“Tell me all about the mountains”…

…a friend asked when she called me yesterday. I told her bits and pieces about what I did last weekend, but even as I was talking I knew for sure that my words didn’t really do much justice to what I really wanted to say. I know I am not too good at expressing / describing things verbally, and I think I do a little better if I write it down and hence, this post…

_____________________

Most of my summer weekends (along with a few of spring and fall weekends) are spent in the woods – taking in all the best things that Mother Nature has to offer. The actual weekend planning starts sometime late Friday morning – not much planning really, just a decision as to where to go. Once that is finalized, rest all falls in place without sticking to any particular schedule. All that we need – tent, sleeping bags, etc – are usually kept in the car; so it doesn’t take us a lot of time to get ready to leave. We start our drive on Friday evenings mostly (journey lasts anywhere between an hour or two to six or seven hours). Once in the car, the weekend beings…

_____________________

Camping – what’s there not to like about this experience? Away from the hustle bustle of the city; no phone or internet to distract us; a home away from home that offers nothing but peace. Into the woods, calm and quiet, we take sometime to breathe in fresh air and then start the process of getting the tent up and ready – one of the most fun things to do. Even if, at times, I don’t really help out, I still sit back and enjoy by watching it get done. What is not to love about putting together what will be my home for the next few nights?

Sometimes we end up not getting a spot in the campground due to our tardiness. In times like those, we park the car in a nearby lot, make space and fall asleep in the car. We’ve done this a few times…it has its own charm and I’ve come to enjoy every bit of this experience too.

_____________________

Hiking – something I find very therapeutic. Walking into the jungle leaving behind all the stress – can’t ask for more! Even if I don’t leave behind my worries, the atmosphere is just so tranquil that I don’t get to focus on anything but the beauty that surrounds.

As we start the hike, I have all the energy in me to face what may lie ahead. I marvel at the colorful flowers, wild berries and mushrooms, lush trees, cool breeze and everything else that crosses our path. But eventually, I start to huff and puff. Sometimes, I complain about the steep climb and other times, I take more breaks than necessary. Sometimes, I come to the verge of wanting to turn back and other times, I doubt if I’ll be able to pull it off. Yet, I keep going. For I know that what awaits will be worth every step I took to reach there.

Perhaps a mesmerizing view of mountain ranges. Or a scene of a beautiful lake down in the valley. Perhaps a waterfall gushing down to wash away the beads of sweat on my face. Or the sight of mist rising to unveil the mystery that it covers. Be what it may, the splendor that is Nature never ceases to amaze!

_____________________

There are so many other little things that happen, making every one of these trips so similar, yet to different from one another –

If one night we sleep under the sky with a bright moon and glittering stars spread across, then there’s another night equally captivating with the sky only revealing dark clouds that sing lullaby through their raindrops. If there’s a day when the sun spreads love by gracing us with periods hot enough to be able to swim in the beach, then there’s another day just as pleasant when we get to see the sun playing peek-a-boo. If there’s a morning when the birds chirp non-stop acting as our sweet wake up call, then there’s another morning when the woodpecker decides it’s his turn to be a loud alarm. If there’s an afternoon where we spend time in the tent reading or sleeping to the sound of thunders, then there’s another afternoon that is equally relaxing as we spend time walking in the woods. If there’s an evening spent sitting by the campfire laughing incessantly about some random incident, then there’s an evening that is just as much fun as we sit on the shore listening to the music of waves hitting the rocks while we reminisce the past or dream about the future.

_____________________

No wonder we love doing it over and over, one weekend after another!

,

  1. #1 by Comfy on July 8, 2011 - 5:14 pm

    Oh T, it has been soooo long since we did a good proper camping trip. And I want to soooo bad. You take me back to those times and how much fun where they.

    Next year, that is what I keep telling myself. Next year I will go camping again. 🙂

    😀 next year it is

    Like

  2. #2 by celestialrays on July 8, 2011 - 5:52 pm

    Well done! You have successfully tempted me enough. I am coming there and you are taking me camping 😀

    😀 done!

    Like

  3. #3 by Pixie on July 8, 2011 - 7:27 pm

    We are doing a bit of hiking too and we love it! 😀
    The parks and the trails here are lovely! 🙂

    they are, aren’t they 🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by Makk on July 9, 2011 - 1:43 am

    Lucky Gal!

    Keep Smiling.

    🙂

    Like

  5. #5 by kragsr on July 9, 2011 - 5:10 am

    beautiful. and peaceful :).

    yupe

    Like

  6. #6 by anisnest on July 9, 2011 - 11:47 am

    cool summer.. 🙂

    sure is…

    Like

  7. #7 by Psych Babbler on July 9, 2011 - 6:20 pm

    Y’know, I’ve never been camping! I really want to though. I love how you spend summer…filled with the beauty of nature.

