Boston

In the lulling shadow of your willows

I have lingered

on scorching sunny days.

To the arms of your winding roads

I have surrendered

after unruly times.

Resting in your breezy beach

I have found peace

for my disturbed mind.

Strolling near your icy river shore

I have understood

the purest form of joy.


The first time I visited

I remember I fell in love

with you, your sights, your sounds.

There’s been no looking back –

my fondness has only grown

with every blissful sound of glee,

with all that you’ve taught me.


When I heard you were hurt

I could hardly believe…

Tears gushed; thoughts rushed

to be close to you.

You stood strong through the pain

and with every passing second

your resilience and compassion gleamed.

Now you are coping, with grace,

showing all the power of determination.


Thank you, for being you, Boston.


Every time I hear your name

with pride in my heart, I say

My home you are

And will forever be.

,

  1. #1 by slpmartin on April 23, 2013 - 8:03 pm

    There is something about that city most people love…the Paris of these United States.

    🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by wellofjoy on April 26, 2013 - 2:30 am

    Very touching!! So well written T!!

    thank you !

    Like

Leave a Reply

