How do you react…

…when an old friend’s father (whom you haven’t met in more than a decade) happens to cross path your mother in a store and mistakes her for you?

Here’s how the conversation went, as I heard from Amma –

Friend’s Father: Hello! How are you?

Amma: I am doing well. How about you? And family?

Friend’s Father: All are doing fine. V (his daughter) got married a few years ago; she’s at home today, visiting. So how’s married life treating you? Are you working?

Amma: Married life? Fine. Nobody asks me that question anymore. (confused!) And no, I am not working. I quit years ago to stay at home with the kids.

Friend’s Father: Oh ok. How many kids?

Amma: Three.

Friend’s Father: OK. It was nice meeting you after all these years. I used to run into your grandmother every now and then, but that hasn’t happened in a long time.

Amma: Grandmother? You mean my mother-in-law?

Friend’s Father: Grandmother. The one who lives in so and so area.

Amma: My mother-in-law’s house is in that area. I think maybe you’ve mistaken me for someone else. I am T’s mother.

Friend’s Father: OH OK. I thought you were T!

Amma: EH????

I am just going to take it as a compliment to my mother…maybe she does look young enough to be me; instead of going “Why? Why God? Why are you doing this to me? We had a deal. Let the others grow old.” – Joey Tribbiani style. Oh well…

  1. #1 by revsjoiedevivre on February 4, 2011 - 11:42 am

    This is what you do – You get that uncle a voucher for the nearest eye clinic!

    that’s exactly what Amma said to me when she narrated the episode, Revs…I was laughing it off as I heard the story, but Amma was so furious that someone could mistake her precious daughter to look old…so her reaction was “And you know, he was wearing glasses! I was almost about to tell him that it was time for a new pair” 😆

    Like

    • #2 by Tanishka on February 4, 2011 - 12:31 pm

      Tell amma uncle has not mistaken her daughter look old rather he has mistaken amma to look younger than her age…. Isn’t that great… 🙂

      😀 it is great

      Like

  2. #3 by celestialrays on February 4, 2011 - 11:43 am

    😆
    Awesome awesome awesome 😀

    yeah ok, that’s what I thought 😛

    Like

  3. #4 by Matt on February 4, 2011 - 11:44 am

    LOL LOL !! 😀

    so you are around 😀

    Like

    • #5 by BlueMist on February 4, 2011 - 11:51 am

      Look who is around. Howdy ?

      😀

      Like

      • #6 by Matt on February 4, 2011 - 11:57 am

        Howdyyy Mishtyyy!! 😀 😀 😀

        🙂

        Like

        • #7 by BlueMist on February 4, 2011 - 12:04 pm

          Me not talking to you 😐
          So all the bashing , we will take offline 😛

          😀

          Like

          • #8 by Matt on February 4, 2011 - 12:24 pm

            😦 😦 😦

            ****Matt runs away into the distant horizon weeping like a lil kid ****

            **** Mishty runs after him shouting “I forgive you Matty,I forgive you !! ” ****

            Yaaaayyy!!! 😀 😀

            LOL

            Like

    • #9 by Matt on February 4, 2011 - 11:53 am

      Awesome !! Your mom looks so young and beautiful he mistook her for you !! GOD u must be that lovely ! 😀

      BTW “HOW IS married life treating you?” 😛 :mrgreen:
      The cat and the rat are out of the bag ! Justify 😛

      I wish I were as lovely as Amma 😀

      I am not married Matt. Nothing to justify there. I think he must have noticed the mangalsutra around her neck or her toe rings or some other thing and asked the “married life” question 🙂

      Like

      • #10 by Matt on February 4, 2011 - 12:05 pm

        Haha! 😀

        Of course, I know you will post another “I got married ” post for us 🙂 but this time for real !! 😀

        But anyway maybe you should sponsor a new pair of glasses for this chap 🙂

        This conversation is just too amusing 😀 😀

        amusing indeed 😀

        Like

    • #11 by Matt on February 4, 2011 - 11:54 am

      Of course I’m around ! Where did I go?? 😛 😛

      🙂

      Like

      • #12 by BlueMist on February 4, 2011 - 1:04 pm

        When did Matty turned into drama queen ? 😛 😛

        😀

        Like

  4. #13 by anisnest on February 4, 2011 - 11:47 am

    Wow your mom looks so young? that was my first thought too… did she take it as a compliment? my mom would have jumped in joy 🙂 I don’t take even half of the care that she takes to dress up while stepping out of the house…

    i don’t think she looks that young, but i sure took it as a compliment to her 😀 she was furious at him though… “How could he!” was her reaction 😀

