The Home that was and the Home that is

It’s been two months now since I left beloved Boston.

 Given Boston was home to me in every sense;  given the amount of tears I shed at the thought of leaving that place; given the time I spent thinking of how poetic a city I was saying goodbye to –  I should say that I’ve adapted well to the new home.

BUT… I miss Boston.

I miss the coffee shops we frequented. There was this one particular café where one of the waiters was generous enough to smile at most people but me. Every time we went there, I would make sure I made eye contact with him as many times as possible just so I can smile at him and wait for him to reciprocate. (No, he was not a handsome young man I was determined to flirt with; I usually smile at anyone I make eye contact with and I like it when the other person responds). I kept trying, determined not to give up, all the while entertaining K with my failed attempts. Everyone has a breaking point and it was only a matter time before one of us reached ours. One fine evening, we entered the café, ordered the usual, settled down in our seats and I looked around so I can start my most favorite activity – terrorizing that poor soul, as K would put it.  I spotted him. I smiled. And lo and behold, his lips slightly curled into a smile! From that day on our secret game saw its end and he stuck to that grin. He never properly smiled at me, but the shy grin that escaped, the one that he could no longer keep hidden was prize enough. Had I met him before leaving, I don’t know if I would’ve smiled. How do you smile a smile that says goodbye? It so happened though that the last few times we were there, he was not around. And I never got to see how I would have bid him farewell.

I miss the long walks. The numerous times I’ve walked home after work instead of taking the train just because… Trying hard not to sway to the tune of the powerful seaside wind. Reading a book as I walked, but then switching to listening to songs as the sun went down. Watching the full moon rise behind the horizon. Taking a stroll along the riverside; sitting on the bench and dipping toes into the Charles to check how cold the water was. Walking around in Cambridge – the sights, the sounds, the people!

I miss Boston Commons. How much entertainment the squirrels there provided! The skating rink where children gathered around in summer to splash in the water – little feet running around, or trying to swim. Going through the Public Gardens; stopping every few seconds to take in the colors of all the flowers in the spring or to listen to a street musician performing with his heart and soul.

I miss taking the T. I miss aimlessly strolling in the downtown area during lunch hour. I miss the market where I bought flowers from all summer. I miss my favorite restaurants. I miss the bookshops. I miss the evening walks through Newbury St. I miss the museums and the aquarium. I miss going to the North End during the weekends and being amazed at how much traffic that one bakery got. I miss the movie theater. I miss…

I miss Boston. BUT…

Life in the new home has its own beauty and charm.

I wake up every morning to a smile that brightens my day. The other thing that invariably adds color to my day is the greenery…both around the office and home. Birds chirping, crickets creaking, deers and rabbits sharing the trails, fireflies lighting up all around…a nature lover’s paradise! And then there are the thunderstorms – they have gained a special spot in my heart, I tell you. I’ve always loved rain – aahhh, the scent of earth drenched in rain!   And, it looks like, thunderstorms double the delight, even though the noise scares me to no end.

Lying on the hammock, taking in the crisp scent of pouring rain, reading a book and running to find company as soon as I hear a big thunder crash – all this while the other person is busy performing culinary experiments – Bliss! And that is exactly what life has been the past couple of months. Touchwood.

(Oh, did I mention, we have been frequenting one of the best coffee shops here and I’ve found a barista at that café here who refuses to smile? (although this person, I believe, doesn’t smile at anyone).  Let the game begin!)

, , ,

  1. #1 by Psych Babbler on August 3, 2012 - 5:10 pm

    It would be hard to move from a place you know as home to a new city. But yes, at the same time, the new city could offer a lot of things and new places to explore. Ever so often, I wonder if I should move completely. But in my case, it’d be moving on my own and I’m not so certain about that. So happy to see you back blogging T! Hope it continues…

    yes, moving is hard, but like you said, the new experience is fun and exciting too. not sure if I would’ve moved had it been all on my own though. thanks, PB!

    Like

  2. #2 by Swaram on August 3, 2012 - 6:00 pm

    U actually made me visualize both the places through this lovely post 🙂 Hugss!
    And do update us on the smiling front 😛

    will keep you posted 🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Gunjan on August 4, 2012 - 3:48 am

    Nice post Titaxy…I’ve never been to Boston but I liked it instantly after reading your post. 🙂 Where is this lovely new place that you’ve described btw?

