A summer evening walk…

Girls wearing pretty summer skirts and dresses…I wonder where each of them shop.

_______________

Cute guys on their evening run…a big sigh.

_______________

Babies / Kids all around…I wonder what goes on in the minds of those sweet little babies. Why is it that sometimes smile at a stranger waving at them while crying out loud at other times? Is it because they see a loved one’s face in some people and not others? I try to recall anything from my childhood…say when I was four or five years old. Nothing comes to mind. Was I the naughty kind or the silent kind? I am inclined towards the latter, but maybe I should ask Amma tomorrow, just to make sure.

_______________

A couple fighting in the public – the guy uses foul language, is very loud, and he refuses to let go of the grip he has on the girl. A car stops in the light and the driver yells out at the guy to let go of her; he shouts out that he’ll make a call to the police if he doesn’t do so. The guy lets go of the girl and starts shouting at the driver and asks him to mind his own business. They go back and forth and by that time the girls starts walking away. The signal turns green and the driver leaves, knowing that the girl is not looking back. The guy catches up with her and now he seems calms, at least acts as if he is. We wait for a couple of minutes to make sure he isn’t starting the drama all over again. Others start staring also. When we are sure that someone or the other will call for help in case things are to get out of control again (given that it was a busy intersection), we resume our walk…I wonder what their problem is. I hope the girl is brave enough to walk away…if he is this abusive in public, who knows what happens behind closed doors.

During our return along the same route after a couple of hours, we notice that the girl is sitting on one of the park benches. She is alone…I wonder how things ended. For a second there, I am sad to see her alone. But then, I am glad. I hope she called it off. I hope that the moonlight calms her heart and mind, and that she finds herself in a better place as the sun rises tomorrow morning.

_______________

An Indian aunty with her Henna Tattoo stall set up in the corner of a busy street – her eyes gleam and her lips widen to a happy smile as she spots a familiar face in S, and she welcomes her with a cheery “Hello beta.” “Why are you set up here? What happened to your store down the street?” S inquires. “Oh, the streets gets busy during summer time; which means I can attract more customers here compared to sitting in the store waiting for someone to stop by” she tells us. Her smile starts to disappear slowly as we bid goodbyes. She requests for referrals in case anyone is looking to get Henna Tattoos…I wonder what it is that makes her sit here in the corner of the street under the scorching sun this late in the evening. I hope she has a loving family that she goes back to after this long tiring day. I wonder if she does this out of necessity or passion. I hope that it’s the latter.

_______________

Two girls strolling the streets of Boston for more than two hours. They discuss about life, relationships, kids, adoption, family and friends, future plans, dreams and desires, etc. as they walk from the Park to a salon to a jewelery shop to a store called ‘Condom World’ (curiosity!) to an ice cream parlor, to the Park again, and then finally to the place they call home…I wonder what people thought of them us; if at all anyone noticed us.

, , ,

  1. #1 by pixie on June 8, 2011 - 11:43 pm

    I hope that girl found the courage to walk away too…
    I also wonder about the pretty skirts I see girls wearing here! 🙂

    I’m sure someone would have noticed how happy the 2 girls looked walking all around town! 🙂 Touchwood and hugs!!
    Happy Summer! 🙂

    Thanks! Happy Summer to you too, Pix. 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by Tan on June 9, 2011 - 12:06 am

    Scenes that you watch every day put up very beautifully….totally loved this 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  3. #3 by Psych Babbler on June 9, 2011 - 12:17 am

    Sounds like a lovely walk…it’s great to observe so many things, isn’t it? 🙂 And do tell…what did you end up finding in Condom World??? Oh and couples fighting in public…you just know it’s a zillion times worse in private, don’t you? Saw an incident like that some years ago while waiting for a bus…

    lol, you are curious too, aren’t you? we weren’t looking for anything in specific…we just wanted to see what it was all about…we were in there for a few seconds, went around the store once and came out 😀

    and yeah, seriously…if a person can be so hurtful to his/her partner in public, then it does make one wonder what happens in private…

    Like

  4. #4 by Priya on June 9, 2011 - 1:41 am

    Nice observations and thoughts 🙂 Like you said..i too hope that the girl has called off the abusive relationship. And that the lady is doing the work out of passion ..
    About you girls..must say you are lucky to have each other to share so much 😀

    🙂

    Like

  5. #5 by liveonimpulse on June 9, 2011 - 1:52 am

    like the way you described the intricate details T 🙂

    Thanks!

    Like

  6. #6 by Ashwathy on June 9, 2011 - 3:44 am

    I so loved this post 🙂
    Felt as if you had taken a leaf out of my life …..
    and I m glad to know I m not the only one who has these afterthoughts about the sights and scenes I see!

