The end of an era

Back when I was in school the library used to be my second home. Say, I was done with classes for the day and had time to spare, or I was working on an assignment / project, or I was studying for a test, or I just wanted to rest for a while – there was only one place I would go to – the library. My home away from home; my sanctuary.

Then came the time to graduate and to move to a new place, new job. The first few months here, I spent most of the time at work trying to get used to it all. And once I was settled in comfortably, I found myself with so much spare time in the evenings and started missing the library back in school. As I was debating whether or not to go visit the public library nearby, the distant dream of one day having a good collection of books of my own started knocking on my heart’s door more frequently. Now, I could afford to spend on books that weren’t textbooks and I thought why not.

And that’s when I became a regular at the Borders store near work.

Since then, so much time I’ve spent in the company of books there! And how attached I’ve gotten to that place because it holds so many memories – of the time I took my sister there and she picked book after book all the while telling me it would be the last, but still couldn’t stop; of those weekends I studying for the test while K sat next to me and passed time with a good book in hand; of the evenings K spent preparing for interviews while I sat there lost in a world that the story took me to; of those days when we would meet there after work, sit upstairs at the store and just watch people walk by down in the streets – people rushing home after work, tourists stopping here and there to take in what the city has to offer, kids chasing pigeons, couples, hand in hand, smiling for photos; and of all those afternoons and evenings that I have spent there alone – wandering around different sections of the store, browsing a page or two of a book here and there, sitting near the window and reading a novel, digging through coupons to buy the books I want – good times!

I’ve made Borders a part of my life only in the past few years and I was heartbroken when I heard the news of all stores across the country closing. What must they be feeling – the ones who’ve seen the franchise grow alongside them; the ones who’ve spent time with their children and then their grandchildren in the stores seeing the generations after theirs grow just as fond of the written words as they are; the ones who’ve made it part of their routine to go to the bookstore to meet friends or family to spend time every now and then to appreciate the world of books, be it in the form of discussing favorite reads or recommending good books or buying a bestseller; and most of all, the ones who’ve spent years  working for the company, the devoted employees.

This post might sound like an exaggeration to many, but to me it’s just the way I feel – deeply sad to know that one of my safe havens would be no more in a matter of months. Of course there are other bookstores around and I am sure I will come to like those too, but that’s a different thing altogether. For now all I know is that I’ll miss the comfort that comes from being in a place that always brings a smile, the memories that are written all over the walls, the familiar faces that I get to see every time I walk into those doors, and those isles that I’ve strolled through so many times or those shelves that I’ve skimmed through week after week.

Borders – you’ll be missed immensely by me and so many others. Thank you for all these years of service. My best wishes to all your employees.

, ,

  1. #1 by danielledawes on July 28, 2011 - 12:50 pm

    I was devastated by the news as well! I used to love wandering around, flicking through books, sometimes taking a new baby home. So sad. Time to find a new place to cherish books.

    sad indeed 😦

    Like

  2. #2 by Anonymous on July 28, 2011 - 1:58 pm

    I agree! It was a rude shock to me! I still deny it happened….

    😦

    Like

  3. #3 by anisnest on July 28, 2011 - 3:00 pm

    that’s very sad indeed.. hope you will soon like the other stores…

    🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by Psych Babbler on July 28, 2011 - 9:06 pm

    I totally know what you mean. Even though the nearest Borders for me was a 40 minute drive, I enjoyed going there and spending an entire afternoon of a weekend. It’s such a shame about their stores…

    it is 😦

    Like

  5. #5 by Ruchira on July 29, 2011 - 1:31 am

    I really don’t know much about borders since I live in India but as a fellow book lover I so understand your feelings. Bookshops and libraries are one of my favorite haunts ….

    😦

    Like

  6. #6 by Nuttie Natters on July 29, 2011 - 3:14 am

    Awww poor u…i can imagine what u feel like. When the owner of one of the book shops i used to visit in college passed on, i remember i actually felt quite miserable 😦

    😦

    Like

  7. #7 by justaroundme on July 29, 2011 - 9:32 am

    Ha, they are closing all the stores ? that is bad.We had a local bookstore and they closed long time back.They had a wonderful gifts for kids of all ages and I loved that place, I can understand …

    yupe…closing all stores 😦

    Like

  8. #8 by kragsr on July 29, 2011 - 2:36 pm

    be it just a place or a person, missing the ones we love(d) – the ones which form(ed) a part of our lives ( and to some extent ourselves) , is always tough.

    i know 😦

    Like

  9. #9 by Pixie on July 30, 2011 - 2:07 am

    I agree! it was the book stroe I visited here and they have Seattle Coffee, which was really good too!
    Borders will be missed!

