Happiness is…

…when you read that one line email over and over and can’t help but smile. Why? Just because…it makes you beam with joy every single time you read the sweet message for no particular reason at all. Simple pleasures!

…when you turn your closet upside down to find that one favorite top of yours is that’s nowhere to be found for months…the one you fell in love with at first sight; the one that you only wore a couple of times; the one that you didn’t mind paying way over your normal budget; the one that’s now missing. You call your sister and ask her to look all over her house for that top because that’s where you know you wore it last…she loses patience after telling you million times that you didn’t leave it there and hangs up asking you not to call about it again. Tears are at the verge of embracing your cheeks; swear words, which doesn’t come to you very easily, are at the tip of your tongue ready to venture into the world any second; the big smiley on the stress relief ball turns into a frown as it wishes it were never born…you lie down on the floor, turn on one side and curl up when your eyes meet that very missing top resting merrily below the bed. Need I say more?

…when you accidentally, during your turn-the-closet-upside-down spree, find a skirt that you had bought 2 years ago (and never wore because you thought it was too short) and try it on with no hopes of fitting into it only to find that it fits seamlessly. For a minute you are not sure if it should make you sulk in sadness that you haven’t lost all that weight you were planning to or if it should leave you gloating in glory that you haven’t put on any more. You choose the latter, for the time being at least. Can’t wait for summer now, can you!

…when you come across a pretty hat, which doesn’t belong to you, in your closet and take it over to the roommate to ask her if it was one of hers and she says that she had left it in your closet, for you, as a gift. Lovely, she is!

…when you spend your entire day with butterflies fluttering in your stomach and heartbeats getting louder by the minute as if…as if…I don’t know…as if you were excited about something or someone. It feels good!

…when you spot your birthday as the expiry date on the drink that’s on your hand. Nothing grand, sure, but it still puts a grin on your face. Instant gratification!

How would you define happiness today?

  1. #1 by chatterbox on April 12, 2010 - 5:52 pm

    Wow! what a beautiful post T 😀 😀
    loved every bit of it. Been there,felt that 🙂 🙂

    At the moment, happiness to me is eating cup cakes that I made this Sunday decorated with ‘m&m’ along with three little girls aged between 5-7 years 😀 😀

    yummmm…if and when I get into baking, I will come to you for yummy recipes 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by comfortablynam on April 12, 2010 - 6:27 pm

    Definitely gloat with glory on the skirt..yup..that is it..

    Can I borrow your roommate? Err..scratch that..I will be happy to have you..and I am sure you will let me borrow that hat 😛 😛

    Right this moment..happiness is reading this post.. 😀

    how sweet are you! For this comment, I will be happy to let you borrow the hat, sure…but no borrowing roommate 😀 nice roommates are hard to find and I’m not letting go of mine so easily 😛

    Like

  3. #3 by SG on April 12, 2010 - 9:10 pm

    Happiness is contagious. When you reflect happiness, all the people around you will catch that bug and be happy.

    😀 yupe true 🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by SG on April 12, 2010 - 9:12 pm

    Personally, to me, happiness is putting my feet on the cofee table, have a glass of merlot, and watch TV.

    bliss 😀

    Like

  5. #5 by Another Day In Paradise on April 12, 2010 - 9:30 pm

    aww T..what a glorious post..ok this put a smile on my face after waking up to a “…SWELTERING..” summer…

    yes it is in the small things….

    getting an unexpected bunch of flowers from parents who believe that is a waster of money:)..just coz I like that…

    there was this dress that i loved one the mannequin of a store…and my mom n I emptied our purses to buy that..and blushed on seeing the naked mannequin..took a public transport to get home and asked dad for the fare to pay off the auto rickshaw..stands out in my memory of small happiness…

    finding a long-lost friend after ages…

    eating tutti fruti ice-cream at Nirulas..especially when I am NOT supposed to eat ice-creams..promising myself that it is this one time…

    Bunch of friends singing “Dholna” in the car and going on a long drive..

    the list is endless..it is in the small things!! wonderful post T…

    thank you 🙂 it is in the small things, I totally agree :D..

    it’s been ages since I had tutti-fruti ice cream, not a big fan, but still have a craving now that I’ve read your comment 😀

    and what a wonderful story on buying that dress 🙂 definitely made me smile…thank you for sharing 🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by Nu on April 12, 2010 - 9:31 pm

    wow..butterflies in the stomach for the entire day ?? now when did that happen to you tixie darl 🙂 any ways..

