Rediscovering the magic

Of writing.

It’s been years since I wrote in a notebook. And I had forgotten the sheer happiness that it brings.

Doesn’t matter what I write – I might never read those pages again (and might not be able to even if I wanted to, owing to my horrible handwriting) – but the very fact that I write, as opposed to typing away to glory, makes it special.

When the pen touches the paper and starts dancing to the tune of my mind, it feels wonderful. And I am so happy to be doing it again after all these years.

  1. #1 by Reema on October 28, 2010 - 2:05 pm

    what are you writing?

    just about every thought that crosses my mind at that time 🙂 just for the sake of writing…it’s fun

    Like

  2. #2 by anisnest on October 28, 2010 - 2:09 pm

    long long ago so long ago I used to write personal diaries… not any more 😦

    i never maintained a diary 😀 wrote things down every now and then only to tear it apart later 😀

    Like

    • #3 by Swaram on October 29, 2010 - 2:06 am

      LOL exactly what I did 😛 😛

      😀

      Like

  3. #4 by bitsofchocolate on October 28, 2010 - 2:25 pm

    We shall believe it only when we see the evidence !

    believe what?, I was gonna ask…but from rays’ comment, I get that you are talking about handwriting 😀 will try and post evidence someday 😀

    Like

    • #5 by celestialrays on October 28, 2010 - 2:45 pm

      yes T, show us your handwriting… something tells me it will be artistic 🙂

      i wish 😀 if you call squiggly lines running all over the page artistic, then maybe it is 😀

      Like

  4. #6 by Rajlakshmi on October 28, 2010 - 3:07 pm

    i love writing in diaries… it has a different kind of feeling attached to it.

    yupe 🙂

    Like

  5. #7 by noname on October 28, 2010 - 3:20 pm

    It is extremely nice see you so excited and cheerful. There are very few things that can make one feel contented and leave one craving for more, at the same time. I loved the line “When the pen touches the paper and starts dancing to the tune of my mind, it feels wonderful”. For anyone who has truly enjoyed writing, it was an “aha!” moment. The sentence made my day! I could almost visualize myself writing and beaming with joy just acknowledging the “dance”. May you continue to experience much more of this happiness and pass it on to us through this blog.

    thank you 🙂

    Like

  6. #8 by Winnie the Poohi on October 28, 2010 - 3:33 pm

    I hate writing on paper…. no matter what!

    😀 ok

    Like

  7. #9 by Pepper on October 28, 2010 - 4:16 pm

    Oh yea.. off late, the only time I pick up the pen is to mark my signature. Sometimes I do use pen and paper to make grocery lists though 😀

    I really love the feel of ink on paper, which is why I love handwritten letters. But nobody sends me snail mail .. *sobs*

    exactly…other than signature i haven’t written anything in the past few years, not even grocery list..so yeah, this feels good.

    Like

  8. #10 by Scribbler on October 28, 2010 - 5:50 pm

    Oh it’s a wonderful feeling,tell me about it 🙂

    I too write down sometimes but I’m telling you whenever I do pick that pen up after a few lines my wrist starts aching 😦 Such is the irony of getting used to typing rather writing !!!

    But yeah it’s indeed a great feeling since we do it seldom now a days 🙂

    then keep doing it more and more 😀 so that you get used to it 🙂

    Like

    • #11 by Scribbler on October 28, 2010 - 6:01 pm

      yeah I always plan to but you know how it is…the keyboard is much handy or the mind is conditioned that ways I guess 😉

      yupe true…take a notebook and pen, go to a park or something and just write 😀

      Like

      • #12 by Scribbler on October 28, 2010 - 6:11 pm

        wow now you’re actually making me feel like doing it right now,at this ungodly hour that is 😉

        But come to think of it and it’s a beautiful feeling inside 🙂 Me,my notebook and the park/beach !!! Aha !

        yes, beautiful feeling indeed 🙂

        Like

  9. #13 by comfortablynam on October 28, 2010 - 6:01 pm

    I don’t think my hand even remembers what writing on paper feels like anymore. And anytime I do..I look at my handwriting and cringe.. 😐

    Glad you are loving it T.. 🙂

    😀 my handwriting was always bad 😀 i’ve always cringed at it

    Like

  10. #14 by sayamaya on October 28, 2010 - 11:10 pm

    You know.. I write in about ten different kinds of handwriting depending on my mood.

    oh WOW. I have only two…one when im writing really slowly, conscious how the handwriting looks, how legible it is, etc. and the other is every other time 😀

    Like

  11. #15 by The Other Side of Life on October 28, 2010 - 11:44 pm

    The only time I write on paper is during meetings, and that’s usual non-sense!
    You are tempting me to write something sensible now! 🙂

    go do it 😀

    Like

  12. #16 by JustAnotherBlogger on October 29, 2010 - 12:20 am

    Interesting coincidence – I have writing stuff in a notebook over the last week after ages and it feels nice 🙂 BTW, the blog stalker in me is upset she didn’t know your blog all these days! and is raring to go through the archives! 😉

    😀 welcome!

