Summer…

…starts today.

 I know, I know…it’s almost end of summer here, but since the move happened early summer, we haven’t had a chance, yet, to go on our getaways. Usually, during summers, we go camping almost every weekend. This year though, with all our stuff put away in storage for over a month and then us taking our own time to settle down in the new home, weekend after another were spent shopping, lazing around while waiting for something or the other to be delivered, or just completing chores that were screaming to be taken care of. Now, with almost all the essentials in/around the house in place, we have some space to breathe and hence, resume our weekend adventures. YAY!

Only a few more hours, and I’ll be off to the mountains – to the place I went to on my first ever camping trip years ago. I am so excited – more for the partner than myself because he needs this more than I do. He’s been under extreme stress at work and nothing but a retreat like this can help invigorate his spirits.  Anyway, I got to go now and pack, so the fun can begin without any delays from my part.

Oh, from this trip on I am planning to take a little notebook and pen along. That way, I can write down all incoherent thoughts that ensue given that these environs generally nurture creativity (or so I hope).  Even now, as I sit here typing this, there’s this little blue bird outside my window pecking at something I can’t even see; there’s a squirrel on the tree intently searching for some treasure to add to his collection; there’s a yellow butterfly hovering above green leaves; there are tiny white flowers blossoming from plants that appear to have been nourished by the rains from the last few weeks; there’s the sound of crickets singing; and, there’s a little bunny on the lawn, hopping here and there, munching on something he seems to find appetizing. How can these things not inspire me to write? Oh well, it shall have to wait, though…duty calls now and off I go to get ready and leave.

Have a wonderful weekend folks. See you on the other side.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Swaram on August 10, 2012 - 1:14 pm

    I so need a break like that too 🙂 For now, will wait for ur updates on ur return and enjoy reading them.
    Have a great weekend T 🙂

    🙂 thanks, swar. happy weekend to you too!

    Like

  2. #2 by Bikramjit Singh Mann on August 10, 2012 - 7:06 pm

    Have a great time .. all the best enjoyyyyy and when you come back tell us all about it….

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Tharani on August 11, 2012 - 5:52 am

    Wow. Enjoy the camping week end T.

    🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by Jas on August 11, 2012 - 2:19 pm

    Camping is such a bliss only that we don’t have that kind of places and intentions here. These kinds of breaks really rejuvenate. Have a happy stay in the outdoors 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  5. #5 by lifeslittletwists on August 12, 2012 - 3:41 am

    Wow! it already sounds like poetry when you write like that about the squirrels, birds,crickets and butterflies 🙂 Have fun!

    thanks!

    Like

  6. #6 by Kragsr on August 12, 2012 - 10:49 pm

    your tgs say it all – travel , camping and weekend fun in Life – Nice 🙂 ………..

    🙂

    Like

  7. #7 by The Girl Next Door on August 13, 2012 - 3:39 am

    Hope you had a great time over the weekend! 🙂 I need a short break desperately, too. Hope something works out soon. 🙂

    Taking a notebook along with you on a holiday is a great idea. I took one too when I went to Kashmir, and I was amazed at the results.

    yes, great time was had 🙂 notebook though wasn’t put to use this time around…someday, hopefully 🙂

    Like

  8. #8 by kismitoffeebar on August 13, 2012 - 11:29 am

    Make a lovely weekend titaxy ! All that sounds so good :))

    🙂 lovely weekend it was !

    Like

  9. #9 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 4:54 pm

    How was the trip? Wordless Wednesdays ?

    trip was awesome. didn’t make it to the exact place we were initially planning to go, but where we went was amazing, nevertheless. yeah, maybe it’s time bring back WWs 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