    for me happiness is..to see all of you all’s comments on my new post..to see hubby next to me every morning when I get up, to see little babies smile and wave back at me-even if they don’t know me,to see my students scoring well in my paper and attending the class no matter what :), to see myself taking a walk every day-regularly-in the park, to see that mark tilting to the left side of the meter when I stand on the weighing machine ;P…ahhh nice growing list this is 🙂

    you really do make us do these little exercise of answering few questions without naming it as a tag 😛 smart huh !! 🙂

    all the above mentioned points happened yesterday Nu 🙂 Too much happiness 😀

    little babies make me all smiley too 😀

    hope your happiness list grows along with you.. 🙂

    Like

    • #7 by Nu on April 13, 2010 - 9:38 pm

      what did you mean by ‘grows along with you’ ??? 😦 I hope you didn’t mean horizontally 😛

      lol..of course not Nu, I didn’t even think of that :D…I just meant that as you grow (we all grow, as in get old, every minute don’t we?) I wish your happiness list continues to grow too…just keep adding more and more to it by the second…be happy always, that’s all 🙂 not any other hidden meanings 🙂

      sorry about the misunderstanding!

      Like

  7. #8 by Priya on April 13, 2010 - 12:06 am

    hehe.. true
    happiness for me today .. i just realised that we have a holiday tomorrow on account of tamil new year/baisakhi/ Dr Ambedkar’s b’day. A day off right in the middle of the week! and without having anticipated it 🙂

    how cool is that.. 😀 enjoy the day off 🙂

    Like

  8. #9 by Swaram on April 13, 2010 - 12:47 am

    Aww T … just luveeed reading this post. U do this so many times .. something which instantly brings a wide grin on my face. The one post bt the 5 senses and nw this one 🙂

    Pt.2 …. some hope for me there nw 😛 I am nt able to find one of my mostttt fav dresses 😛

    U make me want to do a post on this one 🙂

    you remember an old post..yay 😀 that made me happy today 🙂

    look under the bed for your dress, Swaram 😀 I tell you, it’s the most unlikely of places that you will find it hiding 🙂

    Like

  9. #10 by liveonimpulse on April 13, 2010 - 1:00 am

    Very well put Titaxy!!. for me happiness is the satisfaction that there is someone who cares and loves me despite all my weaknesses and failings..

    pure love..will make anyone happy 🙂

    Like

  10. #11 by maverickshree on April 13, 2010 - 2:22 am

    Happiness today for me is to be able to come to office with hubby dear almost after 2 months 🙂
    (Well,we both have our offices on the same route and he drops me everyday..since he is working from Mumbai for past few months its the rare thing today )

    yay to you 😀

    Like

  11. #12 by celestialrays on April 13, 2010 - 3:11 am

    Today, my day started off with the happy news of Amma having bought her first ‘chudidar’ and describing its blue-green colour 😀

    I dint know a transition from saris and salwar kameez to chudidars would be so exciting for her 😀

    Simple pleasures 🙂

    oh I remember Amma going thru this phase years ago. simple pleasure indeed 🙂

    Like

  12. #13 by smartassbride on April 13, 2010 - 5:15 am

    wow, I say! i’ve always been a sucker for people with cheerful attitude.

    you top my list today. just reading the things that you listed made me smile a lot 🙂

    and you made me smile with this comment..thank you!

    Like

  13. #14 by justaroundme on April 13, 2010 - 8:27 am

    Today,my morning tea is simply perfect – no bitter taste and not very sugary…
    The weather – just after the rain – cloudy and the grass looks very fresh and clean…

    and my (advance/belated) birthday wishes to you…and let the butterflies keep fluttering!..

    perfect 🙂

    thanks for the wishes, but the bday is no where near 😀 I just noticed the expiry date on the carton matching my bdday and I smiled :D..

    Like

  14. #15 by BlueMist on April 13, 2010 - 11:37 am

    Happiness is
    – a friend writing in to ask if all is well.
    – writing and reading such a sweet post.
    – seeing the other half beaming with pride for making awesome rasogullas
    – smell of brand new book
    – eating freshly made dhokalas
    – seeing a blossomed tree and thought of capturing it

    so on and so forth…. and you have a nice roomey indeed. Reminded me of mine. 🙂

    i love the smell of new books too 😀 and there are so many pretty light pink flowers blooming outside and just a peek out the window makes me smile 🙂

    and yes, I have a v nice roomie 😀

    Like

  15. #16 by Richa on April 13, 2010 - 11:40 am

    …when you read a beautiful post by an awesome blogger.

