What a weekend that was!

Life is an adventure with the partner is by my side. Take for example the long weekend that was. To kick it off in delight both of us took the Friday off and made it an even longer weekend. Our initial plan was to escape to the mountains Thursday evening and spend four days in quiet and peace. But as it’s usually with our plans, it didn’t quite pan out the way it was intended. Work and other miscellaneous tasks interfered; hence we ended up spending Thursday evening and Friday at home. I won’t complain though…this gave me enough time to muster some confidence to host a dinner at our place Friday night. I cooked for six—yes, six—and it turned out pretty well. It had to happen someday and I’m glad it happened sooner rather than later; I can’t keep running away from inviting people when everyone is generous enough to have us over time and again, right? Anyway, back to the point. The dinner that I cooked was well received and much appreciated. Oh wait, that’s not really the point, but can we make it the point? here we go back to the real point…

So, off went Friday and on came Saturday. Only three more days before we had to dive into the routine again, and we had already spent half of the first day in bed. Way to go. But what’s more important than sleep? Nothing, if you were to ask me. No harm, no foul, then. We spent a good part of Saturday morning discussing where we wanted to go—the mountains or the beach? After long deliberation we decided we would head east to the shore. And I could already feel the oceans calling out to me.

We set out around noon with everything for the sojourn in place. Few hours into the drive the car made a beep and signaled to us that it was time to fill the gas tank soon. To give you some background, this is one thing that the partner and I argue about every time it happens. Our definitions of soon varies. While I am the kind who gets tense and pulls over at the next gas station on the way, the partner is someone who keeps giving assurances about how many gallons of gas there is in reserve and how far the car can go on that. Now, we had just crossed a small town and we were in no mood to turn back to the last gas station we’d passed. So, the partner, as usual, reassured that there was enough gas to take us into the next town for fill up and I, as always, became a little anxious and kept hoping to spot a gas station quickly to calm my nerves. And as luck would have it we traveled the next 30 miles with no gas station in sight.

And after those 30 miles, just like that, with no more gas to fuel it, the car started showing signs of giving up. No amount of pushing hard on the accelerator was any help. The lovely car that it is, it coughed up to the last drop in the effort to take us just a little bit further. We looked at each other in disbelief. You told me it would go at least 50 miles, I questioned. It does; it did when I drove from work to home back in Boston. I think it’s your driving that burned extra gas this time around, he retorted. All this while, the car kept moving, slowly but steadily. It even climbed up a bridge with much effort. And then went downhill seemingly easily, thanks to the slope. And the two of us, surprisingly, kept our cool and were actually laughing about the situation we found ourselves in. Right after the descent there was a parking lot and the partner asked me to pull in there. And so I did. I steered and the car took it upon itself to move with the little energy that it had left; that energy was just enough to pull into the parking spot at the far end and after that, the car wouldn’t move any further, not even an inch, and its whole system shut down…about 1.5 miles after the initial warning.

So, yes, we found ourselves gas-less in the middle of who-knows-where. The parking lot we pulled into turned out to be of the town’s visitor center. HA! We got out, ran in (as it was closing time) and inquired about the nearest gas station. We learned that it was just half a mile down the road. What a relief it was that we didn’t have to walk under the scorching sun for long. After freshening up, we set out to get fuel for our vehicle. And during that mile’s walk there were more smiles and more talks about how funny we found the whole thing and how it all had played out well enough to keep us amused but not make us agitated.

Like I said, life is an adventure when the partner is around. Had I found myself in the same situation alone, I am sure I would have lost it. I don’t think I would’ve been as calm to be able to think on my feet about what needed to be done next once the car started showing signs of shut down. But, all credit to the partner, I thoroughly enjoyed this whole experience instead of letting it get to me. The partner has a way of putting a positive spin to things that happens around him. He has a way of brimming with optimism even at the worst of conditions. He has a way of making me smile and teaching me how to take it all, the circumstances that I would otherwise find stressful, lightly. So, as I stood there filling gas in the car and saw him clicking photos of our savior gas station, I couldn’t help but feel grateful that he was around to share this memory with me.

The rest of the vacation? Well, that was fun too, with some exceptions.

We spent a little time Saturday evening and the whole of Sunday at the beach. I enjoyed soaking under the sun and then finding solace in the droplets of rain that trickled down from the marshmallow clouds, reading, writing and napping by the ocean, playing in the water, trying to but not really helping with the sand castle that the partner built, and so much more.

And Monday, we visited a lighthouse nearby—spotted from the top of the lighthouse the colliding of two ocean currents; noticed a bunch of dolphins playing in the sea, pretty close to the shore; and, stopped by at the museum there to learn about the lighthouse’s history, before heading back.

Now the exceptions: it was so extremely humid on Saturday that it became impossible for us to sleep in the tent. We tried for hours before we called it quits, drove the car up to the parking lot and slept in the car. While the humidity went down Sunday night, we had something else that kept us awake on and off—Chigger bites, as we learned later—kept us busy scratching all night long. There were so many bite marks on my body as I woke Monday, and the itching didn’t stop for days after. I still have the marks to show (hoping hard that they’ll fade with time), but thankfully, the need to itch has worn-out. I wouldn’t have been so glad to return home had it not been for the burning bites.

