A sweet surprise

You called me today, in the middle of this extra busy day at work. And, shockingly, I answered the phone. I broke my rule of not responding to any calls from unknown numbers and picked up the phone…because something in me pushed me to do it. And I am so glad it did.

It’s so unlike you to call me during the middle of the day (night, for you), given that you strictly follow the no-spending-time-over-personal-calls-while-at-work policy and such. So, for a second there, I got nervous and hoped everything was all right. “It is, dear” you assured me and went on to ask about my day, my health, my work and what not. Our conversation flowed from my life to yours, and you told me story after story about whatever’s been happening there.

We laughed. We argued. We irritated each other a bit. We reconciled. All in that one wonderful call.

But the best was yet to come.

Right when it was time for us to say goodbye, you told me the reason you had called. You said that you missed me…missed those regular phone calls…missed that frequent I-know-best lecture series…missed the smiling sessions and even those silent tears of mine. It was at that moment that I realized how much I missed it all too.

And, just like that, – tears… silent, but happy ones…came rushing down; the day that was so far weighing down on me, became easy to handle; and everything / everyone around me seemed merry. All this because you – the person who never expresses feelings so openly – did so today, after more than two decades of knowing each other.

A sweet surprise, it sure was. Needless to say, I’ve been smiling all day long.

But then, you also have to know that when a man of few words spends so much time on phone, saying things that he usually keeps to himself, it surprises some and shocks others. While I colored this transformation of yours with a positive stroke, the sister of mine felt very uneasy with the whole episode. She sent me this message right after your call with her –

Dude, I just got this call from Appa. He said that he misses me and this and that. It was strange; I was shocked…thought something was really wrong. So I called Amma, just to make sure everything was all right. She said that it’s all ok and that they are fine. Thank goodness. I was really worried, but I’m ok now. Did he call you?

So, how about introducing her to this whole transformation in a slower pace? It might give her a heart attack otherwise; we don’t want that now, do we?

, ,

  1. #1 by blommer22 on June 16, 2010 - 10:21 pm

    yes a real sweet surprise. simple thing,like talking, might not so simple after all.:)

    yupe, so true 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by SG on June 16, 2010 - 10:35 pm

    Very nice post. Since I am a little bit familiar with your posts now, I thought it could be your anna or thambi….but I missed….it is your appa. Please give my regards to your appa.

    I wish I had a bro, but I don’t :D…will give your regards, SG, thanks 🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Nu on June 16, 2010 - 11:11 pm

    Cute surprise !!

    But you’re right when a person who is not so expressive or spend time on talking suddenly does the opposite of his/her nature…it certainly is a shock…but this one certainly is a cute shock 🙂

    😀 yupe

    Like

  4. #4 by chatterbox on June 16, 2010 - 11:13 pm

    That’s a very sweet post T 🙂
    I am so glad you had a day full of beautiful moments and surprises 😀
    I am not sure who you’d been referring to in your words, but all I can do is send loads of good wishes for happy moments, hugs, giggles and sweet surprises your way 😛

    Cheers!!

    Oh I’m sorry it wasn’t too clear…I was talking about my father, CB 🙂 Thank you for all the wishes and hugs!

    Like

  5. #5 by Shilpa on June 16, 2010 - 11:18 pm

    😀 😀

    😀

    Like

  6. #6 by piyu on June 17, 2010 - 12:18 am

    Aww *hugs*.. It must have felt so awesome 🙂

    It did 🙂 Hugs to you!

    Like

  7. #7 by liveonimpulse on June 17, 2010 - 1:24 am

    extremely touching post Titaxy !! And very apt since Father’s Day is just around the corner…

    oh is it? I didn’t know 😀 thanks! 🙂

    Like

  8. #8 by chroniclesofdee on June 17, 2010 - 1:29 am

    Hhaha.. so typical of father’s!

    My father’s longest call with me has been for 22 seconds. But last month, he actually took time to log on to google talk through the internet (which he hates!) and chat with me about the DH, my work, my in-laws.

