Thank you, J K Rowling!

My fondness for Harry Potter series is no secret. Granted, I hopped on the bandwagon much later than many others I know, but that surely didn’t take away from the love I have for the books. And as much as I whine about how the movies aren’t at par with the books, I enjoy watching them nevertheless. For the past three years, I’ve read all the books in the series once a year (mostly during the Dec-Jan time) and then caught up with all the movies right after. And the last time I did it, the partner joined me in watching the movies.

It was fun. To have him join in on the adventure. To see him as restless as I was when we stopped at crucial points for various reasons. To feel my excitement double as I realized his appreciation. To watch his questioning eyes as he failed to understand little details, the ones only the readers of the book would’ve been able to catch, here and there. He had a ton of questions all through the journey. And I did my best filling in the gaps for him.

Yet, somehow, I didn’t think that was enough. Because, you see, when he reads or watches something his brain cells apprehend more than my little mind does. He observes. He thinks. And he finds the deeper meaning behind every word. And, as greedy as I am, I wanted to see this tale of witches and wizards unfold through his attentive eyes. I wanted listen to him share his experiences as he read through one book after another. I wanted to spend hours together pondering on the interesting discussions I was sure he would bring up. I wanted him to read the books.

So, time and time again, I put forth that option to him. But he rejected it, always with a smile, explaining that, need be, I could connect the dots for him and that he didn’t think reading the books now (after seeing all the movies) would be as much fun since he knew how the story unfolded. I disagreed.

 It bothered me. It’s not that he doesn’t read – he is an ardent reader and he enjoys the world of fiction as much as anyone else. Whenever you give him a choice of reading a book vs. watching the movie version of the same, he’ll choose to do the former first because he agrees that the words bound together in a tale provide levels of details, which are, most of the times, left out in the latter. Yet, when it came to this series he chose to stay away. Primarily because he was content with all that the movies had to offer. And then there was me, who helped him put together missing pieces.

Still, I persisted. I nagged him every chance I got. Every time he would ask me for book suggestion I would point him to this series. And he would find a reason or two to dismiss my recommendation and move on to the next in line. This went on for months. Until one fine day, weeks ago, he gave in. I didn’t know how. I didn’t know why. I didn’t care. I was on cloud nine. He asked me where the book was; I pointed him towards the shelf in the living room. He picked up the first one and took a seat next to me on the couch. For some time there I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. I was blinded by tears of joy (ok, a little exaggeration that one, but what I was feeling back then was close to this, ok?). Guilt took over for a little while – I told him that I could recommend some other book, that he didn’t have to read this just because of my constant hassling. He quickly dismissed it and I was more than happy to move on (What? I wasn’t going to give him another chance out. I gave him one; that shows how generous I am).

The journey has begun. It’s been weeks since that evening. And a lot of reading is being done. Every day after dinner, we curl up with the comforters and get lost in the land of books for hours together. He has read two books so far and is almost done with the third. I am beyond myself every time I see him impatiently wait for that time of the day when he gets to read. Every other night, for a while before falling asleep, we talk about Harry Potter. A discussion or two have already cropped up and I enjoyed listening to his insights on those occasions. And then there are his remarks, which are amusing in their own way –

“Albus is so careless!” “How can Albus not know this and that?” “I like Voldemort!” “I can identify most with Fred and George.” “Look, Sirius Black’s name has appeared for the first time” “But this wasn’t in the movie…” “Question – who/what/when/how/why…” (my response always being ‘read along and you will find out’), “Dobby is here” “Albus is so wise, there’re so many life lessons to learn from what he has to say” “If I were Quirrell and Voldemort shared my body, I would make him listen to meditation music and calm him down a bit. It would work, don’t you think?” etc.

Immense joy, this is it! A great amount of fun, this is it! Love, this is it!

, , ,

  1. #1 by kismitoffeebar on October 28, 2013 - 11:16 pm

    Awwie! So cute! K and I have read this at different points in our life and I am so tempted to do something like this together. Enjoi, you two! 🙂

    thank you!

    Like

  2. #2 by Arch on October 29, 2013 - 1:42 am

    Ah! Those books were magical. 🙂
    I have read them so many times previously, but it’s been a really long time, since I last read them. You tempt me..
    I like the movies too. 🙂

    they sure are magical!

    Like

  3. #3 by aarya on October 29, 2013 - 11:33 am

    This is great, T. Adorable moments 🙂
    I haven’t read a single book yet and one movie I watched, I actually slept through. I am not fond of mystical and magical stuff, but want to give it a shot. I am reading ‘Catch 22’ right now and will start with Harry Potter series then. Sadly, S-Man has lost all interest in reading now, though he is the one who introduced me to English novels when we were kids.

    i didn’t watch all the movies (saw one or two, at the most) before reading the books. i think that helped. reading the books first is what i would recommend…the movies don’t seem so interesting if you haven’t read the books. hope you fall in love with the series when you get around to reading it 🙂

    i haven’t read Catch 22 yet, but have it on the shelf. someday, soon, hopefully.

    lost interest in reading? hmmm…something needs to be done 🙂

    Like

  4. #4 by Deboshree on November 4, 2013 - 2:51 am

    Haha what a delightful tale of love, this one! 🙂 🙂

    🙂

    Like

  1. Reading & Travelling | Bright-Sunshines

Leave a Reply

