Time to stock up…

…so, I need recommendations.

The partner wanted a book to read during his upcoming journey. I ran around the house, picked the ones off my recommendation list and put the pile in front of him to choose. “But I asked you for a light, fun read. No heavy subjects, please” he declared. The only light reads I could come up with from my library were Harry Potter, a collection of Wodehouse’s works and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Galaxy.

Harry Potter – the partner wants to read the whole series together and he doesn’t suppose now is the right time for that. The one with the collection of Wodehouse’s works – the partner is a big Wodehouse fan (who isn’t?), but this one I have is a big book, not suitable to lug around during travel. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Galaxy – the partner has already read. There, everything was ruled out. I was back to square one – racking my brain trying to find something suitable. And I came up with nothing.

The partner settled to downloading an e-book (one of Wodehouse’s, but of course!). I started to grouse that I did so much work to handpick the books in front of him; he pointed out the fun I had during the process and stated that I shouldn’t be complaining. I agreed and retreated. And that was that.

Ever since this episode, though, the fact that I have no light, fun read handy has been bothering me. So, go on, please send in your recommendations for books in that category. I want to go to the bookstore next time with a list in hand focusing on this genre. Thank you!

,

  1. #1 by Kragsr on April 25, 2013 - 4:04 pm

    Tinkle , Batman , Superman , Spiderman , Donkeyman etc. etc. 😛 …

    I did buy him a Batman comic book only couple of weeks ago 😛

    Like

    • #2 by Kragsr on April 25, 2013 - 4:13 pm

      you better start writing your own little stories then – the more you write, the more he ll have to read 😀 …

      now if only I could write anything that can even be remotelycategorized as ‘humor.’ i have no funny bone in me, don’t you know? 🙂

      Like

  2. #3 by Comfy on April 25, 2013 - 6:24 pm

    I have no book recommendation. Remember I was asking you for some not that long back 😀

    🙂

    Like

  3. #4 by thelilvoicespeaks on April 26, 2013 - 3:01 am

    How about the classic Calvin and Hobbes collection? You gotta have it!! 🙂

    that i’ve always wanted. but I don’t have it 😦 i get my daily dose of Calvin online. someday, i’ll buy the collection 🙂

    Like

    • #5 by Deboshree on April 26, 2013 - 3:24 pm

      I want that collection too! Nothing like Calvin and Hobbes to light up any day! 😀

      i know!

      Like

  4. #6 by missRBit on April 26, 2013 - 11:43 pm

    I recently read the 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared. It was a fun read. I wrote a review about it on my blog if u want to know more about it – http://www.missrbit.com/book-review-the-100-year-old-man-who-climbed-out-of-the-window-and-disappeared/#.UXtI_bVRCSo
    Fight Club is also a great read.

    Thank you, missRBit! I’ll get that book next time I go to the store, thanks a lot for the recommendation.

    Fight Club – I’ve read and the partner has too. love it. I probably have another book or two by the author, have to dig those out 🙂

    Like

  5. #7 by Psych Babbler on April 29, 2013 - 11:03 pm

    I was going to suggest the 100 year old man too even though I’m half-way through it. The other is Douglas Adams’ Dirk Gently’s holistic detective agency. Sci-fi and out there!

    thanks, PB!

    Like

  6. #8 by Saya on May 2, 2013 - 2:47 am

    curious to know what were the other books in the pile.. the not light read ones.

    hmm, let’s see – Night by Elie Wiesel, Room by Emma Donoghue, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon (which I haven’t read yet, so can’t say much about the subject), Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer, Little Bee by Chris Cleave, 1984 by George Orwell, Hunger Game series, Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys, a couple of books by Jonathan Trooper that the partner put aside because the one book he’s already read by the author didn’t make much of an impression. That’s all I can remember for now 🙂

    Like

  7. #9 by alice on May 6, 2013 - 10:20 am

    Light reading.. hmm… Percy Jackson series. Then most books by Terry Pratchett. Most books by Tom Holt. Yes Minister & Yes Prime Minister (In that order). The hobbit 😛
    I could go on n on 😉 Happy reading!

    thanks for the list, alice!

    Like

  8. #10 by Another Day In Paradise on May 6, 2013 - 1:19 pm

    Heat by Bill Buford, Any of the books by John Grisham, Dilbert? Chetan Bhagat!!!! Wodehouse, Bookes by Jasper Fforde and Gerald Durrell. Last but not the least – Robert Fulghum’s All I need to know I learnt in Kindergarten. You can try some of his other books too. Books by Seinfeld and Cosby always cracked me up…..Happy stockin up..

    thank you for the recommendations!

    and hey, welcome back. it’s been a while since I’ve seen you around the blogworld. 🙂

    Like

  9. #11 by Avada Kedavra on May 9, 2013 - 7:34 pm

    Have you read “Hitchhikers’ guide to the galaxy”? It’s toooo hilarious.

    yes, read the first book of the series. loved it! bought the ultimate hitchhiker’s guide recently, so hopefully i’ll get to reading it soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

