To the most handsome man on earth

When I logged in to gmail this morning, I saw an email from you and going by the subject line, I recognized it to be the long awaited pics from one of your recent trips. And to my surprise, I opened it with all eagerness not to see anyone else but you. A bunch of you went on that trip together and I knew that there were photos of friends in there whom I haven’t seen in more than a decade. Still, it was you that my heart wanted to spot. And I couldn’t help but smile.

The bond I share with you is so different than any other relationship I’ve experienced all my life. You stand out as the one person I sincerely look up to, yet the person I want to be different from when it comes to certain things. You are the person that warns me not to do certain things and not to come crying for help when things don’t turn out the way I intend them to, yet the person who is there first to lend me a helping hand even as signs of something going downhill show up. You are the person one person for whom I don’t profess my affection all that often, yet the only person whom I’ve grown love so dearly and selflessly.

It’s not always been rosy, this bond of ours. There have been highs just as there have been lows. I’ve experienced it all with you – love and hate, laughs and cries, fights and apologies, smiles and tears. Perhaps you remember the times when we’ve gone days without talking to each other and at then giving up, putting an end to it all at the same time because we couldn’t stand torturing each other that way. Or the times when you would call me to say how much you’ve missed hearing my voice over the past few days and how you would smilingly respond with a “well, I guess I just needed a reason to hear your voice” when I reminded you that we talked only hours ago. Well, that’s your way of saying I love you to me, and the smile and the long conversation that follows is my way of saying me too.

Coming back to this morning – I looked at the snaps, spotted you, the most handsome man in that group, and admired your salt and pepper hair and even your mismatched clothes, all out of that blind love I have for you. And I forwarded the photos to my sister, asking her to look at the man I adore so much and defended your outfit when she said “he’s handsome, no doubt. But his clothes, what’s going on there?!!??!?” That’s your own style, I told her, because it really is…it makes you stand out of the crowd, just like everything else about you.

And then I called Amma to tell her that you were the most handsome man I’ve ever seen. And her response to that was –

Your father is handsome, sure. But you should’ve met your grandfather and then you would’ve agreed with me when I said he was the most beautiful person ever.

Oh well, I guess every father has this effect on his daughter.

I love you, Appa.

,

  1. #1 by Chatterbox on February 14, 2011 - 12:48 pm

    What an absolutely beautiful post 😛
    I totally agree with you on the belief that dads are the best and most handsome men in the entire universe 😀

    they sure are 🙂

    Like

    • #2 by Anonymously Disguised on February 14, 2011 - 9:55 pm

      CB this is the kind of Love Letter I was hoping to read on your contest page 😦 Ask her to submit it na…plzzzzzzz? I beg of you my darling angelic twin 😆

      🙂 thanks!

      Like

  2. #3 by Jyothi on February 14, 2011 - 1:23 pm

    Awww …… That’s indeed a beautiful post! Happy V day dear!

    thank you…wish you the same 🙂

    Like

  3. #4 by celestialrays on February 14, 2011 - 1:34 pm

    Aaah no doubts there! I was a very quiet, well behaved child but I have had proper fights like scratching, hitting, biting, pulling hair with my cousins on only one topic- my daddy is better looking/ stronger/ the greatest in fact 😀

    I should blog about it someday!

    Even today, i have to admit that I have that kind of an instinct in me, but I am more civil now 😛 😀

    LOL but I see your point 😀

    Like

    • #5 by Anonymously Disguised on February 14, 2011 - 9:56 pm

      Divz you won’t believe, I broke one of my cousin brother’s nose coz he said he thinks his dad can eat more banana’s than mine 🙄

      LOL

      Like

  4. #7 by Writerzblock on February 14, 2011 - 1:37 pm

    Awww that’s very sweet. I can’t say I share similar sentiments, but I loved the emotion in this post.

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  5. #8 by Pepper on February 14, 2011 - 5:00 pm

    This was so, so delightful T 🙂 I defend my dad to death when my mum utters a word about him. She calls me partial. Maybe I am.. or maybe all fathers cast a spell on their little girls 🙂

    I love my father, but am partial to mom 😀

    Like

  6. #9 by Dee on February 14, 2011 - 9:48 pm

    Beautiful post! Beautiful love!