    Poor guy, could not follow my short-hand’ish kind of chatting language. It actually makes me miss writing in proper English now. 🙂

    Aww, that’s so sweet of him 🙂

    Like

  9. #9 by smartassbride on June 17, 2010 - 1:31 am

    im a bit like your sis when a call like that comes from my mom.

    i turn very suspicious :D, wonder if it’s a trap to get me to cook/ work less / make babies 😛

    my bro calms me later on 😀

    😀 I guess I didn’t react that way because I had just talked to my mom and I knew everything was fine 😀

    Like

  10. #10 by Rani on June 17, 2010 - 1:46 am

    Love love love this post of yours babe!!

    🙂

    thank you dear 🙂

    Like

  11. #11 by Prashanti on June 17, 2010 - 1:46 am

    Your dad is soo sweet T. God bless him !!!!!

    😆 don’t be fooled by one post 😀 Thanks!

    Like

  12. #12 by Dido on June 17, 2010 - 1:54 am

    Dad’s are sweethearts reallyy…!!! they r the same they never express their feelingss but deep inside theyy love us the mosttt 🙂

    lovely post T

    yupe…thanks 🙂

    Like

  13. #13 by Meira on June 17, 2010 - 2:08 am

    hehe 😀
    He’d be amused by the different reactions, eh?

    I am sure he would be, if we told him 😛

    Like

  14. #14 by Swaram on June 17, 2010 - 2:41 am

    Total awwwww post. Hw I miss my dad in Hyd boohooo 😦 😦

    🙂 hugs!

    Like

  15. #15 by revsjoiedevivre on June 17, 2010 - 2:51 am

    🙂

    🙂

    Like

  16. #16 by celestialrays on June 17, 2010 - 3:54 am

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
    🙂 🙂 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  17. #17 by BlueMist on June 17, 2010 - 4:25 am

    OMG this is so awesome ! Your sis thinks like me 😆 sigh !

    😆 thanks!

    Like

  18. #18 by sands on June 17, 2010 - 9:14 am

    How beautiful! I loved the way you have given that surprise phone call an expression! And dude, i too sometimes worry and get all doubtful when an uncommunicative person starts talking about things he never did! Your post reminded me of a phone call I got from my elder brother….I kept on pestering mom for weeks that something is wrong with him and you guys are not telling me!!!

    I did get suspicious, but he assured me it was all fine, so I left it at that 🙂

    😆 you pestered mom for weeks, eh? 😆

    Like

  19. #19 by viswajithkn on June 17, 2010 - 9:38 am

    wow…good one…u know u have a very good narrating style..:P

    🙂 Thank you, viswa!

    Like

  20. #20 by Sonia on June 17, 2010 - 9:41 am

    Haha – I would be like your sister, glad that he called but thinking at the back of my mind, whatever happened – is he sick or something hehe..But I like reconciliations and everyone to be open with each other. Am happy for you Titaxy! Aal izz well 🙂

    😀 Thanks, Sonia!

    Like

  21. #21 by Doli on June 17, 2010 - 10:37 am

    aaw how sweet! I know that feeling when my mom calls up randomly.. I always feel as if something is wrong and she has to convince me that she called me just like that to talk 🙂

    looks like there are many like my sister 😀

    Like

  22. #22 by Bhavya Anil on June 17, 2010 - 10:37 am

    Hey,
    I have been lurking around your blog for sometime…i cudn’t stop myself commenting on this beautiful post……

    Words seems to flow so effortlessly ….Totally loved this post….

    Cheers
    BA

    Hello there, welcome 🙂 Thank you so much for the kind words. Do leave a link, if you happen to have a blog…would love to read. 🙂

    Like

  23. #23 by Dew on June 17, 2010 - 11:33 am

    awww so sweet.. 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  24. #24 by PNA on June 17, 2010 - 11:47 am

    🙂 🙂
    Dads say the sweetest things when they break their official silence on emotion 🙂

    Oh yeah 😀

    Like

  25. #25 by ajay on June 17, 2010 - 3:11 pm

    Touching story. So well narrated. Loved reading this 🙂

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  26. #26 by Psych Babbler on June 17, 2010 - 7:53 pm

    I had a feeling the person was your dad! Indian dads don’t ever express themselves, do they? And when they do, my reaction is like your sister’s! 😛 It was a very sweet and touching post… 🙂 Your parents obviously miss you…

    😀 Thanks, PB 🙂

    Like

  27. #27 by Lavanya on June 17, 2010 - 11:18 pm

    Hi Titaxy 🙂 such a great blog 🙂 will try to be a regular here .. should have found you sooner 😦 and thanks for dropping by Jillu’s blog 🙂

    Welcome! and thank you! 🙂

    Like

  28. #28 by Priya on June 18, 2010 - 3:39 am

    Oh..what a lovely post 🙂 feel happy for you Titaxy!

