An act of thoughtfulness

I went to an ice-cream store this afternoon to get a milkshake. There was a family of four in line before me – three generations of women – two little ones, their mother and their grandmother. And there was only one person at the counter helping customers. Which meant I had to wait until they were done placing, receiving and paying for their order. And wait I did.

I stood there browsing different options (although I knew exactly I wanted – chocolate shake, as always) and randomly eavesdropping in and out of the family’s discussion, especially the kids’, on what they were planning to get. Time seemed to pass slowly, but at last, after fifteen minutes or so, they were done and it was my turn.

Once my milkshake was ready, I went to the payment counter and took my wallet out. “You don’t have to pay for this” I was told. “Why?” I asked her, while playing different scenarios in my mind – is it on the house, is today one of those free scoop of ice-cream days at the store, etc. “They paid for you”, she pointed her finger towards where the happy family was seated. I smiled, thanked her and walked towards them.

“Thank you. You didn’t have to do that.” I told them. “Well, you had to wait that long because of us, this is the least we could do” said the mother of the two girls. “You made my day!” I exclaimed. I expressed my gratitude to them again, for their consideration and kindness, and left.

The smile that appeared on my face then seems to be permanently stuck till now.

Such a refreshing incident this has been! I want to pay this forward. And, soon, I will.

Happy weekend, folks!

,

  1. #1 by slpmartin on April 19, 2013 - 4:12 pm

    Nothing better than a random act of kindness!

    true..

    Like

  2. #2 by Psych Babbler on April 19, 2013 - 4:40 pm

    Oh wow! That’s really sweet of them! Makes me smile knowing there are such wonderful people in the world. 🙂

    i know!

    Like

  3. #3 by Comfy on April 19, 2013 - 5:28 pm

    The last part is what I love about this scenario. The wish to pay it forward. 🙂
    It happens a lot in my cafeteria during lunch hour. Someone is short by a little bit, some else passing by/in the line behind comes and pays. Thank Yous are exchanged and they carry it forward for someone else some other time. Always brings a smile to my face. 🙂

    that is wonderful!

    Like

  4. #4 by aarya on April 19, 2013 - 9:07 pm

    I am sure it made your day…just today I watched this video on Facebook on the same lines…will send the link when I get back on my laptop.
    Happy weekend 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  5. #5 by Krags R on April 19, 2013 - 9:36 pm

    beautiful 🙂 …

    🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by OHW on April 19, 2013 - 10:45 pm

    Wow. Unique, refreshing and new :). Totally worth taking it forward and passing on the smiles.

    yupe 🙂

    Like

  7. #7 by OHW on April 20, 2013 - 2:27 am

    After reading ur post, see what I found http://www.theweekendleader.com/Dreams/1584/gifted-life.html. Taking the same concept to a all new level.

    thank you for sharing the link, OHW!

    Like

  8. #8 by Scribby on April 20, 2013 - 2:45 am

    how lovely is that! Something to think about 🙂

    yupe…

    Like

  9. #9 by Ashwathy on April 20, 2013 - 4:49 am

    So sweet 🙂
    There is hope in this world after all 🙂

    yes there is.. 🙂

    Like

  10. #10 by Visha on April 20, 2013 - 5:03 am

    I cannot imagine this happening anywhere here, so nice of that family 🙂

    it was indeed v nice of them…

    Like

  11. #11 by Tharani on April 20, 2013 - 9:22 am

    Such a refreshing incident indeed! This post bought a smile on my face when I was sulking about my awful colleagues here. Good people are around every where. Just that we need to get lucky to meet them 🙂

    yupe…

    Like

  12. #12 by pixie on April 21, 2013 - 9:55 pm

    oh wow!! that was such a sweet gesture!! 🙂
    Hope you had a good good weekend! 🙂

    yupe!

    Like

  13. #13 by kismitoffeebar on April 21, 2013 - 10:16 pm

    Titaxy! This makes me cry out of happiness 🙂 You made my day!

    🙂

    Like

  14. #14 by thelilvoicespeaks on April 22, 2013 - 1:30 am

    That is such a lovely act by the ladies! 🙂

    yupe!

    Like

  15. #15 by Priya on April 22, 2013 - 5:02 am

    Heartwarming!!

    indeed!

    Like

  16. #16 by Little Fingers on April 22, 2013 - 12:24 pm

    I am smiling wide, you made my Monday morning bright with this post 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  17. #17 by Avada Kedavra on April 22, 2013 - 2:49 pm

    wow so this shows that good people still exist 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  18. #18 by DI on April 23, 2013 - 6:35 am

    Wow! That was SO sweet. I would have been beyond touched myself, because really, who does such stuff? As a matter of fact I usually come across folks who would end up taking an additional 15 minutes but still not be the least bit apologetic about it. That was definitely an awesome start to a weekend 🙂

    it surely was 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

