Beads of Peace

“So tell me, what’s the happy news? You sound bubbly and all chirpy.”

…asks the best friend just after hearing a few words of hi hello from me.

“I thought you weren’t feeling good. It’s surprising, then, that you sound so refreshed.”

…tells the mother right after she listens to me talk for few seconds.

But why, I had to ask myself. Because, you see, the day is not anything special; it’s no different than a typical one. So why was everyone telling me I sound extra delightful? (Ok fine, “everyone” might be an exaggeration because anyone that dealt with me right after I woke up this morning would beg to differ :P, but that’s a different story for later, ok?).

Well, all the pondering about what was keeping me in this jolly good mood today led me to only one answer – rain…yes, rain, that’s what’s keeping me in high spirits despite all the work, the pain and what not.

My love affair with rain is not something new; it’s been there forever…even on this blog I’ve mentioned before that rain sets fire to my romance with life. So saying that it’s been refreshing to experience non-stop downpour here for the past couple of days doesn’t really come as a surprise (even though I couldn’t really enjoy it over the weekend).  As I sit here and gaze out the window, I can’t help but marvel at the tiny drops of liquid pearls falling down the sky. Those beautiful beads hitting the window pane and shinning over the candle light is bliss to watch. And then, of course, the rhythm of falling rain wins over every other soothing music there is. It’s more than enough to calm the chaos in my mind and rejuvenate my soul, even without me realizing it.

What more can I ask for? Oh wait, there is one thing – it looks like every droplet is coming down to embrace me with love, so it’s time to return the love and get drenched, don’t you think? :). Doesn’t matter the cold/cough that I might have to deal with later, it’s worth it…a few mins under the showery sky is totally worth anything. So, here I go…

Rain’s been making me float on cloud nine today. What about you? What’s making you happy?

  1. #1 by BlueMist on March 15, 2010 - 4:06 pm

    It has to be Sunshine for me. After months drenched in rain; there is sunshine for 4 days in a row. and I am beaming looking at the bright sun in clear blue sky.
    Wondering how different are our world’s and we mortals deriving happiness out of them. Life eh ?

    🙂 it’s first rain of spring (it’s spring now, right?)…so makes it all the more special :D…I don’t know how many more days it will take for me to get bored of this if the rain keeps up, but for now it’s all good :D…you enjoy your sunshine and I will enjoy my rain… 😀 yes, that’s the wonder that is life 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by comfortablynam on March 15, 2010 - 4:07 pm

    Rain use to..before I moved here..now I see so much rain that ‘Sun’ makes me happy..and currently is making me real happy. Everything is bright, I can see the mountains from my office window..and the snow that covers them..

    Can’t ask for much more for now 🙂

    oh yeah…have heard so much about the rain in your part of the country :D…

    Have a jolly day with sunshine and snow covered mountain views, Comfy. 🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Prashanti on March 15, 2010 - 7:08 pm

    Ooooh, if the rain is making you so happy that the change is so evident in your voice, dude, you should totally move to cherrapunji 🙂 🙂

    😀 noted 😀

    Like

  4. #4 by chatterbox on March 15, 2010 - 10:13 pm

    I am happy as I am planing to bake a butter cake with orange rind 😀
    Wow! it must be start of spring at your end T. It’s start of Autumn and first signs of winter after flooding in the rainy season at my end.

    Have lots of fun enjoying the downpour.

    Cheers!!

    yummmmm 😀 enjoy the cake 🙂

    Like

  5. #5 by Nu on March 15, 2010 - 10:19 pm

    the last paragraph is wow 🙂 ..to return the love by getting drenched..lovely thought T !!

    I love rains but with some constraints..that is I should be watching rains from inside my cosy room..should be having a cuppa coffee and a book to read..these blog too 😉 and in case I want to drench it should in the lawn or the terrace…without the ooze on the road…you understand what I mean ?

