        😆

        Like

  10. #35 by Prashanti on January 19, 2010 - 9:41 pm

    I would have expected a love story and would never have thought of a mother to child theme. good work T

    🙂 thanks

    Like

  11. #36 by Psych Babbler on January 19, 2010 - 10:08 pm

    Lovely poem T! Like Comfy…I had to go back and read it because I got distracted by fish and nets and marriage… 😛 It was a beautiful poem…

    😆 in summary, Matt is practising using the “net” to catch a “fish” so that he can use my and Misty’s poems to propose to the “fish” 😆

    thanks, PB 🙂

    Like

    • #37 by Psych Babbler on January 20, 2010 - 4:52 am

      Lol! Hope Matt lets us know if he any of the fish fell into his net! 😛

      😆

      Like

  12. #38 by Nu on January 19, 2010 - 10:23 pm

    I just loved the poem…just one thing…since this is a “net” age our life has a “theme” or no “theme” as in blogger or word press 🙂

    The poem is really worth reading again and again 🙂

    ROFL Nu…brilliant word play 😛 😆

    thanks, Nu 🙂

    Like

    • #39 by Matt Parker on January 19, 2010 - 10:32 pm

      lol , good one ! 😀

      😀

      Like

      • #40 by Nu on January 19, 2010 - 11:28 pm

        thank you thank you !!

        :D..

        nice display pic, btw. 🙂

        Like

      • #41 by Nu on January 19, 2010 - 11:37 pm

        you know but I’m unable to view the changed pic…I’m getting to see the same old one 😦 how to ?

        clear your browser’s history and then try…

        Like

      • #42 by Nu on January 19, 2010 - 11:41 pm

        Just did ! but nothing 😦

        oh well..then only time can help i guess 😛

        Like

    • #43 by Nu on January 19, 2010 - 11:44 pm

      awww….no no !! I want to see it right away….T help !! you have saved me so many times from these tech puzzles….

      lol….delete all cookies, cache and everything..not just the history..all private data…that shud help, i’m guessing.

      Like

  13. #44 by Dew on January 20, 2010 - 12:54 am

    Beautiful it is 🙂

    thank you, Dew

    Like

  14. #45 by Swaram on January 20, 2010 - 1:23 am

    Aww this is so so beautiful T .. u always do well .. but I loved this the most 🙂 The selfless love 🙂

    thank you, swaram 😀

    Like

  15. #46 by Reema on January 20, 2010 - 5:19 am

    nice twist to the original quote.
    “Grow old along with me! The best is yet to be, the last of life, for which the first was made. Our times are in his hand who saith, ‘A whole I planned, youth shows but half; Trust God: See all, nor be afraid!’”
    Robert Browning

    wonderful lines…thank you Reema

    Like

  16. #47 by noname on January 20, 2010 - 7:57 am

    Very nice! Loved it!

    thank you!

    Like

  17. #48 by Nazish Rahman on January 20, 2010 - 11:57 am

    very nice ya…i really liked it!!

    thank you Nazish…how have you been? Liking the new city you moved to?

    Like

  18. #49 by krags on January 20, 2010 - 12:06 pm

    Beautiful.
    How do you go about writing such good ones everytime ?

    😛 thank you!

    Like

  19. #50 by justaroundme on January 20, 2010 - 12:31 pm

    oh very nice ..would like to read more of your poems

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  20. #51 by chotusworld on January 20, 2010 - 10:55 pm

    AWESOOOOOOOOOMMMMMEEE this was.. loved loved loved it..

    thank you 😀

    Like

  21. #52 by pixie on January 20, 2010 - 11:24 pm

    Loved loved loved it!!! 😀 😀

    thanks, pix

    Like

  22. #53 by Priya on January 21, 2010 - 1:08 am

    Lovely poem T!! I can actually totally relate to it .. these were the exact same feelings when my daughter came into my life and made me feel alive again…

    Thanks.. i’ll save this link..

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  23. #54 by binpin on January 21, 2010 - 5:26 pm

    Lovely choice of words..I used to write so much poetry when I was small and somewhere along the way I stopped..Maybe I should start with these prompts and see if I get inspired:)

    start again…don’t let the talent go to waste 🙂 do go thru the prompts, they do help a lot when there’s nothing else to get you writing 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  24. #55 by swapna on January 24, 2010 - 4:28 pm

    Beautiful write, liked the flow and the choice of words.

    thank you, swapna

    Like

Leave a Reply

