A gesture that you care…

…is all that’s needed to put a smile on my face and make my heart jump with joy.

Coming back home after a long journey to a roommate who welcomes me with a million dollar smile, says “I was just thinking about you” and goes on to fix something quick for dinner tells me how much she cares. And for that I am grateful. Thank you, rommie.

Having K constantly trying to cheer me up when I have the worst of aches and when I’m at my crankiest of moods, even though it might have been just as tough a day for him shows me how much he loves to see me happy. And for that I am grateful. Thank you, K.

Receiving an email from a friend offering to do something nice for me just because I had mentioned that I can’t get around to even thinking about it with the crazy workload tells me how thoughtful she is. And for that I am grateful. Thank you, M.

Missing call after call from a friend, yet seeing him understand why I couldn’t answer his call every single time shows me how much he treasures this relationship (I do too, but I am just lazy or busy whenever you call. Sorry, SS. I will call you back soon, I promise). And for that I am grateful. Thank you, SS.

Letting a colleague know of my plans and weeks later, realizing that he still remembers the details – receiving one message after the other from him about how I can prepare, seeing him make every effort to ask me about the progress – tells me how helpful he is. And for that I am grateful. Thank you, Mr.R.

And I can go on listing many more such incidents; the point being, these seemingly insignificant actions mean the most to me in any bond that I cherish.

Each and every relationship goes through its own ups and downs. These thoughtful actions become very helpful when the relationship starts to go downhill. Because that is when I need to think back on how nice the other person was to me when I needed them the most and it helps put things in the right perspective. Although I might complain about this and that every so often, I do realize how bonds like these have made my life better. These everyday acts of kindness makes the flaws in the relationship irrelevant and builds a bond that only grows stronger by the day.

Life is good. I am a happy soul. Thanks to everyone around.

,

  1. #1 by Nu on July 12, 2010 - 10:49 pm

    1st

    yupe 🙂

    Like

    • #2 by Nu on July 12, 2010 - 10:54 pm

      yeah our lives are made happier by such people around and we should be grateful to them 🙂

      Me likey happy T 🙂 stay the same !

      😀 thanks Nu

      Like

  2. #3 by revsjoiedevivre on July 12, 2010 - 10:53 pm

    You deserve it all 🙂 You deserve to be happy and more. Muah 🙂

    sometimes I wonder if I really deserve so much 🙂 Thanks dear…

    Like

  3. #4 by sharda on July 12, 2010 - 11:41 pm

    Hey, I also think the same way when a relationship goes downhill, I can relate to this post;) We sometimes forget for a moment how precious those relationships really are. Love your blog;)

    Welcome..and thank you so much. Yes, we do tend to forget, at times, all these precious moments when things start to go downhill…which is something I want to avoid 🙂

    Like

  4. #5 by piyu on July 12, 2010 - 11:51 pm

    Such a happy happy post. Just what I needed to cheer me up 🙂

    Such small stuff bring so much joy in our lives!

    yes, they do 🙂 glad it cheered you up, piyu…hugs!

    Like

  5. #6 by vishwa on July 12, 2010 - 11:57 pm

    Thanks Giving day has come early eh? more like thanks saying day…:P

    😀 thanks blogging day…

    Like

  6. #7 by Swaram on July 13, 2010 - 12:18 am

    What a refreshing start to my day 🙂 Thanks T 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  7. #8 by Rani on July 13, 2010 - 12:57 am

    This could me speaking, really!
    SO much goodness around us na?

    Am so happy for u. 🙂

    🙂 🙂 thanks!

    Like

  8. #9 by Priya on July 13, 2010 - 1:02 am

    Very true Titaxy! These little things are what make life worthwhile 🙂
    Good to see that you are happy and in an upbeat mood. Enjoy!!

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  9. #10 by cw on July 13, 2010 - 1:03 am

    So nice of you to acknowledge.. makes a big difference to the people who are actually responsible for the thoughtful acts..

    Except M and K, I don’t think the others read my blog…so they wouldn’t know how I feel about whatever they do for me 😛

    Like

  10. #11 by liveonimpulse on July 13, 2010 - 2:38 am

    Gratitude is the hallmark of a truly happy person .. it is good to see how you acknowledged the role of the people who really matter and make life worthwhile a touching piece..

    🙂 thanks

    Like

  11. #12 by Psych Babbler on July 13, 2010 - 3:51 am

    It’s really lovely when people do something seemingly small to brighten up your day, your week, your life and show you they care… 🙂

    yupe… 🙂

    Like

  12. #13 by DI on July 13, 2010 - 5:12 am

    Touchwood.

    Small gestures say SO much! And yes, in the melee of daily chores, we do forget to thanks them all! Lovely heartfelt post 🙂

    yes, so true…

    Like

  13. #14 by celestialrays on July 13, 2010 - 5:17 am

    Its always the little things that keep us going, isn’t it? 🙂

    yupe..true

    Like

  14. #15 by BlueMist on July 13, 2010 - 5:43 am

    * smiles *
    all I can say is it is because you are precious one. Not every day life gets this blessed to have someone like you. 🙂

    Cranky mood ???

