Of a bookstore, books and a bookshelf – Edited

I walked in a city new to me with only my backpack for company, with no destination in mind, no schedule to adhere to. The streets were crowded with people entering and exiting store after store, with that sense of joy shopping brings plastered on their faces. My hands felt too empty when I saw them holding all their bags. I clutched the two straps of my backpack, a little tighter with every step I took.

There’s so much time to kill, what should I do, I wondered. I could either go where the road takes me, stroll for as long as I want, just taking in the energy of the city and observing the strangers I was surrounded by or I could step into the stores I see lined up and shop, like everyone else. Given my aversion to shopping, it came as no surprise that I chose the former.

Almost a mile more of wandering brought into sight a bookstore. I instantly recognized the place, even though this is the first time I was seeing it. Credits to the person who’s talked so much about it in the past few months that there was no way I would’ve missed it. I picked up my pace; a smile appeared on my face. Satisfaction took over me, all of a sudden, as if I spotted a fortune.

The minute I stepped in there, I felt different. The hustle bustle of the big city and its people dissolved. The shoppers and the treasures they held so dear seemed like a mirage from where I stood. The character of the place, the calmness it instilled pulled me into a deep sea of peace. And I was happy to drown. How time passed after that, I didn’t realize.

For hours, I went through one book after another picking what I wanted from their huge collection. And finally when I opened the doors to become one among the rushing crowd again, I too had a bag. A bag full of books that I couldn’t wait to read. A bag that I now hugged close to heart.

I brought it home, my bundle of joy in the bag, and I saw that a new bookshelf was waiting for me at my bedroom door (thanks to the roommate). One more reason to smile. I couldn’t wait to make space for it in my room, only I realized how hard that was going to be given the size of my room and all the things I already had in it. It didn’t bring down my spirits though – I was ready to give up my bed and curl up in a corner every night, if that’s what it took to accommodate the shelf. Fortunately, I found a way to rearrange things to add the new member in a comfortable setting. And now, my room looks better than ever.

The bookstore I stumbled upon made me happy because I can relate easily when the person who talks so highly of it refers to it hereon. The books made me happy because, well, they always do; there’s no way around it (not that I want one). The bookshelf made me happy because it adds charm to my room.

Abundant happiness. Good life.

Edited to add these pics of the bookshelf –

,

  1. #1 by Pepper on December 2, 2010 - 5:09 pm

    Bookstores are magical! If you are receptive enough, the magic transforms from those shelves, right into your palms 🙂

    Your post made me happy and sad. Happy for obvious reasons, and sad cos I got reminded that the book store that I so proudly tell everyone about, one that is a 2 min walk from home is shutting down. I’ve spent many happy hours there, and now the thought of its absence has left me traumatised 😦 .. Well, such if life!

    oh that’s too bad…hope you find a new one soon 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by noname on December 2, 2010 - 5:23 pm

    “My hands felt too empty when I saw them holding all their bags. I clutched the two straps of my backpack, a little tighter with every step I took.” very nice! Novel material.

    thank you!

    Like

  3. #3 by SG on December 2, 2010 - 6:42 pm

    Nice post. I can spend hours and hours in bookstores and never get tired of them. New bookshelf? What happened to the one you bought last year in December? December 13 to be exact. (Hahaha I remember.)

    it’s impressive that you remember the date 🙂 all I can recall is that I got it last winter. Anyway, that one’s still there…this one, in addition to that, is in my room now 🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by chroniclesofdee on December 2, 2010 - 10:18 pm

    I can spend HOURS in a bookstore!

    Though I love the comfort of my kindle, I miss the feeling of walking among thousands & thousands of books!

    🙂

    Like

  5. #5 by anisnest on December 2, 2010 - 10:26 pm

    abundant happiness is good for health 🙂 enjoy reading all those books…

    🙂 will do

    Like

  6. #6 by soulmate on December 2, 2010 - 11:10 pm

    pictures of the bookshelf please… Now that I need one for my room, I am looking for options… 🙂

    it’s not anything unique and all, but yeah will add a pic…hope you find an awesome bookshelf soon 😀

    Like

  7. #7 by Sushma on December 2, 2010 - 11:41 pm

    Hi Titaxy,

    Which books have you bought?

    Take care.

    I got The Birth of Venus, Contested Will, The Day My Mother Left and The Tax Inspector…I was so excited that I didn’t even notice until much later that I got two copies of that last book I mentioned 😀 stupid me..

    You take care too, Sushma! Enjoy the weekend

    Like

    • #8 by Sushma on December 3, 2010 - 8:46 pm

      Hi Titaxy,

      Thank you so much 🙂 for listing down the names of the books, I was just curious to know, since I myself is making a list of the books that should be read and did not want to miss any nice one :).

      Two copies of the same book! :), no worries, try returning one back, if they take at all, I hope they do.

      You have a lovely weekend too Titaxy!