Because really, what’s not to love about ocean side breeze? Or about the sound of the waves singing you lullaby as you slept? Or the endless views of the horizon?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Anonymously Disguised on September 11, 2012 - 6:35 pm

    This is why they say getting lucky in love 🙂 Trust me if it was not for love, you would have filled him up with gas instead of the car, the moment you spotted that station 😉 👿 😈

    Ps: I didn’t know you were back to blogging 🙄

    LOL 😀

    Yes, I’m back to blogging, I think. I hope I stay 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by pixie on September 11, 2012 - 7:12 pm

    wow! 🙂 🙂
    sounds like a fun-filled weekend! 🙂

    it was, kind of 🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Swaram on September 11, 2012 - 10:47 pm

    Lovely account that one T 🙂 Am glad u had so much fun, just reading it pepped me up 🙂 Errr other than the chigger-bites ofcos 😉

    😀 Thanks, Swaram

    Like

  4. #4 by The Girl Next Door on September 12, 2012 - 12:21 am

    Wow, that sounds like fun – the time spent by the ocean, living in a tent, visiting a lighthouse, watching dolphins, car break-down, et al. 🙂 PIcs of the place, please?

    I am so J that you live at such close proximity to such wonderful places that you can visit without prior planning!

    I can so relate to what you mean by creating memories out of otherwise negative situations. I would have lost my cool in certain situations, too, had it not been for the OH. With the OH, the very same thing becomes a memory. 🙂

    pics – will have to check what I have. I don’t remember taking many pics, just relaxed all three days without bothering to do much else. 🙂

    Like

  5. #5 by Bikramjit Singh Mann on September 12, 2012 - 7:25 am

    blissssssssssssssssssssss

    indeed, with a few exceptions 🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by kismitoffeebar on September 13, 2012 - 2:17 am

    Sounds like a very very relaxing weekend 🙂 and you summed it up beautifully in your last line 🙂

    :)thanks

    Like

  7. #7 by Avada Kedavra on September 13, 2012 - 7:17 pm

    Looks like you had lot of fun.. I looove beaches and playing in water.

    🙂

    Like

  8. #8 by Visha on September 14, 2012 - 7:36 am

    I did not know what chigger bites meant, looked them up and gosh, they are scary…sad that you had to endure them 😦

    But I loved the fact that you enjoyed the ocean side in spite of it…maybe thats the magic of sleeping in a tent besides lapping shores, eh 😉

    Rightly said, the same situation is seen and handled differently when you have company as compared to when you are alone…happy to know that your situation was ‘saved’ 😛

    chigger bites – we didn’t know either until we came home and did some research to find out why we were itching like crazy 😀

    Like

  9. #9 by Jas on September 14, 2012 - 1:00 pm

    I am so so jealous of you …. love indeed.

    😀

    Like

  10. #10 by anisnest on September 14, 2012 - 4:38 pm

    sounds like a cool getaway.. one technical queshtin if you dont mind? where would you brush and bath if you sleep in car? You see I was thinking about this trip so practically to execute it that this queshtin popped up 🙂 🙂

    we slept in the car at the campground parking lot. we just couldn’t sleep in the tent because of the heat and humidity. there were shower/bathroom facilities at the campground…

    Like

  11. #11 by Psych Babbler on September 19, 2012 - 1:25 am

    Hmmm I thought I’d commented on this one but apparently not. I can’t believe how brave you guys were after running out of gas! I’d have freaked out!! Sounds like you had a lovely time even if you did have the bites…hope that’s become better.

    i would have definitely freaked out had i been alone 🙂

    bites – itching has died, but the marks are still there 😦

    Like

  12. #12 by kismitoffeebar on September 19, 2012 - 1:50 am

    Really awesome that you had a good time 🙂 Some of the lines I loved:

    Our initial plan was to escape to the mountains – “escaping to the mountains” is one of the phrases I love more by the day
    Life is an adventure with the partner is by my side – So true! 🙂
    And I could already feel the oceans calling out to me – I know what that feels like!
    I enjoyed soaking under the sun and then finding solace in the droplets of rain that trickled down from the marshmallow clouds, reading, writing and napping by the ocean, playing in the water, trying to but not really helping with the sand castle that the partner built, and so much more – Loved this!

    I would copy the post. Loved reading this 🙂

    thank you, kismi!

    Like

  13. #13 by Pepper on September 20, 2012 - 1:37 pm

    Okay, what’s with these boys? I found myself nodding vigorously as I read about you guys arguing about when to fuel up. We always had/have the same argument. I insist on fueling up as soon as I sense any warning. Mint insists on waiting a while more, telling me there is so much more fuel in the tank! His logic is, the later we fill, the longer the fuel will last. But it keeps me on the edge all the time. I could so relate to this post 🙂

    😀 good to know that i’m not alone

    Like

  14. #14 by anna's mom on September 20, 2012 - 11:58 pm

    Loved it :). I’m pretty sure years later all you will remember about this vacation that the you ran out of fuel. That’s what memories are made of 🙂

    yupe 🙂

    Like

  15. #15 by kragsr on September 21, 2012 - 7:03 pm

    lovely

    🙂

    Like

  16. #16 by Dil On The Rocks on September 21, 2012 - 9:51 pm

    Wow. Glad you didn’t let it get to you..I would have soo done it the other way…Something for me to learn. 🙂

    I didn’t let it get to me only because I had company. Wouldn’t have been the case had I been alone 🙂 so something for me to learn as well – to act just as calm even if i were alone

    Like

  17. #17 by Deboshree on October 25, 2012 - 1:24 am

    This sounds like such a dreamy trip that I have started dreaming as well! Not a great idea considering there’s a lot to get done. Fuel or no fuel, these are memories that you will never forget. 🙂

    true 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