    Great one! 🙂

    aww, you guys are too nice to me 😀 thank you, Richa! today’s happiness is all these wonderful comments. 🙂

    Like

  16. #17 by rayshma on April 13, 2010 - 11:48 am

    happiness to me – today – is getting that call from one of my closest friends this morng.. to tell me that she’s visiting me in 10 days!
    i’m like a bunny on dope right now! 😀

    loved this post!
    stay happy! 🙂

    awesome 😀 enjoy!

    Like

  17. #18 by viswajithkn on April 13, 2010 - 12:53 pm

    Happiness is when you read an amazing post in the morning and laugh after reading it…

    this is that post you are talking about, I hope. Well, even if it isn’t, I will float on cloud nine assuming that it is 😀

    All these comments totally filling my busy day with smiles today. I’m loving it! Thank you 🙂

    Like

    • #19 by viswajithkn on April 13, 2010 - 1:01 pm

      No…i was talking abt staring at a post/mail that was sent to me by my colleagues and how it raised my blood pressure early morning!

      oh ok 😀 alright, enough floating, I’m back on ground now 😛

      Like

      • #20 by viswajithkn on April 13, 2010 - 1:26 pm

        i was being sarcastic…

        😀 see, that’s how stupid I am..sometimes (well, ok most of the times :P) I don’t get sarcasm 😆 .. 😛

        Like

      • #21 by viswajithkn on April 13, 2010 - 1:29 pm

        and I meant abt u r post only…

        😆 crystal clear now 😆 thank you 😀

        Like

      • #22 by viswajithkn on April 13, 2010 - 1:37 pm

        cha…you say u r stupid…but i was floored by u r intelligence…:P

        😀 what I say is right, believe me 😀

        Like

    • #23 by viswajithkn on April 13, 2010 - 3:54 pm

      individuals opinions change…nyways i think i have spammed u r comments section enuf today!

      😀

      Like

  18. #24 by Nids on April 13, 2010 - 5:15 pm

    I can only say I am smiling..You infected me with your smiles and happiness 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  19. #25 by Reema on April 14, 2010 - 1:23 am

    Today happiness for me the fact that I have a holiday! 😀 Holiday mid week is awesome!

    awesome! Enjoy!

    Like

  20. #26 by Varsh on April 14, 2010 - 1:42 am

    Ohhh…such simple instances but which definitely put a smile on your face 🙂

    My happiness is when I get my morning cup of tea, readymade, with love from A! 🙂
    When A Junior runs up to me and hugs me when he’s come back home with A from somewhere 🙂
    Seeing comments on my blog 🙂
    When others try and give me confidence when I’m in doubt and tell me how good I am 🙂

    and many many more…know what T…you made me smile even more now! 🙂

    Hugs!

    🙂 nice! smiles are always good 😀

    Like

  21. #27 by blommer22 on April 14, 2010 - 2:47 am

    i define my happiness today as if i can see a simple “hello” from someone on the other side of the world to me. 😉

    🙂

    Like

  22. #28 by Psych Babbler on April 14, 2010 - 4:41 am

    Aww nice! Brought a smile to my face while reading it. And can we trade flatmates??? 😛 Happiness to me at the moment is having that smile whilst reading this… 😀

    no trading flatmates 😀 I’m v happy with mine…I won’t give her up so easily 😛 yes, I’m selfish that way.. 😀

    aww, thanks so much, Psych. Glad I could put a smile on your face 🙂

    Like

    • #29 by Psych Babbler on April 14, 2010 - 4:42 am

      Oh…and thinking that it’s hump-day. Two more days of work and the weekend! 🙂

      yay 😀

      Like

  23. #30 by chinkurli on April 14, 2010 - 10:00 am

    Came here through Celestialrays. For me, the ultimate happy-thing would be a walk on the beach on a rainy evening 🙂

    that’s nice 🙂

    Welcome!

    Like

  24. #31 by NutyBubbles on April 14, 2010 - 10:01 am

    Awahh … this was awesome!!! reading the post surely got a smile on my face :))

    😀 Thank you, and welcome!

    Like

  25. #32 by Mumbai Diva on April 14, 2010 - 1:32 pm

    going to the gurdwara very late to see dimmed lights and no sign of anyone and then hearing faint strains of someone praying and going up two floors to find a priest doing paath( prayers). being able to do darshan.that was happiness today

    nice 🙂

    Like

  26. #33 by Sonia on April 14, 2010 - 3:58 pm

    Aww what a nice happy post!! Happiness was reading your post on happiness 🙂 I just realised all my sentences on “Happiness is…” end on future events; gotta snap out of it and live in the present!