    The new place – I am sure you’ve been here…I’ve moved to NC, G.

    Like

  4. #4 by Scribby on August 4, 2012 - 7:45 am

    lol @ the game 🙂 and I’m glad you found a new person to begin your game 😉

    Good luck at your new place T 🙂 I’m sure this new home will be full of happiness and a new life 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  5. #5 by pixie on August 4, 2012 - 1:15 pm

    🙂
    Wishing you loads of happiness and plenty of beauitful memories at your new place 🙂

    thank you, pix!

    Like

  6. #6 by lipsticksandlovestories on August 5, 2012 - 1:18 am

    Leaving behind a city seems such a sad affair. But you get to romance a new one, explore the city, get to know its nerves, wander aimlessly, experience all that it has to offer you. Good luck.

    so true! thanks!

    Like

  7. #7 by viswajithkn on August 5, 2012 - 11:34 am

    ahaa…this is the blog everyone liked. not the one where everyone visited and found no updates…

    😀 thank you!

    Like

  8. #8 by Bikramjit Singh Mann on August 5, 2012 - 1:06 pm

    🙂 you said it right in the last line let the games begin .. take care and all the best in the new place …

    thank you Bikram!

    Like

  9. #9 by Achu on August 6, 2012 - 1:12 am

    awww.. you seem home sick. But it’s natural, I know..
    You’ve described the places so beautifully. The new place sounds amazing too. Hope you have great time in it.
    Now it’s time to make the new person smile. With your beautiful smile, I am sure it won’t take long. 🙂

    aren’t you sweet! thanks 🙂

    Like

  10. #10 by My Era on August 6, 2012 - 2:13 am

    Same pinch T…. I too get uncomfortable if people don’t reciprocate my smile for just like you I smile at everyone who makes an eye contact with me 🙂
    Am so glad that the man at the cafe in Boston finally smiled back to you. am sure in no time this person in the new city too will begin smiling 😀
    Hope you have a fantastic time in your new home 🙂
    Loved the post!

    what’s with people not smiling back? sigh.

    thank you, ME!

    Like

  11. #11 by Priya on August 6, 2012 - 8:06 am

    Oh yeah! let the game begin T 😉

    Indeed looks like a perfect life to enjoy and savour the beauty! Have fun!!

    thank you! 🙂

    Like

  12. #12 by Kragsr on August 6, 2012 - 1:03 pm

    Hope you are loving all the new things T. Gods Bless :).

    yes I am, thank you 🙂

    Like

  13. #13 by kismitoffeebar on August 7, 2012 - 11:03 am

    Hehe that game sounds very familiar and I play it all the time in trains and cafes, instantly loving people who reciprocate,if toothless, better still 🙂
    I really wish you a fabulous time in the current place 🙂 stay blessed !!!!!!

    ahh, the toothless ones, aren’t they the best? 😉 thank you! 🙂

    Like

  14. #14 by The Girl Next Door on August 7, 2012 - 11:21 am

    Loved the post. Your descriptions made me visualise both places in my mind’s eye. 🙂

    So, the game begins again? Keep us updated on how it goes, Titaxy! 🙂

    PS: If you don’t mind my asking, where do you stay now?

    will sure keep all updated 😀 I’ve moved to North Carolina.

    Like

  15. #15 by justaroundme on August 8, 2012 - 12:40 pm

    oh…missing the old place..aww I get that…enjoy NC..

    Hey, did you get my mail ?

    thanks! and no, I didn’t get any mail…and i usually check spam too, nothing there either. try resending please? or use the contact page on the blog.

    Like

  16. #16 by justaroundme@gmail.com on August 8, 2012 - 10:09 pm

    I have sent you an email to titaxy@gmail.com

    thank you. will check and respond.

    Like

  17. #17 by Jas on August 9, 2012 - 4:06 pm

    Again the game of smiles 🙂 I hope this one also breaks and at least curls his lips a little 🙂 Loved this post.

    that’s my hope too 🙂 thank you!

    Like

  18. #18 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 4:41 pm

    Hehe! Did any of the attempts to make him smile succeed? 😀

    Wishing you all the happiness in the world. Now be nice and send some back 😀

    not yet. but i’ll keep trying 🙂

    thank you so much, Matt. and i would be more than happy to share all the happiness 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