      Take care.

      yupe, returning is what I plan to do 🙂

      do check our book review blog if you want suggestions on what to read – bondwithbooks.wordpress.com

      thanks!

      Like

      • #9 by Sushma on December 3, 2010 - 8:56 pm

        And hey! the bookshelf looks nice, especially with the extra decor that you have done with show pieces, Candle etc.

        Have a lovely time with books, whether fiction or non-fiction, but do not let the real in you vanish away with the fictitiousness of the thoughts. I like to read the real you :).

        Take care.

        thank you 🙂

        Like

      • #10 by Sushma on December 3, 2010 - 10:50 pm

        Thanks for letting me know, will check the book blog :).

        Take care.

        you are welcome 🙂

        Like

  8. #11 by Kavya on December 3, 2010 - 12:04 am

    You are absolutely true.. I just dont get bored in the bookstore. Even last evening I spent around 2 hrs in a book store..

    Happy Reading 🙂

    nice 😀

    Like

  9. #12 by Scribbler on December 3, 2010 - 12:35 am

    that’s certainly a ‘good moment’ giving way to ‘good life’. I felt so happy reading the post…right from the moment you stepped inside the store 🙂 See even reading about books and the stores and book-shopping makes me happy 🙂

    And no matter how tiny space we’ve have in our homes…books always fit the right corner and right shelf…hai nah ?

    Enjoy reading book lover !

    thank you, Scribbler….and yes, space will be made for books, no matter what 😀

    Like

    • #13 by Scribbler on December 3, 2010 - 12:37 am

      put a picture of your collection spread over two shelves 🙂

      I don’t have a big collection as such, at least not yet. will add pic of the new shelf though 🙂

      Like

      • #14 by Scribbler on December 3, 2010 - 8:45 pm

        the pictures are looking fab and you know the best composition is the one with lights off/flash off 😀

        thanks 🙂

        Like

  10. #15 by Swaram on December 3, 2010 - 12:57 am

    Lovely post and wishing u many such happy moments ahead 🙂

    🙂 thanks!

    Like

    • #16 by Swaram on December 3, 2010 - 1:04 am

      I so wanna see a pic of the shelf and ur collection nw 😛

      😀 will add a pic of the shelf swar….I don’t have a big collection of books and all…I’ve been buying only for few years now, so I don’t have much :)..maybe someday 😀

      Like

  11. #17 by Harini on December 3, 2010 - 1:47 am

    Bookstores are magical place which bring Happiness to me always. I recently went with my cousins and dad and spent 2 hours just being happy with smile on my face and my cousins and Dad thought I was mad. They dont understand the beauty of books or the magic it holds or the happiness they can give :).

    😀

    Like

  12. #18 by Makk on December 3, 2010 - 2:56 am

    Congratulation!!!

    Enjooooy the celebration!

    ( I am assuming reading those books will be celebration. Right?)

    of course ! 🙂 nice to see you around, Makk…how have you been doing?

    Like

  13. #19 by blommer22 on December 3, 2010 - 4:10 am

    strange, how tons of books always frighten me away. i’m so small among those gazillion knowledge around. 🙂

    oh I know what you mean…there’s so much out there, it is scary 😀

    Like

  14. #20 by celestialrays on December 3, 2010 - 4:35 am

    Your roommate got you a book shelf? Wow!!!

    And to a happy life, touchwood! 🙂

    she got a new shelf for her room…she didn’t want the one she had, so she passed it on to me 😀

    Like

  15. #21 by Dido on December 3, 2010 - 4:44 am

    Wow T makes me wanna go grab abook ..beautifully written

    thank you 🙂

    Like

  16. #22 by Vidya on December 3, 2010 - 4:44 am

    Wow! Nice to go book-shopping. That too alone. Happy reading!!!

    😀 thanks!

    Like

  17. #23 by Priya on December 3, 2010 - 6:38 am

    Cheers!!!

    🙂

    Like

  18. #24 by Bikram on December 3, 2010 - 7:09 am

    Oh man.. I remember when i was not all this busy any time i went to india i would always go to a book shop t obuy books ..

    I have been to so many shops hyderabad, mumbai , kolkata and i do go mad i forget only 20KG is allowed in the flight..

    I wish i have time on my hand again.. I got a loft full of books and not enough time to read ..

    I hope you enjoy reading all the books 🙂

    Bikram’s

    🙂 i have a pile of unread books on the shelves too, but that doesn’t stop me from buying new ones 😀 thanks, Bikram

    Like

  19. #25 by Tanishka on December 3, 2010 - 7:21 am

    Bookstores are always heaven… I can spend hours and hours reading book… I have to actually be scolded to leave the book aside and get back to work….