    🙂

    Like

  8. #8 by Ram Pyaari on July 10, 2011 - 4:11 pm

    i was smiling all through out your post 🙂 gave me a lovely feeling to read all that 🙂

    😀

    Like

  9. #9 by liveonimpulse on July 12, 2011 - 2:50 am

    Wow amazing description T..nothing can be as calming , mesmerizing and soothing as the mountains ..loved your post

    true 🙂

    Like

  10. #10 by Little Fingers on July 12, 2011 - 1:17 pm

    Oh I miss my backpacking days..I feel nostalgic reading this post 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  11. #11 by Tharani on July 13, 2011 - 1:50 am

    Your post make me feel to pack my bag and leave to the mountains right away ..

    🙂

    Like

  12. #12 by RS on July 13, 2011 - 7:42 am

    Lovely description. Only wish you had added pictures…
    I dont think Im a camping person – I need a bed at night,walls around me (Im scared of the wild!) and clean loos! So all day I love to go out but want to come back to these basics…

    pics – most of my WW pics are from such trips. will try to add some to the photoblog someday 🙂

    Like

  13. #13 by Tan on July 14, 2011 - 12:14 am

    I have never done camping 😦 but, its something which I have wanted to do…Your camping experience sounds very tempting 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  14. #14 by The Girl Next Door on July 14, 2011 - 4:28 am

    Beautiful beautiful post 🙂
    It’s a pity we have never done any real camping.. Should try it out sometime. Wish I had a group of friends who I could go out on camps with.. A big group would be so much better as opposed to just me and OH. 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  15. #15 by Tanz on July 15, 2011 - 12:36 am

    Loved the way you’ve described everything about the ‘great outdoors’.I ve never been camping or hiking or trekking for that matter.But for once,after reading this post I feel inclined to try it sometime.Maybe I will,now 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  16. #16 by justaroundme on July 15, 2011 - 3:06 pm

    I think you are making the best use of summertime by getting close to nature, every weekend ? that’s really cool !…

    🙂

    Like

  17. #17 by Priya on July 18, 2011 - 7:15 am

    Lovely post! Lucky girl you 🙂 Enjoy!!

    🙂

    Like

  18. #18 by Dew on July 18, 2011 - 12:00 pm

    Oh..I love the mountains… I can spend my time simply gazing at them.

    🙂

    Like

  19. #19 by desimom on July 18, 2011 - 4:02 pm

    I have never slept in a tent 😦
    That’s because I am so scared of the dark 😦

    🙂

    Like

  20. #20 by Pepper on July 19, 2011 - 12:34 pm

    Perfect, perfect, perfect! There are only 2 spoilers for me where this is concerned 1) I have a very low tolerance to cold.. so I feel so uncomfortable sleeping outdoors if the weather is not good, it almost makes me sick 2) If the hike/trek is too long and strenuous then, then my fitness level comes into the picture, which is abysmal .. But I feel such envy when I hear or read about such things.. You’ve inspired me enough work over my limitations and try going again.. 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  21. #21 by Deboshree on July 21, 2011 - 11:35 am

    It’s been a while since I camped or hiked. You brought back some memories. 😀

    🙂

    Like

  22. #22 by Bikram on July 21, 2011 - 11:51 am

    I want to do all that, I use to do it every year till last year but things have changed life has become too busy .. this and that Dont get time now .. May we all bloggers should organise a big meet up and go for a hiking or camping trip – trek

    🙂

    Like

  23. #23 by alwayshappykya on July 21, 2011 - 1:49 pm

    Camping every ( almost) weekend? Wow, you guys are too cool ! 🙂

    We managed to go 2 times this summer and another 2 are in the pipeline. Cannot wait for those, especially after this beautiful summary of your experiences.

    True, words cannot do justice when we try to explain verbally. Happens to me too. But this post puts it wonderfully 🙂

    enjoy the 2 trips that are coming up 🙂

    Like

  24. #24 by avymom on July 22, 2011 - 4:17 pm

    Mountains are the most calming things and glad you enjoy them the way it should be!

    🙂

    Like

  25. #25 by chandni on July 26, 2011 - 6:19 am

    wow! u have such a way with words darling!

    thank you!

    Like

  26. #26 by sm on July 26, 2011 - 9:48 am

    hiking helps

    sure does

    Like

  27. #27 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 4:24 pm

    Now you sound more like Lara Croft hiking steep hills and camping and all. 😀 😀

    You have an interesting routine. Enjoy. 😀

    thank you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

