A different kind of happiness

After a long busy day at work, I pack up my bag and rush to get somewhere on time. Right when I get off the train and start walking hurriedly, I hear a voice asking me how I like the book I’m reading. I turn to see the guy who was standing next to me in the train, slow my pace and tell him that it’s very interesting, to say the least. The conversation moves from that book to another book by the same author that he has already read. We spend the next few minutes outside the station discussing the author’s other works; finally parting ways when I realize I’m running really late.

This was one of the high points of my day. It comes very hard to me to talk to a stranger – I smile at people when I make eye contact, I say the usual Hi, how are you when I see someone on a regular basis, but that’s where lies my limit. Any other conversation usually doesn’t get too far with me because, most of the times, I don’t know what to say next and that leads to awkward pauses.

I do realize that it’s an area that I need to work on, and I, sometimes, consciously make an effort to improve it. It’ll take a lot of time, I know and I’m in no hurry. Just that what happened today didn’t require that conscious effort on my part. The words came to me for those few minutes and the nervous feeling that I get every time I talk to a stranger was missing. And that felt good.

A different kind of happiness filled my heart for a few minutes after the conversation ended…probably the kind that dawns from the realization that I might actually be getting over my anxiety of chatting with strangers, slowly but steadily.

P.S: Did I mention he was cute?

  1. #1 by Dido on July 2, 2010 - 12:24 am

    cute strangerssss reminds me of sumthing 😛 hehe

    what? pls tell… 🙂

    Like

    • #2 by Dido on July 4, 2010 - 12:35 am

      shhh secret… akele me 😛

      😀 ok…email me? 😛

      Like

  2. #3 by piyu on July 2, 2010 - 12:54 am

    🙂 🙂

    Small stuff that lightens up our day!

    I am also very awkward talking to strangers and it is rare when I actually connect.

    Also girl, you’ve been tagged.

    yes it does 🙂

    Thanks for tagging, piyu, will do it someday 😀

    Like

  3. #4 by Krags on July 2, 2010 - 1:01 am

    He was cute and he came n spoke to you about books ( which you love ) ? as soon as you write about ur sis’s wishes ? 😀 he might ve read your blog before tracing you 😛 …

    😆 never thought about that

    Like

  4. #5 by priyaiyer on July 2, 2010 - 1:09 am

    you have been tagged!!

    thanks priya, will check it out 🙂

    Like

  5. #6 by Swaram on July 2, 2010 - 2:47 am

    Awww he ws cute and you get to talk abt books with him .. high point for sure 😉 😉

    😀

    Like

  6. #7 by DI on July 2, 2010 - 2:53 am

    I do not strike up conversations with strangers either, but then we are taught to be that way I guess. I do not smile or greet people I don’t know too. But this changed when i stepped out of the country to work. I find it a very regular thing when people who I do not know at all would pause, smile, and wish you a good day. Even that, made me feel very happy, good in a way. So then, I made it a point to do the same. But when you do it here, in India, it is somehow looked at like something weird. 🙂 Anyhoo, point is, the kind of happiness you felt is totally understandable! And no, you didn’t mention he was cute, just explains further 😉

    🙂 glad to know there are others on the same boat, DI…

    Like

  7. #8 by revsjoiedevivre on July 2, 2010 - 2:54 am

    Looks like *I* am a good influence on you T 😉 You are learning 😛

    🙂

    Like

  8. #9 by aniruddha pathak on July 2, 2010 - 5:13 am

    I can identify with you..you atleast say “hi how are you” I can only smile 😀

    🙂 smile is a good way to start 🙂

    Like

  9. #10 by BlueMist on July 2, 2010 - 7:59 am

    All one needs is an interesting P.S to keep the conversation flowing 😛 😆

    😆

    Like

  10. #11 by SG on July 2, 2010 - 8:51 am

    Nice one. Having a small talk with strangers is OK. But please be careful. “How you like the book you are reading” is usually one of those pick up lines (I promise I did not use this line before).

    🙂 Thanks, SG. I was told by another person about this too, as soon as I shared the story. But the guy did seem genuinely just interested in the author’s work…more like he was promoting the author’s books, he kept going on and on how better the other book is 🙂

    Like

  11. #12 by viswajithkn on July 2, 2010 - 10:02 am

    hi fi T. u rock… 🙂

    thank you…hi fi 😀

    Like

    • #13 by viswajithkn on July 2, 2010 - 5:29 pm

      btw what plans for the weekend? visiting u r other mom again eh? 😛

      nope…not meeting any mom :D…I’ll be spending the weekend in Maine…what about you?