    🙂 thanks!

    Like

  29. #29 by Kavya on June 18, 2010 - 3:56 am

    Awesome post.. just loved it

    😀 Thanks!

    Like

  30. #30 by ambulisamma on June 18, 2010 - 7:16 am

    What a twist? Awww post!

    🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  31. #31 by Harini on June 18, 2010 - 12:48 pm

    aww… such a sweet post :).

    thanks Harini….welcome! 🙂

    Like

  32. #32 by Nazish Rahman on June 19, 2010 - 5:27 pm

    lovely…glad u share a nice relationship 🙂
    i like the way u cherish all the moments of life…still lot to learn from u…:)!!

    tc

    🙂 thanks Nazish

    Like

  33. #33 by Krags R on June 20, 2010 - 1:11 am

    Planning to visit ur parents anytime soon ? Some kind of a family outing , similar to the ones you would ve had in ur younger ages … might turn out to be an excellent experience. Some calm and beautiful place like the ones in ur snaps … and some pictures to cherish for future.
    Did i sell u the idea ? If so , have a nice time out there with ur family 🙂 …

    p.s. : Btw, All these do not guarantee that u would not be asked to get married asap 😛

    not making any such plans as of now 🙂

    Like

  34. #34 by Another Day In Paradise on June 21, 2010 - 10:37 am

    brilliant timing too..happy father’s day to ur appa..such a shweeeet post…wishing you many many such sweet surprises..

    thanks 😀

    Like

  35. #35 by Rajlakshmi on June 21, 2010 - 1:11 pm

    that is such a sweettt post… though I guessed it was about family… it just made it all the more beautiful…
    lovely write 🙂

    🙂 thanks!

    Like

  36. #36 by Winnie the Poohi on June 21, 2010 - 4:37 pm

    Aww this brought tears to my eyes. I recently lost my dad and this was just so like him.. may be all dads are like that no? dont spend much time/money on personal calls kinds?

    Anyhow.. Sometimes I wished he was more expressive kinds. I wish I told him how much I loved him.

    This really made my day.. in a way.. Weird huh? it made my heart glad n sad at the same time!

    hugs!

    Like

  37. #37 by Zephyr on June 21, 2010 - 7:59 pm

    Loved the post, Titaxy. My father used to be the same. It was very rarely that he spoke at length on anything other than mundane stuff. No emotions, please! But they do love us so deeply, don’t they? Miss him so much. he left us over 12 years ago.:(

    You have a lovely blog here. I will come more often! 🙂

    Welcome 🙂

    Like

  38. #38 by aniruddha pathak on June 23, 2010 - 7:38 am

    aww its super sweet 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  39. #39 by Priya on June 24, 2010 - 1:26 am

    No Wordless Wednesday post? Boo hoo 😦

    😦 haven’t been taking many pics lately..so 😦

    Like

  40. #40 by Disha on June 24, 2010 - 3:59 pm

    So sweet post. Dads are dads 🙂 ..Give my regards to him.

    🙂 thanks

    Like

  41. #41 by Ramlal on June 28, 2010 - 10:27 am

    nu post…nu post…nu post…

    I assume nu=new? forgive my ignorance, if not :)…

    new post, hopefully soon… 🙂

    Like

  42. #42 by Kaushik on June 28, 2010 - 9:30 pm

    Wow! Brilliantly written.
    It takes immense skill to write so beautifully!

    Kaushik!

    🙂 Thanks. Welcome!

    Like

  43. #43 by Smitha on June 29, 2010 - 11:45 am

    That was such a heart-warming post! Made me miss my dad so much! Must have felt so wonderful!

    It did 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  44. #44 by chotusworld on July 1, 2010 - 6:54 am

    My dad did this to me a couple of times and I was shocked to say the very least.. but the happy feeling kept me going for days on end..

    🙂 it definitely feels good 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