    Like

  5. #14 by BlueMist on February 4, 2011 - 11:50 am

    LOL. And it is huge huge compliment. and you got the same genes . Lucky you 🙂

    she didn’t see it that way, i dont think… 😀

    Like

    • #15 by BlueMist on February 4, 2011 - 12:06 pm

      But look at the positive side. Once mini T comes; all compliments will come your way 😉 😆 So hurry up 😉

      expectations like these are enough to put my wedding plans in jeopardy 😆

      Like

      • #16 by Matt on February 4, 2011 - 12:13 pm

        Haha , Mini T !! That is indeed a very cute name 😀 So we will fix on the name ‘Mini T ‘ in future ,should you decide to introduce that topic to the blog 😀

        will keep it in mind 😛

        Like

        • #17 by BlueMist on February 4, 2011 - 1:06 pm

          That’s pre decided 😛

          is it? i didn’t know 😀

          Like

      • #18 by BlueMist on February 4, 2011 - 12:28 pm

        But I wonder what did uncle tell to your friend ? He must be having his own interesting side 😀

        haha who knows 😀

        Like

  6. #19 by bitsofchocolate on February 4, 2011 - 12:30 pm

    – It is a nice compliment to your mother that she looks so young and gets mistaken for a twentysomething
    – Bodes well for you in later decades if you’ve inherited her youthful gene 🙂

    😀 yeah that’s the way to look at it, i guess 😀

    Like

  7. #20 by Tanishka on February 4, 2011 - 12:32 pm

    Lol… Had that happened with my mom she would have spent the entire day smiling…. 🙂
    I’m sure your Amma must be a very beautiful lady…. 🙂

    🙂 Amma is beautiful, no doubts abt that

    Like

  8. #21 by snippetsnscribbles on February 4, 2011 - 12:57 pm

    😀 😀 😀

    I love Joey’s line! 😀 😀

    😀 me too

    Like

  9. #22 by Pepper on February 4, 2011 - 1:33 pm

    LOL. The reverse has happened to me. Some man I met at a wedding came up and told me, ‘You’re looking so young! How do you do it?’ And then my mom stepped up from behind, and he said ‘Oh, so this is your daughter’ .. Needless to say, I was quite pissed.

    i wonder how i would react if someone does that to me 😀

    Like

  10. #23 by Chatterbox on February 4, 2011 - 1:38 pm

    Now I can imagine how beautiful you and your mum are 😛

    dont know about me, but mom sure is 🙂

    Like

  11. #24 by Nids on February 4, 2011 - 2:08 pm

    Ha ha..I am amused and also a bit surprised, but that is indeed a compliment for your mom and for you too..looks like you resemble your mom a lot

    oh yeah I think I do resemble her 😀

    Like

  12. #25 by Writerzblock on February 4, 2011 - 4:12 pm

    OMG that is terrible!! I mean, wonderful for your Mommy though 🙂

    😀 i know!

    Like

  13. #26 by Vishwa on February 4, 2011 - 4:31 pm

    hilarious!

    if you say so 😀

    Like

  14. #27 by Another Day In Paradise on February 4, 2011 - 10:01 pm

    absolutely …tell amma cup’s half full and ask her to imagine how T would look when she is as old as amma..if amma looks as young as T now??!! and ofcourse either the uncle is forgetful or needs glasses!!!!

    i can only hope 😀

    Like

  15. #28 by Pixie on February 5, 2011 - 3:55 am

    😆
    The uncle must have been wired or something!!
    but, its a compliment to your mom as well!! 🙂

    😀

    Like

  16. #29 by Saritha on February 5, 2011 - 4:32 am

    Nice compliment for ur mom.But may be the old man is sick (pappam) to differentiate between u and ur mom.

    😀

    Like

  17. #30 by Krags R on February 5, 2011 - 4:45 am

    lols … and i just cant find any answer for that “how do you react” …

    😀

    Like

  18. #31 by Varsh on February 5, 2011 - 7:19 am

    Wow…I log in after ages and this is the first post I read! 😀 😀

    Ma T must be striking I’m sure 🙂

    Great…I liked your line in the end…let the others grow old 😉

    😀 not my line that last one…stole it from Joey 😛

    Like

  19. #32 by Scribby on February 5, 2011 - 7:22 am

    ROFL T 🙂 Compliments to Amma 🙂

    And that goes to say that you look like your amma,is it? 🙂 YAY to that too 🙂

    yes I look like Amma for sure 😀

    Like

  20. #33 by Ana on February 5, 2011 - 12:04 pm

    LOL! It’s embarassingly cute 😛

    😀

    Like

  21. #34 by Achu on February 5, 2011 - 1:01 pm

    Wow.. 🙂 My instant thought was that your mom must look so young and beautiful. Never thought that it would upset your mom, until I read the comments.. But I think it is a compliment for your mom.. 🙂 And.. now we know that T and her mom both look very beautiful 😉

