The day of her return

For years he’s been masking his grief with hopes of seeing her again. All his efforts of negotiating a common ground had gone futile and she had made up her mind that he was a hindrance to her dreams. How she could misinterpret his love for control, he never understood.

She had left without saying goodbye and there hasn’t been a day ever since when he hasn’t wished for her to come back to his embrace.

Everyday he would wake up wishing for the door bell to ring, waiting for that one person who had the power to make him truly happy, hoping that day would be of her return. But years went by without a word from her. Every letter he sent, each phone call he made, all the messages he forwarded through family/friends were unanswered.

His heart broke in the mornings when he didn’t have her smile to wake up to; his heart ached in the afternoons when he saw no mails from her; his heart hurt in the evenings when he came back to an empty home; his heart prayed hard at nights hoping for tomorrow to be the day he got to see her again.

And for almost a decade, his prayers went unanswered, just like all the messages he sent to her. But today was different – today, he woke up feeling cheerful; today, he opened the door to get the newspaper, but found a treasure waiting for him; today, she was here again.

Standing in front of him, looking into his eyes, she couldn’t help but feel sorry.

I’m sorry for whatever I did. I know I have no right coming here like this, but I wanted to tell you that you were right. I caused you a lot of pain and I will do anything to make it up to you, if at all that’s possible. Daddy, please forgive me.

She sobbed, as she apologized for misunderstanding his intentions.

He smiled; he tried to catch the right words to say, but he remained speechless. Although his life has been hell since her departure, he forgave her, like only a parent can do – selfless love that forgives and forgets without any second thoughts.

This moment has crossed my mind million times; I’ve practiced my reaction over and over and yet, here I am looking at you and I don’t know what to do or say. I’m happy that you are back. I don’t care if I was right…I never did. It was more about you choosing a good life path than me being right. I would’ve been gladder if things had worked out for you the way you wanted, it breaks my heart that it didn’t. But you are back and I want to cherish this. Everything else comes later.

And just like that, with random images of the good old days of his time with his daughter playing in his mind, he embraced her. As years of sadness ebbed from his heart, he welcomed joy with open arms.

———————

This is my entry for Three Word Wednesday Prompt CLXXXVIebb, negotiate, random.

,

  1. #1 by Deepa on April 21, 2010 - 3:22 pm

    nice 1 !
    i am gonna write 1 too

    thanks…welcome!

    Like

  2. #2 by ThomG on April 21, 2010 - 3:41 pm

    Very heartfelt.

    thanks!

    Like

  3. #3 by comfortablynam on April 21, 2010 - 4:11 pm

    Oh T. I am glad she is back and everything is all right in his world now. Just so glad.

    😀

    Like

  4. #4 by Psych Babbler on April 21, 2010 - 4:28 pm

    Lovely! I have seen his kind of grief in some parents I have seen…great work T! Love the way in which you keep us guessing about characters for a while and how you manage to tease out emotions… 🙂

    This is one of the worst situation to be in as a parent, I would think. Thanks, Psych.

    Like

  5. #5 by revsjoiedevivre on April 21, 2010 - 4:30 pm

    I told you, that it will pass 😛

    Very good one T! Loved it

    I know 😀 I wrote this to prove that you were right, and wise :D…

    Thanks, Revs 🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by pia on April 21, 2010 - 4:42 pm

    Beautiful writing and wonderful story. I’m not a parent but I’ve reached that age where I can imagine what it must be like……and thank my parents a zillion times for putting up with me. This reminded me of where it could have but didn’t go

    thanks pia…glad you liked it!

    Like

  7. #7 by viswajithkn on April 21, 2010 - 4:43 pm

    O.K. Am confused. I thought you were struggling to put a pen to your thoughts. But here you are with a sleek surprise. Brilliant work. And this also proves the saying “Form is temporary…Class is permanent”. 🙂

    it’s all the encouraging comments I got…I couldn’t help but write after those 🙂 so thanks to you all 🙂

    Thank you, viswa

    Like

  8. #8 by Angel on April 21, 2010 - 5:21 pm

    Lovely piece. It’s nice when things work out for the best.

    Thanks! welcome!

    Like

  9. #9 by chatterbox on April 21, 2010 - 6:22 pm

    Woohoo! T is back 😀
    Back with a bang …that was a very beautiful post 🙂

    Keep ’em coming girl!!

    😀 lol yeah…I wasn’t really gone that long, was i 😀

    Like

  10. #10 by SG on April 21, 2010 - 7:21 pm

    Very nice story. The ending was unexpected. I thoght it was going to be a boy-girl. Surprise ending. It was a father-daughter.,

    🙂 Glad you liked it, SG!

    Like

  11. #11 by Prashanti on April 21, 2010 - 8:03 pm

    Good Job !! Glad you’re back 🙂

    😀

    Like

  12. #12 by Shilpa on April 21, 2010 - 8:19 pm

    so very nice…. am so very glad she came back 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  13. #13 by b on April 21, 2010 - 8:50 pm

    Joy that a returning child can bring…well done.

    b

    thanks…welcome, b 🙂

    Like

  14. #14 by Thomma Lyn on April 21, 2010 - 10:45 pm

    Waaaah! This was lovely. I have tears in my eyes.

    Thank you Thomma Lyn.

    Like

  15. #15 by Bindhu!! on April 21, 2010 - 11:35 pm

    Good one… Reminded me of a story that I read long back in RD. Its about a mom after her death, trying hard to bring the daughter to her father. Not sure of the name of the story or the book…

    interesting…

    thanks, Bindhu!

