Last Birthday and some more…

This post is going to be here and there, sort of incoherent. That’s what ends up happening when I don’t record anything for almost a year and suddenly realize that there are all incidents that need to be noted down before my memory fails me, for that happens more often than not. For instance, last week the partner and I were discussing something and the question of what I did for my last birthday came up. I drew a blank. I knew there was something about the day that made it special, but the mind refused to go back in time to try and recall even snippets. And it was the partner who finally aided my brain recollect it all.  So now, I want to go on record and say that my last birthday was wonderful.

The partner and I were driving from Boston to DC that night to attend a conference where my sister was to give a speech the day after. Right around midnight (I noticed the time only later), the partner pulled over at a service area. The dozy version of me asked him a million questions about why we were stopping, reminded him that we were already running late and I was getting grouchier by the second, and finally, gave up and closed my eyes letting him do whatever it was that he wanted to do by taking a break there. Within a few minutes, I heard the door to my side of the car open and there he was with a cake in his hand, wishing me a happy birthday. (Was there a candle? I am guessing there was, but I don’t remember. See, that’s why I should’ve noted it all down within few days.)Oh, that’s what the stop is about, that inner tube light turned on.

With the merriest of heart, I cut the cake. A cake that the partner had baked by himself. There were signs the day before, you know. He had called to ask me for a tiny detail about the recipe. He had mentioned that his roommates were baking something and they wanted to know. And I’d believed that. The thought didn’t even cross my mind that he was planning something so perfect for my birthday. A sweet surprise, it sure was. And there was more of it in store!

Once we resumed our drive, I got a call from a friend who sent big birthday wishes my way. How so very touched I was that she remembered, worked out the time difference and rang me right around midnight! And the fact that this was the first time I was talking to her made it all the more noteworthy (I had conveniently forgotten about it until now, how so unmindful of me.) I was ecstatic for the rest of the journey, needless to say. We reached DC really late and obviously, I fell asleep the first chance I got. Having gone to bed few hours before dawn only gave me an excuse (like I need one) to sleep a little more than usual next morning. The partner, though, I realized woke up way before I was even ready to open my eyes. He was getting ready to step out; I asked him where he was going. He mentioned that he’d forgotten something in the car and had to go get it so he can get ready for the day. Ok, I said and went back to my blissful slumber.

When I woke up a little later, there was a big gift next to me on the bed. Unable to contain my excitement, I sat up and unwrapped it carefully. Inside I found something I’ve wanted for months. A pair of boots! I remember going on and on to the partner and my then roommate S about how I definitely want a pair of boots for the upcoming winter. But I never bought myself one because any pair I liked I turned down because of the price tag. This pair was gorgeous. He shared the tale of when he went shopping, how/why he chose this particular one, and how he was sure I would fall in love with them. A huge grin appeared on my face and a few tears trickled down my cheeks.

There was a sign of this too, you know, only I’d yet again chosen to ignore it. The partner had called me to inquire about my shoe size the evening before. He mentioned that his sister wanted him to buy her shoes (he was to visit India in a few weeks) and he wasn’t sure what size to go for. So he wanted to know my shoe size given that his sister and I share similar stature. And yes, I believed that.

After trying on the boots and falling head over heels in love with them, I got ready to face the day ahead. We went to a café nearby to have some breakfast. And there, the partner pulled out a greeting card from his bag. The Office is one of my favorite shows and in that card, the partner had written out wishes from each of the main characters of the show in their unique style. What a laughter riot it was reading through those thoughtful messages for the birthday girl!

 The day was spent visiting museums, planetarium and just walking around the city. The phone was on silent for most of the day, which meant I missed a few calls from friends. Listening to their voicemails later made the day all the more amazing. The sister joined us in the evening and the three of us went out for a fancy dinner, which was my birthday treat from the sister. She had also sent a bunch of books as gift a week earlier. What more could I ask for! After dinner, I think we went sightseeing, a few monuments here and there. All the walking took a toll, especially since it was windy and cold, so we called it a day and headed back to the hotel.

So there, it’s all on record now and I can come back to it lest I forget it again.

Oh wait, did I say I was going to write about more than one thing? (I am too lazy to go back and edit the beginning of the post or the title. So I’ll just let it be.) I should’ve known better… no matter how hard I try I can’t ever seem put down only a few lines and let things be. It’s almost always going to be a full blown post dedicated to specific happenings. Weirdly, it’s just the opposite when I talk – 0ne can ask me the most open-ended question there is and I can still manage to answer with very limited words. Hmmm. Anyway, I guess this only means there are more posts coming up. Wait and watch…

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Bikramjit Singh Mann on September 26, 2012 - 2:57 pm

    Full blown posts are good cause you are sure not to miss anything..

    Happy birthday.. And he baked the cake himself wowowowow

    birthday was months and months ago. thank you though 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by Avada Kedavra on September 26, 2012 - 5:26 pm

    Looks like your last birthday was really fun 🙂 Your partner is really awesome, surprising you so many times with cake, gift and card 🙂

    it sure was and yeah, he sure is 😀

    Like

  3. #3 by Anonymously Disguised on September 27, 2012 - 12:21 am

    He got you boots??? 😯 Keep him safe under lock and key from other women will ya? A guy who buys shoes for his girl is worth a million bucks I tell ya 😉

    😀 ok

    Like

  4. #4 by tandooripanipurilife on September 27, 2012 - 1:25 am

    Oh wow!! Your partner is very romantic… he knows how to make you happy on your birthday 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  5. #5 by Jas on September 27, 2012 - 2:05 am

    Looks like the birthday was best ever 🙂

    it was 🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by Visha on September 27, 2012 - 4:13 am

    wow, so many surprises 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  7. #7 by Psych Babbler on September 27, 2012 - 7:05 am

    This is why you should blog more regularly…that way you won’t forget details and we’ll get the information straight away! 🙂 That was very sweet of your partner to do all that…

    LOL “and we’ll get the information straight away!” cracked me up 😀

    Like

  8. #8 by Little Fingers on September 27, 2012 - 4:39 pm

    Oh waw what a surprise birthday that was, how could you even forget such surprises, Partner is way too sweet and romantic, glad that you posted at least now 🙂

    i know! i’m glad i wrote it down too; can always come here to get my memory refreshed 😀

    Like

  9. #9 by Comfy on October 3, 2012 - 5:05 pm

    What a sweet birthday this was and you forgot all about? 😮 But you know the one thing that made me smile as I was reading your post? That you are as big of a tubelight as I am. I am as clueless as you were everytime D has given me a surprise, but then again I think that is the fun of it no? 🙂

    I am tubelight alright 😀 but yes, there’s some fun in that too, I agree…

    Like

  10. #10 by Tharani on October 7, 2012 - 11:32 am

    Awesome birthday that was.. The partner is so sweet to have baked a cake for you and the effort he took to make it so special. Love to you both.Here is to many more of such special times with the partner.

    thank you, Tharani!

    Like

  11. #11 by Nids on October 19, 2012 - 9:09 am

    Glad to see you back and happy that I logged in afater ages and saw your post. May you be blessed like this forever and the partner always treats you like a princess 🙂

    thank you, Nids!

    Like

  12. #12 by kismitoffeebar on November 7, 2012 - 12:51 am

    Titaxy? All good? Been missing you here! 🙂

    yes, all’s well. thanks for checking in 🙂

    Like

  13. #13 by Zarine Mohideen on December 28, 2012 - 1:33 pm

    It looks like you had a wonderful last birthday. I love it when birthdays are small, intimate and special because the memories associated with it are so special!

    Happy belated/advanced birthday to you!

    thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

