It’s funny how…

…when you’ve only talked to someone over the phone and/or over email/chat you form a mental image of them, knowingly or unknowingly. And when you get to meet them face to face you are left either with a smile at how close your imagination was to reality or with a chuckle at how so far off the mark you were.

It’s an amusing moment, either way.

  1. #1 by Swaram on April 14, 2011 - 12:03 pm

    LOl! So true 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by celestialrays on April 14, 2011 - 12:20 pm

    It is! 🙂

    Ps: I like all the yellow flowers here 😀

    i knew you would…i was thinking about you as i was uploading it… 🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Bikram on April 14, 2011 - 12:32 pm

    well How did it leave you … Now that would be interesting to know …

    it left me smiling 🙂

    Like

    • #4 by Bikram on April 15, 2011 - 5:45 am

      yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

      🙂

      Like

  4. #5 by Krags R on April 14, 2011 - 1:00 pm

    wonder how all your readers imagine you to look like …
    lemme guess from my side – lean , tall , straight hair , with specs 😛 , one who does not talk much to strangers, etc etc … 😀 ?

    you know what, i am not even going to go there 🙂 you can guess all you want, but i am not going to be saying if you’re right / wrong 🙂

    Like

  5. #7 by Seena on April 14, 2011 - 1:29 pm

    I love your header.Its so refreshing to see it 🙂

    thanks!

    Like

  6. #8 by Nilu on April 14, 2011 - 1:33 pm

    So true!!!!

    🙂

    Like

  7. #9 by Comfy on April 14, 2011 - 3:42 pm

    True that. But the most important question is who are we talking about here. T talking on the phone. 😮 Add to that with someone she has not met. Double 😮 😮

    *now let me run away* 😛

    come back my dear Comfy …the ans is, i was talking about my office colleagues…not so 😮 anymore, eh? 😀

    Like

  8. #10 by Vishwa on April 14, 2011 - 4:17 pm

    awesome header!

    thank you!

    Like

  9. #11 by Psych Babbler on April 14, 2011 - 4:30 pm

    Totally agree! More often than not, I tend to be off the mark! 😛

    me too 😆

    Like

  10. #12 by HappyFeet on April 14, 2011 - 11:04 pm

    So true! 🙂
    I go completely off mark ALWAYS!!

    🙂

    Like

  11. #13 by priya on April 14, 2011 - 11:48 pm

    I so know that feeling! 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  12. #14 by Ashwathy on April 15, 2011 - 1:10 am

    I completely agree 🙂
    You’ve summed it up so aptly! 😀

    🙂

    Like

  13. #15 by Nuttie Natters on April 15, 2011 - 9:18 am

    now that i have started meeting bloggies – i see how true this is 🙂 and now Krags has set me thinking as to how you look 😉

    🙂

    Like

  14. #16 by Pepper on April 15, 2011 - 11:21 am

    I was bursting to ask you who you met.. But I saw your response to Comfy. Office colleague? That is boring 😀 So as an assignment, go and meet more interesting people and then write about your observations, including how right or wrong your imagination was. Okay? 😛

    PS – T, I love the flower on your profile pic, but I sorely miss that flame 😦 ..

    that’s the wrong kind of assignment for me 😛 but if at all something like that happens, i will definitely write about it, ok? 😀

    that pic is on the photoblog…go check 🙂

    Like

    • #17 by Tanishka on April 16, 2011 - 11:23 am

      Even I was going to ask the same question 😀

      😀

      Like

  15. #18 by Writerzblock on April 15, 2011 - 3:48 pm

    Well, most of the time, I have to say my mental image and the real one are quite alike!!!

    nice! 🙂

    Like

  16. #19 by Vidya on April 16, 2011 - 4:58 am

    Aaah there!! Do let me know if you happen to be in Chennai!! I have my own pic of you and let me see if am anywhere close:)

    😀 ok will let you know when I visit 🙂

    Like

  17. #20 by binpin on April 16, 2011 - 7:26 pm

    That is so true! I have been caught in many a moment like that before

    🙂

    Like

  18. #21 by ambulisamma on April 18, 2011 - 1:20 am

    So who was that person you were imagining ?
    If they are very close to your imagination then you should be brilliant in defining ppl.

    a few people i work with 🙂 and no i wasn’t even close to getting it right 😛

    Like

  19. #22 by Renu on April 19, 2011 - 11:04 pm

    so true….one blogger had this totally different picture posted and when I met her it took me some time to come to terms to the difference.

    oh at least you had a picture to go by…all i had was the mental image that i formed 🙂

    welcome here!

    Like

  20. #23 by soulmate on April 20, 2011 - 10:38 am

    Infact its amusing to watch the other person’s expressions as well.. am sure we all form a image of a person if we have spoken to them a number of times before meeting… The way everyone reacts : ‘Oh!! so you are …. ‘

    true 😀

    Like

  21. #24 by Sonia on April 20, 2011 - 11:19 pm

    Omg that just happened to me!! I thought that dude was young and arrogant and he turned out to be bald and highly experienced!

    😆

    Like

  22. #25 by liveonimpulse on April 21, 2011 - 4:21 am

    sure it is T !! Well said 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  23. #26 by chandni on April 25, 2011 - 6:37 am

    so….who did u meet ? 😉

    a few colleagues, chandni 🙂

    Like

  24. #27 by Tan on April 26, 2011 - 10:57 pm

    This is so true….It has happened to me too 🙂
    PS: Liked the new look of your blog 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  25. #28 by ~G on April 27, 2011 - 10:34 pm

    I had commented on this post earlier!! 😦 Where did it disappear?
    Even when you hear someone’s voice when you’ve only been acquainted to his/her online presence is funny no?
    Typically happens with old schoolmates suddenly getting in touch thro FB and then calling up or even bloggers. 😉 Hai na!

    didn’t get any comment from you earlier, G.

    yes yes, with you on the voice part…

    Like

  26. #29 by Nova on May 2, 2011 - 10:56 pm

    It definitely is! And you are either disappointed (if the mental image doesnt match upto the real one) or amused (if it does) 🙂

    disappointment? not really…im just left amused, either way 🙂

    Like

  27. #30 by Reema on May 16, 2011 - 6:46 am

    have met only one till now but I guess it does happen!

    🙂

    Like

  28. #31 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 2:16 pm

    I should do a blog post on this phenomenon. 😀

    you should… soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

