Little things…

It’s amazing how little things in my day to day life remind me of you, of us. Although there are many moments that make me think of you so many times a day, the one that made me miss you all the more today was that instant when I realized you were not nearby to share ice cream with me.

While I was at the store this evening, I saw that ice cream that comes in mini packs that we used to share from time to time. So, without second thoughts, I bought myself one of those. I came home, and promptly sat down to enjoy my ice cream time. And, just like that, thoughts of you, of us enjoying the ice cream together flashed before my eyes.

Thoughts of how we always dig into the cup one after the other taking turns alternatively; of how I always end up grabbing a little more with every spoon and you a little less, so I can have my fair share plus more; of how, regardless of whose turn it really is, you always let me have the last spoon – although not having you around to share an ice cream means I get to savor it all, I miss that joy of looking forward to that last spoon. Simple pleasures.

Remember how the last time you were here I couldn’t wait any longer and ended up eating all the ice cream myself while you were busy doing something else? Remember how you came back to an empty cup and asked me what happened to your share? Remember how I told you that there was another carton in the freezer and that you were more than welcome to have it? And remember how you said you didn’t care for the ice cream but all you wanted was the chance to share it with me? My heart melted.

These seemingly little things that you do – and there are many more, but I’ll save those for some other day – translate to best of love to me.

And like that, many other things / places remind me of you, of us, of the times we’ve spent together.  They bring about a warm feeling in me; they make me smile and leave me content. All I need to do when I yearn for that loving hug from you is close my eyes and let the memories do their magic.

There are a million memories now and I can’t wait to add millions more with time.

, ,

  1. #1 by Nu on August 31, 2010 - 1:36 am

    I gotta be 1st !! Pls??

    yes you are…yay!

    Like

    • #2 by Nu on August 31, 2010 - 1:43 am

      Aww…how senti mushy post this one 🙂

      😀

      Like

      • #3 by Nu on August 31, 2010 - 1:44 am

        sweet ice-cream moments 😀

        yupe 😀

        Like

  2. #4 by Rani on August 31, 2010 - 1:38 am

    Touchwood!

    🙂

    Like

  3. #5 by piyu on August 31, 2010 - 1:52 am

    Awwww.. How do you manage to do it post after post!

    🙂

    Like

    • #6 by piyu on August 31, 2010 - 1:53 am

      We have a similar dessert sharing algorithm, and I love it too 😀

      😀 awesome!

      Like

  4. #7 by Dido on August 31, 2010 - 2:05 am

    Tht was such a sweet post T … 🙂 very very sweet 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  5. #8 by DI on August 31, 2010 - 2:30 am

    So awwwww! Little things is what make all the difference. And somehow, they stay in your memories for much longer than the bigger, tangible gifts we share. Sigh!
    Loved the post T! Wishing you lots and lots and lots more of such awesome memories! 😀

    thanks, DI!

    Like

  6. #9 by Swaram on August 31, 2010 - 4:35 am

    And remember how you said you didn’t care for the ice cream but all you wanted was the chance to share it with me? – Thatz sooo sooo sweet T.
    Loved reading this post 🙂 Hugs 🙂

    😀 Thanks!

    Like

  7. #10 by Pesto Sauce on August 31, 2010 - 7:01 am

    Little things make life life

    yupe!

    Like

  8. #11 by Psych Babbler on August 31, 2010 - 7:54 am

    Now that’s an ‘awww’ post if ever there was one! 🙂 Lovely post T…you do have a way with words!! 🙂 And now you’ve made me crave for ice cream!

    😀 go have some then

    Like

  9. #12 by chroniclesofdee on August 31, 2010 - 8:01 am

    Aww… how adorable!

    😀

    Like

  10. #13 by anisnest on August 31, 2010 - 8:47 am

    sweet little things gives us that extra energy to face the challenging life…. but not many feels/realizes these sweet things in this busy world… poor people

    🙂 yupe

    Like

  11. #14 by Prashanti on August 31, 2010 - 9:45 am

    Gosh, I have missed SO many posts !!!! And T, I am SO sorry for not replying when you so sweetly left me a comment saying I’ve been away too long 😦

    You haven’t missed much really…I’ve been v lazy the past few months 🙂 Anyway, welcome back, P. Hope to see a post on your blog soon..

    Like

  12. #15 by SG on August 31, 2010 - 10:42 am

    Nice one. Letting you have more than your share and pleasure in sharing the ice cream with you. This is called true affection.

    🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  13. #16 by Vishwa on August 31, 2010 - 12:39 pm

    Awesome and sweet!

    🙂

    Like

  14. #17 by Sonia on August 31, 2010 - 1:55 pm

    Awww…who is it? Dont break my heart and say room mate/sister/best friend/family, I want to hear boyfriend 😉

    😀 doesn’t really matter to me where this much love comes from as long as it’s there 😀

    Like

  15. #18 by comfortablynam on August 31, 2010 - 2:27 pm

    aww..aww..aww.. and wishing for a trillion more of such moments to you 🙂

    thanks comfy!

