A poem for you?

April.

Along with being the time of the year that brings beautiful spring blossoms it’s also the month that celebrates your birthday.

As always, I spent weeks thinking about what I should get you as a present…and as usual, I couldn’t come up with anything. I was almost sure that I would look you in the eye on your birthday and tell you that I don’t have a gift for you because I couldn’t think of anything. And then I remembered…I remembered the one thing you’ve been wanting for months. So, merrily I hopped to the store to get you your heart’s desire…only to go back there a few days later to return what I had bought. Oh well, that’s not the point. So, since I couldn’t think of anything else to gift you, I asked you what you wanted…you told me that you didn’t need anything.

And then one day as I mentioned to you that I had written a poem wishing someone else on their big day, you teasingly asked me where your birthday poem was; why I didn’t write one for you. A poem? For you? Like I didn’t think of that!

To tell you the truth, I spent days before your birthday, and weeks after, trying to put together lines to wish you in the only way I can properly express myself…in writing. And this time around even words seem inadequate to say all that my heart desired.

What do I write about you? Every time I start, I draw a blank…words won’t suffice, I feel. You sit with me patiently as I complain of back pain and you do everything you can to make me comfortable. You don’t shy away from massaging my legs after we spend the day walking, even though you might be just as tired at that point. You don’t think twice before putting my likes before yours. You sing to me to lift my spirits; you do a Peter Griffin laugh to lighten my mood. You spend all the time you can to help me get over my fears, doubts and mental blocks.

And I can go on and on, the list is long.

The point is that, your action speaks of all the love and respect you have for me and for that, I am so grateful. And on top of what you do, you have a way with words too. Only a few days ago, I came back home after a long day to read the email that you had just sent…and these lines from that email brought me to tears –

With you any result, any outcome is acceptable as the journey to get there has been wonderful; without you no result is good enough, no journey worth it.  With you I have the power to see the beauty within everything; without you any beauty doesn’t please the eyes, doesn’t soothe the mind. It is just not the same when you are not around.

Now tell me, how do I tell you how I felt after reading that? Should I just reply with a ‘same to you’? Because I really don’t know how to articulate my emotions so beautifully. All I can say is that I’ll stand by you; I’ll be there for you.

Wish you a very happy birthday, love.

May you never lose that childlike zest that you have for life. May your future turn out to be exactly the way you are imagining it. May your inherent goodness only grow with time. May your heart find ways to follow your passions without any qualms. May your undying optimism not be affected by any negativity that the world has to offer. May you dream a million dreams and smile a billion smiles.

  1. #1 by celestialrays on April 27, 2011 - 5:39 pm

    🙂
    …and may you feel loved just like the first time 🙂
    Happy birthday 🙂

    thank you! 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by Comfy on April 27, 2011 - 6:02 pm

    You write all this which touches the hearts of people who don’t even know the person you are writing for and then say you don’t know what to write.

    This is beautiful T.

    Happy Birthday to the person who means so much to you and bring such great joy to your life.

    Touchwood.

    thanks for the kind words, Comfy! and thanks for the wishes 🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Nilu on April 27, 2011 - 10:08 pm

    Beautiful words!!! Both yours and the one you wrote this to.

    thank you!

    Like

  4. #4 by Bindhu!! on April 27, 2011 - 11:42 pm

    My God… What a way to start my day!! The love just pours in this post of yours and of course in the mail that you have mentioned.

    May Lord bless you both with the same amount of love and respect life long. Its a wonderful feeling to love and be loved…

    Touchwood

    thank you, Bindhu!

    Like

  5. #5 by Bindhu!! on April 27, 2011 - 11:43 pm

    And let me also add I just luv the way the blog looks. 🙂

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by Krags R on April 27, 2011 - 11:57 pm

    may you two share the same love and care forever 🙂 …

    thank you… 🙂

    Like

  7. #7 by DI on April 28, 2011 - 1:56 am

    Man, what words 🙂 Yours, and said person’s!
    A very happy birthday to ‘the person’ from me too! May you always bring each other as much joy!

    thank you!

    Like

  8. #8 by Bikram on April 28, 2011 - 3:25 am

    Wishing the one you wishing a VERY happy birthday and many many happy returns of the DAY 🙂 god bless

    thank you Bikram

    Like

  9. #9 by Priya on April 28, 2011 - 6:38 am

    Lovely post Titaxy!
    Sometimes its really difficult to decide on a gift. Nothing seems good enough for such a special person 🙂 Isnt it?

    yupe, true 🙂 …thank you 🙂

    Like

  10. #10 by Rang on April 28, 2011 - 9:06 am

    Titaxy, 🙂
    I pray to God that your love grows stronger and sweeter with time.
    Happy birthday to your love from my side too.

    thank you, Rang!