    ** Let me go and have my cup ful strawberry yogurt ice cream ; it will make you crave and your scoop of chocolate ice cream will calm your nerves ! **

    Evil grin ! 😛

    you are too sweet, aren’t you? thanks for all the nice words, Misty….

    Like

  15. #16 by ambulisamma on July 13, 2010 - 7:13 am

    If you are happy and you know it clap your hands.

    *clap clap*

    Like

  16. #17 by rayshma on July 13, 2010 - 8:09 am

    touchwood!
    may the happiness remain… you sure are surrounded by people who care! 🙂

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  17. #18 by krags ... on July 13, 2010 - 8:24 am

    until the intentions remain good , care exists …

    yupe 🙂

    Like

  18. #19 by anisnest on July 13, 2010 - 8:31 am

    wow that’s so nice to hear.. you have sure spread the positive energy.. hope my day will be good today after reading such a sweet post…

    🙂 have a nice day!

    Like

  19. #20 by Vineeta on July 13, 2010 - 9:00 am

    Thats why I say ‘We do not remember days, we remember moments!” My blog title 🙂 Cherish them.. live them 🙂 I just loved this post 🙂

    that is so true…thanks!

    Like

  20. #21 by Reema on July 13, 2010 - 10:56 am

    Always treasure these persons and remember their goodness 🙂

    will do 🙂

    Like

  21. #22 by Another Day In Paradise on July 13, 2010 - 12:00 pm

    aww what a wonderful post…it takes a lovely – happy heart to find pleasure in the small moments..and a heart filled with gratitude..enjoyed this..wishing you many more memories and moments

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  22. #23 by Elegant Chic on July 13, 2010 - 12:04 pm

    Hello!!! 🙂

    Kind words can be short and easy to speak, but their echoes are truly endless.” — Mother Teresa

    How are you?

    hello hello 🙂 i’m doing fine, how have you been? 🙂

    Like

  23. #25 by comfortablynam on July 13, 2010 - 1:14 pm

    There is so much good around us..we just need to open our eyes and see it. But it is the nicest people who not only acknowledge it but thank others for it.

    You deserve all of it and much much more.. 🙂

    not too sure about the deserving part, but I am liking it and enjoying it all 😀

    Like

  24. #26 by Nazish Rahman on July 13, 2010 - 2:00 pm

    Seens u hav done a SWOT analysis of your relationships…thats great!! We live in system called society and whr all these r essential elements that make u fit perfectly in this society.

    hmm 🙂

    Like

  25. #27 by SG on July 13, 2010 - 4:33 pm

    A happy and wonderful post. This post of yours cheers me up. Thanks Titaxy.

    glad it cheered you up, SG. Thanks!

    Like

  26. #28 by Shilpa on July 14, 2010 - 4:05 am

    Its the people around you which makes your life livable and enjoyable…. 😀 😀

    true!

    Like

  27. #29 by Pixie on July 14, 2010 - 5:59 am

    made me feel all warm and gooey! 😀

    you are so right! A small gesture can truly brighten up our days! 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  28. #30 by smartassbride on July 14, 2010 - 7:19 am

    Nice post!

    I totally agree with you on the downhill and remembering the good times to get a perspective. Putting it on a blog is a great way of making sure we remember the acts of kindness!

    yes 🙂

    Like

  29. #31 by blommer22 on July 15, 2010 - 5:55 am

    true !
    there’s nothing better than knowing that someone cares about us, eventho only being showed by a real simple gesture/thing. 🙂

    yupe 🙂

    Like

  30. #32 by Sonia on July 15, 2010 - 12:53 pm

    Very nice! And kudos to you too to appreciate and be grateful for the small things that others do for you..

    🙂 thanks

    Like

  31. #33 by Meira on July 16, 2010 - 3:27 am

    touchwood 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  32. #34 by maverickshree on July 16, 2010 - 5:41 am

    Small things like this make our life worthwhile..Its good to be surrounded with cheerful people 🙂

    yes it is 🙂

    Like

  33. #35 by zephyr on July 17, 2010 - 5:33 am

    Yes, Titaxy. We are all so lucky to have such people around us. but we are luckier to appreciate their help and be grateful, aren’t we? A nice feel-good post1 thanks for sharing 🙂

    🙂 yes, true..

    Like

  34. #36 by Lavanya on July 18, 2010 - 2:04 am

    Oh yes ! it is these small things that matter most, isn’t it ? there are a lot of people around who take things for granted and dont realize how these matter, however small. Relate to your post so much ! Well written and so true!

    thanks…yes, it is the little things that matter most 🙂

    Like

  35. #37 by rama on July 27, 2010 - 9:53 am

    Lovely post. I like the way you write. If we are positive, we will automatically invite positive people into our lives, and positive events would take place.
    Wish you the very best in life, be happy and keep smiling.

    Thank you. Welcome!!!

    Like

  36. #38 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 8:50 am

    Very true.. 😀

    “Everyday acts of kindness makes the flaws in a relationship irrelevant and builds a bond that only grows stronger by the day.” – Can I quote you on that ? 😀

    sure 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

