When I go home this evening…

…the babies won’t be around.

No more excited tones of yay Uncle/Aunty is here. No more of their sound of laughter around the house. No more teaching the Raspberry to jump and getting amused at her attempts. No more melting after seeing that beautiful two dimpled smile that almost never leaves her face. No more playing scrabble, hula-hooping, coloring, or seeing them dance. No more hearing Strawberry’s plots of how to surprise Uncle as soon as he arrives. No more of her make up tales of why uncle is late. No more telling them not to run around or to be very careful.

Sigh. I am really sad. Oh well…

In other news, I have so much catching up to do, especially with my books. I haven’t read anything in maybe two weeks now. The last few books I finished were all so good that I am having a hard time finding something to match those standards to keep me hooked. After hearing raving reviews for the Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, I’ve taken that off the bookshelf this morning. Let’s see how that goes. So, what are you currently reading? How is it so far?

Happy Weekend, folks.

  1. #1 by Comfy on August 24, 2012 - 6:43 pm

    You know you can always plan a trip here, right? I am waiting 🙂

    yes yes yes, will do definitely, someday 😀

    Like

  2. #2 by Psych Babbler on August 24, 2012 - 7:30 pm

    It does feel weird when guests leave…especially ones you like! 😛 Haven’t heard of the books you mention but will look them up. I just finished reading ‘Between the Lines’ and now trying to decide what’s next… 🙂

    😀 that’s a much fun thing to do too, no? – the trying to decide what next phase? 😛

    Like

  3. #3 by Tatsat on August 24, 2012 - 10:48 pm

    Well I would have to say that babies do lighten up our days. I have none myself ( I am not even married ), but I manage to talk to them anywhere I am able to find them- in restaurants, trains, malls … and its such an exhilerating experience. It is as if they pull us back in time, if only for a little while 🙂 I guess, its human to crave for innocence, no matter how soon he/she loses it as part of growing up.

    Have a nice weekend Ma’m 🙂 and good luck with the reading. Do let us know how the book was

    thank you! the book was great, i would recommend 🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by pixie on August 24, 2012 - 10:55 pm

    🙂 hugs!!
    happy weekend to you too T!

    thanks, pix

    Like

  5. #5 by Bikramjit Singh Mann on August 25, 2012 - 4:09 am

    Hmmm well maybe you guys can go visit them sometime.
    I know the feeling …

    Take care and you too have a great weekend..

    yes, yes will definitely visit 🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by Swaram on August 25, 2012 - 6:26 am

    Oh ho I will so miss reading daily updates about the berries too 😦
    Happy weekend to u too T 🙂

    thanks, swar

    Like

  7. #7 by Tharani on August 26, 2012 - 12:11 pm

    Oh the kids left already? Loved loved reading about them. I’m currently reading a book by Sujatha 🙂

    yes they did 🙂

    Which book? I’ve heard so much about the author…let me know which one you’re reading and how much you like / recommend it; I might give it a try 🙂

    Like

    • #8 by Tharani on August 28, 2012 - 11:36 am

      I’m currently reading 24 rubai theevu. It’s pretty good.. But if you want to give the author a try, you can start with “Srirangathu devadhaigal” or “adhaninal kadhal seivir” or “pirivom sandhipom” or “irandhavadhu kadhal kadhai”.. If you need the e books let me know 🙂

      yeah sure, please do send me the one that you highly recommend, I’ll start with that 🙂 thanks Tharani!

      Like

  8. #9 by The Girl Next Door on August 28, 2012 - 12:32 am

    Hugs! I know how it feels when loved ones leave after a stay at your place! 😦

    Good luck with reading Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. I loved the book.

    I am currently reading Roald Dahl’s Danny: The Champion of the World. Enjoying it so far.

    I finished Snow Flower and the Secret Fan over last weekend, TGND. It definitely was a good read 🙂

    Like

  9. #10 by kismitoffeebar on August 28, 2012 - 9:46 pm

    It feels so empty and quiet when kids, specifically and guests in general, leave …..
    I am now reading Malgudi Days for the God knows which time 🙂 Hope you have fun choosing your next! woudl love to hear about it !

    I finished reading Snow Flower and the Secret Fan over the weekend…it was a good read 🙂

    Like

  10. #11 by Harini on August 29, 2012 - 4:18 am

    When the guests you love leave your heart aches. When someone you cant stand leaves you are happy. May be this time you can visit them :). I m currently re-reading Harry Potter. I have lost count of how many times I have read the series.

    I’ll take up HP again sometime end of the year… I think I’m going to make it a yearly ritual 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