    Like

  16. #19 by celestialrays on August 31, 2010 - 3:42 pm

    Ice cream nostalgia 😀
    Me likey 😀

    😀 the best kind of nostalgia there is, at least for me 😛

    Like

  17. #20 by alwayshappykya on August 31, 2010 - 8:57 pm

    That was so beautiful T.

    If the meant person reads this post, am sure it’ll melt his heart too! 🙂

    🙂 thanks!

    Like

  18. #21 by Tan on August 31, 2010 - 11:21 pm

    Awwww….This is so sweet and heart-touching.

    🙂

    Like

  19. #22 by zephyr on September 1, 2010 - 4:12 am

    You are so lucky — to remember and relive the happy moments. Often people ignore or forget such moments and then cry that they can’t find love! That was very sweet, Titaxy! Wishing you many more such moments.

    thanks! 🙂

    Like

  20. #23 by priyaiyer on September 1, 2010 - 5:32 am

    Awww.. that was a lovely post. 🙂
    Love is in the air?!!!

    always 😀

    Like

  21. #24 by Priya on September 1, 2010 - 8:15 am

    Sweet post… lovely ice cream moments 🙂
    Wish you loads of such sweet lil moments that fill you with cheer and make you feel content!

    thank you 🙂

    Like

  22. #25 by Elegant Chic on September 1, 2010 - 10:16 am

    Awww!!

    🙂

    Like

  23. #26 by Bikram on September 1, 2010 - 10:50 am

    All these little things make life worthwhile .. heres to you making millions more such memories ALL THE BEST …

    thanks! 🙂

    Like

  24. #28 by Saritha on September 1, 2010 - 2:15 pm

    These are the memories which are never get erased from our mind.Glad you wrote it here.Hugsssss.

    🙂

    Like

  25. #29 by bitsofchocolate on September 1, 2010 - 4:29 pm

    Lovely post ! Sweet memories are the best …

    🙂 Welcome!

    Like

  26. #30 by Priya on September 1, 2010 - 11:51 pm

    Arent these little moments so big in a relationship? I know exactly what you mean!Lovely post ❤

    yupe…thanks!

    Like

  27. #31 by ambulisamma on September 2, 2010 - 2:04 am

    Quiet a senti touching post,am really moved.
    Am not sure what to comment or if my comment will do justice your beautiful post.
    Love n hugs to u T.

    thanks, AA

    Like

  28. #32 by Vidya on September 2, 2010 - 2:16 am

    Melting moments those!;-)

    they sure were 😛

    Like

  29. #33 by justaroundme on September 2, 2010 - 10:29 am

    I don’t want to go away by saying nice and sweet post..come on ,who is this sweet ice cream person ? 😉 .

    anyone that buys me ice cream is sweet. 😀 this is just one of those people 😛

    Like

  30. #34 by bukvorm on September 2, 2010 - 12:16 pm

    Awwwwwwww

    Welcome! 🙂

    Like

  31. #35 by Bikram on September 3, 2010 - 12:16 pm

    nostalgic and quite nice article.. wud love to see the rest of the million thoughts and momories that you have …

    life has become so fast but yet all this little things when we remember make us smile… and also appreciate life where we are now where we were then.. how it has all gone by

    🙂

    Like

  32. #36 by rayshma on September 3, 2010 - 1:11 pm

    the little things… that matter so very much!
    love this post! 🙂

    thanks raysh!

    Like

  33. #37 by Another Day In Paradise on September 6, 2010 - 11:42 am

    mmm..how the heart melts..wonderful moment you have shared with us…thank you and wishing you infinite more flavors to share:)

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  34. #38 by P on September 18, 2010 - 1:32 am

    Awww!!! tats was soo mushy lovey! i loved reading the post.. its amazing how lil things have such memories attached …..
    n now i am craving for ice cream too 😛
    wil c u around!
    cheers…

    thanks, P. Welcome! Do leave a link if to your blog if you write 🙂 would love to read…

    Like

  35. #39 by Nuttie Natters on September 21, 2010 - 10:16 am

    Awww…cant believe i missed this post….so beautiful.!!! feeling a bit teary eyed

    🙂

    Like

  36. #40 by JustAnotherBlogger on November 5, 2010 - 1:23 am

    Relate to EVERY word written here. And.. I don’t buy ice cream these days simply because I have to eat it by myself. *SULK*

    aww 🙂

    Like

  37. #41 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 8:56 am

    7 mentions of Ice-cream in this post. If Ice cream did not exist what would you do ? 😛

    what? why would you say such a thing or have such a bad thought. not ok, matt, not ok. i can’t even imagine a world without ice cream

    Like

Leave a Reply