    🙂 thanks

    Like

  7. #7 by Vidya on June 9, 2011 - 5:13 am

    Wow! so much for an evening.. life is happening:) nice post.

    yupe, life sure is happening 😀

    Like

  8. #8 by BlueMist on June 9, 2011 - 6:07 am

    I know one of them for sure. and she is most sweetest soul I have ever met ( okay not met yet !) 😛
    For some unknown reason I loved this post 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  9. #9 by BlueMist on June 9, 2011 - 6:08 am

    and I don’t seem to find Like Button 😦

    I think I disabled that long ago 😛

    Like

  10. #10 by Swaram on June 9, 2011 - 6:15 am

    Cn say u had a wonderful time doing all that 🙂 I so wanna take a day off like that soon 🙂

    I hope that girl is better too!

    we sure did have a wonderful time, Swar…

    Like

  11. #11 by Bikram on June 9, 2011 - 6:43 am

    Interesting walk you had ..
    sad about the man and girl incident and BRAVO to the driver who shouted now thats really good not many do it ..

    hmmm dont know if people notice but it was good that u noticed a few things 🙂

    yupe, it was very brave of the driver to speak up like that…

    Like

  12. #12 by Comfy on June 9, 2011 - 8:38 am

    Me too..me too. I want to know where all they shop.

    Am I too old to sigh at hot guys? Me thinks not 😀

    I was a nice nice happy kid. Did not get in to too much trouble but for the times I fell from the roof or came under a car or thrown over by a motorcycle or kicked by a camel. errr ok I will stop.

    I really hope the girl finds the strength to break away from such a relationship and stays away.

    Would love it so that it is for passion but somehow doubt that.

    Girls wanted to know where these 2 girls got their dresses from. Guys were wondering if those two girls were single and if they stood a chance. 😀

    you too old? come on, who are you kidding! when we meet, we will go take a stroll around some park and sigh at hot guys, ok?

    Comfy, you seem to have had a very happening childhood. One of these days you need to blog about it or at least share those adventurous stories with me, ok?

    and lol @ that last line of yours 😀

    Like

  13. #13 by celestialrays on June 9, 2011 - 9:10 am

    I think they all noticed you and here’s what I think they must have thought-

    Pretty dressed girl- I wonder where these two bought their pretty clothes from…(we all think like that, don’t we?)

    Running cute guy- Woah! THIS is why treadmill is a waste. Where else can I check out cute women checking me out 😉

    Baby- gigi gugu gaga

    Sad girl- I wish my girlfriend was here

    Indian aunty – Thought of a neice, daughter or just herself when she was your age- carefree and happy.

    what a sweet comment this is! 😀

    Like

  14. #14 by anisnest on June 9, 2011 - 9:15 am

    beautiful narration of a nice evening walk… could visualize every point there and feel that I have taken that walk myself…
    I love sitting on the sidewalk of a busy street/intersection and watch people around.. I can do it for hours..

    thanks!

    Like

  15. #15 by Nuttie Natters on June 9, 2011 - 12:22 pm

    Loved your walk…i seem to remember a morning walk which you had written about sometime last year…:-)

    Pretty dresses…of course…do let us know if u find out 🙂

    morning walk and me? really? i don’t remember 🙂

    Like

  16. #16 by ironicallyyours on June 9, 2011 - 1:42 pm

    Wow! Amazing! U have taken a leaf out of my memory:-) And I love the way you write:)

    🙂 Thank you. And Welcome!

    Like

  17. #17 by Little Fingers on June 9, 2011 - 2:25 pm

    my wardrobe is so outdated, so I see people wearing nice skirts everywhere and I sigh

    I hope the girl walks away from such abusive relation..

    Girly talk its been ages I did..looks like I am getting old to have such conversations 🙂

    no one is ever too old to have such conversations…you just need to find time 🙂

    Like

  18. #18 by avymom on June 9, 2011 - 3:17 pm

    Lovely!! I always wonder about the skirts too, never much about other clothing, just the skirts and maybe shoes…

    What you described about Boston, so capitvating….wish I can stroll down too…

    Boston is a very beautiful city! 🙂

    Like

  19. #19 by Deboshree on June 10, 2011 - 12:25 am

    Like the walk of life your evening walk was… 🙂 Super post.

    thanks!

    Like

  20. #20 by The Girl Next Door on June 10, 2011 - 6:46 am

    Loved this post. Beautifully narrated snippets from everyday life. 🙂

    thanks!

    Like

  21. #21 by blommer22 on June 12, 2011 - 9:06 pm

    such a walk with many things going around. 🙂

    😀

    Like

  22. #22 by Reema on July 4, 2011 - 1:17 pm

    nothing like a long “walk the talk” with a BFF 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  23. #23 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 2:52 pm

    Really loved this post. All positive hopes in your writing.

    thanks matt

    Like

Leave a Reply

