Letter to a gym classmate

To that super tall person from cardio class,

What were you thinking taking up that center space in the front row right behind the instructor?

It was not a pleasant experience yesterday when I, a rather short person, had to take the space few rows behind you. At first I was blaming myself – I came a little late to class, so, obviously, there wasn’t a lot of spots left for me to choose from. But then, you were in the front row; come on, I don’t think every single person came late to class like I did. So no, it wasn’t entirely my fault, after all.

Almost everyone behind you had trouble seeing / following the instructor because, you see, you who are super tall with long legs and arms effortlessly hid the not-so-tall instructor from all of us. Did you not get that from fact that two people moved in between the session settling for that cramped corner? Or from the all the watch outs that were blurted out every time you took a step sideways / backwards covering too much area? Or when the person that was right behind you gave up and left halfway through the class?

Don’t tell me you didn’t notice all that. I hope you did, I hope you remember it and I hope you be more considerate moving forward. Optimistic about a better next time, I smiled at you even when some others readily ignored you after class.

Let this be a one time bad episode. Be a bit more thoughtful in the future, please.

See you in class next week.

Hopeful,
T.

  1. #1 by comfortablynam on June 2, 2010 - 3:25 pm

    As usual you are being too nice to this person T.

    Not that I can say I have gone through what you have, because the gym I go to has a platform where the instructor is at..so everyone can see her/him.

    But knowing what I know about your gym..that would definitely make more sense.

    No we don’t have such a set up…it’s the same floor for both instructor and us. 😦

    Like

  2. #2 by Sonia on June 2, 2010 - 3:40 pm

    Maybe he forgot his glasses and had to be right up there in the instructor’s face to follow along hehee…You are awesome, I could never do a class, I have two left feet 😦

    maybe 🙂 if that’s the case, hopefully he will not forget 😀

    There are many people with two left feet, Sonia. Go to a class and give it a try…not everyone is too good at it, so you definitely won’t feel out of place.

    Like

  3. #3 by revsjoiedevivre on June 2, 2010 - 4:03 pm

    Sigh! This is depressing. All of you going to the gym and all?! Waahhh

    *goes away looking down at her lards of fat*

    I go to gym once in a blue moon, Revs…want to be regular, but somehow I haven’t been so far 😦

    Like

  4. #4 by celestialrays on June 2, 2010 - 4:23 pm

    booooo tall guy!
    T, do you ever get angry honey? 😀

    oh yes. 😀 all the time 😀 I got frustrated even yesterday when this happened, but since I was not brave enough to confront the person, I gave up my useless frustration and calmed down 😛

    Like

  5. #5 by ajay on June 2, 2010 - 4:32 pm

    Haha. This was funny 🙂 But seriously you should make your displeasure known to him. May be you should give him your blog url. Then he’ll understand and be careful not to inconvenience others.

    If the episode repeats (let’s hope it doesn’t), then I might let him know…since this was the first time, the path of forgiveness it is 🙂

    Like

    • #6 by piyu on June 3, 2010 - 1:21 am

      That was a good way to let your rant out, give him one more chance, if he doesn’t get it, give him a piece of you mind 🙂

      😀 😀 will do

      Like

  6. #7 by chatterbox on June 2, 2010 - 5:25 pm

    Wow! first things first, good to see a post from you after a break and regular gym sessions sound so cool 😀 😀
    So the girls in US (you & Comfy) are getting fitter by the day..now I need to team up with PB to work up too ; ) 😉

    I could totally understand what must have crossed your mind, when people are inconsiderate it hurts and most of all annoys us at a time when we want to relax and concentrate.

    Let’s hope for the best and make sure to be there 5 minutes early next time 😉

    Cheers!!

    I don’t go to gym regularly, I try to though 😀

    And yes, I will go early next time around…just to make sure I get a better spot 😀

    Like

  7. #8 by Richa on June 2, 2010 - 6:45 pm

    It happens to me so many times that I have started speaking out. Not that I am too short or anything but I work in a male dominant field and hence almost everyone around me is taller than me. Even my hobby: photography, have too many males.

    I went to this fashion show few days ago, for photographing models on ramp (I had a press pass) and nearly all the photographers there were tall (all man). So I simply asked them politely if its okay for me to stand in front as quiet a few of them would be able to take the picture from above my head (yep thats how tall they were). Imagine being behind all the tall people when you have to take picture!! Thankfully they all cooperated (though they weren’t very happy about it) and all of us could take pictures..

