Finding solace

It’s been months since he created that void in her heart and left her forever, but the pain remained in her as if everything happened just yesterday. It’s not so easy to forget someone who filled your life with so much joy for years together, is it? It’s hard to move on when a dear one’s departure comes unexpected, especially when things were going so great.  And that was exactly why she found it hard to let go, to find someone to help heal the hurt, to accept reality and to go on to cherish the wonderful memories.

Today was going to be different, though. It was going to be a usual day according to her…but the universe had other plans – it has conspired to bring back light into her life. The sun had risen this morning only to bless her with a special boon – the days of finding joy in those brazen eyes were going to be back; the evenings of coming home to someone who was dying to see you were going to be back; the nights of sitting on the couch, nuzzling every now and then, keeping each other company, were going to be back.

As she sat on the bench reminiscing the good old days of spending every evening in the park with him, recalling those scary gazes he gave everyone that even thought of coming near her, remembering his zest for life, a few tear drops found way through her cheeks. As she wiped off the flowing sorrow, her eyes met his. And at that moment her heart bloomed, again.

She saw a hunger for love in his eyes; the kind of love that she was sure she could provide. She wanted to embrace him, hold him close, but she just sat there following his every move. She felt happy when he came and sat next to her. She smiled, he came closer…and her happiness overflowed.

“Spike! There you are!”

…a voice came from behind as she started petting him.

“Oh hi. I’m sorry, he just came here and sat next to me.”

…she said.

“That’s alright. I was just worried when I couldn’t find him running around. Good to see you both getting along; he’s usually grumpy.”

…the woman said.

“Really? I find that hard to believe; he’s quite a charmer, I must say. I fell for him on first sight.”

…she explained, not being able to control her brimming joy.

“You know, he’s up for adoption, if you are interested.”

…the woman said, noticing the way she held him with love.

“Oh wow. I couldn’t be happier. I guess today is my day!”

…she exclaimed, with a blissful glow on her face as she hugged the puppy.

And with that, days of light were back; letting go became easy; and moving on, while treasuring the past, came to be.

———————

This is my entry for 3WW Prompt #CLXXXIIBrazen, Hunger, Nuzzle.

,

  1. #1 by comfortablynam on March 24, 2010 - 3:10 pm

    Aww.. you make me go aww..even when I am not too fond of Dogs.. T, tusi great ho..

    😀 thanks Comfy!

    I’m not too fond of dogs either. They are cute, yes. But I’m v afraid of them :D. Anyway, thanks again. 🙂

    oh btw, no comment about the happy ending? 😀 come on, I tried hard 😛

    Like

    • #2 by comfortablynam on March 24, 2010 - 3:52 pm

      😆 😆

      I can’t stop laughing.. 😆

      Good job T.. I did say aww.. did I not.. 😛 😛

      😆 😆

      that ‘aww’ was for the puppy tale..not the happy ending…that’s how I took it 😛

      thank you, Comfy 😛 thank you for accommodating my shameless attempt to ask for compliment 😛

      Like

    • #3 by Swaram on March 25, 2010 - 12:52 am

      Exactly what I wanted to say.. Thanks Comfy 😛

      🙂

      Like

  2. #4 by thommyg on March 24, 2010 - 3:48 pm

    First, welcome to 3WW. Hope you find a weekly outlet for your creativity with the words.

    And this is a really great tale. A nice twist and just a happy story.

    (and I have two dogs that have been with me in thick and thin, for 13 and 11 years. No matter how bad the day, they are joyous to see me. It’s a blast.)

    Thanks for the warm welcome and the nice comment, thommyg. 🙂 I’ve been following 3WW for a while now, but never got around to participating…glad I did that today!

    Welcome to my blog.

    Like

  3. #5 by Andy Sewina on March 24, 2010 - 5:14 pm

    Phew, be careful what you wish for… springs to mind. I try to make my dreams have happy endings, but I usually wake up too soon.

    Nicely done!

    Thanks and welcome!

    Like

  4. #6 by Stan Ski on March 24, 2010 - 6:20 pm

    Puppy love – how sweet.

    🙂

    Like

  5. #7 by celestialrays on March 24, 2010 - 6:35 pm

    me wants a puppy real bad 😦
    everytime I look at a lab I yearn….
    sigh…

    😀 get one then 😀

    Even though I think they are cute, I will never dare to get a puppy / dog 😀

    Like

  6. #8 by celestialrays on March 24, 2010 - 6:37 pm

    ohh btw, very well written… sorry I got carried away with puppy 🙂

    😀 Thanks!

    Like

  7. #9 by lissa on March 24, 2010 - 7:52 pm

    finding joy again, I like that, good story and the use of 3ww

    Thanks lissa…welcome!

    Like

  8. #10 by chatterbox on March 24, 2010 - 8:09 pm

    Wow! what a beautiful tale.
    I’ve always had dogs as pets, I could totally relate to the feelings 😀 😀

    Wonderful work at spinning a tale out of three key words 😀

    Cheers!!

    Nice CB…I would never have dog, or for that matter any pet. I’m too scared of everything 😦

    Thanks !

