Happiness is…

…seeing the partner spend time with baby M and hearing him gush about how she’s so fond of him. She is about 15 months old and this past weekend is the first time that the partner has held her, fed her, played with her. He usually stays away from babies who can’t walk, says he’s too scared to handle the tiny beings; so I guess her wobbling on her two little feet gave him enough confidence to pick her up.

…trying something new – especially for someone like me who is resistant to experiments most of the times. The partner is very fond of seafood; ever so often he contemplates becoming a vegetarian but says that the only thing that stops him is his love for seafood. So, on a whim, sometime in the past month, I mentioned to the partner that I wanted to taste fish the next time he had it. Partner then suggested that I should have homemade fish before trying outside food. A friend invited us over for lunch on Sunday and had cooked fish. So, there I was, munching on my veggies when the partner remembered my comment from few weeks ago and asked me if I wanted to give the fish a try. And try I did. A teensy bite. I didn’t like it and that was that. But, I did surprise myself doing what I did and that made me glad. Egg white – that’s what is next on list.

…dreaming about the next vacation. One more week to go.

…playing with the M and M duo all afternoon long. Didi M, probably sensing that I would be enamored by the baby once I laid my eyes on her, made sure she got her share of time to play with me too by dragging me upstairs as soon as I entered their home. We did all that we usually do together – solved puzzles, drew on the black board, read stories and had fun, over all. And then for the rest of the time Baby M had all my attention with Didi making appearance, every now and then, and demanding her rightful place on my lap.

…deciding on Monday morning to take the day off and heading off to a nearby park to hike and relax. Most of the Sunday evenings the partner puts on his oh-it’s-already-the-end-of-the-weekend face and asks if taking off on Monday is an option. And many a times, both he and I know that it’s not. This Sunday night though, I said why not. He thought for a couple of minutes and said that he would check his schedule first thing Monday morning and if there was nothing too important going on at work then we should take the day off. Monday morning happened; the partner checking his calendar happened; happy shriek of nothing-much-going-on-today happened; and then, both of us taking the day off happened. Once all that was settled, we decided where we wanted to go, got ready and headed off. We hiked for a couple of hours, relaxed near the lake for the next hour or two, and got back home feeling contended. Why can’t all Mondays be like this?

…being with the partner.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by aarya on September 20, 2013 - 1:09 am

    …reading this lovely post. Stay happy 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  2. #2 by Arch on September 20, 2013 - 1:30 am

    Happiness is… Reading a nice post like this too! 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  3. #3 by paatiamma on September 20, 2013 - 3:43 am

    Lovely Post….Another beautiful anecdote of your partner gelling well with kids.. My partner is also the same..I guess a kid is the only living being that can keep him apart from work..Do have a lovely vacation..Monday morning take off sounds too good to be true.. Touch wood..

    🙂 thanks!

    Like

  4. #4 by Pepper on September 21, 2013 - 12:51 am

    Happiness is also catching up on all your posts and smiling all along 🙂 I loved the last line the most. Touchwood!

    thank you!

    Like

  5. #5 by SG on September 26, 2013 - 11:30 pm

    Long time stayed away. My fault. Apologies. Congratulations. Now you have a partner and a 15 old lovely daughter. I have to and I will go back and read your older posts to know how the last 2 years were.

    well, the partner has been around since before this blog started and i’ve written about him once in a while. no, there is no “15 old lovely daughter” in picture anywhere; i was talking about a friend’s baby in the post, not my own. 🙂

    Like

  6. #6 by Deboshree on November 6, 2013 - 2:50 am

    Especially the part that says dreaming about the next vacation…sigh! 😀
    What a lovely post.

    thank you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