    😀 Thank you, Sonia 🙂 I’m sure there are plenty of things happening right now that’s making you happy…you are just not realizing it 😀

    Like

    • #34 by Sonia on April 14, 2010 - 3:58 pm

      Btw I missed you, no posts for so long 😦

      what do you mean so long? I post at least 3 times a week… is that not frequent enough? 😀

      Like

      • #35 by Sonia on April 14, 2010 - 5:04 pm

        Arey I am such a major buddhu!!! I had your link bookmarked and it was on March month and I used to see everyday and think you havent posted. Now I clicked on April and saw all your April posts!! Sorreee, forgive this idiot 🙂

        aahh, ok…no problem Sonia 🙂 Have fun (yeah as if reading my posts are fun 😛 ) reading the archive for April 😀

        Like

  27. #36 by binpin on April 14, 2010 - 5:09 pm

    And Im back to commenting! I was just reading some chat conversations that I had with hubby (my then boyfriend) about 4 years back..Bought a smile to my face even though the hubby had just done something barely five minutes ago to annoy me!

    it’s so much fun no, digging through old emails and chat conversations…i do it often too :D..

    welcome back!

    Like

  28. #37 by Swaram on April 15, 2010 - 3:46 am

    An award for u on my blog T 🙂

    thank you, my dear!

    Like

  29. #38 by monikamanchanda on April 15, 2010 - 10:18 am

    lovely lovely post… came here via swaram and happiness is also reading one of these posts 🙂

    aww, thanks..

    welcome, Monika!

    Like

  30. #39 by sands on April 15, 2010 - 12:14 pm

    You write so well 🙂
    Happiness is sure in everyday little things, a hug from my daughter, surprise cup of tea from husband, a phone call from India, warm day in New England….

    🙂 Thank you!…yupe, it’s all in the little things like that 🙂

    Like

  31. #40 by Pixie on April 15, 2010 - 11:47 pm

    Awesome post T!
    Made me smile…

    I love finding stuff in my closet like that!! 😀
    And just last month I found a kurtha which I had bought but had forgotten that I had!! 😀 😀

    And a cup of coffee, breeze in my hair, good music in my ipod and a book – that’s happiness as well… 🙂 🙂

    Your rommie is awesome! 🙂

    😀

    Like

  32. #41 by monikamanchanda on April 16, 2010 - 6:55 am

    Linked ur post in mine today hope u dont mind 🙂

    of course not! let’s spread the happiness 🙂

    Like

  33. #42 by Dew on April 16, 2010 - 12:41 pm

    Wow that ws a good read..reminds us the smal way our life is bestowed wid happines…

    I loved the last one 🙂 “…when you spot your birthday as the expiry date on the drink that’s on your hand. Nothing grand, sure, but it still puts a grin on your face. Instant gratification”

    🙂

    Like

  34. #43 by priyaiyer on April 17, 2010 - 3:30 am

    simple pleasures of life, indeed! felt good reading through this post…

    for me, the high point of the day was – having an off and just idling away with nothing to do… bliss!! trying out a new recipe and loving it… looking forward to a nice evening out…looking forward to catching up on a movie with the better half tonight on dvd 🙂 nothing really grand,but still 🙂

    and yes, i am going to say what all these people have already said before me – you do have an awesome roomie 🙂

    nice! have fun this evening and enjoy the movie 🙂

    Like

  35. #44 by Phatichar on April 20, 2010 - 2:11 am

    If I weren’t lazy, I’d have definitely picked up the tag…but boy oh boy..what a list of ‘if I were’s…nice! 🙂

    😀

    Like

  36. #45 by Zoe on April 20, 2010 - 9:42 am

    Pretty 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  37. #46 by anon on April 21, 2010 - 4:07 pm

    …after preparing yourself to stay away from your beloved for a few days, finding out that beloved’s trip has been canceled 🙂

    🙂 sheer happiness, indeed 🙂

    Like

  38. #47 by Matt on August 20, 2012 - 6:22 pm

    You are happy ! 😀

    Your definition of happiness changed from all this to…..”living a dream.”
    https://memoriesandmirages.wordpress.com/2012/06/21/happiness-is/

    definition hasn’t changed. the list has gotten longer, that’s all 🙂

    Like

  1. Happiness is** « The Song of Life
  2. Tweets that mention Happiness is… « Memories & Mirages -- Topsy.com
  3. Happiness Is… « Monika's World

Leave a Reply