    Like

  9. #11 by Pixie on March 24, 2010 - 10:44 pm

    Awww… how cute! 🙂 🙂

    I somehow knew she would find a puppy and yay! she did! 🙂
    good for her! 🙂

    Very well written T! 🙂

    Thanks pix 🙂

    Like

  10. #12 by Sonia on March 25, 2010 - 9:23 am

    Nice story! Love the happy ending :)) I am terrified of dogs but at the same time would love to get one 🙂 And Madam, yesterday was the first time, my daughter moved into her room to sleep by herself, I went to bed, then thought of your story and went to her room and checked and double checked the windows hehehe…

    🙂 Thanks, Sonia. I am terrified too, but unlike you, I surely don’t want one 😀

    And lol…my story scared you so much eh? 😀 Hope she slept well through the night on her first day away from parents 🙂 Hugs!

    Like

    • #13 by Sonia on March 25, 2010 - 10:44 am

      Kahan yaar, at two in the morning she ran into our room at top speed and firmly planted herself between us to sleep 🙂

      😀 at least she slept alone till two 🙂 good for her 🙂

      Like

  11. #14 by Dee on March 25, 2010 - 10:44 am

    At first I thought it was about a man. I’m glad it ended with a puppy. Much easier to housebreak.

    😀 😀

    Like

  12. #15 by Ann (bunnygirl) on March 25, 2010 - 2:47 pm

    Aww…I’m not much for dogs, but I recently lost a beloved cat of eighteen years. Our furry friends steal our hearts.

    My story this week involves a dog, too. Odd.

    I’m sorry to hear about your cat 😦

    Will come over to read your story right away 😀

    Welcome here. 🙂

    Like

  13. #16 by Thomma Lyn on March 25, 2010 - 8:32 pm

    What an adorable story! hehe, love how it turned out. 😀

    🙂 Thank you! Welcome to my space.

    Like

  14. #17 by maverickshree on March 26, 2010 - 2:15 am

    Beautiful tale..very well conveyed 🙂

    Thanks! Welcome!

    Like

  15. #18 by Psych Babbler on March 26, 2010 - 5:36 am

    Awww…loved it!! I love dogs and this was wonderful…had a feeling it was going to be a dog at a certain point. Y’know…it’s funny…I like happy endings when it involves animals but love your stories with dark and sad endings when it comes to humans. Wonder what that makes me??? 😛 A crazy lunatic?!

    I always prefer tragedy to happy endings too…what does that make me? 😛

    Like

  16. #19 by BlueMist on March 26, 2010 - 10:28 am

    Dogs and me don’t admire each mutually but glad this one found happiness in each other. 🙂
    I have felt always; happy endings does not leave much of impact. But then it could be just me.

    we are soul sisters when it comes to dogs then :D…and happy endings too, me prefers tragedy 😆

    Like

    • #20 by BlueMist on March 26, 2010 - 10:38 am

      YAY. I got a soul sister. Always wanted one. 😀

      😀 I always wanted a brother…doesn’t have to be a soul brother, but any brother will do. Anyway, will settle for a soul sister now 😀 so YAY! 😀

      Like

      • #21 by BlueMist on March 26, 2010 - 10:50 am

        Did you talk to your mom about it ? 😉 😀 😀

        of course 😀 used to do it all the time; see wanted a son too. But now a days this conversation turns to “I can’t dream of having a son anymore, so how about a grandson?”…so I keep away from the topic 😛 it’s now marked dangerous territory 😀

        Like

      • #22 by BlueMist on March 26, 2010 - 10:56 am

        Btw you new avatar keeps changing from old to new . Wonder why ?

        I changed it two/three days ago. It still hasn’t taken form..oh well 😀

        Like

      • #23 by BlueMist on March 26, 2010 - 11:22 am

        After seeing your pic in BS; a cute little charmer form of T will be nice to have around. I am sure you mom will be happier too. 😀 😀

        BS – baby shower, right?

        Has my mother been talking to you misty? cute littler charmer form of T and all that…sounds so much like her 😆

        Like

      • #24 by Matt on August 20, 2012 - 5:00 pm

        Look no further. Brother. Me . 😀

        thank you 🙂

        Like

  17. #25 by BlueMist on March 26, 2010 - 11:41 am

    Yeah in the Baby shower ! ROFL T. May be I can read your mom’s feelings. 😛 and your that pic was charmer indeed. 🙂

    you can read my mind and now you say you can read my mom’s feelings too? hidden talent, is there one? 😀

    pic might be a charmer, but the real person might not be 😉 so be careful what you wish for 👿

    Like

    • #26 by BlueMist on March 26, 2010 - 1:06 pm

      ROFL T. You are on a roll today. 😀

      😆

      Like

  18. #27 by pieceofpie on March 26, 2010 - 6:24 pm

    amazing how dogs can be such a blessing….

    thanks ! 🙂

    Like

  19. #28 by Achu on March 28, 2010 - 12:39 pm

    yay!!! to the happy ending… 🙂 🙂 I sooo wanna have a pup at home.. 😦
    Never been able to convince my parents though.. 😦

    😀

    Like

  20. #29 by liveonimpulse on March 30, 2010 - 12:22 am

    Aww beautiful piece of fiction Titaxy.

    thanks!

    Like

  21. #30 by Matt on August 20, 2012 - 5:02 pm

    I love tragedy. Or do I hate them? I am not too sure.

    Kudos for the happy ending 😀 Well written

    🙂 thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

