Guests

Ever since I started living by my own, I haven’t had a lot of house guests. Back in Boston, since I shared the apartment with my roommate, I was way too wary about inviting anyone should it disturb her in any way. It’s only been either my mother or my sister who’d come for overnight stay a handful of times. And then a close friend’s parents and his sister visited me for a couple of days once. Other than that, I do not remember having people over.

Now that I have a place to call my own, the idea of inviting friends over sounded enticing. And, so, more than a month after we moved in, our first house guests arrived at our doorsteps. I’ve been very eagerly looking forward to this since it was initially planned. And that excitement only grew with time. By the morning yesterday, I couldn’t keep myself from picturing what the house would be like come evening. And when it finally happened, I ran out of the door onto the lawn, barefoot, not worrying about all the insects waiting to bite me, and welcomed them with a big smile.

One Two of the biggest reasons for my excitement, other than the fact that they are our first house guests, were the little guests. The eldest is 4 years old and the younger one is 18 months old. And they are both just so cute! I love being around kids; I think I’m more comfortable when I am around kids than when I am among grownups. I spent few hours last evening playing with them – running up and down the stairs, turning lights on and off, helping them fetch things and put it all back in place, learning how to skillfully solve jigsaw puzzles and what not. It was wonderful. They are going to be around for a few more days and I can’t wait to spend as much time as I can with the kids (along with maybe learning how to cook simple, delicious meals). Bliss!

I am very jealous of the partner when it comes to kids, though. While I put in a lot of work, do all the running behind and playing around to keep her entertained around me, all that the partner had to do was look at her and smile, and she runs to him, hands over all the toys remote controls, coasters, one by one, thus creating a new game of which only they two are part of. And it’s not just her; I’ve noticed this many a times… something about him gives good vibes to babies / kids, I suppose. And they love being around him, without him putting in any effort. Sigh.

, ,

  1. #1 by lifeslittletwists on August 21, 2012 - 12:36 am

    More fun with kids around – you must be having a great time! 🙂 And we did the same too-when we first moved into our own home, we had guests every weekend 🙂 – the joy of living in your own home… 🙂

    joy indeed 😀

    Like

  2. #2 by The Girl Next Door on August 21, 2012 - 1:31 am

    Awwww this is such a sweet post! I am glad you are having fun with guests around. 🙂

    Same story at our place. The OH is so good with kids that I get jealous sometimes. Especially his two nephews. He can keep them entertained for hours together. I have to run behind kids, beg and plead and cajole with them to become friends with them. 🙂

    why is it like that? 😦 i want to know their secret

    Like

  3. #3 by Bikramjit Singh Mann on August 21, 2012 - 2:48 am

    Its the Man thing 🙂
    talking of guests , I think I have picked up this trait from my dad, He always loved to have guests at home any chance he would get , he loved inviting and I think same is true for me here too, since I dont have many friends here in uk so I take every oppurtunity to ask people ot turn up..

    that’s nice!

    Like

  4. #4 by Maddie on August 21, 2012 - 5:02 am

    Enjoy your time with them! 🙂

    And I know what you mean…my brother is like that. He doesn’t even talk all that much but my son keeps following him all the time 🙂

    😀 thanks.

    Like

  5. #5 by Ashwathy on August 21, 2012 - 5:40 am

    something about him gives good vibes to babies / kids, I suppose. And they love being around him, without him putting in any effort. Sigh.
    And what are you cribbing about, madam? 🙂

    but but but, they are supposed to be like that with me, no? 😦 😀

    Like

  6. #6 by Jas on August 21, 2012 - 9:04 am

    Cute. Your partner seems ot be a hit with the kids… 🙂

    oh yes he is..even if he is minding his own work, they run to him while i run behind them 😛

    Like

  7. #7 by Tharani on August 21, 2012 - 11:37 am

    Oh I sure understand the feeling :). I had few guests the previous week end and I opened the ever closed house of ours.. The first time, I cooked a complete meal all by myself. It was great 🙂

    cooking is something im not good at, so i haven’t ventured into the kitchen yet 😛 it’s nice to have people around though 🙂

    Like

  8. #8 by BlueMist on August 21, 2012 - 1:15 pm

    What’s with men being attraction magnet ? 😐 Since I am not much of kids person, it actually works in my favor 😉

    😀 who knows. i sure want his secret though. 🙂

    Like

  9. #9 by Comfy on August 21, 2012 - 4:51 pm

    I think it is the not being the ‘center of attention’ syndrome that attracts kids. You ignore them and they come running to you. You run after them and they run in the other direction. 🙂

    Oh, and you are ready to have people over and you like kids. Rubs hand in glee. You better watch out girl. 🙂

    I tried that too, Comfy. She refuses to come to me, no matter what I go – ignore, or run behind. Last night, I thought I finally found a way to make her be with me – by bribing her my phone – but that lasted only a while though 😛 oh well, i shall keep trying.

    And Comfy, you have an open invitation to come, anytime, any day…you know that right? Bring Buzz and Bugz along and I promise you a few days of rest while I watch over them 😀

    Like

  10. #10 by Matt on August 21, 2012 - 6:00 pm

    Haha! It’s a guy thing. I have kids doing that to me often and I have to bear the brunt of others. What did I do ? Kids love me 😀 😀 Have fun being a good host.

    🙂

    Like

  11. #11 by Swaram on August 22, 2012 - 11:37 am

    Awww I could picture the whole thing and I am so craving to have little people home now 🙂 Hugss T! Have fun 🙂

    thanks 🙂

    Like

  12. #12 by Psych Babbler on August 22, 2012 - 5:32 pm

    Something like that would work in my favour given I’m not a big kid-person. Trust me, when you work with them day in and day out, the charm wears off. Have fun with the guests T!

    thanks, PB!

    Like

  13. #13 by paatiamma on September 12, 2013 - 7:44 am

    My partner gets along pretty well with kids..He got along so well with me right ?

    😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