    🙂 thanks

    Like

  7. #10 by Anonymously Disguised on February 14, 2011 - 9:58 pm

    I loved this post; every single line of it 🙂

    🙂 thanks

    Like

  8. #11 by BlueMist on February 14, 2011 - 11:30 pm

    I hope one day your dad and mum read all these beautiful posts you dedicate to them. They are almost tears inducing.

    🙂 thanks BM.

    Like

  9. #12 by The Other Side of Life on February 15, 2011 - 12:00 am

    Very nice! 🙂
    Father-daughter bonds are so special! 🙂

    they sure are 🙂

    Like

  10. #13 by Ashwathy on February 15, 2011 - 12:20 am

    Ha ha ha….I knew this was coming!!! Totally agree…. nothing like a dad to make a daughter go ‘awww..’ ! 🙂

    true…

    Like

  11. #14 by Pixie on February 15, 2011 - 12:26 am

    Awww… this is another beautiful V-Day post!! Loved it! 😀

    thanks….i didn’t realize i posted it on vday 😀 sheer coincidence

    Like

  12. #15 by Swaram on February 15, 2011 - 12:54 am

    I luvvv this post T, more so bcoz I can relate with it too 🙂
    Dads are so special 🙂 🙂

    Hugs!

    hugs back to you 🙂

    Like

  13. #16 by smartassbride on February 15, 2011 - 1:21 am

    lucky dads, no? i dont see sons saying this abt. their fathers 😀

    ps : we are lucky too 🙂

    of course 😀

    Like

  14. #17 by Psych Babbler on February 15, 2011 - 3:59 am

    Very sweet post T… 🙂 I’m sure your dad will love it…does he read it??

    no he doesn’t read the blog…only a handful of people that know me in real life know about my blog 🙂

    Like

  15. #18 by Sunshine on February 15, 2011 - 5:08 am

    def def agree – fathers are the most handsomest & the bestest! 😀

    😀

    Like

  16. #19 by Kavya on February 15, 2011 - 5:14 am

    Awwwww.. very very sweet post T 😛

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you 😛

    thanks, you too… 🙂

    Like

  17. #20 by Vidya on February 15, 2011 - 5:57 am

    Awww, so chweet! This relationship is special with all the right mix of love/hate:)

    yupe 🙂

    Like

  18. #21 by Bikram on February 15, 2011 - 6:02 am

    WOWOWOWWOWOWOWOWO … indeed I LOVED THIS POST beautiful ..
    DAD’s will always be the most handsome men we know for sure always .. GOD bless

    thanks Bikram

    Like

  19. #22 by ambulisamma on February 15, 2011 - 8:18 am

    To every girl,there is a always a specila feeling about their dad.

    i agree 😀

    Like

  20. #23 by anisnest on February 15, 2011 - 9:34 am

    where did my comment go?

    i didn’t see any, A 😦

    Like

  21. #24 by Nuttie Natters on February 15, 2011 - 11:58 am

    what a lovely post 🙂 happy v day to a special father daughter combo.

    thank you!

    Like

  22. #25 by Dwija on February 15, 2011 - 9:21 pm

    Beautiful and touching post T!! I am now lost in thoughts about my dad…

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  23. #26 by Neena S on February 16, 2011 - 12:23 am

    Lovely touching writing. My eyes sort of welled up while reading this! 🙂

    thanks! and welcome!

    Like

  24. #27 by Pooja on February 16, 2011 - 2:08 am

    Such a sweet post.. I’m going to make my dad read it, and give him a big hug :D.

    aww thank you!

    Like

  25. #28 by Elegant Chic on February 16, 2011 - 4:59 am

    Awww… this is SO cute, T!! 🙂
    God bless your bond!
    Hugs to daddy’s little girl! 😀

    thanks!