    mom is beautiful, yes 😀

    Like

    • #35 by Achu on February 9, 2011 - 12:53 pm

      I’m sure so are you… 🙂 and that you have a beautiful heart is reflected in the posts you write 🙂

      thank you so much 🙂

      Like

  22. #36 by Swaram on February 5, 2011 - 2:17 pm

    Reaction? I wannaaaa seee ur Mom 🙂
    Actually, am waiting for the day I can put a face to ur beautiful heart and words too 🙂 Hopefully some day 🙂 Hugs T 🙂

    you are so nice to me swar…thanks 🙂

    Like

  23. #37 by ambulisamma on February 6, 2011 - 1:21 am

    Mudiyala,sirichu sirichu thanga mudiyala.
    I understand your amma’s furiousness.

    😆

    Like

  24. #38 by justaroundme on February 6, 2011 - 10:12 am

    Ha ha…definitely a great compliment to your mother…but still what is wrong with that uncle …

    who knows 😀

    Like

  25. #39 by Nuttie Natters on February 7, 2011 - 1:37 am

    I live in constant fear of people calling my mom my younger sister.

    Uptil now they compliment my mom saying u look like Nuttie’s elder sister…but i think very soon they will call her my younger sister

    I tell u these pretty mom’s …ufff!

    😀

    Like

  26. #40 by Vidya on February 7, 2011 - 3:58 am

    Lol! This is the best mix-up story I’ve heard! And must be the best compliment for your amma?!!

    😀

    Like

  27. #41 by priyaiyer on February 7, 2011 - 4:09 am

    LOL
    Aunty must be looking so young then 🙂

    or i must look that old 😛

    Like

  28. #42 by Kavya on February 7, 2011 - 5:37 am

    Totally Hilarious 🙂

    😀

    Like

  29. #43 by Priya on February 8, 2011 - 12:48 am

    😀 Amusing episode! Probably I would’ve reacted the same as your mom 🙂

    😀

    Like

  30. #44 by celestialrays on February 8, 2011 - 9:10 am

    Oh I suddenly remembered… One day Amma and I were going somewhere in a bus over here and were sitting in different seats. the guy sitting next to me got up saying ‘Have your mother sit here’. Amma came and sat next to me and it struck him. He then said ‘I am extremely sorry for calling her your mother, its not good manners. I should have said your sister. My bad. Apologies.’
    I was shocked at how in some cultures, these kind of manners are stitched with the DNA 😀

    Amma must have felt awesome 😀

    Like

  31. #45 by Ashwathy on February 9, 2011 - 2:03 am

    Ha ha ha 😆 I’ve undergone a similar situation with my mother once….so I understand your pain…
    Wait, here’s the worst part…. I was in 12th then!! 😥 And my mother’s teacher who met her after several years, took one look at me and thought I was her FRIEND! 😛 🙄 Sigh…

    lol….nice to know that i have company 😛

    Like

    • #46 by Ashwathy on February 9, 2011 - 2:06 am

      Following your blog from now! 🙂

      thanks! Welcome! 🙂

      Like

  32. #47 by Psych Babbler on February 10, 2011 - 10:21 pm

    I could have sworn I’d commented on this one…

    Anyway, it’s great your mum looks so young…you will inherit her genes too…so take it in stride! 🙂 My mum always got comments like “I can’t believe you have a 20-something year old daughter!” when they found out I existed (Didn’t go to many social events with her…so they thought my sis was the only one) 😛 It used to annoy both my sis and me!! But my sis got the double whammy…people thought she was older than me (just because she’s taller I think)

    even though i am much shorter than my sisters, no one thinks i am younger than them…sigh

    Like

  33. #48 by avymom on February 12, 2011 - 12:03 pm

    Too funny!

    😀

    Like

  34. #49 by liveonimpulse on February 14, 2011 - 2:13 am

    lol ! yu have great genes T !!

    😀

    Like

  35. #50 by smartassbride on February 15, 2011 - 1:23 am

    rofl! 😀

    😀

    Like

  36. #51 by Elegant Chic on February 16, 2011 - 4:53 am

    ROFL!!! 😆
    Guess it’s time he visited an optician! 😉

    😀 i know!

    Like

  37. #52 by Visha on September 26, 2012 - 2:27 am

    My ma would have a smile plastered on her face for days together 😀 😀 😀

    😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