    Like

  13. #17 by priyaiyer on October 29, 2010 - 12:44 am

    oh i can so relate to this!! we have gotten so used to mails and chats that we hardly write down anything using a pen and paper. when we do, it is indeed an amazing feeling. 🙂
    i wrote about the lost art of letter writing sometime back too…

    i used to love writing letters, but haven’t done that in a long time 😦 shud try and write to friends soon 🙂

    Like

  14. #18 by Swaram on October 29, 2010 - 2:06 am

    I find it really nice too. To connect the pen and the paper 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  15. #19 by Krags R on October 29, 2010 - 3:12 am

    isn’t this “horrible handwriting” the same one, which adorned your school boards as the “best in the class” as you wrote in one of ur old posts 🙂 ?

    err, wasn’t that about writing on blackboards? and not paper? there’s a difference 😛

    but whatever the case, you are talking about something that happened two decades ago, no? 😀 everything has gone downhill from then, a lot has changed my friend 😀

    Like

    • #20 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 9:35 am

      Haha! Caught red handed ! 😛 😛

      Humbling yourself to your readers 😀 😀

      nop. he’s talking about something he saw over 20 years ago. it’s not the same now 😀

      Like

  16. #21 by Bikram on October 29, 2010 - 5:06 am

    I would try it if i was able to understand my own handwriting .. 🙂 but i can imagine …

    Bikram’s

    i don’t care even though I know most of the time I won’t understand what I’ve written 😛

    Like

  17. #22 by Vidya on October 29, 2010 - 5:46 am

    I think I understand what you’re saying. I specially love using pencils and take forever to set a mock question paper for my son at home. And he thinks am happy subjecting him to the torture of answering those and doesn’t know yet that I’ve never corrected them:)) Photo of your handwriting pls!!

    lol…

    photo…hmm maybe someday when im not feeling too lazy 😀

    Like

  18. #23 by Saritha on October 29, 2010 - 6:45 am

    My handwriting is also very bad.Since last few years started writing the way my daughter writes her cursive.

    The only thing i write is the monthly expenditure.

    😀

    Like

  19. #24 by liveonimpulse on October 29, 2010 - 7:51 am

    I know the feeling it’s magical..when pen touches paper it just feels so therapeutic to write!!

    yupe 🙂

    Like

  20. #25 by Priya on October 29, 2010 - 8:14 am

    I like to write too..though its very seldom that i do it these days. Your excitement seems to me like Ammu’s … she’s always wanting to write… be it notes or just copying something from random books and newspapers… she just loveeees to write these days 🙂 Heartening to see the same child like enthu in you 🙂

    that’s awesome…i hope her enthusiasm stays and her love for writing grows. 🙂

    Like

  21. #26 by BlueMist on October 29, 2010 - 10:53 am

    I have been writing too much on paper these days. and I like that surprised look on people’s face when they see my handwriting. 😉 😀
    Glad you are enjoying this phase.

    i don’t dare show my pages to anyone unless I know before hand that people will be reading it and that the handwriting should be legible 🙂

    Like

  22. #27 by Harini on October 29, 2010 - 11:14 am

    For me nothing beats writing on paper. I love writing :). Btw, what are you writing?

    I agree 🙂

    I just jot down whatever thoughts cross my mind at that time 🙂

    Like

  23. #28 by Another Day In Paradise on October 29, 2010 - 11:36 pm

    ah the lost art of writing..it has been ages since i wrote anything on paper except for work notes and signatures:)…i do send personal letters to my friends on their birthdays….how exciting for you T..

    🙂

    Like

  24. #29 by Sakhi on October 30, 2010 - 12:08 pm

    🙂

    cho chweet…

    😀

    Like

  25. #30 by Psych Babbler on October 30, 2010 - 7:42 pm

    Hehe…you should work where I work. All our case notes are handwritten. So yeah, my writing has never ceased. The only difference is, I don’t really enjoy what I am writing! 😛 Free-writing is fun though, isn’t it? When I did my creative writing course, most people had their wrist hurting because of not being used to writing in so long.

    😀 i don’t really wanna be writing case notes, but at least you are in the practice of writing, which is good

    Like

  26. #31 by SG on October 31, 2010 - 11:16 pm

    Your handwriting is bad? Then I am sure you are an MD. What is your profession by the way?

    lol…definitely not MD

    Like

    • #32 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 9:36 am

      Maybe you are a rocket scientist 😀 😀

      how i wish! 🙂

      Like

  27. #33 by Kavya on November 1, 2010 - 4:25 am

    You are correct T.. Writing has magic in it. Whenever i am feeling low, i just take a paper and just scribble something which made me feel low. It makes me feel so nice..

    true 🙂

    Like

  28. #34 by Dido on November 1, 2010 - 6:19 am

    i find it really diff to write on paper these days… so used to the keyboard.. bad bad really bad 😦

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