    😦

    Like

    • #10 by Pixie on July 30, 2011 - 2:08 am

      errr.. Had Seattle Coffee!! Sighhhhh

      🙂

      Like

  10. #11 by Vidya on August 2, 2011 - 8:24 am

    Being in India, I have not known Borders.. but I would have definitely felt the same too about their closing down..

    😦

    Like

  11. #12 by Tan on August 2, 2011 - 10:50 am

    Too bad that it has to be closed down…. Hope you find another place and I feel you would like the change 🙂

    I have tagged you. Please visit http://tanuspeaksonline.blogspot.com/2011/08/my-reading-secrets-tagged.html

    thank you…will try and do it sometime 🙂

    Like

  12. #13 by Sonia on August 3, 2011 - 12:45 pm

    I know exactly how you feel. I was so shocked too!! I walked around the store in tears…It used to be my safe haven, every time I was upset or feeling low, that is where I would head to, buy a coffee and walk around looking and buying books :(((

    😦

    Like

  13. #14 by viswajithkn on August 3, 2011 - 1:06 pm

    to me there is nothing like the company of a good book or tv and playstation 3. But I prefer Barnes and Noble and hope it keeps making profits for long…:P

    there was never a barnes and nobles near where i live, so i haven’t been to that store a lot, maybe once or twice here and there…and somehow, that place didn’t feel as friendly as borders does. 🙂

    Like

  14. #15 by RS on August 4, 2011 - 4:46 am

    Oh! sad 😦 I remember days when Hubby used to wait for me at Borders that bordered our community when we stayed there – and I can recollect him sittingthere with his starbucks coffee and a book…

    Very disappointing that complete chains of book stores are closing down! :-O Will there be a time when we can only read online? What about the feel of turning the pages? 😦

    sigh. i dread the time when i’ll only have the option to read online. as such, i spend all day long sitting in front of a comp..i need a gateaway in form of books, not ebooks, no 😦

    Like

  15. #16 by bedazzled on August 4, 2011 - 2:02 pm

    Though I’ve been to a border store just once,I hear you.. If a bookstore in the city I lived in closed I would probably feel the same way.

    i hope that never happens… 🙂

    Like

  16. #17 by liveonimpulse on August 5, 2011 - 3:18 am

    oh too bad T !!

    😦

    Like

  17. #18 by Dew on August 5, 2011 - 4:37 am

    Oh.. i can understand…book stores…libraries are my fave places too.. it must be truly upsetting

    it is 😦

    Like

  18. #19 by My Life Chronicles on August 8, 2011 - 9:23 am

    Love the expression “the memories that are written all over the walls.” Says a lot about the fond memories you still cherish!

    🙂 welcome here!

    Like

  19. #20 by Deboshree on August 11, 2011 - 6:40 am

    Sounds sad to me. Though I don’t really know about this chain of stores, but one of my favourite book stores shut shop a week or so ago and I can understand just how it feels.

    😦

    Like

  20. #21 by Achu on August 17, 2011 - 10:43 am

    where are you T??
    Long time, no post? Hope all is well…

    sorry…just busy with work…everything else is fine 🙂 thank you!

    Like

  21. #22 by Avada Kedavra on August 23, 2011 - 1:07 am

    Oh even I have many memories associated with Borders. It reminds me of so many things. I was shocked and felt really sad seeing an email from them saying they are closing down 😦 😦 Probably I will make a post on this.

    😦

    Like

  22. #23 by nidhi on August 23, 2011 - 5:33 am

    i enjoyed it whenever i was visiting my sis

    🙂 welcome!

    Like

  23. #24 by Avada Kedavra on August 26, 2011 - 2:43 am

    Titaxy, check my post on Borders in my blog.

    🙂 read it

    Like

  24. #25 by Meera on June 25, 2012 - 2:31 pm

    Felt pretty bad about the Borders closing, B&N took over their locations, though and the store layout didn’t change much, so that helped assuage the pain a little bit. In my case, i think I’d sit and bawl if the local Powell’s store closed down. They have the most amazing used books collection and I shop in their used books section more than anywhere else since I love the smell of old books. I hope you’re able to find a new safe haven.

    that is nice! I hope to find a bookshop like that too, someday. welcome, Meera.

    Like

  25. #26 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 4:20 pm

    Did you find an alternate bookshop Tixie ?

    well, yeah, there’s a couple around here. 🙂

    Like

  1. Pretty bad week | Stung by the splendor of a crazy thought
  2. Pretty bad week | Bookish Muggle

Leave a Reply