    So you have a new bookshelf… Sounds exciting… 🙂

    yupe, exciting it sure is 😀

    Like

  20. #27 by Vishwa on December 3, 2010 - 2:14 pm

    NYC eh! 😛 btw, you dont blog for almost an entire month, before posting three brilliant posts in three days, worth the wait I suppose 😀

    yupe 🙂 brilliant posts? well, thank you 😀

    Like

  21. #28 by ajay on December 3, 2010 - 3:05 pm

    I love books more than anything and their sight gives me delight. I never mind splurging on books and now I’ve got a mini library for myself 😀 Both pics are very beautiful. Let the collection grow until you run out of space! 😀

    i would love to have a mini library someday too 😀 thanks ajay!

    Like

  22. #29 by Psych Babbler on December 3, 2010 - 6:17 pm

    Ah nice…I love bookstores too as you know. I could just picture you browsing through the zillion books. A great way to spend time. So what books did you buy? And the bookshelf looks great! Very quaint 🙂 I may have to buy another one too next year…my current one only has space on the bottom shelf at the moment. Something I would love to have some day is a room in the house with bookshelves from wall to wall and ceiling to floor. Sigh. A dream. 🙂

    thank you 🙂 keep dreaming and I am sure one day you will make it happen..best wishes to that 🙂

    I bought The Tax Inspector, Contested Will, The Birth of Venus and The Day My Mother Left.

    Like

  23. #30 by Nilu on December 3, 2010 - 6:50 pm

    The joy you describe is so contagious! I felt it when I read this post. Love of books – it’s what I share with all my fellow bloggers!

    🙂

    Like

  24. #31 by Ryan on December 4, 2010 - 1:12 am

    I love getting lost in bookstores! It’s probably one of the most cathartic things I can do no matter where I’m at. I wandered at this giant bookstore in Portland and I found a copy of Comfort Healing and Joy: Secrets to a Magnificent Life by David Fox and The Big Rewind by Nathan Rabin. Anyway, I love your blog. Keep up the great posts.

    Welcome, Ryan. Enjoy reading those books. 🙂 Thank you!

    Like

  25. #32 by zephyr on December 4, 2010 - 7:48 pm

    I could relate to the post so much. When I go to any new city, i look for a nice book store too, to make me feel at home. Know what is better than a book store? A USED book store, There you can find better treasures and you feel as if you can read a story within a story of its pages.

    this was an used book store too 🙂 browsed through a lot of used books when i was there

    Like

  26. #33 by Ruchira on December 6, 2010 - 12:47 am

    my absolute favourite place on this earth is a book shop !

    😀

    Like

  27. #34 by bedazzled on December 6, 2010 - 4:39 am

    Lovely post .. what a loot you’ve managed to pick up.. books always put me in a nice mood too.

    😀

    Like

  28. #35 by Achu on December 6, 2010 - 7:24 am

    🙂 🙂
    Its a wonderful feeling to stand amidst so many books in a store, to smell the new pages and to wish that you could read it all..

    So happy for you that you found such a nice store.. 🙂

    🙂 thanks!

    Like

  29. #36 by Krags R on December 6, 2010 - 12:21 pm

    nice 🙂 …

    thanks!

    Like

  30. #37 by DI on December 6, 2010 - 11:25 pm

    Lovely! We are currently spending all our weekends in furnishing stores for the new house, and the first thing I picked was a beautiful bookshelf! Just adds so much personality to a home I think!

    yupe…true 🙂

    Like

  31. #38 by BlueMist on December 6, 2010 - 11:28 pm

    Lovely pics. 🙂

    thank you 🙂

    Like

  32. #39 by Swaram on December 7, 2010 - 5:36 am

    Love the shelf, the books and all that decor there 🙂

    thank you 🙂

    Like

  33. #40 by bukvorm on December 9, 2010 - 2:29 pm

    Awww I love the bookshelf 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  34. #41 by Another Day In Paradise on December 12, 2010 - 10:34 pm

    woah..bookstores..always makes me high..i remember when i lived in the US..my weekends used to pass very quick..drove down to the nearest one..and sat in em all day….reading..buying..drinking coffee..bliss…

    bliss indeed 😀

    Like

  35. #42 by Reema on December 19, 2010 - 2:18 am

    I too love going to bookstores. As a kid we used to visit the only decent bookstore in our town just to smell the scent of new books 😀

    🙂

    Like

  36. #43 by priyaiyer on December 21, 2010 - 12:11 pm

    Can so relate to that feeling of being able to spend hours in a bookstore. And the feeling of holding the precious books that you bought close to your heart – which is full of joy at a wonderful purchase. 🙂

    And your room-mate sounds too good to be true!

    🙂

    Like

  37. #44 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 10:35 am

    Espanol and Guitar? All you need is a fancy hat and you’ll be a full fledged mariachi ! 😀 😛

    Espanol – mine…I took one class, didn’t do too well…so didn’t have the heart to continue. Guitar – not mine 🙂 it just sits on my shelf

    Like

Leave a Reply