    Like

  16. #16 by liveonimpulse on April 21, 2010 - 11:51 pm

    Hey Titaxy riveting story loved it

    thanks!

    Like

  17. #17 by maverickshree on April 22, 2010 - 12:26 am

    Vere well composed….you maintained the secret till the end..her Dad’s feelings are touching 🙂

    thanks!

    Like

  18. #18 by Nuttie Natters on April 22, 2010 - 12:46 am

    Sniff Snifff…Awesome T!!! I am so happy for them 😀

    😀 Thanks!

    Like

  19. #19 by Priya on April 22, 2010 - 1:14 am

    Wow.. nice twist .. liked the happy ending 🙂

    thanks Priya!

    Like

  20. #20 by Swaram on April 22, 2010 - 1:22 am

    Aww I am so glad she is bk and u too 🙂

    🙂 Thanks Swaram

    Like

  21. #21 by PNA on April 22, 2010 - 1:41 am

    wow! so peeps FYI when u have a writers block, blog about it and then eureka :):):):) the block vanishes and u write like crazy all over again…

    I’m glad…:)

    exactly…it worked for me 😀

    Like

  22. #22 by celestialrays on April 22, 2010 - 4:23 am

    There you are 🙂
    Glad to have you back 😉

    No wordless wednesday?

    no divz…didn’t have any pics for WW.. 🙂 thank you!

    Like

  23. #23 by geeta on April 22, 2010 - 5:13 am

    Wonderful story…loved reading it…
    Great comeback after the block you had been facing…

    🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  24. #24 by mahmud faisal on April 22, 2010 - 6:07 am

    Very nice….
    It touched me! 🙂

    glad it did.. 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  25. #25 by BlueMist on April 22, 2010 - 7:39 am

    Glad that after last post ; now things are free-flowing. 🙂 Very well done as usual

    thank you Misty!

    Like

  26. #26 by booklover on April 22, 2010 - 10:50 am

    Hey !

    Nice blog! Keep up the good work! Also, there is brand new blog solely dedicated to book reviews. Check it out here and let us know what you think!

    will do…thanks and welcome!

    Like

  27. #27 by gautami tripathy on April 22, 2010 - 10:59 am

    Good writing!

    non-negotiable

    thanks!

    Like

  28. #28 by Dee on April 22, 2010 - 11:21 am

    wonderful tale of reunion!

    thanks Dee

    Like

  29. #29 by Another Day In Paradise on April 22, 2010 - 11:30 am

    You kept the suspense up
    very well and the turning
    point was unexpected…silent
    grief and that of a parent is
    certainly something else..
    ..loved the dad’s emotions at
    the end..only a parent can feel
    that.very nice T..

    Thank you very much 🙂

    Like

  30. #30 by Tim Remp on April 22, 2010 - 12:48 pm

    What a ride! As a parent, I was right there the whole way!

    -Tim

    thanks Tim. Welcome!

    Like

  31. #31 by Tumblewords on April 22, 2010 - 5:54 pm

    A lovely reunion! Nice read…

    thank you!

    Like

  32. #32 by Em on April 23, 2010 - 6:21 am

    Wow. I can totally relate to this.

    🙂 Welcome!

    Like

    • #33 by Zoe on April 24, 2010 - 11:18 am

      Thank you 😀

      🙂

      Like

  33. #34 by smartassbride on April 23, 2010 - 6:37 am

    Me likes too! loads.

    thanks!

    Like

  34. #35 by Priya on April 23, 2010 - 6:57 am

    I had commented here yesterday..but dont see it now! Must be in your spam folder…

    no…sorry, I wasn’t able to approve comments yesterday…they are all up now :D…

    Like

  35. #36 by geeta on April 23, 2010 - 7:42 am

    Hey looks like there is a problem in wordpress ..it has eaten up up my comment …it was hungry or what I don’t know …but I left a comment on your beautiful touching story….Anyways…
    Hope WordPress tummy is full now…and will not eat this up…

    Take care
    Cheers

    WP is fine..I’m the one that made the delay in publishing the comments…couldn’t find time yesterday to respond, so didn’t approve them 🙂 sorry 😀

    Like

  36. #37 by Reema on April 23, 2010 - 11:48 am

    beautiful story!

    thank you!

    Like

  37. #38 by NuttyBubbles on April 24, 2010 - 8:06 am

    Awahh that was very touching !!! Only a parent’s love can forgive n forget .. loved it T !

    yupe..true…thanks!

    Like

  38. #39 by Nilu on April 24, 2010 - 8:17 pm

    Oh, I enjoy your stories so much! When you print a book, don’t forget to send me a note! I love short stories!

    Nilu

    Thank you 🙂

    Like

  39. #40 by Achu on April 25, 2010 - 9:21 am

    Beautiful.. Very nicely written… 🙂

    thanks Achu

    Like

  40. #41 by chinkurli on April 26, 2010 - 12:55 am

    tagged you 🙂

    thank you 🙂

    Like

  41. #42 by justaroundme on April 26, 2010 - 11:17 am

    Thought of replying to the previous post…but you are already here ..i loved this reunion…

    🙂

    Like

  42. #43 by disha on April 29, 2010 - 4:45 pm

    It was touching..I hope she will never leave her dad again 🙂

    🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  43. #44 by Matt on August 20, 2012 - 6:09 pm

    Seems like an emotional roller-coaster. I am guessing it has a happy ending. Tagged for later.

    😀 ok

    Like

Leave a Reply

