Sacred

An amazing dinner is served. Conversations linger as everyone devours the delicacies. After eating, all of us, except aunty, gather around in the living room, continuing the thought-provoking discussion that started hours ago. Aunty is in the kitchen, still. I can hear the clatter of the dirty dishes as they get rinsed and put into the dish washer. I walk in and ask her if she needs any help; it’s all done, she says and we head back. Each of us find ourselves a seat in the living room – I sit by the partner while aunty finds her place on the floor where she is most comfortable.

Dialogues continue. Calming music plays in the background. Uncle’s lectures are listened to intently. Stories are shared. Jokes are made. Laughter echoes through the walls. While all this goes on, I look at aunty, who is quiet as usual, sitting by her daughter’s feet. Her eyes closed, she massages P’s foot, one toe at a time, one stroke at a time. And every now and then she opens her eyes to catch a glimpse of her daughter’s beaming face, and smiles.

I keep watching, time and again, because that sight, frozen in time, I attribute to my understanding of inner peace. I close my eyes and take it all in. It helps calm my disturbed state. The tranquility that she exudes passes on to my heart and mind. Through her I experience that state of meditation that I have never before been able to.

Pure joy, pure harmony. Sacred.

  1. #1 by Tharani on October 12, 2013 - 1:38 am

    You write so beautifully T. You do!

    thank you!

    Like

  2. #2 by paatiamma on October 12, 2013 - 11:55 am

    Am in search of this elusive peace as well, though am blessed with plenty..:) Aah! foolish heart seeing the glass half empty..

    🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by pixie on October 14, 2013 - 10:48 am

    Beautifully written T!
    I feel quite peaceful after reading as well!

    thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

