The past two months…

…have seen a lot of changes.

First, there was the move from Boston. While the fact that I would be leaving that city didn’t make me cheerful, the part about our journey to our new home made me a jolly bird. Given my paranoia of flying, given our love for traveling by trains and given that neither of us had been long distance by train in this country, it was decided that that was the way to go. With that taken care of, my excitement saw no bounds… every time I pictured my upcoming journey I couldn’t help but jump with joy. And that is how I bid goodbye to Boston – with my arms waving goodbye as the train departed, with my ears trying hard to listen to the music of the city for one last time, with my eyes glued to the window as I looked out at the fading skyline – all the while smiling, trying to calm the racing heart that was looking forward to the new adventure.

Arriving at the destination and beginning this new phase of life meant another big change – I (and the partner) would no longer be living with roommates, as I did in Boston. We would no longer be in the long distance relationship. We were going to live together. That was the point of the big move, by the way; that we would no longer need to wait for a weekend or two every month to meet. While the last year did bring us closer in terms of geography, we have been doing the long distance thing for the most part of our relationship – he had to relocate within a month or two after we’d met, way back when, and he’s been living here and there ever since. So, even though I’ve never had many major complaints about my living situation in Boston (I’ve had some great roommates!), my eagerness to move-in with the partner masked any sadness I felt about the fact it meant “end of an era.” How does the new living situation feel; do you like it?, my sister asked me sometime last week. My response? – that it feels normal, natural; no over the top expectations, no disappointments. All things considered – the laughs, the little things we do to annoy each other, the joy in making a home of our own, one piece at a time – it’s all been great so far and I wouldn’t trade it for anything else.

Speaking of home – when we first moved in, we noticed that the driveway light stayed on all the time. In the beginning, we assumed there might be a sensor somewhere that controls it, but that wasn’t the case. So then, we tried every switch by that area with no fruitful result. It drove us crazy to have that bright light on day and night. After a week or so of trying and then resorting to contact the previous resident to assist, we caught a break. I don’t remember now how or what we did, but one fine day, while the partner was out doing something I kept turning on/off every switch in the house I could find, we figured that the switch that controls the driveway light was back in the kitchen. Kitchen! Who would’ve thought! What a relief it was, though, to have found it.

Home, oh yes, home. I like the calm ring it has to it, the word home. And it’s the one place I am absolutely in love with. I am not sure if I am becoming lazier by the day, but I can’t wait to get back every evening. Back in Boston, it was mostly the other way around…I would roam around a bit before it was time to head back, but here I keep peering at the clock every now and then to see if it’s time to leave yet. Granted, I haven’t really explored the area, so it’s one of the very few places I know around here, at present; still, I’ll just smile and enjoy it while it lasts. For now, I like this new-found sentiment and this is what I associate with the word home – a warm and welcoming place that has given me an opportunity to begin a new chapter of my romance with life. And, for that and more, I’ll always be in love with it, my home!

, ,

  1. #1 by tangytrivia on August 8, 2012 - 8:54 pm

    OMG !! You could have been totally writing about my story. We did the long distance relationship thing for so many years before he moved to where I lived and the first few months of moving, buying furniture, setting up our home were the best !! I could not wait to be home at the end of every evening and yes, living together means getting to share the little things like a cuddle while sleeping or a kiss every morning. I’m so glad for you ! Congratulations and all the best !

    thank you so very much…how have you been? please leave a link to your blog, if you’re still writing; the one i have doesn’t seem to work

    Like

  2. #2 by Scribby on August 8, 2012 - 10:18 pm

    This romance with life sounds so romantic 🙂 Wishing you the best T 🙂

    lol @ switch in the kitchen 😀

    thanks, Scribby!

    Like

  3. #3 by DI on August 8, 2012 - 11:20 pm

    Hugs T! So very happy for you 🙂

    thank you, DI!

    Like

  4. #4 by ~Gunjan on August 9, 2012 - 12:02 am

    It feels so nice to move into a house you can call your own. 🙂 Have fun and enjoy this period.

    thank you, G!

    Like

  5. #5 by The Girl Next Door on August 9, 2012 - 3:29 am

    A post full of happy! Me likes! 🙂
    Glad you are happy and feeling at ‘home’. 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  6. #6 by Ashwathy on August 9, 2012 - 4:03 am

    Aha! Do I see someone warming up…slowly and steadily 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  7. #7 by Bikramjit Singh Mann on August 9, 2012 - 4:43 am

    he he he Reminded me of the first house i bought , it was just build , brand new , it was like built and i was the first one ot buy it .. with all modern facilities , touch sensors and all and it was FUNNY finding switches as you in kitchen, same the garage door would open with a switch in kitchen , HOW -WHYYyyyyyyy .. so you are lucky it was jsut the lights he he he he 🙂

    I sold that house to move to a bigger one in a year , it was tooo modern for me , I am too indianised 🙂

    haha, good thing we don’t have garage and all that then 😛

    Like

  8. #8 by Kragsr on August 9, 2012 - 4:46 am

    Lovely :). Gods Bless …..

    thank you!

    Like

  9. #9 by Swaram on August 9, 2012 - 8:43 am

    Such a nice, warm post T! Good luck with everything 🙂 🙂

    thanks a lot, swar!

    Like

  10. #10 by Tharani on August 9, 2012 - 9:42 am

    I’m waiting to build that home of mine:-(
    Enjoy this phase of life T.

    thank you! and i wish you the very best too, whenever it happens to you 🙂

    Like

  11. #11 by Jas on August 9, 2012 - 3:59 pm

    Nothing like having your own home and when it has its romantic side, it is even better 🙂 Wish you all the best.

    thank you!

    Like

  12. #12 by BlueMist on August 10, 2012 - 12:30 am

    You know I have waited long enough for you to come up with this post. Mighty happy for you. hugs T.

    😀 thanks!

    Like

  13. #13 by Ritika on August 10, 2012 - 1:14 am

    Best of luck for your new beginnings together. I am sure its going to be great
    *hugs*

    thank you! and welcome…

    Like

  14. #14 by Achu on August 10, 2012 - 5:12 am

    wow! congratulations T! I guess that is why they say “home is where the heart is”. 🙂

    thank you 🙂

    Like

  15. #15 by lifeslittletwists on August 10, 2012 - 10:32 am

    Wow! No.1 – Life now, sounds so romantic
    Wow! No.2 – Boy! am I glad to see you post again – I’ve always liked the way you write and I used to visit here often without finding anything to read-just caught up with all the previous posts and enjoying them 🙂

    thank you! 🙂

    Like

  16. #16 by Little Fingers on August 14, 2012 - 2:55 pm

    We too recently moved home and cities and I could relate myself to you in many places in this post. I hope you are enjoying the new life, where did you move to, are you living anywhere close to me?

    I sure am enjoying, yes 🙂 I’ve moved to NC; you moved to TX, right?

    Like

  17. #17 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 4:50 pm

    Awesome. Wishes.

    The FRIENDS episode where Monica tries to find the source of the switch 😀 Here it’s the other way around 😀

    Hey btw are you getting a pet ? A dog perhaps 😛

    oh yeah, how come I didn’t recall that episode when all of it happened. sigh. time to re-watch FRIENDS and refresh my memory, I guess.

    No pets. No no no. 😛

    thanks for the wishes, Matt!

    Like

Leave a Reply