    Moral being, at times you do need to tell people. Tall people usually don’t realize how much problem they are causing to short people like us, they have never been in our shoes. Its better to tell them politely instead of relying on their instincts..

    Hmm…will do, Richa. Next time, I will definitely let him know politely that I’m having trouble. Thanks 🙂

    Like

  8. #9 by Prashanti on June 2, 2010 - 9:45 pm

    I hear you, T. I get soo frustrated when people do that that I just leave the class. Fortunately in our gym, the instructor is on a elevated dias and so that helps some.

    Our gym doesn’t have that setup. Sigh. Next time if this happens, I will let the guy know…

    Like

  9. #10 by Shilpa on June 2, 2010 - 11:04 pm

    I too had similar experiences in college where guys would crowd the instructor and we girls would have to move them away to see 😦

    happens everywhere, huh :)…at least you let the guys know, that’s good 🙂

    Like

  10. #11 by Pixie on June 2, 2010 - 11:21 pm

    You should try telling him honey… that might help!

    Hope things get better and this is just a one-off thing!

    yupe…next time around, will definitely let him know 🙂

    Like

  11. #12 by Priya on June 3, 2010 - 12:24 am

    Hmm.. its nice to be nice… but do make him realize his nuisance value if he dares do the same mistake again!!
    Good luck for the next session 🙂

    yupe..will do 🙂

    Like

  12. #13 by Swaram on June 3, 2010 - 12:29 am

    Aww u r a warm person T. I wud hv fought with that person and then written a post abt that fight, nt this letter 😛

    It’s more about me being a cowardly person than a warm person, Swaram.. 😀 maybe you should come here and fight for me if it happens again 😀

    Like

  13. #14 by Varsh on June 3, 2010 - 2:38 am

    I wonder why people chose to leave the class they paid for halfway instead of asking the guy to move and make room for others to take the class too. It reminded me of the David and Goliath story 😛
    Try telling him and in case he repeats even after the message is conveyed all you Davids can gang up on him! God save the fellow then 😀 😀

    😆 next time I will tell him, yes 🙂

    Like

  14. #15 by Deepa on June 3, 2010 - 6:38 am

    🙂

    yeah … next time, dont let it go by … after all, you are at a disadvantage … u miss out on the steps, and you are getting angry …. double disadvantage

    🙂 will speak up next time for sure 🙂

    Like

  15. #16 by shilpadesh on June 3, 2010 - 1:34 pm

    I know you meant for it to be serious, but “Or from the all the watch outs that were blurted out every time you took a step sideways / backwards covering too much area?” this one had me laughing!

    😆

    Like

  16. #17 by Psych Babbler on June 3, 2010 - 5:51 pm

    It’s annoying how some people live in their own world with no understanding of how what they are doing impacts negatively on others. Narcissists is what I call them. Maybe if the person does it next time, everyone should stick together and let them know about how much of a problem it is! Including the instructor. Sheesh!

    By the way, it was so cool to see 2 posts by you! 🙂 Hopefully, you are back!

    Forgave the guy once…now if this happens next time, I will definitely let him know.

    Like

  17. #18 by smartassbride on June 4, 2010 - 3:10 am

    “I smiled at you even when some others readily ignored you after class.”

    you could take moral science classes for many people(including me). I mean, if I were to do something like that, I’d do it and then expect martyrdom for a sash and a halo. you doing it so calmly! wow, i say.

    😆 😆

    Like

  18. #19 by liveonimpulse on June 7, 2010 - 12:39 am

    hey T no need to be so polite to this person…just tell the person to make way next time over

    yupe, will do 🙂

    Like

  19. #20 by cw on June 8, 2010 - 5:56 pm

    im totally like you in lacking the courage to speak up… but i really would have not smiled at that person.. now everytime i visualise u, i will with a halo

    😆 I smile at everyone 😀

    Like

  20. #21 by Matt on August 20, 2012 - 8:47 pm

    I’m pretty sure he was so caught up in the whole charisma of getting fit, he was unaware of his hulk effect on others.

    Your sweet smile had such effect on him ,he got mesmerized, went home, curled up on his be, never went back to the gym again and got fat. All because of you! 😛

    yeah ok..why are you making me a villain, matt? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