    Like

  11. #11 by Pepper on April 28, 2011 - 11:37 am

    I love the way you bring the emotions alive through your words. Happy happy birthday to the one you love 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  12. #12 by priya on April 28, 2011 - 12:05 pm

    Awwwww again. I can’t stop saying Awwwww for each and every one of your posts 🙂
    I don’t know who you are writing this for, but I could feel the love pouring through. Both from your end and from ‘the person’s’ end. May it always be the same! 🙂
    Wishing ‘the person’ many many happy returns of the day!

    PS: I don’t know if this sounds nosy or cheeky or what but I can’t resist asking this – when are you going to give your readers the inside scoop? 🙂

    thank you so much, priya.

    and no, it doesn’t sound nosy or cheeky or anything…but you want inside scoop about what? 😀 tell me and i shall give it to you 😉

    Like

    • #13 by priya on April 29, 2011 - 6:06 am

      hee hee
      well, you know what! 😉

      do i really? 😉

      Like

  13. #14 by Nuttie Natters on April 28, 2011 - 12:14 pm

    Happy Birthday to the inspiration of this blog and wishing both of u happiness & contentment 🙂

    Thank you, Nuttie!

    Like

  14. #15 by Swaram on April 28, 2011 - 12:19 pm

    I so agree with Comfy and most others here 🙂
    U put a big smile on my place and the bday person’s words – simply beautiful and heart warming 🙂

    Best wishes to both of you 🙂

    thank you so much, swar… 🙂

    Like

  15. #16 by Another Day In Paradise on April 28, 2011 - 12:33 pm

    wow..just wonderful…wishing you and your loved one the very best…

    thank you so very much… 🙂

    Like

  16. #17 by Little Fingers on April 28, 2011 - 2:23 pm

    Ah This is such a wonderful post Titaxy..Happy Birthday to your Love:)

    thank you!

    Like

  17. #18 by Psych Babbler on April 28, 2011 - 7:27 pm

    Happy Birthday to the person referred to as ‘you’! 🙂 It’s a beautiful post T! May the love continue to blossom…

    thank you!

    Like

  18. #19 by The Other Side of Life on April 28, 2011 - 10:43 pm

    A very happy birthday to the person you are wishing! 🙂

    But T, have you seen 500 Days of Summer? Somehow your words instantly reminded me of that! It’s a beautiful movie! You would love it, I am sure! 🙂

    thank you! and no, I haven’t seen the movie…will do though..thanks for the reco 🙂

    Like

  19. #20 by Tan on April 28, 2011 - 11:12 pm

    All the wishes for you and your love 🙂

    thanks Tan

    Like

  20. #21 by anna's mom on April 29, 2011 - 12:36 am

    wow. made me go all mushy and warm inside. i think there’s no thing in the whole world more beautiful than love which is so strong and so right. happy birthday to your special one.

    thank you! welcome!

    Like

  21. #22 by Dew on April 29, 2011 - 3:37 am

    Birthday wishes to the special one T 🙂

    thank you dew

    Like

  22. #23 by Writerzblock on April 29, 2011 - 8:32 am

    Its confirmed, love does turn one into a poet / poetess 🙂 Happy Birthday to your loved one.

    🙂 thank you!

    Like

  23. #24 by anisnest on April 29, 2011 - 9:26 am

    new look, new post, excellent words… lovely T.. Very happy birthday to the person who means sooo much to you..

    thank you! 🙂

    Like

  24. #25 by Saritha on April 30, 2011 - 12:50 pm

    Beautifully written,each word shows how much u r in love.Belated birthday wishes to the person u love 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  25. #26 by Deboshree on May 1, 2011 - 6:43 am

    This was so beautiful… 🙂 Hope the birthday went great!

    thank you!

    Like

  26. #27 by viswajithkn on May 2, 2011 - 12:10 am

    happy birthday to the said person and what a wonderful write up…:)

    thank you, viswa 🙂

    Like

  27. #28 by Dido on May 2, 2011 - 4:50 am

    Ohhh myy… m late :((( sowwie sowwie… Happy birthday T :):):) hope u had a rocking one 🙂

    not my birthday, Dido. thanks for the wishes though 🙂

    Like

  28. #29 by Vidya on May 2, 2011 - 6:11 am

    There! You have said it! As beautiful as those really beautiful lines written to you:) Best Wishes always!

    thank you!

    Like

  29. #30 by Pixie on May 2, 2011 - 9:59 am

    That was just beautiful T! 🙂

    Happy Belated birthday!

    nice template btw! 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  30. #31 by liveonimpulse on May 3, 2011 - 12:10 am

    Many happy returns of the day T..and you write beautifully !

    thank you!

    Like

  31. #32 by Reema on May 16, 2011 - 6:43 am

    aww such a beautiful post!!

    thanks!

    Like

  32. #33 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 2:22 pm

    You are a lady, in every sense of the word.

    thank you? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