    Like

  26. #29 by Tanishka on February 16, 2011 - 6:38 am

    Loved every line of it T…And yes My daddy strongest…. 😀

    thanks 😀

    Like

  27. #30 by Smitha on February 16, 2011 - 9:35 am

    Aww! Every daughter can identify with this one 🙂 I used to fight with my uncles who used to mock make fun of my dad, just to get me all riled up 🙂 Looking back it sounds silly, but I love my dad 🙂 He is my daddy strongest 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  28. #31 by DI on February 16, 2011 - 10:16 am

    😀 Papa’s girl! So typical huh?

    no no, I am Mumma’s girl. Papa gets a mention only once in a while 😛

    Like

  29. #32 by Uma on February 16, 2011 - 12:16 pm

    So sweet 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  30. #33 by Rajlakshmi on February 16, 2011 - 12:34 pm

    ahhh the bond between father and daughter is always special 😀
    such a beautiful write 😀

    🙂 thanks

    Like

  31. #34 by Sonia on February 16, 2011 - 10:24 pm

    What a sweet post! You should send it to him 🙂

    🙂 thanks

    Like

  32. #35 by anisnest on February 17, 2011 - 9:15 am

    I commented as “the tamil saying kakkaikum than…. can be reversed for this post :)”. The proud a girl carries while saying “my daddy is the bestest” is priceless…

    🙂 it sure is

    Like

  33. #36 by avymom on February 17, 2011 - 3:44 pm

    Father’s girl, hmm what an awesome feeling…and dads just keep getting handsomer…i still look at my parents wedding picture and keep going on n on on how handsome he is, much to my mom’s annoyance.

    🙂

    Like

  34. #37 by Ram Pyaari on February 18, 2011 - 1:57 pm

    awww…this is just so sweet 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  35. #38 by liveonimpulse on February 19, 2011 - 6:38 am

    Absolutely Loved the post T !! Awesome.. I share a similar bond with my dad.. and trust me..dads are the best and unsurpassable..

    true 🙂

    Like

  36. #39 by Dido on February 21, 2011 - 4:28 am

    aww such a beautiful post T ….:) We girls will always be daddy’s lil princess 😀

    😀

    Like

  37. #40 by maverickshree on February 24, 2011 - 10:15 am

    I must say even though you are mumma’s daughter you indeed share a great bond with your dad..and that is coming from this beautiful beautiful post…loved it 🙂

    thanks!

    Like

  38. #41 by PNA on February 24, 2011 - 10:42 am

    Dads are the best and I always wanted a husband like my dad… 😀 Wish fulfilled, but Dad still wins… it’s the daugther’s prerogative I say 🙂

    Beautiful is too small a word to describe your writing and feelings T…
    Smiles speak better 🙂 🙂 🙂

    🙂 thanks!

    Like

  39. #42 by Sakhi on February 25, 2011 - 11:56 am

    Yeah… fathers are the best! 🙂

    😀

    Like

  40. #43 by binpin on February 25, 2011 - 5:48 pm

    touching! Daughter’s are daddy’s most beautiful girls. Sometimes they have to make the choice between siding the mommy or the daughter and they take the risk and reach out for their darling girls!

    😀

    Like

  41. #44 by Another Day In Paradise on February 26, 2011 - 11:36 am

    Lovvve the post…and always daddy’s girl:)

    🙂

    Like

  42. #45 by Deboshree on March 2, 2011 - 4:55 am

    Oh my this one was so sweet! I feel that way about my darling Dad too. You made me nostalgic. Beautiful, beautiful post. 😀

    thank you!

    Like

  43. #46 by Krags R on March 6, 2011 - 12:24 pm

    from the most beautiful writer i ve come across so far :p … yupe, i know , i ve not read anything beyond my school books ( not that i read much of them either ) but still … 😀 …

    thank you so much! 🙂 you should start reading though…there are so many seriously awesome writers that I am sure you would enjoy!

    Like

  44. #47 by Mahmud Faisal on March 9, 2011 - 8:30 am

    Titaxy, I am reading this post after 3 weeks! due to busy life, I can’t make time for reading the blogs I have loved always. Writing? far away! … 😦

    It was really a nice post on 14 February….
    best wishes for you TT 🙂

    thanks!

    Like

  45. #48 by Meira on March 11, 2011 - 2:09 am

    Hmm. You’re so right. I’ve had similar discussions with my sis and mom. Mom can never see how we can find her husband more handsome than her father. I can’t see how anyone can find my husband more handsome than my father. Well, will sure update you what my kids have to say on that , someday 😀

    😀 ok i’ll eagerly wait for the update 😀

    Like

  46. #49 by Reema on April 22, 2011 - 12:22 pm

    I guess we all are daddy’s girls 🙂

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