    🙂

    😀 hmmm ok 🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by Varsh on March 15, 2010 - 10:48 pm

    Rain does it for me…there’s something eternally blissful bout it…its like a reflex action…see it and go out to get drenched 😀

    There have been times when A has shown ‘serious’ irritation over my ‘dancing in the rain’ ritual…but who cares!! 😛

    exactly 😀 we will do the dancing in the rain ritual together when we meet ok? 😀 I didn’t do it here because I didn’t have company 😛

    Like

    • #7 by Varsh on March 16, 2010 - 10:55 pm

      Sure thing T…know what..I wasn’t in Mumbai when the 26/7 deluge happened…I came a few days later…I was in Parla and it started pouring heavily again…everyone was running scared heading home…and I was taking my own sweet time…splashing puddles of water and enjoying the cold water on me…trust me…people looked at me like they’d looove drowning me in it!! 😀

      Dancing in the rain…with girl-friends is even more fun!!! Like being kids again!! Am sure we’ll have plenty of company T!! Ye baarish tumpe udhar rahi 😛 🙂

      😀 awesome..looking forward to it 🙂

      Like

  7. #8 by chotusworld on March 16, 2010 - 12:55 am

    Its rain too for me anyday.. something about the first showers, the scent of the wet earth and watching the downpour makes me all calm..

    yupe true! 😀

    Like

  8. #9 by Psych Babbler on March 16, 2010 - 2:16 am

    Hmm…not a big fan of the rain myself. Blame it on getting stuck on trains and buses and wading through muck in Bombay for years. Even though it’s not disgusting here, I’m still not the biggest fan of rain. Although I can appreciate it a lot more if I’m at home than driving or walking outside in it.

    😀 sitting home with a book and relaxing while it’s raining out is also bliss 😀

    Like

  9. #10 by Dido on March 16, 2010 - 2:47 am

    SUNSHINE…!!!

    😀 ok 😀

    Like

  10. #11 by sayamaya on March 16, 2010 - 3:04 am

    I used to love rain with just as much poetic ardour. till i came here. now i lust after sunshine.

    😀 I hope my love for rain never changes 😀

    Like

  11. #12 by celestialrays on March 16, 2010 - 5:28 am

    You are a rain baby too? 😀
    What makes me happy is sitting by a river/lake/sea 😀
    Absolutely love it – its like therapy for me 😛

    i love that too…lake/river/beach and mountains, especially during sunset is amazing!!!

    Like

  12. #13 by Sonia on March 16, 2010 - 1:10 pm

    Well as of this moment, a pizza from California Pizza Kitchen is making me blissfully happy…ummmmm…

    I love the rains too!! I miss being in Mumbai where you can actually run outside and dance in the first downpour, here I would freeze my butt off and die of hypothermia!

    yum 😀

    It was freezing yesterday when I went out to get drenched…I was out only for a few mins, couldn’t take more of the cold rain :D, but I enjoyed it from inside my room 🙂

    Like

  13. #14 by SG on March 16, 2010 - 8:11 pm

    It has been raining in San Francisco Bay Area cats and dogs since Janaury. Just let up only yesterday. I love rain (as long as I stay home).

    😀 nice

    Like

  14. #15 by blommer22 on March 16, 2010 - 10:20 pm

    mine will definitely be “cloudy day”.

    cloudy day has supported me, mentally…to feel all the sentimental feelings in me 😀

    just see how the sky does not shine too bright that can burn one’s skin or even does not cry too heavy that can cause flood everywhere(specially in my town ), cloudy always remains perfect for me.

    hmmm nice 🙂 I have mixed feelings about cloudy days…totally depends on my mood as to whether or not I enjoy it 😀

    Like

  15. #16 by Swaram on March 17, 2010 - 1:16 am

    Sigh! I want some to pour down now!

    😀

    Like

  16. #17 by Meira on March 17, 2010 - 1:25 am

    Chocolate. Anyday.

    😀

    Like

  17. #18 by Nuttie Natters on March 17, 2010 - 1:59 am

    I love the rain too – but what i love better is unexpected holidays due to rain (true mumbai style)

    i love it when the weather cools down a little and u can feel the cool breeze hit your face when u are walking.

    P.s. i live and breathe in Mumbai – i hardly get any of the second :))

    😀

    Like

  18. #19 by Mahmud faisal on March 17, 2010 - 8:23 am

    So cool… I love the rain too…
    the downpour makes me romantic … and makes me happy!!
    feeling good to read your blog after many days….
    I am happy to feel that I have crossed a big barrier in my thesis work and I am back to blogs hopefully 🙂

    Nice! Glad you’re done with a good part of your thesis work. Best wishes with the rest 🙂 Take care!

    Like

  19. #20 by Reema on March 20, 2010 - 12:45 pm

    Oh I also love rain! It has got so hot over here..wish it would rain.

    🙂

    Like

  20. #21 by Matt on August 20, 2012 - 5:23 pm

    “Rain’s been making me float on cloud nine today” – Clever 😀

    Tiny drops of liquid pearls- I love your style of writing. And yes I do love the rain too. An excuse to skip everything else 😀

    😀 thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