      Like

      • #14 by viswajithkn on July 2, 2010 - 6:42 pm

        soccer tomorrow and may be some hiking the remaining two days!

        awesome…have a great weekend.

        Like

  12. #15 by Zephyr on July 2, 2010 - 10:51 am

    Talking to strangers is actually quite easy since it is relaxing and sort of refreshing too; especially if you don’t ask each other any personal detail and are not sure you will meet the other person. You have made a start! keep at it, it gets better and better..:)

    🙂 Thanks, Zephyr.

    Like

  13. #16 by comfortablynam on July 2, 2010 - 12:57 pm

    Yay..go T.. You just need to find some common ground to talk about. That is why talking about the book came easy 🙂

    Did you think for a minute that the cute guy stopped to talk to you because he found you cute?? 😛 😛

    No I did not think of that 😀 the guy was interested in the book / author, that’s all it was about 😛

    I don’t know if it’s the common ground thing though Comfy…I’ve noticed I can’t have a decent conversation even if it was about the weather, movies, or anything else of the sort. That’s why I was surprised with what happened yesterday 🙂

    Like

  14. #17 by Priya on July 2, 2010 - 11:59 pm

    Hey.. I’m just like you when it comes to conversing with strangers. And it does surprise me when I’m able to have a decent conversation at times.
    Good that you are able to overcome your hesitation slowly 🙂 And if the stranger is cute..phir toh kya kehna!!

    good to know I’m not alone… 🙂

    Like

  15. #18 by Nilu on July 3, 2010 - 3:58 am

    I was like you before…but coming to American changed all that. I’ve adopted their way of speaking their mind to complete strangers and I follow that even in India…always with a pleasant outcome!

    that’s nice… 🙂

    Like

  16. #19 by Shilpa on July 3, 2010 - 7:02 am

    😀 😀

    😀

    Like

  17. #20 by Psych Babbler on July 4, 2010 - 4:07 am

    Good on ya! One way of facing anxiety is to expose yourself to it and you are showing yourself how capable you are! I totally understand how scary it is because I too find it really difficult to make conversation with someone new. It’s almost like I wish I had a script! 😛 Hehe…and cute guy is always a bonus! 😀

    yupe, I guess exposing myself more to it is how I can get over it, but I don’t think I will be doing a lot of it anytime soon 😛

    Like

  18. #21 by Reema on July 4, 2010 - 2:29 pm

    see the most important got mentioned in post script??? very bad!! 😀

    😀

    Like

  19. #22 by Pixie on July 4, 2010 - 11:12 pm

    niice T!! 😀

    Books, cute guys and a conversation with the said cute guy about the book!!! 😀

    Happy Long weekend!

    😀 thanks

    Like

  20. #23 by maverickshree on July 6, 2010 - 2:01 am

    hmmmmm..so he was cute and that’s why it was not difficult for you to talk to him effortlessly 😉

    🙂

    Like

  21. #24 by celestialrays on July 6, 2010 - 10:46 am

    You didn’t know the latest law of physics? Two cutes attract! 😀

    😀

    Like

  22. #25 by Sonia on July 6, 2010 - 1:28 pm

    Aww – I think you are going to bump into him again and talk about ahemmm books maybe hehee…Imagine if he has a blog and wrote the same thing!! I met a cute girl and overcame my anxiety of talking to cute girls and I really liked her etc….sigh….my own bollywood story in the making – I am living vicariously thru u now, get out there and talk to more cute guys!

    things like that happen only in movies 😀

    Like

  23. #26 by Pallavi on July 7, 2010 - 2:36 pm

    Is this my first visit here??? feels like I’ve been here before.. but.. hmm.. anyway.. loved the post(s). ‘Cute’ stranger certainly seems to have left a mark on u 😉 And like someone has said above, what if you received a pingback from his blog 😉
    Btw, I used to be terribly shy earlier, but after moving so far away from home, I actually enjoy chatting up with strangers.. for a couple of minutes that is. Otherwise I feel quite isolated!!

    Welcome 🙂

    I still feel unbelievably nervous while talking to strangers, but I guess I will slowly get over it someday 🙂

    Like

  24. #27 by Matt on August 20, 2012 - 9:07 pm

    Would you go up to a celebrity and strike up a conversation with him? Like Jim Parsons ….

    nah, too shy for all that 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

